Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional

Thomas Nelson Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional

Each of the 365 daily readings in this inspiring collection offers a carefully chosen passage of scripture, a brief, thoughtful message from Dr. Graham, and a heartfelt prayer composed especially for this book. Distilled from a lifetime of study and ministry, these devotionals supply daily food for thought about living fruitfully and joyfully in an often fretful world.
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 2793%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Review 1 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When I Need Encouragement

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
BlessingCounter
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This offers short devotions that provide encouragement to the weary soul. A great way to start or end the day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Short inspirational thoughts lacking much depth

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
kevinjthompson
Location:Beloit, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a year-long devotional book written by probably the most well-known preacher in all the world, Billy Graham, which is what first drew me in to this book. Each day has about a one page message from Graham based on a selected passage from Scripture and concluded with a prayer. The title is not only taken from Psalm 121:1-2 but is also a reference to the hills of North Carolina where Graham calls home.
The publisher describes this as “Simple, direct, encouraging yet challenging, this book offers itself as a heartening companion for your daily walk in the valley. This collection is a gentle but constant reminder that we can find help for all our needs as long as we remember to look up . . . unto the hills but especially unto the Lord.”
To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much from this book. Billy Graham, while arguably a great evangelist, is not known for much theological depth. Yet, I wanted to give him a chance. Graham was one of the most hated figures in the fundamentalist circles I once traveled so I wanted to give him a fair shake for once. While I deeply appreciate his untiring work of bringing souls into the Kingdom, I can’t say I really enjoyed this book.
If you are looking to start your morning off with some deep Biblical reflections that will keep your mind occupied for the rest of the day, this is not the book for you. Graham somewhat acknowledges this is his forward by calling this book “compiled thoughts from more than fifty years as a minister.” The book is meant to help people “in the valley.” However, people in need of help are more often more in need of sound Bible teaching and encouragement than they are the mere reflections in this book.
This is not to say this book is with any value. While the daily devotions themselves were light, the prayers at the end were not. Graham’s prayers are reflections of the close, personal relationship he has with his Savior. They are certainly worth reading and meditating on in and of themselves.
If you are looking for a light read just to give you one or two inspirational thoughts for the day, this is a book you should consider. But I would urge you to use it as a launching pad rather than a final destination.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by the publisher for review. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional by Billy Graham

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
blackballo0n
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I may be busy and may often forget to pray… but that does not mean I do not crave for prayer time.
Unto the Hills is a wonderful daily devotional to help aid one’s spiritual growth. Life sometimes seems too busy for one to find time to read the Bible readings on a daily basis. Whether we admit it or not, our schedules can greatly hinder our prayer life.
This devotional by Billy Graham is written in a manner that is very simple and easy to understand. It begins with a particular verse from scripture, and then leads into a short reflection related to the day’s passage. Afterwards, it ends with a short yet relevant prayer.
You may opt to read one page everyday, or may also choose to read several pages at a time. What I particularly appreciate about Unto the Hills is that each reading for the day is labeled with the month and date (such as January 1, March 15, August 27) – and is not made for a particular year. This devotional is timeless as it allows you to read it for years to come – which I have every intention of doing. This book is perfect for your bedside because it will help you start your day (or even end your day) on a right note.
---
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of BookSneeze, a book review bloggers program. Find out more at BookSneeze.com! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual treasures to help us in our daily walk!

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa Richards
Location:Nevis, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a book reviewer for Thomas Nelson I recently received a copy of Unto the Hills-A Daily Devotional by Billy Graham. I selected this book to review because Billy Graham holds a special place in my heart. At the age of sixteen I asked the Lord into my life while watching a Billy Graham crusade on television. That was way back in 1973, and Billy has continued to faithfully preach the Word throughout his long life.
Devotionals can play an important part in our spiritual lives. With such busy schedules we often have little time for inspirational reading. Billy’s devotions are short enough to be read quickly with plenty of time left to close our eyes and meditate on the message, claiming it for the day ahead. A devotional such as this also brings us into contact with portions from a variety of books of the Bible, which we might not see for quite some time in the course of our Bible reading. While I’m working my way through the gospels Billy will bring to my memory a scripture from Isaiah, Jeremiah or the Psalms. This makes it a wonderful addition to my regular Bible reading.
While reading this morning I was reminded that although Satan has obtained permission to sift Peter like wheat, Jesus had prayed for Peter so that his faith would not fail, and had admonished him to strengthen his brothers when he turned back again. How often we feel we’re being sifted. I was reminded that Jesus is praying for me during these times and fully expects me to prevail and return to Him! Unto the Hills by Billy Graham is full of spiritual treasures to help us in our daily walk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unto the Hills soothes and convicts

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unto the Hills by Billy Graham is a calming, soothing, and, at times, convicting devotional. The daily readings are well-balanced in their impact. The format starts with a Bible verse written in full at the top. There is an anecdote or some thoughts on the subject, many times with additional Bible verses in the main text. Each day's entry concludes with a prayer. I have particularly enjoyed the prayers at the end of each entry.
As an interesting aside, I actually like to look up the verses in my own Bible rather than having them printed out. I look them up and write them down in a notebook. But for someone who wants a devotional and the Bible reading together, it is handy to have the verses written out in full.
I highly recommend this devotional to others, especially for those seeking a guide for daily Bible readings.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect For Those With Limited Time

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynn P
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love reading anything from Billy Graham. This is a wonderful devotional that you will enjoy for many years. It is not dated by year so you can pick it up in any year and enjoy it. You read a page a day with a short prayer and scripture reference to go with it. If you are pressed for time each day but want to get some inspiration and be a part of the Word, then this would be an excellent addition to your daily reading. This doesn't take the place of reading the scriptures but will really enhance your scripture reading and help you bring it to a personal level. Drawn from the authors lifetime of study and his ministry you can see it throughout the pages of this devotional. These pages will definitely point you to Jesus and God and will help you in your journey towards Him. A+++
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, Not What I Expected

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amy Wright
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently began reading this daily devotional by Billy Graham. At first I was really excited, but it didn't turn out to be exactly what I expected. For the purpose of this review I read about 20 of the devotions throughout the book. I was not as impressed as I thought I might be. Obviously, this is a daily devotional, so I understand the intent in keeping each one short. However, I was looking for something that might hit me harder in my spirit. I did enjoy the articles that I read, and I like the format of each. For every day the passage begins with a scripture, usually 1-3 verses; Then following is a short devotion and after that a prayer. The messages range from prayer, to marriage and family, to the fruit of the spirit and even to the second coming of Christ. Each message is pretty straightforward and to the point, but for myself I was looking for something more. Overall I would say I do like this book, but it isn't quite my style of devotional. In my opinion, this book is good for the type of person who would like to catch a glimpse of insight from someone well-liked and knowledgeable, but it just didn't have that umph I was looking for. I would probably recommend this daily devotional to a newer Christian looking for a short daily encouragement or easy get-to-the-point read. I wouldn't recommend it to someone looking for deep spiritual insight, but rather describe it as food for thought.
I received this book for free by joining booksneeze.com and agreeing to review it here. I am not obligated to give it a positive rating. The opinions I've expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Classic Devotional

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
wahmivy
Location:Marikina City, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First published 25 years ago, Dr. Billy Graham’s 366-day (a provision has been made for February 29th) daily devotional is brought back into print by Thomas Nelson. Each daily reading comes with a Biblical passage (no need to look it up in your Bible), a brief, but insightful discussion of its message, and a closing prayer. “Unto the Hills” is an example of a classic devotional that elicits quiet moments of reflection, inspiration and genuine conversation with God.
“Unto the Hills” being a devotional, each reading has to deliver a sufficient explanation of a thought without going into lengthy elaborations. Dr. Graham manages to do just that while using simple language and easy to understand illustrations. The anecdotes are very fitting and are presented in aid of elucidation. It is easy to see how each reading may offer enlightenment, motivation, encouragement, reminder, comfort, etc., appealing to readers as how God moves and responds to individual needs. I also really enjoyed reading the Foreword, which expounds on the reason behind the title of the book. It touches on a sentiment shared by Christians around the world with regard to the “mountaintop experience”.
The book cover has an attractive matte look and feel, the picture on it offering the right mood and imagery. However, the print may be considered on the small side by some readers.
Overall, “Unto the Hills” is a fine daily devotional, another piece of literary legacy from the beloved Dr. Graham.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unto the Hills by Billy Graham; a great choice

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thebenz
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unto The Hills by Billy Graham is an awesome daily devotional to start your day with. Graham is a well respected preacher, and has put many of his insights in this devotional to share with his readers. The book contains one devotional for everyday of the year, and each devotional contains a bible verse, teachings, and a daily prayer. Each devotion is written in language that is easy to understand, and each one only takes a few minutes to read since each one is only a page long (or just slightly onto a second page).
This book was highly interesting and a contagious read. It had me eager to read every morning, and the messages always helped to relax me on even the most stressful days. Graham’s teachings in the devotional really helped me to connect with my faith. Graham’s teachings seem to be full of biblical truth, and insight on ways to become a more Godly Christian. I would recommend this book to anyone searching for a daily devotional. It is short, easy to read and understand, and thought provoking. This would also be great for a new born again Christian who is looking for guidance, and insight on the Christian faith.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful scriptural based devotional book

Date:January 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Moody
Location:Nova Scotia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unto The Hills....A Daily Devotional by Billy Graham
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com http://BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Has your life been thrown into peril, whether it be the death of a loved one, marital problems, financial distress or a wayward child. Billy Graham addresses all of life's challenges with this beautiful and scriptural based Daily Devotional book. Each day gives an encouraging devotional with a scripture verse. Billy Graham is well known for being a true man of God who tells it like it is.
Because this book is a daily read I am not taking the time to read through the entire book for this review. I will however, continue to read this book on a day to day basis but for now have just skimmed through some of the devotionals.
As I was reading through these devotionals I found myself anxious to continue reading the next one.
This is a perfect devotional book for both male and female. An attractive coffee-table book, a book for your desk at the office, a lovely gift for a friend or one you want to carry in your car or purse.
The book is well constructed and easy to handle and read. I recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book everyone should own

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
amos0504
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unto the Hills by Billy Graham is a must have in anyone’s library. In typical Billy Graham fashion I am uplifted, challenged, forgiven and blessed each day. It is a daily devotional book that covers an entire year. Each day begins with a Bible verse and then a short story about an experience that Billy Graham or someone close to him may have had that applies to the verse. It finishes with a very simple but poignant prayer that you can feel bringing you closer to God.
For me, the stories that he shares are somehow very applicable to life situations that I currently have going on. He focuses on the positive in each situation and reminds you to do the same and to always be aware of God’s presence in your life. This book has allowed my husband and I to communicate about things that are going on in our heads that sometimes you cannot find the right words to express exactly what you are feeling.
I have taken the Bible verses each day and am writing them on a calendar so that I am constantly reminded of God’s word. The verses also allow me to remember the stories that went with those verses.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough to new Christians or a seasoned Christian that needs to be reminded of God’s purposes in their lives.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A daily devotional

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
dlruss
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unto The Hills by Billy Graham
Thomas Nelson, Publisher
Unto the Hills is a very uplifting and inspirational daily devotional book published 25 years ago and I'm glad it's been republished for a new generation to enjoy as much as I will.
Each day there is a scripture, a story and a prayer. I grew up listening to Billy Graham and when I saw this book was available I could not wait to get it. After reading my daily devotion I find myself jumping ahead to read more.
I have trouble sleeping and a favorite devotion os mine is April 13 "Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep".
This devotional book will be one that I turn to time and again and I can't wait to share with others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to start your day

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dianna A.
Location:South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great devotional. I have enjoyed starting my days out with Billy Grahams insights and wisdom that he has gained from the Word of God. It gives you a scripture and follows with a prayer to help start your day. It is excellent and full of the Word. I see this as a great asset to your morning Bible time and if you don’t have one then it would be a wonderful way to start.
Mr. Graham goes back through the things he has learned through out his lifetime in order to teach others these wonderful lessons. He is a man that is admired by all who meet him. Reading this book is a great way to learn about his faith and to strengthen yours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unto the Hills by Billy Graham

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unto the Hills by Billy Graham
A compilation of previously released writings, this is an inspirational and uplifting daily devotional. Psalm 121:1-2: "I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth” is the inspiration for the title of the devotional. This devotional does just that; it offers up a years worth of readings and prayers that help one stay focused on their strength in the Lord. Each day’s passage contains just the right amount of material without being too challenging, making it the perfect tool to use to help get a bit of God’s Word in each and every day. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Daily Devotional by Billy Graham

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Booksneeze has provided me with a complimentary copy of this Devotional Unto the Hills by Billy Graham in exchange for a Review.
Each of the 365 daily readings in this inspiring collection offers a carefully chosen passage of scripture, a brief, thoughtful message from Dr. Graham, and a heartfelt prayer composed especially for this book. Distilled from a lifetime of study and ministry, these devotionals supply daily food for thought about living fruitfully and joyfully in an often fretful world.
This Devotional is a GREAT devotional. I was wanting to get back to reading devotionals and this one is the Best one out there. What I really loved about this book is that the well-known Billy Graham wrote it and that there is a bible verse at the top, with his comments and then a prayer at the bottom of the devotional.
I have always loved and respected Dr. Graham. If you respect Billy Graham as much as I do, you would give this devotional a try. It is GREAT. I believe that everyone needs some type of devotional to use every single days of our lives. How would we get through life without the word of God. I suggest this devotional to my friends and family also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for daily inspiration

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shannon C
Location:Charlotte NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No one is more iconic to the modern day Christian faith than the Rev. Billy Graham. For almost a half century, this man has preached the word of God to millions of people. This year his daily devotional, Unto These Hills, has been republished for another generation to enjoy. Twenty five years after its first publication, this 365 day devotional still offers peace, comfort, and inspiration to the masses. Each day Dr. Graham offers you a verse of Scripture followed by a mediation/story, then a prayer. While the book follows the calendar year, you can jump in anywhere. What I also love is that the book is now be offered in paperback, making it cheaper and more accessible than the previous hardback addition.
Normally, I am not a devotional type person. Most of them offer little, if any, meat and seem to be just a feel good message. However, Dr. Graham's book is different. I feel like daily he points you to Christ and the power of the Gospel. While this should not replace daily time in the Bible, this devotional would be a great way to start the day. If you are in need of a little inspiration, this book would be a great resource to include as part of your day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
H G
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional by Billy Graham is an incredible devotional! I couldn't put it down! Each day is filled with Scripture and the author's prayer which I absolutely loved. I also really like the fact that the book can be browsed through by each month. This book has been such an inspiration for me to live a more fulfilling life each and every day. The message I really got from this book was to live fearlessly as we all walk together in Christ's path. Psalm 121 as well as many Scripture from the bible clearly state that we do not need to be afraid because the Lord is always with us, watching over us. What a wonderful message this is! I've always felt more at peace reading the bible and this book really made me understand why. It really made me feel even more close to the Lord and more at peace each and every day. This book is one you will go back and read every day for its powerful message is so encouraging. I absolutely loved this devotional and the writing style of the author is just so inspiring! This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson Publishers and it came at the perfect time for me. I'm very grateful for this timely gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
BookJunkieMom
Location:Kirkland WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was more than happy to review this devotional book by Billy Graham. I have been a fan of his for years, I grew up listening to his teachings. And when I saw the opportunity to review it I had to grab it! I was not let down. I could not put this book down. I was completely drawn in. This book is so good and so helpful to the everyday life. Also I was so glad he did one of the daily readings on the importance of prayer; January 7th's. That would have to be one of my favorites, and at the top.Because so many people say, "all you can do is pray." Like that is so small and so little. When in actuality that is a lot! Praying opens doors. So many of the daily devotions, if not all, are current to how we live today. Plus, at the end of each devotion, there is a small prayer as well which I loved.
I was going to list a few favorites but I would end up naming 1-365! So I gave you one of the days that stuck out the most. I highly recommend this devotional book, to anybody and everybody. I am so glad I ended the year with this and now I am reading it again for the new year!
I received my copy of this book from booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good devotional

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ioana
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been committing this year, as a New Year resolution, to reading the whole Bible and I also thought that it would be of great help if I had a devotional to accompany my quiet time. So when I saw on Book Sneeze that this book was available, I jumped at the chance and just requested it. And now I do no regret.
Of course, there is no surprise that this book has had a great impact in many people’s lives. The devotional for every day is simple, concise, and easy to understand. It gives a verse or two from the Scripture, then an explanation, and in the end there is a short prayer. I really like the way in which this book is thought and designed.
What I like the most about it is its simple look. It is structured my months and then by days, so it is very easy to handle it.
What I like the most about the daily devotional is that is very personal, most of the times. Billy Graham inserts personal experiences, ideas or quotes and in this way, the reader can connect better with the author.
All in all, I do not regret ordering this book as a devotional. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a daily devotional for they quiet time with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Unto the Hills: A Daily Devotional
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unto The Hills by Billy Graham

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Zayne
Location:Ocklawaha, FL
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This may come as a surprise to some, but I have been a Christian for many years and have not been familiar with the writings of Billy Graham until I read Unto The Hills. I have known of his great influence on the hearts of many people and the legacy he is leaving everyday in the lives of Christians. I have seen his overwhelming love for God and unrelenting passion for reaching the lost, yet,  until now, I had never read any of his books. 
  With such a reputation as the nation's most beloved spiritual leader, I had very high hopes when I did pick up one of his books, and Unto The Hills did not let me down. It met every expectation I had, and has shown me why he is named the most beloved spiritual leader in our nation.
   In the book, Billy Graham addresses many of the Bible's vast teachings and gives it in hearty portions that you can follow everyday. 
   If you are looking for a devotional that will encourage, challenge, and cause you to dig for a deeper relationship with the one true God, then I urge you to pick up Unto The Hills. It has, is, and I'm sure will continue to, impact my life as I read it.
My blog: www.processofillumination.blogspot.com
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>