Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays

Thomas Nelson The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays

Some of the most priceless gifts can be discovered while waiting for something else.

In the voice of an old friend or wise-cracking sister, Eileen Burton takes you back to the days of curling irons and camping trips, big dreams and bigger reality checks. Chock-full of humor and poignant insights, her stories will make you laugh and cry. They'll challenge you to enjoy--or at least endure--the now. As Eileen has learned, "To wait is human. To find life in the waiting place, divine."
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
27 out of 3090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Review 1 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I expect more, but it´s not so bad

Date:August 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monika Vlckova
Location:Prague, Czech republic
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book I chose just because I´m very impatient person and the idea of long waiting is very frustrating for me. This book is full of short stories from author´s life, where she describes various forms of waiting. Waiting for next move in scrabble game, waiting for fishing with her dad, waiting for engagement or waiting for a death.. It a book of very nice stories full of tender memories for her loved ones.
And what can I say about this book? It´s a nice and easy reading for sure, which I can reccomend to you. Essays are short and easy. Stories are sometimes happy, sometimes romantic and sometimes flavored with sadness. Offend anyone but for me personally not excite. It´s a nice reading, but probably I will not pick this book again. But I don´t want to reject it. I think, everybody needs to have a right mood for take this book, delving into his chair with a cup of hot chocolate and started to read. One need only wait :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Waiting Place

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy of three
Location:AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Waiting Place is a collection of essays of Eileen Button’s life. The theme that is carried throughout her memoir is the waiting place or what she calls life’s little delays and opportunities that she uses to trust God. Her book has the traits of an insightful and intelligent woman with an added humor and spunk that will have you laughing as she shares her life experiences.
I love the way she is so transparent and honest with her readers, in one way or the other you will see yourself in the author’s shoes. We all experience the waiting place in our life and this book will encourage you to trust God through your trials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Waiting Place by Eileen Button

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
blackballo0n
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Waiting Place is a series of short essays written from the point of view of the author (a mother, a columnist and a pastor's wife). In this book, Eileen gives us glimpses into various points of her rather complicated life.
To be honest, I was a little disappointed because I expected the book to be more about finding God in these "waiting places." However, once I got over that fact, I found myself appreciating the author's sharings, especially in the latter part of the book.
Overall, The Waiting Place is written in an intimate yet entertaining manner, making it a refreshing and light read.
---
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of BookSneeze, a book review bloggers program. Find out more at BookSneeze.com! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Waiting Place has something for everyone.

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
A Phone Tree Book Review
~
Eileen Button’s book, The Waiting Place, is beautiful work that shares sweet vignettes about life and its special in-between places. An enchanting read, it gently entices the reader to travel down the road of her familiar past, while learning to embrace the unique moments where memories can be viewed as gifts.
As I read this book, I could easily relate to what Ms. Button wrote. I was able to reflect back on my grandmother, as well as on my husband’s once-in-a-lifetime-kind-of-love marriage proposal. I laughed as she discussed everything from the size of her gluteus maximus to her mother’s love for big hair, panty hose, and layered clothing. I cried as she talked about her W.I.C. experience, her son’s medical complications, and her grandmother’s steady decline and withdrawal from life.
I knew this book would be amazing, and I wasn’t mistaken. The Waiting Place has something for everyone. It is inspiring, encouraging, and downright delightful. I loved it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie Evans
Location:England, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays [Paperback] By Eileen Button is a collection of short essays about waiting, whether it’s waiting ‘in traffic, grocery store lines, waiting to grow up or waiting for true love.’
I really enjoyed this book and liked the short essays as it made it easy for me to understand where the author was coming from. There were times throughout this book that I felt for the author especially chapters nine and ten.
Being from the UK I had never read anything by this author before as she writes for the Flint Journal. The book is about discovering things while waiting for something else. At times I was confused as there was language in the book which I didn’t understand. This book made me think about my own life and that true love really is worth waiting for. I would definitely recommend this book to others.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

The Waiting Place

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
by Eileen Button
This book is a collection of essays. Throughout Eileens life she experienced delays well as struggles. She is open with her life. She is a Pastors wife as well as a columnist as well as a professor.
When I seen this book I thought this looks like a good book. It may be just that if you want to read a book about delays in someones life. I was disappointed in this book personally I was hoping the author would talk more about running to God with the issues in her life.
I was also disappointed in reading some off colored words. Some people may not think they are bad words but they were words that I would not use.
This book was just not what I was expecting it to me.
DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"like a box of literary bonbons to read each night

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
BiancaTC
Location:Oradea, Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Waiting Place is a collection of essays inspired by different moments and events in Eileen Button’s life, from childhood times to present times.
The book is very well written and I have to say that I laughed out loud so many times reading this book … she is so funny you will instantly fall in love with the book and have a hard time letting it out of your hands until you finish it. It happened to me:)
I loved the fact that she is so open and honest about the events she talks about in the book - her waiting places - that you can’t help but feel very comfortable "listening" to her life, as if in a coffee shop with your best friend talking about life. And the fact that she is very funny contributes to this as well!
I loved the book so much that I was sad when I finished it, I wanted more of it! So I would definitely recommend this book to those of you who want to learn how to make the best out of your waiting places and to those of you who want to read a really good book and laugh out loud reading it but at the same time learning something valuable for your lives, because as the author concludes:
… to live is to wait. It’s how we wait that makes all the difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read! Quick and Easy!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
idahomomof2
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“We can wait all our lives for the next stage to come. Or we can choose to see the waiting place for what it often is: unexpectedly magical and holy”.
Eileen Button does a phenomenal job using her own life experiences to share with her readers and sharing her idea of realizing the wonders of “waiting” period. At the end of each vignette she explains her thoughts on why she went through what she went through and keeps a positive and Christian attitude about it all.
The book walks through various stages of her life, when she was young in love (waiting for a sign), when she was having children (waiting for her baby to cry), and about her family and friends (waiting for her friend to ‘finally’ decide), and many more. These story vignettes are short and easy to read, I read it story by story before bed. It was a peaceful way to help calm the mind. She finds light in every situation and looks to God when situations arise.
The gist of the book I think is to enlighten its readers and try to find out why God is having you “wait” at this certain point in your life, Button certainly points that out in her stories.
I was engrossed in every story, as too a mom, I could relate to many of her stories. She reaches her readers by giving her real life stories. Sometimes while reading it’s like you’re going through what she’s going through with her. The story about “Crossing the Jordan” made me tear up as she had to step away from her newly third born child to let the doctors do their work to help him breathe, I wanted to finish it to find out what happened to her child!
Button certainly got me thinking about why I’m where I’m at…I stop and think,I, what good can come out of this “waiting” time. It was a great eye opener! I enjoyed the short stories as it was easy to read a few and then pick up right where you left off the next day! I never had to re-read to remember what I had previously read. Button is very honest in her book about being a Christian and not always a happy Christian; she describes the truth in her book!
“Through it all, I’ll peer into the waiting place’s dingy corners and hunt for treasures beneath the grime…I’ll search for signs of God’s fingerprints even when it seems he’s failed to appear…And I’ll resolve to remember that now—even the most difficult now—isn’t forever”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
aunterica
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I really liked this book, although I felt the author was a little confused as to how she should be living as a Christian, especially a pastor's wife, but not everybody believes the way I do so sometimes you just have to overlook that. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Waiting for God

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
mamatish
Location:Austin, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! I love this book! I am an avid reader of fiction and especially Christian fiction. I can finish a book in just a couple of days. I was a little worried about this book because I knew it wasn't a "story" but it was awesome:) I think it took me a week to finish it.
This book is many essays woven together to tell the story of the author's life. The author writes about the times of waiting in our lives-waiting to for an idea to write about, waiting to be married, waiting for someone to die, waiting for a fish to bite. Then she goes on to talk about that in each situation we get to choose whether to be in that moment or wish the time away. Near the end of the book, Eileen relates a time in her life where she heard God's voice, listened, took the action and then shared how good it felt to do his will. In this particular story, she didn't wait but acted on her inner leadings.
Great for everyone-- especially those who attend church on a regular basis and want to know more about the life of a senior pastor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Quick Read

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
JayJ
Location:Lome, Togo
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Waiting Place is an autobiography of sorts, sketched out in 22 short essays discussing the different times of Eileen Button’s waiting, those mundane times of waiting that most of us have already or will soon encounter in our everyday lives: waiting for a baby to cry, waiting for the mail to come, waiting for a loved one to die. Her goal? Discovering the ‘joy in the journey’ in having to wait for that momentous event, be it whatever it may.
The book’s format made for an easy, quick, and enjoyable read (each chapter was only a few pages long). I was surprised and a bit disappointed at some choice of language used as well as the perspective that Button has on both being a pastor’s wife and a mother, which seemed to me as reluctant and preoccupied by her ‘own’ career; there also didn’t appear to be a scriptural basis for any of the material. Thus this probably will never make my ‘recommend to friends’ list. That being said, I appreciated the stark honesty Button employs regarding her ‘waiting places.’ In addition, the spots of good humor and several simplistic yet profound revelations made reading the book worthwhile.
**I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book full of candid, heartwarming reflection.

Date:August 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
E Austin
Location:Hahira, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Waiting Place……
“Through it all, I’ll peer into the waiting place’s dingy corners, and hunt for treasures beneath the grime.”
I just completed a thought provoking and reflective book by Eileen Button about embracing through faith all the periods of waiting that permeate our lives here on Earth. She takes you on a journey through various milestone markers in her life, from childhood to being in her 40s that highlight very different kinds of waiting places she has had to experience. She provides feelings, reflections and valuable insights she has gained through these times of waiting. She also expresses how her faith in God has carried her through these waiting places, providing meaning and value to the circumstances and an ability to persevere and grow in her wisdom and understanding of Him.
We all have waiting places in our lives, those times when we just feel like we are caught between where we are and where we want to be, or when we are not sure of God’s direction, or we just don’t know what he has planned for us next. Because waiting places are common to us all, it helps to relate to the author as she opens her heart to us, and shares with us the joys and sorrows, tears and laughter that have made up her waiting places. It took me a little while to make a connection with the author, but as her story continued, my interest increased. I began to feel her happiness, her excitement, her enthusiasm or her disappointment, her fatigue, her pain. I was amused at times, and I shed some tears at times. I recommend this book to anyone looking for something a bit different yet heartwarming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A best friend, 'read again and again' book.

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
EvaK
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awakening book; most of us don’t even realize that such a thing as a waiting place exists. At least, I didn’t. And here I was reading a book that not only told me that that is what it is, but it told me to get my eyes of MY goals, and started lookin’ around, and most of all, above, in order to make the most of the circumstances of now.
I believe the sunshine-glow on the cover seeped into the words and, chapter after chapter, worked its way into my heart.
It’s so real. Filled with humor, valleys, mountains, questions, children, one ‘n only true love, death, and the other wonderful, beautiful, ugly, funny, absurd things that make up this life. All told in a writing style that was intelligent, simple, and to the point. I closed the book and the feeling felt something like saying aufwiedersehn to an old friend, or ending a phone conversation with the same where you haven’t had the chance to say nearly enough.
I’ll be opening it again when I need to revisit that old friend for a heart-to-heart, when I realize that I’m in a Waiting Place and I need a reminder that I sure ain’t alone, and that God is waiting for me to notice Him and His mysterious, sometimes strange, but always beautiful ways.
I feel like I've found a treasure having read this book, and I'm sure you will, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great collection of short stories!

Date:June 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappytoLive
Location:missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Waiting Place-Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays, is a fantastic read by Eileen Button. This book is a collection of 22 stories that cover many years of the authors life, from childhood to parenting. It ranges in topics from fishing to death and all of those in between times. There are times in reading that I connected to the auther and times I felt sorry for her as well as empathy. It is just a great read!
I love being able to pick up a book and read for 15 minutes and feel like I have accomplished something and this is a book for that. These short stories evoke emotions of laughter, love, sadness, loniless, and a range of other emotions that make for good stories.
So, go ahead and give this book as a gift for anyone in a "waiting place" which happens to be most of us, most of the time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's hard to wait!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Eileen Button. After reading this, I want to hang out with this gal. I love her style of writing. I love her honesty. I love how it feels like she's speaking to me. I love her heart for God. I love her faith. and her trust. and her vulnerability. I could go on and on, seriously.
This book has 22 chapters. My plan was to read one a day. But after the first three days, I had to read more! So I think it took me 5 days to finish the entire book.
This book is an everyday reminder that God has a plan and sometimes while we wait for His plan to unfold, it is hard. We want instant gratification. We want life to be easy and to go our way. We feel entitled to the good life. But that is not the case! In this world we will have troubles, trials, sadness, pain, and hard times. Sometimes all we can do (in the words of Eileen) is "hunker down, pray harder, and listen more keenly......and hold tightly to the belief that something good is yet to come". We know God is always good and we are always loved. And that is enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Enjoyed Reading This

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:Somewhere, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A collection of essays describing the beauty and humor that can be found in what often feels like a most useless state-The Waiting Place.
We all spend precious time just waiting. We wait in traffic, grocery store lines, and carpool circles. We wait to grow up, for true love, and for our children to be born. We even wait to die. But amazing things can happen if we open our eyes in The Waiting Place and peer into its dusty corners. Sometimes relationships are built, faith is discovered, dreams are (slowly) realized, and our hearts are expanded.
With humor and heart-breaking candor, Eileen Button breathes life into stagnant and, at times, difficult spaces. Throughout this collection of essays she contends that The Waiting Place can be a most miraculous place-a place where beauty can be experienced, the sacred can be realized, and God can be found working in the midst of it all.
Includes stories on waiting for:
the day to end
a place called home
the fish to bite
a baby’s healing
church to be over
a husband’s return
children to grow
a mother’s acceptance
a loved one to die
As Eileen says, "To wait is human. To find life in The Waiting Place, divine."
Eileen has those family stories that we all have, and decided to share them while applying lessons to them.
As another reviewer noted, I was expecting this to be more of a how-to guide, but I was pleasantly surprised. Mrs. Button is a very good writer, and I laughed when she laughed, and I cried when she cried. I enjoyed reading this so much that I managed to read it in less than a day!
In summary, it wasn't what I expected, but I really enjoyed reading it and I would recommend it to a friend.
In accordance with new laws, I am required to say that I got this book for free from www.booksneeze.com in exchange for a review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Waiting Place

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I was a little disappointed when I started reading this book. I guess I was expecting it to be more practical on waiting and that type of thing. It is more compiled of short stories of different times the author had to wait and there are some practical truths pulled out of those stories.
It is a good book to read before bed. Not sure it would be a book I’d suggest for people to read unless they wanted something to read before bed.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouraging and Uplifting

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When is the last time you had to wait for something? Maybe it was just five minutes ago or maybe it was yesterday. It might have been something as simple as waiting for the next available teller at the bank or it might have been as life altering as waiting for a phone call about the job you so desperately want.
Waiting. Big or small. It’s a part of life. Sometimes it’s pleasant. Sometimes it’s not.
In this book, Eileen Button takes us into her world of waiting. She gives us a glimpse into the midst of her trials, joys, and what most would consider the mundane events of life. She lets us into her heart and doesn’t hold back by sharing the value of each and every waiting place she encounters. During some of the most difficult times of waiting, she shares how Jesus meets her there and pulls her through. Readers can definitely relate to her experiences and will feel as though they have been there themselves. This book is encouraging and uplifting. A must read for anyone who feels as though they are always playing the waiting game.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To live is to wait.

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hate to wait. I have always been an impatient person and I have not improved with time. So when I saw Eileen Button’s book, The Waiting Place, I jumped at the chance to read it. I wanted to see what someone else would have to say about the process of waiting. I was not disappointed. In the pages of this book are short essays about different waiting times throughout life and the author’s reactions to them. They range from funny memories to very serious situations where the waiting is long and hard. I can identify with all the stories in this book; not only the ones that are similar to my life, but also the ones that I have not experienced yet. Reading each story gave me a chance to examine myself and to realize that God does have a purpose in the waiting. As the author summed it up, to live is to wait. So I guess we might as well try to get good at it. I have determined that I will try to use my waiting time more effectively in the future and make an honest effort to let God speak to me as I wait.
I received a review copy of this book through the BookSneeze blogger program in return for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Waiting Place: Learning to Appreciate Life's Little Delays
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Waiting is Worthwhile...

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Waiting Place has 22 essays about how sometimes waiting itself has value. There were several essays I could barely read for the tears streaming down my face; what is written on the page is so true it feels as though Eileen thumbed through my diary, and re-wrote my moments to fit her experiences. The chapter that grabbed me the most is one called “Letting Stella Go”. In that essay, Eileen tells of hearing God’s voice, and doing something she doesn’t really want to (at first) and recognizing that it is truly incredible to be obedient to God’s call. The particulars of the story are eerily similar to something that my sister is going through, and so in that way it really hit me, too.
Eileen describes her life as a pastor’s wife, including times when she had to get assistance to feed her family, and times when they moved to fulfill God’s call on their life. She describes waiting for one person to die, one person to live, and her own impatience with waiting for decisions from others, and even church services that steal her husband’s time. Honest and compelling, this is a book of encouragement, one that reminds us all that sometimes between the moments where so much happens, while we wait, the real lessons are available.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>