Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins

Thomas Nelson A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins

A Place Called Blessing chronicles the story of five-year-old Josh. He and his two older brothers lose their parents in a drunk driving accident. After a series of foster homes and a shocking tragedy, he and his brothers are separated, leaving him angry, alone, and distrustful. At age eighteen, a step away from homelessness, he finds unconditional love and the gift of "the blessing." This book shows how to implement the five elements of the biblical blessing found in Trent's book, The Blessing. A Focus on the Family book.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 2195%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Review 1 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

you would love this for sure.

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Place called blessed: I wish that more time was spent on Josh's time in the foster care system as a teenager instead of jumping from being a child to being 18. When it got to him being on his own though, I couldn't stop reading. kept wondering when the hurting would stop. I felt sad by the unfairness of life. I would recommend this book to anyone! Trent's has a partnered ministry with Focus on the Family, called The Blessing Challenge. It provides the readers of his book with an opportunity to do something... this book was not entirely applicable to me, nor to my wife. However, there were still things we were reminded of and we did plenty of self-evaluations as we read through the book. Honestly, I believe this book is most applicable to parents who feel as if they weren't entirely loved or accepted by their own parents and who worry that they may not show proper love to their own children. would go as far to recommend that all parents, especially those of younger children, read this book to help them understand the importance of blessing their children. This book would especially make a good gift to first-time expecting parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is written with love and talent!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book.The book is so rich in characters. I felt that I met the whole entire town! This was a wonderful book. It really ministered to me at a difficult time in my life. I loved it so much. It was well written and full of God's love.
Many books in this particular genre are fairly predictable, and while this one was to some extent, there were many twists and turns that I didn't expect and I found myself sneaking a few minutes whenever I could to read.
This redemption shows up through several characters in the book. A lot of characters are thrown at the reader in the first chapter, but quickly sorted out. I did, however, struggle some to get attached to many of the characters. I feel it took a long time for me to trust. I loved this book and had a hard time putting it down. It has faith, love, some mild suspense and even a surprise ending. The author did a wonderful job! As you read you will want to cry, yell, give advice, and cheer. A book that will have your emotions changing from one scene to the next as you read. I really enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone that likes to read Christian fiction.
A great book to read with the lessons of love, forgiveness, and trust written throughout the pages. The author did a great job writing a story that is down-to-earth and practical. The circumstances surrounding the plot could happen to anyone. The lessons are practical for everyone. This book is beautifully written, and I really enjoyed reading it. It is very inspiring and touching, and it brought tears to my eyes. The main idea is simply about always putting your faith in the Lord and let Him lead you in the decisions you make. I would highly recommend this book.
I loved this book...and think you will, too. As a result, I was able to savor every morsel.
I usually choose Christian Fiction because there is a purity to the relationships, though the characters are flawed and real.
Though this book is labeled as Christian Fiction and had many references to Christianity, there are several parts of this book regarding the intimacy, that read slightly like a mainstream romance novel.
I got a free copy of this through Booksneeze! Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book...touches the soul!

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Place called Blessing is a book about a boy named Josh who lost his parents in a terrible accident. He lived in a series of foster homes and thought he found his forever home until some bad fortune came upon him. Forced to leave, he spent the rest of his childhood in a group home with no one to call family. When he turned 18 he was on his own and decided to go to a far away place where no one would know him or the terrible thing he did. Through various events he ends up living with a mother and son in their garage/apartment. A relationship begins to build and walls are broken down, changing all of their lives forever.
This book tugged at my heart from the very beginning and resonated in my soul. It’s a book about overcoming challenges, forgiving one another and oneself, second chances, and the grace that only God can give. There were moments of sadness and joy throughout the book…it made me laugh and cry. I felt as though I knew the characters personally and was challenged by their actions and words to live a life of blessing for all those I come in contact with. I would definitely recommend this book to all of my friends!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Companion to the Original

Date:October 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamatish
Location:Austin, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Place Called Blessing" by John Trent is my kind of book--an entertaining, engaging story with a wonderful redeeming ending. I want to read a book that I not only enjoy but learn from too. This story may be hard for some to believe but God works in mysterious ways. Oh how He loves us! And you can see this throughout the book. It is true what the scripture says "And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who[a] have been called according to his purpose." Romans 8:28 (NIV).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book can be an eye opener if you will let it!

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A PLACE CALLED BLESSING, Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins by John Trent, PhD with Annette Smith was an eye opener for me. This book is wonderfully written and makes you think about how everything we do has an affect on someone around us. Are you a Blessing to everyone you meet? This is the question you start asking yourself after reading this book. It kind of jumpstarts you and makes you realize everything we do can be a blessing to those around us, and isn’t that a way for us to be more Christ-like.
Dr. Trent has shared the message of the biblical blessing for years but this book shares that same blessing in a story form. This book finds Josh who through unfortunate circumstances lost both his parents in a drunk-driving accident. Josh has experienced it all, at first it was good, him and both of his brothers were in the same foster home, but then after the tragic fire they were separated. Josh blamed himself for this separation; after all he caused the fire, didn’t he? By the time Josh was eighteen he was an angry young man with an attitude. Fortunately, Josh meets up with Mike and Anna who not only gives him a place to stay but offers him unconditional love, for the first time in Josh’s life, but tragedy strikes again? Will Josh remember what he has learned about the blessing? Find out the answers to these questions in this wonderful book.
This is a great book and includes a wonderful study guide and “A Special Message From Dr. John Trent” to help you completely understand “The Blessing,” and perhaps take The Blessing Challenge.
I received this book free from Book Sneeze the blogger review program for Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read, not very life changing however

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookFanatic
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book, “A Place Called Blessing,” is about a young man named Josh with a tough childhood behind him who “stumbles” upon a second chance to really live his life despite its difficulties. He slowly learns to rid himself of the lies that he has believed about himself and the world around him. I haven’t read the book, “The Blessing,” by the same author, so I’m not sure how closely this one relates to it. I really enjoyed “A Place Called Blessing”, and the writing really caused you to empathize with Josh, especially considering how hard of a worker and determined he is. However, as it is a Christian book, I thought it a little strange that Christ and the church and Christianity were hardly mentioned. I’m guessing if a person has read “The Blessing” the point of this story would be more obvious, though. There were a couple twists, but for the main part it was a simple, good-natured story and I would definitely recommend it to any Christian fiction lover. The fact that it was short was also appealing (as my list of books-to-read seems to be growing exponentially). It is a keeper in my library and would be a good book club read as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

John Trent Does It Again

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
ldgermany
Location:Ridgeland, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to get this book. I loved John Trent's book "The Blessing". It was a life changing read for me before I had children. If you have never read "The Blessing" then let me tell you that there are five elements of the Biblical blessing: 1) meaningful touch, 2) spoken words, 3) expressing high value, 4) picturing a special future, and 5) an active commitment. Donald and I both have talked about how these five elements have helped us fill in the gaps that we felt we had experienced with our parents.
This is a fiction book based on his book. A "Place Called Blessing" is about a boy who goes through more than a rough beginning. He has terrible parents. Winds up being put in the foster home system. He gets a little glimpse of hope of a parent who might love him and then it is taken away from him. The hurt piles up. The anger piles up. The angry boy turns into an angry man who cannot trust or will not trust anyone. When a family comes along that he can trust, he simply can't let down his well built walls to let them get to know him.
This book shows the importance of the blessing, but it may also explain that little child down the street that keeps acting out. Trying to get through this book without crying is almost impossible.
Disclaimer: I received this ebook from BookSneeze. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Heals.....

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
water
Location:New york NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shedding tears in the first few chapter of this book , i absolutely enjoyed every moment of this work.
This is a story about love ,forgiveness and trust. I mean the story got me at WOW!! unbelievable,who could imagine.
It clearly show that God Never Slepes nor Slumber. Am Glad I read this book, it really inspired me and taught me alot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A quick and easy read - LOVED IT!

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
SuzB
Location:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was absolutely amazing! I love other people's stories, I read this in only a few days, I just couldn't put it down.
This is the story of a man name Josh who becomes an orphan with his brothers. They go through many foster families and tragedy. Josh meets a wonderful family who shows him the "Light".
The one down I found with this book is in the beginning it feels like a really young person has written it. He writes in short sentences and it got a little bit fristrating but getting thorugh that I was hooked!
I will be sharing this book with other people around me and I plan to get "The Blessing" which goes with this one.
If you get the chance - GET THIS BOOK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy read that I couldn't put down

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Austin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book that will make you smile, make you cry, give you goosebumps and most importantly make you look inside yourself and evaluate how you view others.
This book is probably one of the best books I've read in a long time.
It was an easy read and one that I couldn't put down.
A Place Called Blessing follows the story of a young boy, named Josh. The youngest of three boys and born into a family with misguided parents. Tragedy strikes and the boys are all sent to live in foster care. They move from home to home eventually living together until tragedy strikes yet again and the brothers are torn apart. Josh grows up and out of the system jaded and scarred from a life of bad happenings. He randomly lands in a small town while trying to accomplish his dream of having his own place, a car, and some privacy. The family that helps him get on his feet not only shows him that they love each other deeply, but that they are able to love him as well. The twist in this story is one that awakens your soul. It causes you to think "could I be that gracious"?
I highly encourage everyone to pick up a copy of this book, read it, live it, and pass it on!
I received this book free from the publishers through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best book I have read in quite a while

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A Place Called Blessing is a book about the life of Josh, who grew up in foster care. It tells of his life with the good and the bad. It does not make out that foster care is horrible in fact it is better than the children's home that he eventually ended up in but just that there is no one who loves you best and always as in a loving family. In that respect you grow up never learning unconditional love and trust. Love and caring is based on behavior. Josh truthfully never had that in his original family either. It is a story of how Josh learned to love and trust others.
This is a beautifully written interesting story. I read it as quickly as possible and still live my life. If I had not been doing anything else I would have read it in one setting it was so good. I don't think I have read many books better than this one. There is nothing in this book that I can criticize as it is close to perfect. I laughed. I cried. I learned to be a better person to those around me as I never know how that person's life has been. Josh has changed me for the better. I hope that everyone has the opportunity to read this book.
This book was provided to me for free from Booksneeze for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The True Blessing of This Book

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Citrus101
Location:Bend, Or
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“A Place Called Blessing” by John Trent and Annette Smith is a spiritual, heart-warming story about a boy on his own. After a tragic incident he is sent from foster home to foster home with both his brothers. But again unfortunate incidents occur. After living a life full of sadness, he goes on his own path to find real love. The book tells of one boy on a mission (though he doesn’t know it) to find someone he can trust, love and call a true friend. This book was a touching story that made me look at the world in a whole new perspective. John Trent is a wonderful writer and creates this story beautifully. This book will make you think in a whole different way just like it made me. The book may look not so good to you, but you really can’t judge a book by it’s cover. If you are looking for a spiritual growth, christian, feel-good kind of book, this is probably the one for you. I thought this book was wonderful and I loved reading it. I think it is a awesome book for everyone to read and I hope you can all get a chance to read it!
I wrote this review in exchange for a free book from www.booksneeze.com. All opinions and views are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Arcola, SK
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I want to say that this is a spectacular book. The lessons taught and learned in this book are very amazing, also. This story is about a man named Josh, who has lived a very rough life, from having neglective parents, to living in multiple foster homes, this guy has definitely not had a great life. After finding a home that he thinks him and his brothers will be able to stay at forever, a fire happens and separates Josh and his brothers. After that, he's moved to a children's home where he thinks that he's never going to be good enough to be adopted by anybody. When he ages out of the system, he is a very bitter young man who is barely getting by, as he sleeps anywhere he can. But then he meets Mike and Anna, a son and mother that Josh think are crazy for bringing him into their life like they are. And soon, Josh realizes that they are the most amazing thing that has happened to him. But after an accidental discovery, and a truth so shocking that Josh is ready to throw everything away to be rid of the place, he realizes that love always wins in the end, and decides to stay at "a place called blessing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blessed to Have read

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Melissa Vera
Location:Pikeville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recently given the opportunity to read and review A Placed Called Blessing by John Trent, PhD. All I can say is WOW- I have never read a book that defines what I tried to do with my blog and this defines it so well. A Place Called Blessing is a story based on tragedy and learning to trust others so you can overcome that tragedy. The main character Josh is orphaned at a young age when his parents, who are drunks, are killed in a drunk driving accident. Josh along with his two older brothers are sent to foster home after foster home, until they find what they think will be their permanent home in the country. The boys begin to make friends with not only their foster parents but also with their neighbors in the community. Josh and his new friend, a little girl the same age as him, soon discover a secret hiding place. Josh for the first time in is life feels safe and secure in his surroundings. But that feeling does not last long, one fateful day a tragedy occurs. The rest of the book deals with the tragedy and he learns to overcome it.
This book is an inspiring read. It should come with a warning label like this story may bring the reader to tears. They should supply tissues with each purchase (LOL). No really this book was an easy and uplifting read. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. In fact, I already loaned my copy to one of my friends. She loved the book and she is making her husband read it now. This a book that I would not mind my teenage daughters reading. It is that good. If you are looking for an uplifting story this is the one for you . I feel blessed just reading it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story Show The Blessing in Action

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though I haven't yet read "The Blessing" by John Trent and Gary Smalley, I've heard good things about it. That's why I chose to read "A Place Called Blessing" by John Trent when Thomas Nelson Publishers offered a complimentary copy for my review through their BookSneeze program. I loved this simple book!
"A Place Called Blessing" is a fictional story meant to illustrate the five principles of "The Blessing" put into practice. It's the story of Josh, an orphan from a neglectful home who finds himself, first, in the foster care system, then, through a tragic accident, labelled an unadoptable, problem kid. Josh gives up on himself and on all other people--until he encounters people who relentlessly believe in him and encourage him to pursue good things.
I could not put this book down, and the absolutely perfect ending totally surprised me. I can't say any more without giving important details away, but it's a short and inspirational story with a carefully thought-out note from the author and discussion questions for each chapter at the end. I'm happy to recommend this book to you. (And now I need to go read "The Blessing!")
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book, a must read

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paula H
Location:Willmar, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful story of the power of love, forgiveness, and redemption.
This the story of a young man who didn't have family, grew up in foster care, and in children's homes throughout his life. His life was plagued by a tragic event that happened to him when he was a six year old boy.
This book is a must read for anyone who has ever felt like they weren't good enough, like they had to perform, and perform and perform to become someone of value. The love of Anna and her son Mike gave Josh a whole new perspective on his life and more importantly his faith. Josh grew up not being able to trust anyone. Many people have let him down. But yet, their unfailing love for Josh gave him the faith and the trust he was never able to find. Josh carried a deep secret all of his life. He felt guilty, he felt unworthy, he felt loved.
This book really challenged me to look beyond my pain into the love and forgiveness that is available only through the unfailing love of Jesus Christ. This book has brought healing into my life. This book has given me hope. This book is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the Story!

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:Somewhere, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Place Called Blessing chronicles the story of five-year-old Josh. He and his two older brothers lose their parents in a drunk driving accident. After a series of foster homes and a shocking tragedy, he and his brothers are separated, leaving him angry, alone, and distrustful. At age eighteen, a step away from homelessness, he finds unconditional love and the gift of "the blessing." This book shows how to implement the five elements of the biblical blessing found in Trent's book, The Blessing. A Focus on the Family book.
Josh has been hurt in the past, but now "A Place Called Blessing" is healing him. It is the most unlikely place ~ his co-worker's mom's house ~ but it is the place that God chose. With the help of many new friends, Josh is finally able to heal....
I was surprised, as I expected this to be a true story, but other than that, I really enjoyed it. Josh's story echos the story of some people I know, so I understand how he felt. I thought the ending was especially amazing. All in all, a great book.
I would recommend it to a friend, but like another review said, this is probably best for teenagers and up.
I am required by new laws to say that I got this book for free from www.BookSneeze.com, in exchange for a review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virtuous Girlhood
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was intrigued by this book because of the title. Plus, the book sounded interesting. When I sat down to read this book I couldn't put it down. The story drew me right in. The story is about Josh. A troubled young man who grew up inside the foster care system. His parents died when he was five and he was separated from his two brothers at a young age. At eighteen he goes out on his own to find work. He is close to being homeless when God sends two strangers in his life. These two strangers help and look after him. Eventually for the first time in his life Josh receives unconditional love and something every human being craves, the gift of "the blessing."
My thoughts:
I really enjoyed this book. It made me cry. It also made me realize just how wonderful my life is. However, this book is not for children or immature teenagers. The author does not sugar coat Josh's story. Nor did he write this book for children. I believe that this book is more for the 15 and up age range. And even though this book is about a guy, that does not mean that it is just for guys. Girl's can glean plenty from it too. I didn't agree with everything in this book, but it was a wonderful little book! And I thoroughly enjoyed this book and could not put it down! It get's two thumbs up from me!
You can buy your own copy of A Place Called Blessing on CBD.com
Virtuous Girlhood received these products from Booksneeze in exchange for writing a review. I was under no obligation to review them if I so chose. Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review. This review is my honest thoughts of the products and company. All opinions are my own and not impressed by monetary compensation. Virtuous Girlhood does not endorse nor agree with everything at the websites featured.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Blessing

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Penny
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"A Place Called Blessing" - What a blessing this book has become to me. It is the first book I have read in over two years that hasn't been a study reference, Bible Study or a work of theology or apologetics. Wonderful writing as at times I became so engrossed in the story almost as if I were watching the whole thing unfold before me. Dr. John Trent and Annette Smith did a wonderful job and the ending was just superb. Heart wrenching and heart warming as Josh overcomes his personal battles. Would definitely recommend the book. Curl up on the couch with your favorite blanket, coffee and a tissue and get ready for an unforgettable story with highs, lows and profound revelations. My teenagers will be reading this tomorrow as it will surely give encouragement to them as they too face their own personal battles. A definite read-over when I start feeling sorry for myself. Receive a blessing today and read "A Place Called Blessing". You wont' be disappointed.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://www.BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Place Called Blessing: Where Hurting Ends and Love Begins
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book you do not want to put down

Date:June 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very good to read. I read it all in two days. I could not put it down. This book is about 3 foster kids who are all brothers who are trying to find a home to live. It ends up that the two older brothers found a home but the younger one did not and ended up being situated from his 2 older brothers. So he grows up trying to find them and himself. He ends up finding this great home and lives with his work mate and the work mates mom. He ends up loving that family and becoming part of the family. The sad part is that his work mate ends up dying of cancer at the end of the book and the brother has to deal with that in his life. I am not saying everything in the book because I don't want to give away all the book in case someone wants to read it themselves. I also want to point out that this book while a good read is not really a Christian books like others on booksneeze.com but its a great book nonetheless.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>