Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World

Thomas Nelson Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World

This brilliant, 366-day devotional features incredible stories of God's faithfulness in the face of uncertainty and danger, written by hundreds of missionaries worldwide. With a foreword by International Mission Board president Jerry Rankin and an introduction by Beth, this volume also includes advice on how to hear God's voice, pray for missionaries, and understand the church's and individual's role in missions. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Review 1 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly Inspiring

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Suzanne
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Voices of the Faithful is a collection of inspiring devotions from missionaries across the globe. These dedicated servants of God—many serving in remote areas or countries openly hostile to the gospel—share bits and pieces of their lives and how God has worked through their ministry. Each devotion is rounded off with a relevant Scripture and a prayer to help us commune with God regarding the message in the devotion.
More than one brought tears to my eyes as I read about healings, protection, comfort, pain, miracles, and the changed lives of people around the world as they were touched by God. We are all witnesses for God, no matter where we are, and each of the monthly topics—from God’s Character and Word to Witnessing and Persecution to Spiritual Warfare and Compassion—carries lessons that speak to our hearts.
They couldn’t have picked anyone better to introduce each month’s devotions than Beth Moore. Her thoughts prepare the readers for each topic with the particular, heart-felt way she speaks to people’s hearts and points us to God’s goodness.
I can’t recommend this devotional book highly enough. Its inspiring stories will touch you, encourage you, and motivate you throughout the year…and perhaps change your life forever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an easy to read devotional.

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Ontario,Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a devotional book for every day of the year. Each day starts with a Bible verse and then goes on to tell an inspiring story from Christians around the world.It ends with a short prayer that points to a need from that part of the world.
I found the stories included down to earth and easy to read. So often our problems seem too hard to bear, yet reading of the struggles of these brave people who are committed to serving God, puts life into perspective. I like to end my day by reading one just before turning out the lights. The verses and stories turn your mind toward God and His involvement with people. I highly recommend "Voices of the Faithful" with the introduction by Beth Moore.
This would also make a nice gift.
Just wanted you to know that this book, reviewed here at "Book Sneeze" readings was graciously donated by Booksneeze for the purpose of giving you great previews and reviews! I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR,Part 255. Many thanks to the publishers and agencies for their generosity!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring a mission-minded life.

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
dunlizzie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This devotional, complied by Beth Moore, is comprised of 366 true-life stories from missionaries serving around the world. Moore concludes that its purpose is as a call to missions, whether to go or send or cover in prayer. It is obvious her hope is that the stories will inspire folk to see outside themselves and get a sense of the church as a global body of Christ, resulting in the inspiration of the reader to find his/her own mission in that.
Each day, the reader is presented with a scripture verse, a short account from a missionary, and a simple prayer. The book is divided up by date, with each month following a common theme such as God's Character, Prayer, God's Grace, Contentment, Spiritual Warfare, and Compassion. Each month has a forward by Moore discussing these themes.
I really enjoyed this book. Some accounts are the wild and shocking bits people seem to always expect from missionaries, while others are quieter, simpler tales. Yet all are pointing to God as the one who is and who does, which is the point afterall. I appreciate how these accounts show the humanity behind both the missionaries and those whom they serve. Moore talks in her initial introduction to the book how these people are like everyone else, and this comes through strongly in many of these stories. With the people sharing their struggles so honestly, it tears down the myth that one must be perfect in faith before serving as each story shows how it is God's hand at work. I also appreciate that there is such variety with the stories, intuitively showing that God is neither dependent upon, nor limited by location and circumstance. The short prayers at the end, while at times seek God's help for personal growth regarding the corresponding insight, are moreso prayers extending outward for the work that God is doing in the world.
My only complaint about this book would be that I wish each section were a bit longer. Each day's reading is a quick easy read. While this could be convenient for some, I find myself wanting to linger a bit longer.
I would highly recommend this book for anyone who wants a supplement to their regular Bible reading. As it is a compilation of others' stories, it should not be mistaken to be similar to Moore's Bible Study series or her other books. People who are looking for something specifically focusing and expounding on inward personal growth, may be initially disappointed. There is a strong element of this in the book, especially with the monthly motifs, however, the responsibility of drawing these conclusions is left to the reader. I think this is because these stories are meant to inspire the reader, by establishing truths about the nature of God and the possibilities that come with a willing heart, which in turn encourages on to ask God for the next step.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Voices of the Faithful

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Voices of the Faithful is a daily devotional unlike any I have seen. With a forward and book introductions written by Beth Moore, this devotional centers around daily readings written by hundreds of missionaries from around the world. Each offers a glimpse into the life of these workers of God and unique insight into a world few ever experience. I love particularly love the parts of this devotional written by Beth Moore. I agree with what she says in the intro about it being hard sometimes to grasp that there are real live people out there devoting their lives day in and day out to spreading God’s Word in the most remote of places. Missions work is something that can easily feel far removed from one’s everyday life. I liked that these devotions showed that missionaries are just people like everyone else, and it made it easier to connect with and relate to them. Some of the stories were more engaging than others, but overall I think this is a unique and uplifting daily devotional. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved the monthly, only liked the daily.

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
countrymama
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Voices of the Faithful is a 365 day devotional book with different subject topics each month such as God’s word, prayer, compassion & witnessing. Each month has a separate topic, and Beth provides an AMAZING intro to each month. However, the single page daily devotionals are stories from missionaries around the world.
This was the first book I had read from Beth Moore, and I wasn’t sure it would live up to all the hoopla I have heard… both good & bad. Voices of the Faithful proved to be both good & bad – The inspiration I received from each of the monthly intros from Beth Moore made the book worthy of a 5 star review. Unfortunately I can’t say I loved the daily devotions. As the daily devotions are from missionaries in different locations around the world, I had a hard time putting myself in their shoes. I would prefer to have read more “real life” stories that I could better apply to my everyday life. I would recommend this book, however I’d make sure the reader knew the daily devotions are from missionaries and not Beth. I will definitely be looking into some of Beth Moore’s other books.
NOTICE: I received this book free from the publisher through the a book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great devotional!

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
TofC
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a daily devotional book to develop our Christian living. The message of the book is to inspire us to live with courage and serve. Each bite size page has a verse, a story with insight, and a prayer. It is appropriate for any adult follower of Jesus who has lived enough to know that life and following Jesus isn't always easy.
Each day's reading is inspiring and engaging as it unwraps a slice of life from a follower of Jesus around the world where following Jesus has a high price. The stories are moving and remind us of the cost being paid for following Jesus. I highly recommend this book for it's global Christian perspective, life changing and hope giving message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great devotional

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
kdmom02
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose to review the book, Voices of the Faithful by Beth Moore & Friends from Booksneeze.com, because I love to read inspiring stories from others. This is a paperback edition.
This is a devotional for each day of the year. Each day has one page. It has inspiring stories from Christians around the world. Each month is divided into a category. January is God's character, February is God's word, March is prayer, and so on.
I think this would be a great devotional book to start the New Year off with. This would also make a great gift. I highly recommend this book to anyone to add to their daily devotions or as a quick read on your lunch break.
I was given this book at no cost for my honest opinion. I did not have to give a favorable opinion. I give this book 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alaska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love missionary stories! Now there is a devotional full of them. Voices of the Faithful is a devotional book for every day of the year that gives a verse, a story from a missionary, and a short prayer. Each month has a theme such as grace, prayer, God's character, compassion, and Christmas around the world. Beth Moore has written the book's introduction and an introduction for each month's theme.
I loved this devotional simply because its focus is different from others. Every story is from overseas. They contain excitement, miracles, and the power of God shining through in the lives and work of the missionaries. I was inspired by the stories of how God can work in our lives. If you are looking for a devotional that has a slightly different focus, this would be a great choice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good devotional

Date:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
lanorr
Location:Conway, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A book of daily devotions written by missionaries from around the globe. Beth Moore lends her pen to the acknowledgements and introduction to get your year started off right. The devotions are short and easy to include in your morning routine. Each month is devoted to a different topic, i.e. spiritual warefare, witnessing and God's Word with an introduction to the topic by Beth.
I would recommend this book to anyone in your life. This book is not geared towards women as many of Beth's books are (and this book is not written by Beth). It is for anyone who needs a bit of encouragment to get out of their comfort zone and be challenged by what God has in store for their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great devotional

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Booklover1977
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment I saw Voices of the Faithful: Inspiring Stories of Courage from Christians Serving Around the World, listed on the Booksneeze resource page, I knew it was one I wanted to review. It's a book that combines two things that I feel strongly about- Beth Moore's great writing and teaching, and stories of mission work around the world. It's easy to get caught up in my own life and lose track of the challenges and much bigger problems that Christians face in other parts of the world, so I need books like this to remind me!
I really have been enjoying this book immensely and feel encouraged and inspired and motivated to pray every time I pick it up and read one of the entries. Voices of the Faithful is laid out in a daily devotional format, which is perfect for anyone with a busy schedule and not much time to read. Each month has a theme, with themes ranging from God's character to contentment to persecution to spiritual warfare to Christmas around the world (to name just a few). There is an introduction section for each month, with a few pages written by Beth Moore on the theme of the month. The daily entries themselves are written by nearly 300 missionaries who are serving around the world. Each day's devotion is introduced with a Bible scripture and closes with a short prayer.
At the end of the book there are several sections that I found especially helpful, especially those about finding your voice, how to pray for international missionaries and people groups, and the role of individual churches in missions. If you or someone you love is interested in knowing more about international missions or want to hear first-hand accounts of how God is working around the world, this is a great book to consider.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book as part of the publisher's book review program, but was not compensated in any other way. I was under no obligation to leave a positive review and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.