Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Guideposts Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1

Guideposts Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1

This inaugural title in Tales from Grace Chapel Inn sets the tone for a series that embraces family and friends, good neighbors and good will, and an enduring faith in God. The Howard sisters live their faith by example and bring a sense of community to Acorn Hill as they go about their days. In this book sleepy little Acorn Hill is in for a big surprise when the three sisters reunite after the death of their father, a beloved minister. Each has inherited a share of his worn-down Victorian house, and they decide to turn their family home into a bed-and-breakfast. But the women are as different as sisters can be, and they encounter many obstacles along the way. By learning to work together, accepting a little help from their friends, and trusting in God, the three sisters are finally able to see Grace Chapel Inn open its doors. Written in a lively and engaging style, this book will draw readers in and have them waiting for the next title in the series.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Review 1 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
This review is fromBack Home Again - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great first book in the series

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
AHbooklover
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another enjoyable book by Melody Carlson. Nice beginning to the Grace Chapel Inn series. Easy to read (and hard to put down).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
This review is fromBack Home Again - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I enjoyed this book and would recommend.

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book very much. I would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
This review is fromBack Home Again - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's So Easy

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JackieJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like being able to get eBooks from authors I like. This author was new to me, but I really enjoyed the book. I will be purchasing more eBooks from CBD in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
This review is fromBack Home Again - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kya 911
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome book.
You just have to love Alice and how she was the peace maker.
Her 2 sisters and aunt lol were priceless.Lots of lessons to be learned in this book.
I want to read the whole series♡♥
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
This review is fromBack Home Again - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I like this kind of book

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dawn4506
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book and I have told my friends about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Begins series around Grace Chapel Inn

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronna L
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace Chapel Inn, located in the village of Acorn Grove, gets its beginning in the sweet, light first book that is now extended to almost 50 books. Melody Carson authors this first book in this Christian series about three sisters and their Bed and Breakfast, the Grace Chapel Inn. Various other Christian authors take turns in continuing this interesting series on Christian life, problems, friendships and faith.
In this book, the sisters reunite after their minister father dies and leaves his old Victorian House equally to all three women. Alice, a single full time nurse, has been living with her father in this house all of her life. Older sister, Louise, is widowed and lives teaching piano in Philadelphia. Youngest sister Jane, whose birth cost her mother her life, is a chef and artist who has just gone through a difficult divorce in San Francisco. All three are very different people, but their father's legacy has them joining forces to restore the old family home so that they can open up a Bed and Breakfast. Ideas clash, neighbors put in their negative and positive thoughts, and friendships and God's Grace finds the Grace Chapel Inn finally opening to many new adventures.
The characters are different but definitely draw the reader into this story. Issues which call upon Godly prayer and solutions make this story very compelling. Looking forward to further adventures for these women and their future guests in the next books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
This review is fromBack Home Again - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robbie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ebook was very easy to read with a delightful story. It was a good, clean source of entertainment. The cost was an excellent value as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very cute story

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very cute story, I am looking forward to reading more in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Loretta Hutchins
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When these books first came out at Guideposts, I didn't think I wanted to read them. But when I was on vacation in another state, a friend and I went to a thrift store and I found "Recipes and Wooden Spoons" for $1.00. This is a fantastic series! I couldn't put it down. So when I got home, I ordered the first book in the series, Back Home Again. Now I've read the first 3 in the Tales of Grace Chapel Inn, and am anxiously awaiting the fourth, Ready to Wed. After I read them I am sending them to a friend in So. Carolina, who likes to read the same kind of fiction that I do. What a wonderful series of stories about a Christian family. I love them all!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Domaz
A very nice book. A little peak at small town life in modern times and not about young people, thank heavens. Already I look forward to the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barbara Wilkins
the book makes you feel like you are really at the grace chapel inn. I think they are excellent books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra Felt
This is my favorite in the series and sets the wheels in motion for the following books. I loved the quirky characters in the town but the relationships with the sisters is a wonderful, believeable exchange of love. Charming and a great read with an outstanding message
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sheri Saylor
What a wonderful read! I love the characters and the home town atmosphere. I just want to keep on reading and don't want it to end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Back Home Again, Grace Chapel Inn Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
patti burns
If you enjoyed the Mitford Series, you will love "Back Home Again". A simple story about a simple town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.