Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be

Thomas Nelson The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be

Where you want to go in life and the path you choose to get there don't always agree---despite good intentions. Teaching that our direction determines our destination, Stanley offers a story-driven, Bible-based road map to help you avoid unnecessary disappointments and attain your goals for your marriage, career, finances, and more. Includes interactive study guide. 224 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Review 1 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:April 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
annekim
Location:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been listening to Andy Stanley's podcast and I wanted more! This book touches on some of his talks, and it was good to see them in written words (in ebook). So often we live in auto-pilot mode, not knowing how far we have veered off-course until we get lost, or we crash. We are so easily blindsided and distracted by the competing lights in our world. Thinking about the path I am taking, where it is going to lead me, and changing course if need to - and not wait until it's too late! And trusting God to show me the path that I should take. The last chapter was really touching, and so inspiring to remain faithful to our Lord Jesus. Thank you, Andy Stanley, for this insightful book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is an eye opener for life.

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
savedsoul
Location:British Columbia , Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have already got two other people close to me to purchase this great read from Andy Stanley. He has a way of showing and explaining things with scripture that makes it sink in. He shows and explains that each decision we make affects the outcome in one way or another of our life's journey. I did not want this book to end. Thank you for offering this title and author in your book store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good principle, not much detail.

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The intention of the book is sound: Learn to get to where we are going from where we are. However, as the blurb says… “Your Direction, not your Intention, Determines Your Destination.” The book promises that it will give us a “Principle of the Path” to guide us. It does.
It also promises that the book will be “a road map to proper direction and discipline.” There I am not as convinced.
As I said before, the idea is sound. We need to look at what we are doing, not what we want to do. Our intentions are noble, but if we aren’t following them we are not in the correct path.
Just do it.
But the book does not give any concrete examples of how to do this, or strategy for moving in the right direction. To me, it felt like a text book teaching me something I already know, but not how to apply it.
Maybe the Principle (Direction, not intention, determines destination) was new to some people, but I have read it in a number of similar books. I expected something more than just a re-hash of old clichés, and I guess that was where I was disappointed.
The book is well written, and easy to read. Everything about it makes sense. I just expected… more. Especially from Andy Stanley.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katherine
The Principal of the Path By Andy Stanley
Why is it that smart people with admirable life goals often end up far from where they intended to be? Why is it that so many people start out with a clear mental picture of where they want to be relationally, financially, and professionally and yet years later find themselves far from theyr desired destination? Why do our expectations about our own future often go unmet?
It is these questions that Andy Stanley focuses on in his book Principles of the Path that we received to review from Thomas Nelson Publishing.
I have appreciated other books from Andy Stanley in the past and was quite excited to have a chance to review this book. Overall, this book was good in premise, but not quite there in fallow through. The thought that began this book, to illustrate and explain how the results that we get in life are most often a product of a series of discisions and ways of doing things that make a path to those results. This is certainly a very important realization, and as a pastor I have met and had discusions with many people that need to better understand that fact. As simple as it is, it is amazing how all of us can decieve ourselves in seperating the many smaller choices and paths we put ourselves on from the results we get ourselves into, and often that leads to a lot of complaining, both to others and to God.
The problem arrises in that instead of developing this idea into a fully rounded book and working it all through, it was kept at the basic level of development and surrounded by personal stories and other re-iterations of the same idea.
Now, this by no means should be taken as a reason to not read the book, or to have one on your shelf for when you find that person who trully needs to hear that basic truths of this book, it just means that you need to keep your expectations in check, and to be ready to do a lot of the work yourself in bringing it to a fully developed point, which might be twice as good in the long run.
So pick up a copy, and start thinking about the paths we are on, and where it might go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anngladys Gichuhi
Location:Kenya
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Oh don’t we all wish for our dreams to come true. We pray, plan, desire, talk about them….and wait for them to happen. We begin engaging in activities that we truly believe will give us guidance and direction on the same. We buy all the self-help and motivational books that we can, read them, get excited, and a bit puffed up with the knowledge. But the principle lies in wait for us…because unless we engage it, we will fail. We will not achieve our goals. Because direction, not intention determines our destination.
This book makes for great conversation between spouses, and people who would like to move in the same direction. For people already taking a journey towards their goals and dreams, this book will enlighten as well as empower in matters regarding decision making, and this in light of the big picture.
Relevant also for girls who are reaching for their goals. To stay pure till marriage, to get married to the right person, to have their career and home dreams come true. To know their placement and their direction…the principle will always work.
Using very interesting stories from his own experiences, Andy clearly demonstrates this principle of the path. It gets even more interesting towards the end when he talks about the legacy that we would want to leave behind.
Quoting from Page 112: “Another way to ask the third question, the wisdom question, is to ask, What story do I want to tell? As was the case with David, some decisions are legacy decisions. To some degree, every decision becomes part of your story. In light of the story you want o tell, what should you do? David decided that killing the king while he was relieving himself was not the story he wanted to tell his grandkids one day. Imagine the scenario: “Granddaddy, please tell us one more time the story of how you snuck up behind king Saul and ran him through with your spear while he was on the potty. You are such a mighty warrior.””
This certainly helps us see the eternal impact of each of our decisions, made in public or in private. Andy handles all types of decisions, including financial ones. It’s a must-read!
This book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html>: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointing read.

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carin
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this was going to be a great book, packed with helpful ideas on achieving your dreams. I was sadly disappointed. The title of the book is based on the principle that you should live your life with direction as opposed to intention, which makes complete sense but it's not enough to base an entire book on! The book is mostly stories and anecdotes with a little bit of Scriptural interpretation thrown in. There is very little advice about getting to your desired destination in life. A lot of what Stanley says in this book is just plain common sense; I did not learn much from this book at all.
Thompson Nelson Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

“Principle of the Path” by Andy Stanley another wi

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
adoptedheir
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently received a free copy of “The Principle of the Path” by Andy Stanley from Thomas Nelson Publishers. I must admit, I was impressed with this book. Andy Stanley is a great communicator and finds a way to put deep truths into language that I can not only understand, but apply. This particular book uses an analogy of driving to a destination to compare to our lives. We all have somewhere we want to get to, but we just don’t know how to get there. Assuming that God is the one who gave us the desire, Stanley offers some advice on seeing God’s will accomplished in our lives. Another great books by Andy Stanley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good perspective on making changes of any sort

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Principle of the Path by Andy Stanley is the latest book I've received from Thomas Nelson for reviewing it.
The book is based mostly on a comparison of our lives as a road or path, with our current situations and the more desired situations as destinations on that path.
The reason we are where we are, lost or otherwise, is because we chose that particular road, and that is where that road led. It would have led anyone else to the same place had they also selected that road, and looking backwards you can see how the steps along that road led where they did.
But being lost is not a problem to be fixed with a solution, its a matter of changing direction to take a different path that leads to somewhere else. It's this direction that matters, not our intentions, and this direction is often set by where our attention is focused.
The book goes into many different aspects of this, from ways to tell a road is the wrong one before you've taken it (such as if it's against God's principles), learning to get maps from people who are or have been where you want to be instead of those who are in the same place of life that you are, and dealing with situations where the destination you desire to reach just isn't going to be reachable.
I really liked the book. While it's message isn't anything earth-shatterningly new and the author himself even mentions this occasionally, it's a good perspective check.
It's also very applicable no matter what the particular road you find yourself stuck on. Whether it's considering whether your next purchase is a step along the road to bankruptcy or towards financial freedom, or next meal is towards the path to healthy or the path toward medical issues, or less black and white goals such as relationships, the principle works the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Principle of the Path

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Russell
Location:Canton, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever wondered how you ended up at a certain destination? You maybe asking the question, how in the world did I get here? I did not want to be here, I was intending to go here or there but not definitely not here. Does that sound familiar? Andy Stanley, in his book "The Principle of the Path" explains clearly how our intentions do not determine our destination but our direction does.
Where are we heading in life will determine where we end up. This book is a must read for middle schoolers and up. The fact is this principle applies no matter what we believe or who we are. This principle is not a respecter of persons. It just is. When we understand how this principle works we can leverage it to our benefit.
I am remind of Jesus' call to repent or change directions. If we are going down a certain path we have to ask the Lord to give us wisdom to determine if we are on the right path. Simply put, if we are not then we need to repent and change directions so we are following the ways and paths of Jesus. This book will inspire you to get on the path that Jesus has for each of us if you are not already.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappytoLive
Location:missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Principle of the Path by Andy Stanley was a great read. It didn't have anything profound-only one of those books where you went, "I need to really think about that more." It had a subtitle that states "How to get from where you are to where you want to be," my opinion is that it could have just as well said, "the choices you make can detour you or keep you straight." This book was predominately about how simple choices affect the course of your life. For example-one may say, "I want to marry a christian man," but the reality is that she may date a non-christian, end up married, and regret those choices, simply due to a "date with the wrong person". Or take the example of, "I want to grow in my christian walk," however, I make time for the newspaper in the morning but not the Bible. This book is details how a simple idea of "principle of the path," can explain disappointment in our lives and how we can empower ourselves to make the choices that keep us in Gods will and on "the path." This book was given to me for the purpose of the blogger review program through Thomas Nelson-I was not required to write a positive review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Principle of the Path: How to Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book that will change your life.

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Janesville, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a copy of The Principle of the Path by Andy Stanley from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of the BookSneeze program.
I am a huge fan of Andy Stanley as a speaker but was hesitant to see if this great verbal communicator was able to translate his speaking skills to writing. I was not disappointed. In fact, this is by far one of the best books I have read in a long time.
Andy shares a simple idea of how to get from where you are to where you really want to be. He answers the often asked question of why so often intelligent people make such foolish decisions in life. With wonderful personal stories along the way, he guides us on what seems to be a simple journey but one with profound consequences for your life.
The chapter about Solomon shows us that intelligence is not all that is needed to made good decisions. Everything we do in life is connected and every decision must be weighed based on how it could affect the future. We need to learn that we are on a quest for truth and not for happiness.
Truly, if we would follow the principle of the path that Andy Stanley lays out in his excellent book, it would affect every area of our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.