Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman

Thomas Nelson Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman

Part diary, part devotional, Stumbling Into Grace weaves hilarious and poignant stories from Lisa Harper's life with intimate encounters from the life of Christ. Prayers, reflection questions, and journal prompts help women dig deep into biblical truths to better understand how our Redeemer's compassion, affection, and constancy make every single moment of life more enjoyable and well worth living. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Review 1 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donette
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Author quickly draws us into this diary/devotional, with easy stories from her own life. Each chapter starts with a honest and thought provoking story, followed by a Prayer, reflection or discussion as well as a journal idea.
I loved the writing style of the book. Felt like I was having a chat with a close friend. The discussion questions or reflection moments are very interesting. The stories she shares are often funny and I’m smiling along as I read. Love the humour she uses to reach the reader. There was not one point in the book where I think to myself “what is she talking about”. She shares some good points to get you thinking about God in your life, while covering topics for life, gifts and growth.
This is not a daily 2 minute devotional type book. Not that the chapter are exceedingly long, but I used at least a few days to let God speak to me through the topic and scripture readings. Saying that, this devotional part is also not a very heavy one.
I have used other devotionals that seem to go on, while I was struggling with the first concept. This is not one of those.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Cupcake
Location:Winnipeg,MB Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a book I got free from Booksneeze. I have read only part of the book and will not be finishing it. I found some of the chapters that I did read not enjoyable at all. The book title and cover caught my eye. Reading the first chapter I thought great I can't wait to read more about this topic. But then the next chapter came along and it was totally different. Each chapter was on a different topic. I felt the book to be to disjointed for me. I also did not enjoy the way the author wrote. But that is just me. Someone else may really like this book. Not a book I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice book

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The author's real-life experiences make it genuine. It only nicks the surface of biblical study, but is asks study questions at the end of each chapter which enable the reader to delve in a little deeper if they choose. Harper skims along the surface of this subject and doesn't dive very far into scriptural depths. She employs a style of writing that I suppose began with Max Lucado and has been embraced by the and other modern writers. I know that difference can be subtle, but it can mean the difference between being shallow and really being based in solid Biblical truth. Lisa Harper writes the entire book in a very informal, style. While that might be cute and even welcoming in a blog... I have to say upfront that any book that is not about a specifically female issue but is written specifically for women makes me suspicious. There were times in the book where I felt like the author was forcing the female voice too hard. Lisa helps you to see that the safe and conventional Jesus that is often preached in the American church is far from the man that lived in the middle east two thousand years ago. This book made me want to understand Him more fully. I really enjoyed this book and actually used it as my quiet time in the mornings. It was a great way to get moving in the morning and thinking about Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very humerrous bk

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Auntie Pam
Location:Calif
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So enjoy the simple humor of Lisa Harper, makes for easy reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Humorous yet Straight to the Heart

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs K
Location:Midwest
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved Harper's humor sprinkled atop a subject many women need to hear.
**I was provided this book by BookSneeze. All opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent devotional

Date:November 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Manassas, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the years that I've been using different devotionals on a daily basis, I've come to realize that those that tend to work best for me, in connecting me not only to Scripture, but to how those words work into my life, are the ones that are ultimately personal. Lisa Harper writes from her heart and interjects awesome amounts of humor into the stories of how she's stumbled in grace and learned Godly lessons along the way. That particular way of writing makes it real for me and I loved this book.
Broken up into short chapters, perfect for a daily devotional, the readers are given an often humorous story of how Harper went astray at some point, did something embarrassing, etc. and how God led her back to him. Included in the chapter is a section from the Bible on how part of Jesus' journey helps work her to work through, and ultimately learn from, her own mistakes.
There's also discussion questions at the end of each chapter, great for group discussions or simply personal reflection, as I used them for. A prayer is also included and ideas for journal entries, if you're journaling.
This has been one of my favorite devotionals to use and I'll definitely be seeking out more books by Lisa Harper. I loved the funny parts, the serious parts, and the dedication to learning that she has seamlessly blended into the book. I learned a lot AND laughed a lot, while connecting with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thoughtful, challenging, funny and inspiring

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
TiaB
Location:UK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stumbling into Grace: confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman is a book I knew I'd be able to identify with as soon as I read the title. I manage to open my mouth only to change feet far too often, and I had a feeling this might be the story of someone similar. With chapter titles like "The Very Real Problem With Pantyhose", I was expecting this to be a good read.
What I was not expecting was for this to take me a month. Not because it was a difficult read, certainly not because it was boring, but because this is less "Confessions" and more "Bible Study and Life Application Guide." Every chapter comes with a series of questions for group discussion or personal study, Bible passages to read through, and the suggestion to make a journal entry starting with for example "So Jesus, today I've been thinking about <insert subject from previous chapter>, and..." Meatier spiritual food than I was expecting, but good nevertheless.
From the beginning "God doesn't just see us; He gazes adoringly at us. He doesn't simply notice us; He moves heaven and earth on our behalf" via quotes collected from others - Mark Twain's "Forgiveness is the fragrance the violet sheds on the heel that has crushed it." and Anne Lamott's "You can safely assume you've created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do," to the vindictively absurd "I think people who peddle pornography for a living should be forced to share cramped, windowless apartments with camels who have irritable bowel syndrome." This is a book full of one liners and longer passages I shall be re-reading.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aw, but aren’t we all spiritually clumsy? If we were honest with ourselves and others, we would admit that our lives are full of trips and fall…literally and figuratively. And, if we were to be authentic, we would understand what Lisa Harper’s Stumbling Into Grace is all about – forgiveness in spite of flaws. Perhaps maybe if we spent more time acknowledging our own flaws it might be easier to forgive the imperfections of others. Lisa’s book talks about how we sometimes get lost in our own chaos of emotions that we often forget to extend the very same grace we expect from others. One of the very best gifts that I ever received was from a dear friend in one of my darkest hours and it came in the package of nine little words “I don’t want you to feel like an island.” What words of comfort and grace. But just as grace is extended to us, Stumbling Into Grace explains, our grace must also be extended even when we think as I and Lisa have, “he could be so difficult that I wasn’t sure grace was big enough to include him.” God’s grace is big enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stumbling into Grace

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What I found in Stumbling into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman, was a part-devotional, part-humorous story, all-honest book. Lisa Harper is open and down-to-earth in her descriptions of things she has encountered in everyday life while always coming back to Christ and how He is the center of everything.
There are Personal Reflection/Discussion Group questions at the end of each chapter and also a helpful prompt for writing your thoughts about the topic in a journal.
I appreciated how Lisa pointed out the context of the verses that she was using instead of pulling a verse out of the Bible here and there and running with it.
There were a couple of chapters that didn’t really hit home with me, but that is to be expected, of course. The book needs to relate to all, not just to me!
This book was a pretty good devotional, which was made easier to read by Lisa Harper’s unending humor and honesty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
S Scales
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me count the ways that I love this book...
1. The Title: Stumbling into Grace. Isn't that a great word picture! It is a wonderful title that I feel describes me extremely well! What about you?
2. The Subtitle: “Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman.” This would fit all of us Christian Women, if we were as honest as Lisa Harper, true?!
3. The Picture on the Cover: The little girl makes me smile! She reminds me of my little girls. They twirling around in their very creative dress-up outfits fully confident in who they are and how much they are loved -- may we be more like that as we worship our Jesus!
...Anyway, I haven't even got to the inside of the book! It is split into three sections: Real Life, Real Gifts, and Real Growth...
4. The Humor: Lisa Harper uses humorous stories to break the ice and get the readers' heart open to listen, learn and grow. Like the title, the chapter titles are even humorous, including names like "The Very Real Problem with Pantyhose - Jesus and Binding Things" and "Getting Your Squeeze On - Jesus and the Gift of Touch"!
5. The Honesty: We got a glimpse of Lisa Harper’s openness in the subtitle. This honest writing continues throughout the book.
6. Personal Refection/Group Discussion questions: These are very thought provoking, outside of the box questions that kept me thinking throughout the day. I plan to use this book in a group setting soon, and I look forward to the discussions that will occur.
7. Journal Entry: Lisa Harper encourages the reader to complete these sentences in your personal journal. An example is “So, I’ve been thinking about becoming absolutely devoted to and dependent on You, Jesus, and...” These could be used over and over as ideas to use in your journalling.
Lisa Harper is like a great friend with whom you are comfortable enough around to laugh often and cry hard because that’s the openness in which she writes! I look forward to reading some of her others books.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is well worth the "read".

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Ontario,Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This "Women of Faith" speaker shares how she discovers security and love in her Saviour, Jesus Christ. She relates real life events that taught her lessons about the grace that God extends to His children.
This book was easy to read and hard to put down. Lisa is a funny, "down to earth" woman, who also touched my heart with her life stories.
I would highly recommend this diary/devotional book for any woman wanting to grow deeper and closer to God. The sub-title of "Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman" says it all.
Many thanks to BookSneeze who provided me with this complimentary copy"Stumbling Into Grace".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stumbling Into Grace by Lisa Harper

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“So today I’ve been thinking…” and thus begins a light, delightful book that reminds me of sitting to chat with a friend who is able to share her life with me in such a way that I walk away a little more uplifted, a little more thoughtful, and a little more appreciative of this Jesus I follow. Each chapter begins with that same opening, and leads you into, as the back cover describes, “part diary, part devotional....hilarious and poignant stores from Lisa’s own life”. I had no idea who Lisa was before, but I can honestly say now she is a woman I admire. In a world where so many woman are too afraid to be single, too afraid to be alone, it is refreshing to have this insight into a woman who is living that life and following her Lord, even as she stumbles through that walk, as so many of us do. This is a great book to read when you may not have the mindset to devote to an in depth study for the moment; a great book when you are traveling and want something not too heavy; a great book for vacation devotions by the beach or a warm fire; or as I found, a great book for a mom who just needs a quick moment of peace in a hectic and crazy day! Fun, delightful, and just enough insightful! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

stumbling into grace review

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received "Stumbling into Grace" by Lisa Harper for free from http://www.booksneeze.com/. This is a non-fiction book written sort of like a diary, but I guess I would call it a collection of sermons. Not real sure how to categorize it. I read it strait through, but it would make more sense to read it as a small group study or a devotional. It is sectioned into 15 chapters with each chapter ending in prayer, discussion questions, and journal entry suggestions. The chapters each have a topic of the day and the authors thoughts on the topic along with bible stories in which her topic is pertaining to.
I really like this book. I should have read it in a devotional method. It is funny, thoughtful, and she seems to be able to get into the reader's head. Aimed at women of course. A man would get use out of it, but would probably avoid it because of gender content. Its a short book and I recommend it for study groups or devotionals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Stumbling Into Grace
Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
By Lisa Harper
Part diary, part devotional, Stumbling Into Grace weaves hilarious and poignant stories from Lisa Harper's life with intimate encounters from the life of Christ. Prayers, reflection questions, and journal prompts help women dig deep into biblical truths to better understand how our Redeemer's compassion, affection, and constancy make every single moment of life more enjoyable and well worth living.
I really liked how honest she was in her book. I have heard lots of things about this author, Lisa Harper, but had never read anything of hers. This was good. I might even read it again. She does a nice job of mixing her personal stories with stories from the bible. At the end of each chapter there are questions that you could use in a group or personally in a journal. Overall I liked this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book speaks to the heart about God's grace.

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jani
Location:Bryceville, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently received a free copy of Stumbling Into Grace by Lisa Harper to review. There was no requirement that I give a positive review, just an honest one. I have never read any of Lisa's books before and looked forward to delving into this book based on the comments of others, along with knowing her to be a speaker at the Women of Faith conferences. Also, the cover of the book looked absolutely intriguing. After reading the book, let me honestly say that I wasn't disappointed. I love books that set things up with stories, but back those thoughts up with the powerful truths found in the Bible. This is what Lisa does. She's not just giving you her personal little tidbits for the sake of telling her life or some cute story; she's expressing things that bring us back to spiritual truths. And isn't that what life is? A journey of life lessons that all seem to be pointing us back to our Creator? She writes in a diary style and sprinkles it with humor throughout. It's an easy read, for sure. She always closes out with prayer and a little question section. These questions could possibly be used in a group setting, but are also questions you can ask yourself. There are a variety of topics touched on in the book. Criticism, forgiveness, binding things, the power of touch, honesty, and more. I would say that if you like devotional type reads, then this is the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Likeable Read

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisareadstoomuch
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lisa Harper is a Women of Faith speaker who has written a likeable, friendly book that shares her personal experiences along with stories from the life of Jesus. The book is divided into three parts: Real Life, Real Gifts, and Real Growth. Real Life discusses scary things, binding things, dangerous things, and sweet things. Real Gifts includes the gifts of forgiveness, touch, humor, community, and rest. Real Growth shows how Jesus helps us become less critical, more honest, more content, more dependent, and more grateful. In each chapter, Lisa gives a story from her personal life, a scripture passage from the life of Jesus, and a short discussion of the passage. At the end of each chapter are questions for personal reflection or group discussion, as well as a journal prompt, so this book can be used in a group setting or on an individual basis.
All of the big names from the Women of Faith conference- Anita Renfroe, Sheila Walsh, Luci Swindoll, Patsy Clairmont, Sandi Patty, Lisa Whelchel give great praises to Lisa Harper’s book in the opening pages of the book, so I was expecting a can’t-put-it-down read. This was an okay book, but I didn’t get what I expected. It would be a good book for a group Bible study to help generate discussion.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful read

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
wood
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stumbling into Grace by Lisa Harper is a fun book that is part diary, part devotional and a small part Bible study. I was looking for an easy read but hesitant about reading this book; I thought it may be more fluff than substance. But what I got was an east read plus more! It was surprisingly refreshing and challenging. I walked away from this book encouraged about my own “spiritual clumsiness” and a desire to start up journaling again. Harper does such a wonderful job of writing so it seems like she is just sitting with you sharing a part of her story. Her humor and encouraging words inspired me to develop a deeper walk with the Lord. Each chapter I walked away with a new perspective of the events in my life and a deeper understanding of God’s love for me. I recommend this book especially for the busy woman who could use a little inspiration. I was given this book by being a part of the Booksneeze program. I was not required to give a positive review. These are my own thoughts on this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Make This An Immediate Read!

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In "Stumbling Into Grace," Lisa Harper graciously shares lessons she’s learned about Real Life, Real Gifts, and Real Growth (five lessons of each in that order). She begins each chapter with a statement to tell us just what she’s been thinking about. Then she tells a personal story—sometimes humorous, sometimes serious or sad, and often thought-provoking. From there she moves to a passage from Scripture (usually, but not always, from the NIV) that helps us understand what Jesus had to say about the subject on Lisa’s mind. Next she fleshes it out for us in a section called, “The Heart of His Story.” She wraps things up with a prayer, questions for personal reflection or group discussion, and a journal entry prompt.
I loved reading this book! (And not just because the cover is adorable!) Lisa’s insights are profound—and they are backed first by Scripture, then by authors and scholars such as Henri Nouwen, Richard Foster, G.K. Chesterton, and C.S. Lewis. Anita Renfroe’s in there, too! In fact, because I kept flipping to the back of the book to see where Harper found all this amazing information, my must-read list grew quite a bit.
I recommend this book as an immediate read to any woman who is looking to be convinced that God loves her absolutely and is waiting eagerly for her to fall right into His arms. I also recommend it for women who are seeking ways to grow in that love. I was most comfortable with it as a personal study book, but it could work for a small group of women who know each other well. Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a complimentary copy of this book for my review. I’m putting it on one of my keeper shelves!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stumbling Into Grace

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Randi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, today I’ve been thinking about the gift of opportunity. I have had so many opportunity lately – blessings, actually – and to have been given an opportunity to read Lisa Harper’s book “Stumbling Into Grace” was definitely an enjoyable blessing! She is a witty author who doesn’t mind sharing her ups and downs, proving that we are all pretty much alike – rich or poor, fat or thin – and that God loves us just the way we are. He has loved us since before we were born. He loves us through our foibles and our stumbling through our life on earth. He loves us when we love and praise Him and He loves us when we’re mad at him or when we’ve walked away, thinking we can handle things on our own without His love and guidance in our lives. God loves us…unconditionally! And for always! And He is always there for us!! And sometimes we all just need a reminder that we can lean on Him and lean into His comforting arms always, because He never leaves us!
Ms. Harper writes candidly about her thoughts and insights as she covers numerous topics about real life, real gifts, and real growth. I could see myself in many similar situations, especially in chapter 10 when she talks about Jesus and the gift of rest. I too often run on empty batteries to the point of not being able to think and even to the point of making myself ill. I often fail to slow down and get the proper rest. But Ms. Harper reminds us that Jesus advocated rest for His followers. In the Message Bible, in Matthew 11:28-30, Jesus says: “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you'll recover your life. I'll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won't lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you'll learn to live freely and lightly.”
Each chapter in “Stumbling Into Grace” has a life lesson, Ms. Harper’s interpretation of what the disciples might have experienced in modern times under similar circumstances, and a devotional/study section where one or group can work through some reflections and questions to better understand the concept of grace – God’s unmerited favor! It is a book about love and hope and stumbling into grace! And I thoroughly recommend this book! And while I’m thinking about the gift of opportunity, I have to say that I am looking forward to seeing Ms. Harper in October at the Women of Faith weekend in St. Paul, MN…another gift of opportunity that was as unexpected as it is welcome. I can’t wait to attend the event and have the opportunity to praise God in an auditorium filled with thousands of like-minded women and hear, in person, stories like the ones in Lisa Harper’s book “Stumbling Into Grace.” God is soooo good!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own but I appreciate the opportunity to review “Stumbling Into Grace.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stumbling Into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An easy read, great laugh and thoughtful book!

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This past week, I picked up Lisa Harper’s book, Stumbling Into Grace, with no idea what to expect. She’s one of the new speakers to the Women of Faith team and in just a few weeks, I’ll get to hear her speak. After reading this book, I’m even more excited about that opportunity.
First off, she’s a riot. We might type LOL in Facebook all the time, but how often do we actually read something that makes us laugh out loud? Lisa Harper’s book did that for me. She’s genuine and authentic with a knack for storytelling and an engaging wit. Each chapter moved so quickly, I read the book in about a day.
That doesn’t mean what she said had no weight to it. Lisa adeptly moves from funny to thought-provoking. It’s a book I’d like to read again more slowly as a daily devotional or as a small group to really consider each of her points. And she touches on so many big-deal issues for women in this book—things like handling disappointment, feeling loved, loving others, showing grace and receiving grace, and developing a heart of gratitude. Her small group/personal reflection questions at the end of the chapter are what really could push this book from a basic overview of grace to a deeper consideration of each topic.
The bottom line is that we’re not perfect and we’re all stumbling a little into God’s grace, tripping over one untied shoelace after another.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>