Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated

Thomas Nelson Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated

Could the second half of your life actually be more fulfilling than the first? Can aging be a blessing? In Embracing Your Second Calling, author Dale Hanson Bourke helps women baby boomers find passion and purpose for the rest of their lives. An expansion of her first book, Second Calling, this book comes in a new format with new material to help women apply the concepts to their own lives. It is meant to be read along with a personal journal so you can make note of your thoughts and questions. With suggestions on everything from leaving the past behind to finding a way to make a difference in the world, Bourke challenges women to be all they can be. Paperback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.136 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Review 1 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Made me Realize a lot of things.

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
glitterminded
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book seeks an audience among middle-aged women and those facing the prospect of children leaving the nest. For some who have read it this may also seem like an autobiography of some sort, but I guess aren’t most self-help books based on the author’s experiences? To say simply, this is a book for women who are going through middle-age crisis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry
Ebracing Your Second Calling helped me realize that I am in the midst of my Second Calling. It is a great booked filled with great stories from the authors own journey. Each chapter ends with a prayer. This book is a great encouragement for women that are struggling with the 'empty nest'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Laird
I am reviewing this book for Thomas Nelson. I am not quite in the second half of my life but have been going through some pretty challenging times. I have been homeless, penny-less and in a state of desperation, much like some of the women the author has come into contact with. I feel I too am being prepared for something great and feel that God has something amazing planned for my life...later. This book is an encouraging read to those who are also going through a transition in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
kdmom02
I chose to review Embracing Your Second Calling by Dale Hanson Bourke from Booksneeze because I feel that I am in the second half of my life now. Upon beginning this book I could tell right away it was meant for me at this time in my life. This is a well written book about the second half of our lives as women. The author uses the story of Naomi in the book of Ruth as a parallel.This book would be a great for any woman entering that time in her life when everything seems to change. There is a point in our lives as women when we are busy raising our family and trying to do everything we are expected to do. But as we get older and our children grow up and move out, it seems that our passion seems to change. We are not so worried about the things in life that really doesnt matter anymore. This book helps us embrace this time in our life and shows us that God can use us in a tremendous way.I would highly recommend this book to any woman that is beginning that second phase in life. This book would work great for group study as well. I was given this complimentary copy to review and this is my honest opinion of the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Messenger
Review of Embracing Your Second Calling by Dale Hanson Bourke I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as a complimentary copy to be reviewed. I spent several weeks reading and journaling this timely book. Using the biblical text of the book of Ruth, the life of Naomi is paralleled with the changing lives of women today. I recommend this book to all who want to understand the middle years of a womans life. their dreams, hopes for the future and the emotional and spiritual growth that has brought them to this point. With wit and practical advice, Dale Hanson Bourkes book is best read chapter by chapter following the prompts and answering the few scattered questions. The biblical book of Ruth is included in the back of the book to follow the storyline of Naomis life. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will be recommending it to all my girlfriends. I will also be recommending that it be offered as a study at my church. I found it to be a fresh outlook on midlife and the wonderful promises God has yet in store for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randi M
Embracing Your Second Calling by Dale Hanson Bourke really hit home with me as I journey into the very aspects of life that she highlights in her book. As I open my arms to the Lord and ask Him to use me and send me where He wants me to use my gifts to best serve others and glorify Him and as He sends me on adventures I never thought to find myself, Ms. Bourkes book speaks of a similar challenge to women to respond to Gods call for the different seasons of our lives. If you are a woman who has reached her middle years and is asking the question Now what? you may find some help and guidance by reading Embracing Your Second Calling and help finding a "passion and purpose for the rest of your life!" Ms. Bourkes book is also an in-depth study of the book of Ruth and a comparison between her journey and challenges and ours in modern times. I especially enjoyed her description on page 187 of What is a woman of vision? Like Ms. Bourke, my purpose is being revealed every morning, as I pray and follow Gods lead. Another aspect I enjoyed while reading this book was her advocacy for World Vision and sponsoring and saving the children. I am equally passionate of doing all we can to save the children and trying to get everyone involved in sponsoring children or sending usable gifts to help promote their health, welfare and safety. If you arent already sponsoring a child, please consider it. Whether it is through World Vision, Watoto, International Child Care Ministries or any of the other legitimate sponsorship programs, you along with the child you sponsor will benefit from your actions! You can help change the world for the better, one child at a time!! I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Embracing Your Second Calling is a wonderful book written especially for women who are entering the second half of their lives. The author, Dale Hanson Bourke takes the story of Naomi, and parallels it with walking through the second half of your life with a different outlook.I really enjoyed this book. Dale really gives insight into how she changed the way she viewed life, her goals, her priorities and her calling as she entered into a new phase of life. She delivers her message in a clear, concise yet warm and personal way. If you are an empty-nester, or about to be one, you should really pick up a copy today!Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book but the thoughts expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anngladys Gichuhi
This is a wonderful, clearly written bookwhich speaks out with the authority andauthenticity of experience, the true testof any advice given, according to me.Dales experiences with God, herself, herfamily and the world outside herselfresonate very well with my own.In this book, Dale talks about coming toterms with who you are, what you like/matters to your heart and what you have tooffer and love to offer, and for whatworthy goal. She helps women to be at homewith themselves in the later stages oftheir lives, enabling them to live forthemselves after living for everyone elsebut them for half their (life) lives.I recently turned 25 and began askingmyself what the real purpose of my lifeis. I have ran/done many sprints, and Idid not want to be jerky any more, Iwanted to run a worthy marathon; beginbuilding a good life legacy and watch itgrow beyond my existence/sphere of influence.I had been having many thoughts, Idalready written out my desired epitaphyears ago during one of my similarsearches, and by and by, as I read thebook and checked the websites Dalerecommended, I grew more at home withmyself, and with what I envisioned to bemy purpose.Thanks Dale for writing such aninspirational book; now I look forward toliving a sane, meaningful life in whatwould have otherwise been a harried seriesof sprints. I am glad to know that itsokay to be myself and offer what I have, Idont have to be like everybody elsebecause I am a unique individual myself,and I have something special and worthy tooffer. I am glad to receive the innerassurance that I can do the same at my age(25), and be proud of it, knowing that mypriorities are set and growing for aworthy cause in light of the biggerpicture of my life, instead of as areaction to daily needs.Thanks, Dale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Shapiro
As I sat down to read Embracing Your Second Calling; Find Passion and Purpose For The Rest Of Your Life, by Dale Hanson Bourke, it was the occasion of my 40th birthday. As my lack of accomplishments danced in front of me, I successfully pigeon-holed myself into middle age. I opened the book and my eyes fell upon the dedication; it reads; To all the amazing women in the second half of life. Was I really in the second half of my life? Was being 40 really the benchmark for being halfway there? The book begins by describing the author's awareness of aging and the impending empty nest that she is facing, I wasn't quite there yet. My children are still in Elementary school, my nest will be bustling for quite sometime, I read on. Chapter 1 A New Beginning, ah this is where the answer lies, the author suggests. Now the book began to speak to me, "Somewhere between the memories of what has been and the hopes of what might be, we pause, take a deep breath, and wonder." Those words jumped out at me as if the author had heard my very thoughts. Dale Hanson Bourke knew exactly the way I was feeling at that very moment that I lay on my couch an emotional mess because a number was defining me.It has been almost a month since I turned the first page of this book and I can say that it was one of the most incredible books, that I have ever read. Treating this book like a daily devotional, paying extra attention to the suggested Act and Reflect boxes dotted throughout the book, I was able to redefine my age. I recommend this book to every woman, of any age, who is feeling lost, unable to define themselves or find purpose in their lives. The author has included scripture references, as well as, quotes from inspiring woman to help the reader on the journey. I was given this book for free from Thomas Nelson Publishing for review, the opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julia Owings
EMBRACING YOUR SECOND CALLING BY Dale Hanson Bourke.When you reach a certain age, life changes wheither or not you are ready for it to. SO what now? is the question most of us ask ourselves.Dale Hanson Bourke helps find those answers in her book. EMBRACING YOUR SECOND CALLING.She doesnt give you pat answers but suggests resources to find the correct answers for yourself. Shes been there and done that. Dale talks about her busyness when the kids were little and she was working fulltime to when everything changed as the kids left home and she dealt with coming out of her career of her youth.I needed this book when I was 40 and struggled through that year.In my fifties I am glad to see I am not alone in the struggles, glad to see that some of my choices as a young mother and then an elder( try not to use that word OLD) have been on track in comparison to others. WE ARE NOT ALONE IN OUR STRUGGLES.May GOD grant me the wisdom, patience and humor today.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penny
This book has been very enlightening especially for women who are in the second "phase" of their lives and wondering what their lives hold for them now. It gives insight into what "real" women go through and where their thoughts go in an easy readible format that I think you will use again and again as a reference type book. I've highlighted several areas to come back to time and time again. Great collection to your library.This book was provided to me free by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion I have expressed is solely my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 225 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr225_03.html "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley M. Corder
I am so glad I offered to review this book. It is one of the best I have read in many years. It's specifically for women in their "second half" of life. Dale quotes Carl Jung's statement, "We cannot live the afternoon of life according to the program of life's morning." This is what this book is all about. I am well into my afternoon of life, but hadn't spotted the shift until I read this book. Now I feel free to be me the "Me" that I've become, and allow the "Me" of the morning part of my life to relax.I read the book in every available gap of time throughout the day and meditated on the questions for reflection while I was doing other things. I am now going back over it, taking a few pages at a time, and journaling as I go.I would love to go through this book with a group of women who are in the afternoon of their lives, and Dale includes "Act"s for discussion. She also uses the story of Naomi to illustrate many points, which makes for a fascinating Bible Study in itself. My only disappointment with this book has nothing to do with the author. The plastic covering was starting to peel when I received the book, and it eventually got so bad I pulled it off. This doesn't in any way affect the book itself though, and I would strongly recommend it to women in their 40s and later. As Dale has shown me, there comes a time in our lives when we move on from our first calling. So many women seem to spend the second half of their lives trying to continue or revive the program for the first half, instead of embracing their second calling. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2010
If you are in your mid-40s, you will not only want to read this book you will want to follow every piece of advice Dale Hanson Bourke imparts. I related to Bourke in so many ways. I spent my 20s and 30s absorbed by my ambition, seeking to be the best at my job so I could advance my career. I spent a lot of years being busy but having nothing to show for it. I worshipped many idols while, at the same time, professing to be a Christian.Once you arrive at that age where you can accept your limitations and realize how skewed your priorities have been, you will find a freedom you never dreamed possible. You will finally be able to be the person God created you to be and do what He created you to do. Your friendships will be deeper and your life will be more fulfilled than you could have imagined in the first half of your life.Bourke learned many lessons that she has graciously shared in her book, Embracing Your Second Calling. If you want to find passion and purpose for the rest of your life, you will want to read this book. It is perfect as an individual guide or a small group. It has a variety of activities and reflections to lead you to a well-rounded discussion of the joys of getting older. The discoveries about yourself and God can lead to many opportunities to share with younger women as they approach the second half of their lives. Its no longer about what you do. Its about what you have become.Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carin
I chose to review the book "Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life" because I thought it would be interesting to see what was suggested in terms of living the second half of life.The book is essentially a guide for Christian women entering the latter half of their lives. It gives concrete suggestions on how to discover who you really are and what God wants you to accomplish with the rest of your life.I enjoyed the format of this book. In addition to the main text, it also includes quotations about aging by famous men and women. As well, there is a "Reflect" section that provides concepts and ideas to think about in relation to your purpose. The "Act" section is suitable for group readings and provides activities that allow you to get involved with your community and the global world. This book also includes references to relevant passages of Scripture and short prayers at the end of each chapter.The writing is very easy to read and the author gives particular examples from her life that make her suggestions all the more applicable. Her style of writing is very open and personable, like having a conversation with a friend. She talks about how God can use you in your life.Although there are specific suggestions that relate to middle-aged or aging women, many parts of the book can be applied to women, and men, of all ages.Thomas Nelson Publishers have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2010
This book annoyed me. I hate to put it so bluntly, but thats what perfectionists tend to doespecially when encountering other perfectionists who devote an entire book to telling them how to intensely over scrutinize their lives in order to be ever more perfect. Thats what "Embracing Your Second Calling" does. For most women, especially those with perfectionist tendencies, this usually does more harm than good.In this book, Dale Hanson Bourke, compares the mid-life, empty nest season of a womans life to Naomis experience in the book of Ruth. Naomi lost her husband and sons and found herself feeling lost and bitter. For each chapter of "Embracing Your Second Calling", Bourke tells readers something she sees in Naomi that compares to women in mid-life, then she tells how she has applied this observation to her own life and how her readers can do so, too. The book isnt a Bible study, but speculation about what Naomi may have been thinking or feeling or doing as she moved through this difficult time.Personally, I dont think mid-life is a bitter time. Its a transition, but unlike Naomis sudden loss, its something we see coming. (And, while losing a husband and children is tragic, successfully launching children into adulthood is something to rejoice about!) If we let Him, God prepares us for this next phase of our lives all along. We dont suddenly leave one life for another. We dont stop, evaluate every aspect of our lives, rearrange, and start over again. Instead, we draw close to God and let Him lead us happily into new opportunities and ministry tasks.Bourke does provide quite a bit of useful information and several good ideas, but we dont need to take ourselves so seriously all the time. Rather, we should focus intently on God, allowing Him to work His Will in us. To someone whose life is suddenly and traumatically changed, I might, with caution, recommend this book, but I dont think its really for women naturally moving through mid-life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emmylou
I love to read. I thought it would be fun giving reviews on books.. I chose Embracing Your Second Calling by Dale Hanson Bourke as my first book to review. I liked the title of the book and thought that it fit me well with the way that I was feeling in my life. I am a middle-aged woman with children who are growing up before my eyes. I was beginning to feel depressed and wondering what I was going to be doing for the rest of my life when my children are out on their own. The book couldnt have came at a better time. The book is geared towards middle-aged women just like me. The book give you a better understanding about embracing your second calling and not feeling that you are on the down- slide of a ski slope. Dale helps you realize that when you reach middle age that you still have a great deal to give. She tells you take the time to hear the whisper of God. She relates her writing to the story of Ruth and Naomi in the bible. Naomi loses her husband and sons and yet by listening and trusting in Gods call she found new purposes in life. God has some much is store for us even when we are middle aged. Dale Bourke challenges women to respond to God's call specifically for this season of life and offers practical ideas for finding new meaning. I would highly recommend this book to all ladies who are middle aged. You will find passion and purpose in this book that will help you feel blessed for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs Coveney
I had high expectations for this book and the title really drew me. It began well, and I felt sure it was going to offer many pearls of wisdom about being an 'empty-nester' and how to move forwards with the Lord at this time in my life.It does have lots of great quotes, things to reflect, study, and suggestions for things to do to reach out to others, but largely it is an autobiography about the author's manic career-driven 20's and 30's and her eventual burnout. As a full-time homemaker myself, there weren't many parallels, but there were some things I could glean.It was surprisingly full of excerpts from other authors, in every chapter actually, but the quotes were relevant and helpful.As the book is aimed at the American reader, the links and resources listed were not available in the UK. Also for non-Americans, some of the descriptions about everyday life/the school system/transport systems can be puzzling, as you are expected to know what she is talking about. I sometimes found the authors attitude to other nations a little patronising, and her description of her friendship with a homeless women was entitled "It Takes All Kinds", and was again, rather patronisingly written.However, peppered throughout the book are references to the story of Naomi in the book of Ruth and that was enlightening, as I usually focus more on Ruth than Naomi.All in all, I found this book a tad disappointing, but the reflection points and suggestions for further study are helpful when used along side your Bible and personal study journal.I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brooklyn Book
A portion of the title seemed to speak directly to me. Although I am blessed with a good husband and two wonderful kids I have been feeling a bit lost and restless lately. I feel as though I am meant to be doing something in ADDITION to being a wife and mother. I just dont know what that something is. So when I saw that the title included "Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life" I thought this was a book I should read. Dale Hanson Bourke writes about many things that women who are beginning their journey into mid-life will find useful. Although I am in my 40's, there were some situations in the book which I could not relate to (I have two small kids at home and empty nest syndrome is not in my immediate future). There are other portions however that I found to be uplifting and I was offered some excellent suggestions on how to bring added happiness and contentment to my life. Due to my financial circumstances, I have been having a love/hate relationship with God lately. Ms. Bourkes book reminded me that God always has definite, purposeful plans for my life and that although it may be hard to see right now, the best is yet to come. This book helped me to view certain situations in a new light and made me realize that life might be tough right now, but with Gods love and guidance I will make it through. I urge you to stick with this book. Dont give up if you find there are certain parts that you cannot relate to. See it through to the end and you will walk away with many pearls of wisdom. I want to thank Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson Publishers for providing me with this book and for giving me the opportunity to review same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Kerr
So, when Thomas Nelson publishers sent this book to me to review through their BookSneeze program, I really didn't know what to expect. Truthfully, the concept and by-line really made me think that this book would be geared towards 30-something year old women who were seeking a change in their lives. It definitely didn't seem like it'd be geared toward a soon to be 26-year old college kid who has yet to find his first calling, much less be trying to discern a life change. It, however, was a worthwhile read, and while not my favorite, has a ton of good information and encouragement.Dale Hanson Bourke's book helps you take a look at yourself and the way you carry yourself daily. Her encouragement to see how you act on a daily basis gives us something we can work with. She also continually points us back toward a creator that has only the best in mind for us.Overall, this book was not written for my generation or for my gender, so it wasn't supremely useful, but I can definitely see how this godly look at mid-life would be beneficial for anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Embracing Your Second Calling: Find Passion and Purpose for the Rest of Your Life, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike C
Would of given it 5 out of 5 but was not able to get over the stumbling block that some women that may read this book do not think it is something they could use because they were not in a corporate world during the first half of their lives. Other than that I thought it was an very informative book that as a Pastor I will be able to give an invaluable resource to them instead of shrugging my shoulders and saying, "Don't worry, God will work it out." I did not do the "Act" or "Reflect" boxes but read them and would see the benefit of using this book as a group discussion tool or even by keep a journal of those things that were gleaned from putting the exercises into action. Filled with pearls of wisdom and gold nuggets of information that even men could benefit from. And may I add that if you are a man and read this book then read it somewhere you will not be seen by your wife because it contains some heart melting stories that brought some tears to my eyes. Great book and resourceful tool for any counselor. Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest and impartial review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>