Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story

Thomas Nelson 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story

A personal approach to help you know God, discover his great love for you, and learn how you fit into his larger story! Writing from an intimate conversational perspective, Crabb summarizes each book of the Bible in a few main points, then explains what God intends for us to take away from it. 432 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
Review 1 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
66 Love Letters is a book that explores finding God in each book of the bible. This can be extremely helpful especially in some of the books in the Old Testament. In each chapter the author has a “conversation” with God and with-in these conversations we begin to get a glimmer of God’s character and how it relates to that particular book. Now some people might find it hard to wrap their head around the fact that a human is speaking for God, but I found that most of the conversations were really well done and in most case very enlightening.
This is a book that would be hard to sit and read cover to cover. I have found that this book works much better if you read the chapter on which book of the bible you are studying. This is not a commentary or a book on theology, but it is a book that points us in the direction of God and his great love for humanity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A MUST READ!

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom of 6
Location:New Freedom, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must read for any believer who wants to understand God's Word better. it is a real walk with the Creator. I cant get enough of the book, and want to digest every bit along with Scripture. I am buying several copies at my expense just to give away- in hopes God will speak to many more with a better understanding of the purpose for leaving His word among us>
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shanon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
This is an excellent read. Gives you a whole new perspective on your life in Christ. Can't be read like a novel. I have found that I need to read each chapter at least twice and chew on it a while before proceeding to the next. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Intercession City, Fla.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“66 Love Letters: A conversation with God that invites you into His story” by Dr. Larry Crabb published by Thomas Nelson
I like what the author said in the introduction, “The Bible is a love story that begins with a divorce. Everything from the third chapter of Genesis through the end of Revelation is the story of a betrayed lover wooing us back into His arms…”
From there the author attempts to figure out what God is trying to say to us in each book of the Bible. I enjoyed many of the authors insights, especially from the minor prophets. eg. In Amos the writer brings out the idea that the book is about ‘relational sin’ which ‘destroys relationships and eliminates the source of identity and joy.’
In the NT the writer brings out that the word translated ‘prayer’ in the book of Luke means to ‘wish forward’.
There are a lot of good insights from someone who is not a biblical scholar in this book. I would recommend having it on your nightstand to follow along as you read each of the chapters of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2010
Have you ever read your Bible and wondered what it has to do with you? Have you ever struggled with the God of the Bible? If so, you are not alone.In 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God that Invites You Into His Story, Dr. Larry Crabb takes an honest approach to the Bible, often asking the hard questions. "Presented as a dialogue between one man and God" (book sleeve), Dr. Crabb uses an easy-to-read, conversational style to summarize of each book of the Bible. It delves heavily into application. How does this book impact me? What should I be getting out of this book?This is a book that makes you think and rethink your relationship with God. It gives you a better understanding of the role of the Church. And it helps you see Christ in every book of the Bible. With an available free study guide from the author's website, this book lends itself to personal or group study and would be best used over time, as a supplement to reading through the Bible. Having said that, it is enjoyable enough and holds enough truths that it is sometimes hard to put down. My advice? Enjoy it, but use it as a jumping off place to go back and search the Scriptures for yourself, perhaps seeing them in a new light.I thoroughly enjoyed this book and plan to buy several to give away. Five stars.A complimentary review copy of this book was provided by Thomas Nelson Publishers with no expectation of a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori Mooney
Dr. Larry Crabb's book 66 Love Letters was very insightful. It discusses each book of the Bible as a love letter written from God. Each chapter is an honest conversation between God and a person reading the Bible and asking real-life questions. It's a very upfront book that answers some VERY hard questions, but it is not the easiest read. I like what it's trying to do but it's a bit overwhelming taking it in all at once. I'd love to re-read it as a daily devotional, taking more time to really digest each chapter. It was too much for me to process all at once. I think it would be a great addition when you're studying a certain book of the Bible and want to go deeper in to it.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
I have to admit, I didnt read this book to its entirety due to time and the fact that this book is one that you need to read slowly. It is a unique book with the fact that it is like a conversation between Dr. Crabb and God, but you also need to remember that what God is saying is from Dr. Crabbs point of view. It is a good book to read alongside the Bible in order to get a clear picture of what Dr. Crabb thinks God is saying to us through that specific book in the Bible. It is a great book for anyone to read and helps to see God in a different way as well as how He may have wanted us to view the Bible. This book was reviewed for Thomas Nelson.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Johnson
This book is wonderful!! He gives such insight into the heart of God. He is refreshingly honest which inturn gives us freedom to be as honest. The Story of God's profound love for each of us is proclaimed. We just started a bible study with the free online study guide. I would highly recommend this book for your heart.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Norma Bowers
As I began reading this new book by Dr. Larry Crabb I was totally unprepared for its "realness." The quote that begins before the books contents gives a peek at exactly what the premise is for this entire synopsis of the 66 books of the Bible: "We ask, 'Where does God fit into the story of my life?' when the real question is, 'Where does my little life fall into the great story of God's mission?'" by Christopher J. H. Wright. So, there I began this journey through the entire Bible holding on all the way!Dr. Crabb's intention is to take the reader through the entire Bible assembled just as it is as a journey to God's plan and purpose for His people. I found this to be extremely helpful in understanding the reasoning that God allowed the books of the Bible to be placed just as they are, in the order they are in, in His inspired work. From our introduction of God as the Creator with His eye on every detail of our lives before we are even present on this earth to the wondrous conclusion of His rewards and eternal provision for us in His final love letter of Revelation.But, even all of this is not the best element of this book. The most exciting thing is the way it is presented as a conversation between the writer and God Himself! Dr. Crabb's discussion with His Creator and Savior leads the reader to understand that God wants to discuss His love letters with each one of us. It also compels us to know that God can and does handle anything that we can ask of Him or question of Him. In keeping great reverence for God while expressing his humanity, Dr. Crabb helps each reader to understand that God will listen to our coming to grips with who we are as imperfect humans with great patience and understanding and will answer us to help us become what He has planned for us all along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
When I first started reading this book I was unsure about the whole format. I wasnt sure I liked the way it was written or the frankness with which Dr. Larry Crabb sometimes spoke to God. But, as I began to read each chapter carefully (and I mean carefully, there was so much to learn). I realized a bit more of Dr. Crabbs life story. Just bits and pieces, nothing majorly revealing, but enough to show me that this was a man who was being absolutely honest and open with his God. He didnt hold anything back. His desire to love God more and grow to be more like Jesus shined through in each chapter.It took me many months to read this book, a couple more months than I had thought, actually. There was so much to learn, so much to ponder. I have underlined and marked up this book. So many parts jumped out at me, grabbed me, made me stop and think, deeply. I highly recommend this book to anyone who desires to dig deeper into the Bible. It will open you heart and eyes to Gods Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katelyn Collison
My BookSneeze book for Thomas Nelson is 66 Love Letters:A Conversation with God that invites you into His story by Larry Crabb.I was really excited about this book. Like, jumping up and down when it arrived excited. But Im not going to lie, I didnt finish it.Maybe it was lack of time or lost interest, Im not sure. But either way, I did not enjoy reading this book. I liked that the author tried to make sense of things that happen the the Bible, that well dont really make sense. However, it seems like most of the time he was just ranting or assuming. God obviously has a reason for the things He puts in the Bible, but they dont mesh with what the author was saying.There was one quote though, that stuck with me: The Bible is a love story the begins with a divorce. Everything from the third chapter of Genesis through the end of Revelation is the story of a betrayed lover wooing us back into His arms so we can enjoy the love of family forever.I mostly like this because I hadnt thought about it like that. When we sin, we are separating ourselves from God. Thats kind of like a divorce. Anyway, I personally didnt enjoy the book very much. However, it is worth trying.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Taylor
I am just getting started but I like it because it is an easy read, short chapters, and I feel like the listening partner in an intimate conversation between the Lord Jesus and Dr. Larry Crabb.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Quite some time ago, I received a complimentary copy of 66 Love Letters, by Dr. Larry Crabb, from Thomas Nelson Publishers. It has taken me way too long to publish this review. However, I wanted to have time to get a true feel for this work before writing about my opinions. This book is divided into 66 chapters, each covering a book of the Bible. Each letter, or chapter, is written as a personal letter to the reader from God, explaining the meaning of that particular book of the Bible. The book itself is very handsome, with an old world feel. The font and size are easy to read and the light hint of pattern on some pages adds to the overall feel. However, the content of this book is definitely the winning attribute. Anyone with the desire to read and understand the message of Gods Word should own this book. Dr. Crabbs writing style is comfortable. He draws you in with his uncomplicated language and obvious love of the Bible and encourages you to dig deeper as you learn more about the true meaning of life.**Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kaira
66 Love Letters is an easy read. I love the idea of this book and I am glad I have it. It is the kind of book that I'll use for many years, reading what it says as I read through the Bible. It is, for me, not the kind of book one just picks up and reads like most books. I could see that it would be a nice tool to get an overview of what the Bible is all about but I would hesitate to just trust the words of one man without reading the words inspired by God myself. In fact, in the opening chapter, Dr. Larry Crabb writes:"A strong suggestion: don't try to read this book straight through in a week or two, the way you would read a novel or a good Christian book on how to follow Christ. If you are a structured type, read on chapter per week. In sixty-six weeks, you'll develop a feel for the story of God."This is not a quick and easy read but overall I think it's a great book to have on your nightstand. It's nice to have the conversational tone about what God is saying to us through each chapter. Dr. Crabb writes each chapter as if God was telling him what He was saying in each book of the Bible and it's good to read those things. I will continue to enjoy a fresh perspective as I read through the Bible myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Valerie
The author of 66 Love Letters summarized the Bible book-by-book into a dialogue with God that reveals His love for us throughout all of Scripture. I believe one of the main points of the book is that God has a specific purpose for each book of the Bible - not just as a collection of spiritual guidelines, but as one Truth with one integral message of Love. I found this to be a hard read for mixed reasons. I found it awkward reading a constant dialogue between God and the author. The conversations between God and the author do provide a great contrast between Holiness and humanity. I just felt like if I was having the conversation, God and I would be talking about things differently. The book was also hard because I did not entirely agree with the authors view and understanding of Scripture. In an extremely condensed summary of what I mean: he emphasized Gods tough love and down-played His tenderness. The reason for this disconnect could relate to my first point the book reflected the authors relationship with God, whereas my relationship with Him is in a different place, focused on different lessons to be learned at this stage in my life. This book did challenge me in a positive way too: the author emphasized Gods will for us to desire intimacy with Him above all else. The book helped me see this in places in Scripture I had overlooked before. I am also challenged to reconsider what I value most.I recommend this book if you are ready for a challenge. Do not read this if you are seeking entertainment or even the warm-fuzzies expected from a love letter. Be ready to consider the words of this book carefully and apply them only prayerfully. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Regor
Dr. Larry Crabbs 66 Love Letters From God to You: A Conversation with God that Invites You into His Story, is at once loving, and hard-hitting. To borrow the authors phrase, Prepare to be slapped, then hugged. Ive read the Bible several times over, and each time Ive come to a new (albeit a very small) insight on the character of God. Over the years and by His grace Ive come to a more intimate knowledge of His nature and person. And yet this is not to say reading the Bible is easy. I especially struggle with its relevance to my daily life and how to apply it. The author shared my struggles, asked my questions, and distilled for me the message I needed to hear.Dr. Crabb did not say anything that I knew to be doctrinally untrue or even controversial. He only reiterated what I knew from reading the Bible, but in straightforward, simple, and strong language.This book neither claims nor attempts to replace the Bible as the bearer of Gods message. Instead, it is a tool for understanding the Bible better, and in that it succeeds. It is best used as companion for Scripture study.Readers will get from it what they bring in. Those who have not read the Bible before, or find a hard time doing so, will get a new perspective and understanding of the love that went into Gods Word, and may be encouraged to finally read it through. Long-time Bible readers will perhaps get a more personal, more intimate insight, in much simpler language. And struggling readers, like me, get a new view of the completely awesome, absolute magnificent, totally holy God, Creator of all, King of Kings, Lord of Hosts. And worship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joyce Kendrick
66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God that Invites You into His Story both excited me and made me apprehensive at the same time. While I've always been a fan of Larry Crabb's, this was something different from his usual offerings. It is written as a conversation between reader (or is it just Crabb?) and God. If the conversation is just Crabb's, does that mean that the 'answers' belong to me, too?I was pleasantly surprised to find it an enjoyable and enlightening read. Each book of the Bible (each 'love letter') begins with what God wants us to see in the book and how it all flows together and speaks to us personally. I'd have much rather taken the time to read it slowly, along with each coinciding book, as I think it would make a beautiful daily (or weekly) devotion. I also think that it would be a wonderful resource for those who are looking to write a topical (not historical) sermon or as a small group Bible study. I appreciated that Crabb addressed difficult issues of the Bible, even venting his frustration to God and then letting 'God' speak, explaining the love that is behind some of the very passages that I struggle with myself. I still left wondering if this was a devotional, a commentary, a well-written work of fiction (the conversations) filled with truth, or just a great book for encouragement and growth. Whatever you describe it as, if you, like me, have always been told that the Bible is God's love letter to us but could never quite reconcile some of the passages of the Old Testament in particular as love, pick up this book and enjoy the insights that Crabb provides.Disclaimer: Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Bloom
Recently I had the opportunity to read the book titled 66 Love Letters A conversation with God that invites you into his story by Dr Larry Crabb. Thomas Nelson provided this book as a complimentary copy. I selected this book from booksneeze.com from a list of available titles.Dr Crabb draws the reader to understand the bible is Gods love letter to us. He approaches each of the books of the bible by asking God What does this book say to me? What did you intend me to learn from this book and in a straight forward approach he writes a personal dialog to the reader answering this question from Gods perspective. He boils down the essence of each book in a distilled few pages per book of the bible as another love letter, serving a distinct purpose of the overall thesis that God loves us and has a plan for our good. I have to be honest in telling you that I have picked this book up and read a bit, then set it aside to digest what he said. In my rumination of his writing one thought continued to rise to the surface. The actual bible is a written perfection but Dr Crabb writes from the perspective of a counselor and psychologist. As a purist in my theology I shudder when I think that someone would try to rewrite the bible in any form. My initial reaction was to remember that this book is not Gods word, but much like a commentary, it is Dr Crabbs attempt to break down the contents in a more personal fashion and present it filtered through a counselors unique vantage point. He is effective at capturing the essential truths, while bringing hope to the dispairing, and peace to the restless soul. As love letters there were many points that resonated of the love God has for me. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
I received Dr. Larry Crabbs book 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God that invites You into His story because it sounded interesting when I read the overview. 66 love letters from God to me, I mean who wouldnt want to read that and even though Dr. Crabb explains that he is writing in the first person as though God were writing speaking to him, I found this to not be an easy read. Dr. Crabb says he is writing what God wants us to hear in each book of the Bible and this caused me to step back a bit. I did not enjoy the dialogue parts between the author and God at all, as they seemed to distract from the overall message. Some of the questions that were asked and answered seemed off to me while others were right in line with what I would have asked. This book is not to be read straight through in my opinion. If you can take the time to read one chapter/love letter at a time with the Bible, then I can see where this would be a more helpful tool. In fact the only way I would recommend this book is if you read it as a companion to the Bible, you might also be inclined to skip over the parts of each letter that are from the author. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You into His Story
This review is from66 Love Letters: A Conversation with God That Invites You Into His Story.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
This was an excellent book. Larry Crabb takes each of the 66 books of the Bible and relates them to the reader as a true love letter from God. I read the book straight through for this review but the book really needs the reader to take their time and savor each chapter along with the book of The Bible that it addresses. I plan on going back and doing just that. The chapters are written like a conversaion between the reader and God. The reader asks God some questions about the book then God goes on to answer the questions and tells the reader what He intended for us to learn from that particular book. At first I was put off a bit by some of the questions that Larry Crabb was asking but when I thought about it they were the exact questions that I had at times. Crabb tried to make this book accessable to everyone and thus making the Bible accessable to every one. I read this book as part of Thomas Nelson's Blog reviewer program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>