Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance

Thomas Nelson The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance

Revised and updated, The Blessing by Drs. John Trent and Gary Smalley explains how the biblical gift of "the blessing" is the key to one's self-worth and emotional well-being. A foudational parenting tool, "the Blessing" consists of five essential elements: meaningful touch, a spoken message, attaching value, picturing a special future, and an active commitment. If you've missed out on the approval of your parents, the final chapters are for you. They include help for those who grew up without their own parent's blessing and ideas for blessing events. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 2896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Review 1 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Parent or not, read this!

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the oppurtonity to review one of the most renowned writer-- John trent. The Blessing, challenging yet very compelling book to read. I would say that this book is not just for parents, for at any stage of life.
Every story is full of insightful truths... I'm not a father but still I can do relate to the book, it gaves an avenue of truth on how should a father be like, how the power of touch can change a life of a child, how a father's blessing important to childs life.
I read a little longer not because its hard to relate but because it makes me think of every chapter, every stories...
John and Gary has write a book that for sure will be one of your favorite book, such exciting book to read! If you had a stuggle against parenthood, about being an effective father then read this! If you want to better know your son/daughter, read this! I can guarantee you, your gonna be a not perfect but a better parent-- thats no empty-promise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Must read for all parents

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
abbyjewel
Location:New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every human needs the gift of “the blessing”—the unconditional love and approval that comes from a healthy relationship with one’s parents.
The Blessing is a wonderful book and a must read for all parents. Those of us who struggle with “the right way” to handle situations with our children will find this book very valuable. The authors give many biblical examples of others being blessed and offer suggestions to the readers for being a blessing to others. The authors discuss what happens when children struggle for the approval of their parents or if they have “missed the blessing”. They explain that no matter what our circumstances were when we were children, as adults we can give those blessings to others.
The book is broken up into 3 sections – Why the blessing is so importanat, Understanding the blessing and When the blessing doesn’t happen. The 5 elements of the blessing are: Meaningful touch, a spoken message, attaching high value, picturing a special future and an active commitment. The Blessing shows us that saying our children, our friends, our family are blessings in our life is not enough….we must show them. I gave this book a rating of 4 stars and would recommend it to anyone – parent or child.
Disclosure of Material Connection: This book was received for free from the publisher but a positive review was not required. The opinions expressed are my own. This disclosure is in accordance with the United States Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Witten with pure love and talent!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written with pure love and talent!
John Trent and Gary Smalley is one of he country's best-known authors. I think this book is very good for people who haven't been living like christians and who don't necessarily want a lot of biblical quotes and chrisitian teachings, it also convinced me to start going to church and other things. This book is a must for anyone serious about making the commitment to either get married, or to strengthen their marriage.
The books mentioned previously are good, but if you come out of this with a clear definition of Honor and Genuine Love. you will really come out a better and it will be worth the the wait! This book did give some very useful insights as to how to work on yourself and improve yourself. The Blessing offers simple steps that God can use to restore hope and make a positive difference in all aspect of relationship. I would really going to buy several copies for some of my dearest friends.
The authors concept is the centerpiece of his best-selling work. While his list of felt needs may not apply precisely to every man and woman, he does present a very accurate picture for most men and women in our society today. I think every one need to learn to accept and learn the type of true love that we have to give, rather than for us to learn to love them in the way they understand. In this book, John Trent is teamed up with best-selling author Gary Smalley, who has written some very successful books on relationships.
This book, as well as others in the "The Blessing" have enjoyed such wild success is a testimony to their effectiveness.Keep this book on your shelf or bedside table as a quick and useful resource for the relationship challenges in daily life. It is a great book and I would highly recommend it to anyone in a committed relationship, whether it is in turmoil or not because it teaches a lot of principles that would be. Great book love it!!!!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

an insightful parenting book

Date:February 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
yunie-agenda ibu rumah tangga
Location:Jakarta, Indonesia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read through the book easily, it's full of true stories excerpts from chapter to chapter. I understand the importance of the blessing for children and it's a must have for Christian parents :)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great information on a forgotten concept!

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
my5lilgoobs
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I appreciated this book because it was a subject that, although well ‘known’ to me due to reading the Bible, was not fully understood in its depth and necessity. I enjoyed how they laid out the needed elements and in a sense walked you through the concept and process of blessing your children. It helped me be more intentional in how I speak and love on my children and how I would like to bless them in the years to come. I also found the last portion about not being raised with a blessing very interesting and helpful in understanding where others might be coming from and things inside myself that I possibly hadn’t linked to this need. It is a valuable tool. Thank you to BookSneeze for the complimentary book and opportunity to read this!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
As a parent to three young children, I am always interested in learning and equipping myself to be a better, more Godly father. To that end, I was excited when I had the opportunity to read The Blessing. I had heard a lot about it and a couple of months ago, my pastor even referenced it during one of his sermons.
The Blessing, by John Trent and Gary Smalley, addresses the need and desire that every child has for unconditional love and approval – “the blessing – and provides parents with practical advice on how to make this an integral part of every interaction within a family context. The book even starts out by addressing the scenario where perhaps the parent missed out on, and never fully experienced “the blessing” during their formative years and how that might impact their ability to pass it on to their children now that they are a parent.
The book is broken down into the following parts:
1. Why Is The Blessing So Important?
2. Understanding The Blessing
3. When The Blessing Doesn’t Happen
4. Living The Blessing Challenge
While there are plenty of sound advice and solid nuggets within it’s pages, I find that with every parenting book I read they all seem to come down to common (Biblical) sense. For me, it’s not a matter of continuing to consume information. It’s about putting that information to good use and putting it into practice. In other words, I don’t need more information, I just need to put what I do know into practice.
That being said, The Blessing is a good book with good intentions. Even more so the content of the book, I appreciate the fact that the authors call the reader to put their money where their mouth is and participate in The Blessing Challenge. If you are interested in being equipped and encouraged to build strong relational ties with your children and have that be part of your testimony as a radical, sold-out follower of Jesus Christ, then you might enjoy reading The Blessing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book!

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
SuzB
This book is great, I love how there are small ideas and "activities" throughout the book as you read as well as a website that is advertised throughout to join the Blessing Challenge. They call for 1 Million parents to join in this challenge.
It has some similarities to a parenting course my husband and I did recently.
I can't think of too many words to describe this great book, it is one of those books where you need to read it for yourself and make your own decision and decide what ideas you want to try and don't want to try.
Check it out for yourself. :-)
I recommend reading this book!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life-Changing

Date:October 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
gadfly1974
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I first read this book over ten years ago, before I was a parent.
From the adult child point-of-view, this book confirmed what I knew already, that my parents are top-notch!
Now, I returned to this book as the parent of a 6-year-old daughter and 8-year-old son, and I found it a more challenging read.
How have I fulfilled the five elements of the blessing, an ancient practice of encouraging children to grow up into productive, responsible, loved adults?
1) Meaningful touch
2) A spoken (or written) message
3) Attaching high value
4) Picturing a special future
5) An active commitment
As a parent, I have plenty of room to grow.
If you’d like insight into how to improve your relationships with your own kids, or if you feel you had a difficult childhood, this book is a must-read.
As you learn and apply the five principles of the book, you will find yourself feeling better about yourself and the people around you.
I give this book my highest recommendation!
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, life changing

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
carrieb16
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book The Blessing by John Trent and Gary Smalley is about giving unconditional love and encouragement to our children no matter what life throws at us. Even if we didn’t receive this as children, we can still move through those hurts and give our children a brighter future. Passing on a blessing is something that will impact everyone involved.
This book really inspired me to think about what I say to my children before I say it. Sometimes I speak without thinking and those words can really hurt them and possibly their future. I need to build them up and pull the good things out and not just the bad. Even as a child, there were times I can still remember that words were spoken that cut deep. God can heal all that and we can read in his Word all the promises we are guaranteed as His children by living the life he called us to. And we can pass this on to your children.
This book is very easy to read and understand. Some points were brought up a few times but they were worth bringing up. I would say that this book follows along with what God calls us too. All throughout the Bible it talks about parents giving the blessing to the oldest child. But blessing can be to all our children. I would recommend this book if you want to change your child’s future for the better. And quite possibly your own!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Blessing

Date:September 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
mzzterry
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
The Blessing, by Gary Smalley and John Trent is a book I received from Booksneeze publishers to review, but it is not a new book, rather a revised and updated book from 1986. The new version includes links to online resources that are supposed to enrich your experience. There is a "Blessing Challenge" that calls one million parents to choose to change the life of a child by giving them their blessing. And equipping one thousand churches to create an ongoing culture inside their church that helps parents live out the blessing for a lifetime.
You can carry out that blessing challenge by utilizing the five elements of a blessing described in the book. These five elements include:
* Meaningful Touch
* A Spoken Message
* Attaching High Value
* Picturing a Special Future
* An Active Commitment
I appreciate, even agree with, most of the points made in this book. It is a great basis for parenting in a loving, healthy manner. As an adult child of dysfunctional, alcoholic parents, I can relate to the needs for the coping skills lined out in this book. But, as a Christian parent who has been in childcare and very involved in the upbringing of my children for over thirty years, I must say none of this is new to me.
The Blessing is just basic parenting repackaged, in a Focus on the Family, Strong Families.com kind of way. There is nothing wrong with either of these organizations, but they are in this to make a buck. I would, however, pass this book on to a novice parent because the tried and true elements of unconditional love can never be a bad thing, even when presented in such a way. We all want to be valued, loved and blessed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and practical

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
wahmivy
Location:Marikina City, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Blessing” is a wonderful guidebook written by Dr. John Trent and Gary Smalley on giving the gift of “the blessing” not only to your children, but to anybody you have a relationship with. The book has recently been revised, updated and enhanced, frequently referring to further material one can find online. It is a very understandable and effective blend of biblical principles, psychology, and practical advice.
The book provides numerous illustrations and true cases, which make reading it extra fascinating and engaging. Of course, the theology and the psychology aspects are solid, but presented in a way that can easily be understood by any reader. The instructions are clear and the tips very practical. The concept of “the blessing” is thoroughly discussed. Every part of it is covered, especially the five essential elements. It tells you what to do as a parent who wants to make sure that your children do receive the blessing. It tells you how to bless the people around you. It also tells you what to do if you’re one of the many people who’ve missed out on the blessing.
I actually started out thinking that the book didn’t really offer anything I hadn’t read before in other parenting books and articles, but I was wrong. It is a package of motivation, hope, inspiration and practical guidance. “The Blessing” is, in fact, truly a blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for raising healthy children

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've just finished reading the book The Blessing by John Trent and Gary Smalley. This book is about the unconditional love and acceptance that every child needs from their parents. When five elements are met they have received the blessing. These elements are: meaningful touch, a spoken message, attaching high value, picturing a special future, and an active commitment. This book helps you put all the above mentioned elements into practice by offering biblical counsel and wise advice. What if an adult has gone through life never having received the blessing? They show you how to reverse that and train you how not to let your kids go without having received the blessing from you.
The Blessing has challenged me to intentionally speak words of blessing and life into my children's lives. Thinking deliberately on how to bless them and leave a legacy that lasts. There was a particular story that was shared about how one child was a procrastinator and never could do anything right and the mom saw beyond that and encouraged him to do great things with his life and he did. It was highly encouraging for what we can do with our words. This book is a must read to understand how to raise healthy children that grow into healthy adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thought-Provoking Book

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Blessing is broken into three parts. The first part serves as an introduction to the blessing, as well as a bit of history behind it. The second and section of the book details the components of the blessing, and is followed a section with examples of what happens in homes where some or all of the aspects of the blessing are absent. The book concludes with what to do if you miss out on the blessing, and a brief section on how to craft a blessing for your children.
The authors incorporate a plethora of real life examples. While they help illustrate the points the authors are trying to make, I think the book could have been shortened without losing any of its impact by reducing the number of examples.
The authors also used biblical references to support the message of the book. I found it very interesting to see the corollaries the authors drew between the biblical stories and the various aspects of the blessing.
Toward the end of the book, the authors included a section on what to do if you missed out on the blessing. They emphasized “accepting Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior.” With the breadth of scenarios the authors present throughout the book regarding the various aspects of the blessing, I thought to offer being saved as the main focus of what to do if you missed out on the blessing to be narrow in scope. It was a disappointing conclusion to an otherwise thorough and well-written book. I was left wondering where the practical advice was that would apply to people of all Christian faith traditions.
Overall, I found the book to be very insightful, engaging and thought-provoking. I would recommend it to others, albeit with the heads up that there are multiple references to “being saved”.
Note: I received a copy of this book free from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Resource

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently finished a book that I have long wanted to read - The Blessing by John Trent and Gary Smalley.
from the front cover - "Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance"
from the back cover - "Children of every age long for the gift of "the blessing" - the unconditional love and approval that come from a healthy relationship with their parents. This lift-changing gift, essential for instilling a deep sense of self-worth and unshakable emotional well-being, contains five essential elements......"
This updated edition of the book, originally published in 1986, thoroughly outlines implementing the "five essential elements." It details the application of each element and offers real-life examples of both individuals who experienced that element and those who suffered the lack of it. Utilizing personal anecdotes and scriptures, Trent and Smalley present their strategies both with clarity and compassion. In additon, the authors pepper the chapters with noted links to further resources online at their website www.TheBlessing.com The reader is left confident that they too, can offer "the Blessing" to each of their own children and to the other significant people in their life.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. As mentioned earlier, I have long wanted to read it and count it an honor to have it as a parenting/life resource. It is thorough, but very readable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have You Given The Blessing?

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book for any parent to read. It details how powerful words really are and what the effects of giving, or withholding, the family blessing are. There is a lot of good information in this book, the only reason it took me a while to read was because we were in the middle of moving when I received the book. The Blessing is divided into 4 parts and has accompanying videos for many sections. In my opinion this ranks up there as one of the "must have" books for parenting. I would give this book to any parent-to-be.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I was hoping it would be

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
herdingcats
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this book for free to review. I was excited to read it, but as soon as I began it, I knew I would have trouble getting through it. It has taken me over a month to read this book, because I had a hard time getting into it and did not really enjoy reading it. But, I needed to read it to review it, and I was hoping that I would get something out of it, so I would periodically pick it back up and read a bit more.
This revised and updated edition of the book has links to a website with some videos to watch that go with the book. I watched the first one and part of the second one.
Although this is a "Christian" book, I see it more in the realm of self-help and psychology than that of religion.
The authors have a concept that they call "The Blessing" and they loosely base this concept on verses from the Bible that talk about people being blessed or blessing their children.
"The Blessing" as defined in this book is a way to bless others and make them feel valuable and give them a sense of worth. We should bless our children and we often can bless others in our lives in this way.
"The Blessing" has 5 elements:
1. Meaningful touch
2. A spoken (or written) message
3. Attaching high value
4. Picturing a special future
5. An active commitment
To me, the book gets a bit too touchy/feel/self-help/psyschology like when it talks about "did you receive 'the blessing' from your parents?" and when it talkes about people who "did not receive 'the blessing' " in their lives so because of that they became over achievers or drug addicts or had some other problem because they did not "receive 'the blessing'". That just seems like whiney excuse making to me.
Some of the psychology is very interesting, it is just not necessarily "Christian". For instance, I was intrigued by the part about how meaningful touch affects our relationships and the studies that were done with a doctor who spent the same amount of time w/ his patients, but he touched some of them on the hand briefly and the others he did not touch and the ones he touched thought he had been with them longer than the untouched patients. There were also other examples given where a brief touch made customers feel more positive about different people and experiences. That part struck me because I had been substitute teaching and one thing I had noticed is that when I walk around the classrooms while the students are working and touch the students on the shoulder, they behave better. Especially if a student is talking too much or doing something else they should not, I just quietly walk over and touch their shoulder and quietly say something to them about getting back on task and it is very effective.
I thought that some of the Bible verses that were used did not really relate in the way that the authors said they did and felt that they were tossing in Bible verses to make this self-help/psychology book seem "Christian".
I did find some parts of the book interesting and I learned some things from it. For the most part though, reading it was a struggle for me. If I had checked it out from the library, I would have returned it quickly unfinished.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blessing
Most of us would agree that children are a gift from God. We can become more like Him, if we let what we learn from them affect us. May we give our own children a priceless gift in return: The Blessing. Dr. John Trent and Gary Smalley have put together a remarkable guide based on Scriptural precedent and anecdotes drawn from years of counseling experience. A how-to manual of sorts, they make the strong case throughout for the role receiving or missing the blessing plays in a person’s life and give practical suggestions for how to extend the blessing to others. Every person would benefit from an introspective reading of this book, but believers especially should seek to implement the insightful wisdom contained in its pages and not merely give a blessing to others, but make an active commitment to be that blessing.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommend!

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Happy TX mom
Location:Austin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is definitely on my top ten list! John Trent, in this revised and updated edition of the book, explains in great detail the importance of giving your child special blessings as they are growing up. A blessing is a great give of unconditional love and acceptance that can transform the future of your child. By using the Old Testament story of Jacob receiving the first born blessing from his father Issac, Dr. Trent explains the importance of the blessing and the five elements to understanding the blessing. Did you not receive the benefit of a blessing from your parents: Dr. Trent also tells what happens if you missed that important element of your younger years. I highly recommend this books to parents of children of all ages -- it is a vital part of parenting our kids that we don't want to miss out on!
A bonus to this revised addition is the activities and video clips that you can watch online at the book's website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read-simple to understand

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappytoLive
Location:missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blessing by John Trent and Gary Smalley is about "Giving the gift of unconditional love and acceptance." It is a simple read packed with great insight and advice. This book is divided into 4 parts with several chapters, each having multiple chapters. Part 1: Why is the blessing so importance? Part 2: Understanding the Blessing. Part 2 is the instructional meat, if you will, of the book. The chapters in this part explain how to bless others and your children-Meaningful touch, a spoken message, attaching high value, picturing a special future, and an active commitment. Part 3: When the blessing doesnt happen, and Part 4: Living the Blessing challenge.
This book is a great manual for helping raise children and also to help understand reasons adults may behave the way they do simply due to a withheld or missed blessing. "The Blessing" has biblical based evidence to help form the best relationships, meaningful and positive.
I was given this book as part of a blogger review program and the opinions expressed are soley my own. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Blessing: Giving the Gift of Unconditional Love and Acceptance
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Blessing

Date:July 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Iowa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Blessing is a challenge to rediscover and renew the ancient practice of blessing passed from the parents (the father in particular) to their children. It describes the 5 elements to the typical blessing, as well as practical information and examples of what this looks like, both in the Old Testament and modern day examples. The authors also describe what actions you can take if you've missed out on the opportunity to receive the blessing yourself.
I found this book to be interesting for several reasons. The main ones are that I'm a relatively new parent with kids on the way, and that I didn't grow up with a Godly heritage. I appreciate the information I learned from this book, but was kind of surprised that the authors didn't start to actually describe what exactly the blessing was until something like 50 pages and 5 chapters into the book. They certainly didn't hesitate to say how powerful and important it was, but took too long (in my opinion) to get to the point. A little too formula based for me, but I will certainly heed their advice to some extent. I would recommend this book both to parents and also to those who didn't grow up with a Godly heritage.
Disclosure Note: Thomas Nelson has been gracious enough to give me a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>