Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior

Thomas Nelson Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior

The redemptive story of one man's journey from Satanism to a radical new life in Christ! Learn how the worst decision of Leehan's life---to make a pact with the devil---led to ritualistic sacrifices, detachment, incarceration, and misery. But God thwarted Leehan's demonic "assignment"---to murder his pastor---and flooded his life with grace! 256 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 out of 2793%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Review 1 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nonsense

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary Martinelli
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As another who has been on the dark side, I can say the Satanic Bible by Anton LaVey is pure psychology. One exact excerpt "If God is alive he better be on Medicare." Yes I received my newsletter, The Cloven Hoof and did communicate with LaVey.
He(author) states a man was sentenced to death and a few years later, the court system carried it out. That isn't the law of the justice system. It takes many years of appeals. God has saved me and you need to take this book with a grain of salt. I have been there, if you have not, don't take it literally. I am a child of God. Even Christians commit sin such as the sex this author claims he pursued AFTER converting to Satanism. The "devil doesn't make them do it", as Flip Wilson would say, our poor decisions do. Spiritual warfare is not when two people "stare" each other down in a room (pg 65 3rd paragraph). Spiritual Warfare belongs to the Supreme God in the strong name of my Savior, Jesus Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this was one of my fave book

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michael Leehan, Ex-satanist now, a mighty man of God! I was fascinated with this book from the first page. The first two chapter was the creepiest part of Michael's life, where he embraces satanism. I wasn't able to sleep, it was like, it keeps on flashing no my mind on how he became a satanist. But, this book has brought hope and revelation to all who reads... It will transform you, inspire you, and make you cry. The part that really made in cry was when Leehan has to commit suicide and he was thinking that God is completely lost sight of him. I had to admit that I was a Luke-Warm Christian, this book shots me to head, an eye opener to me. If you don't have a strong faith as Christian... I would have to say, don't read this until you are...
"Remember, no matter how badly you think you've sinned or what kind of mess you may have made of your life, it probably pales in comparison to mine. Never give up, never lose hope. Jesus Christ specializes in fixing broken messes just like us." I love this line, really true to my life. This book unlocks the mystery of evil and darkness that plagues this earth. This book also reveals the mystery of satanism and evil activities in this world! The Christian has nothing to fear of, our God is faithful and true, His love is plentiful, and He is with us. Pick this book! You have to read it now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amazing Story

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ascent from Darkness
Wow! This was an intense read and an unbelievable story…but I DO believe it! This first person narrative makes you marvel at the depths a man can sink to when he turns to the forces of evil for power and control. At his wits end over family strife and relationship troubles, Leehan turns to drugs and alcohol for comfort, and ends up having a near death experience in the process. As he lay dying, he hears a voice call out to him telling him he has much left to do. It is a voice that soothes and comforts him as the doctors fight to save his life. And he is saved…bodily. However, his soul is anything but saved. What follows is a fascinating, highly disturbing look inside the world of Satanism and how the forces of evil use this man to do their heinous bidding. And just when you think this man is doomed…in steps God. An amazing story of redemption and how one man really did go from being a Soldier of Satan to a Warrior for God. I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair, unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

well written

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really feel this book is a must read for Christians...
Learn how to be victorious over evil! I could have spent much more time listening to him. His deep understanding of this often misunderstood issue was very insightful. The book is very practical and easy to understand. It's step by step instructions give readers the tools needed to face the enemy head on. I'm going to with this one because of the very helpful instructions on how to deal with this subject.This one is the best and I do recommand this book to all who want to understand what is going on and what to do about it.t is an invaluable resource for any Christian. But I think this book would be especially valuable to a new believer.
We are in a real battle people! It's time we learn about our enemy! Thanks for a great book! I love this book. I love to read it and reread it. I just wanted to see what it was about. It is a must read for every believer out there. Christians of all experience levels and backgrounds will benefit from reading this book. The book reads quickly and easily because there is not any extra opinions or information. The material is well developed but to the point. This book took me by storm! There is so much to learn about the supernatural. It mentions that not much takes place in the spirit realm without our taking some risks. This book is just as spectacular as his lectures, and other media. Explained in explicit detail and so logical to follow it all makes so much sense.
It's a must read for any person who believes in Angels and an enlightening read for those or are not sure yet.
This book will make you brave, This book will set you free as well...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great headsup regarding the occult

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grandmaparty6
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you question the existance of demons, the devil, the danger of becoming involved in the occult, read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW, Ascent from Darkness

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
boylescs02
Location:Martinsburg, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first reaction after reading this book is WOW! I have never been so intent on reading an autobiography as I was with reading this book. I did not want to stop reading. Every turn of the page brought you more and more into Michael's world as a former Satanist. I was drawn to the vivid imagery used to describe events through his life.
I tend to read primarily fiction books, due to having an expanse imagination, but this book was just as powerful in that realm as a great fiction work. The emotional roller-coaster that you experience as you read this will at times have disgust for the writer, and then other times you feel compassion for him. The plot to kill Craig Groeschel, the manipulation of believers, and the redemption show the true power of God in all of our lives.
I would highly recommend that everyone read this book. I feel that no one is to lost for the work of Christ on cross, his death, and resurrection. Thank you Michael Leehan for your immensely powerful testimony and the impact that it will have on the future generations that read of your journey.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emanuel Pavel
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Povestea lui Michael Leehan pare scenariu de film. Cu toate acestea este o realitate tulburatore traita de el si la scala diferita poate de multi altii. Intitulandu-si cartea "Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior" - “Ridicarea din intuneric; cum un soldat al Satanei devine un luptator al lui Dumnezeu”, autorul pare a spune tot. Dincolo de ceea ce pare evident, cartea te lasa sa patrunzi in perioadele dureroase ale vietii autorului unde poti observa puterea intunericului la cote si sub forme greu imaginabile. In ea vei gasi relatarea unei vieti zbuciumate, ajunsa de cateva ori in pragul mortii, cautand rspusuri despre ce se va intampla dincolo.
more on www.blog.punctul.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enlightening

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
opill
Location:TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gives unusual insight into the spirit world, and every day life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

ascent from Darkness

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lele
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ascent from darkness written by Michael Leehan. - A book quite different from the rest of the Christian books that cover topics on God's grace, love, hope and faith. This one delves into the dark areas and forces of the spiritual world; the main force attacking the Christian faith, so invisible yet so real.
I expected quite a lot from this book and even prayed about it after reading some reviews and so forth. However, in my opinion, this book is not as engaging as I imagined it to be. Kind of long-winded, too descriptive at times and perharps, too irrelevant in certain ways. I'm not saying that it is not a good book; just not the way I anticipated it to be. This book talks about the dark life of Michael Leehan and his life and the decisions he made to enter into Satanism. Along the way, he met many christians who prayed for him and many incidents that happened which prove God is saving him; the existence of spiritual battle between the good and evil, the angels and devils.
Overall, I will say that this book does help me realise that there are indeed many unknown / unseen spiritual attacks that I have to be very wary of. In addition, it shows how many christians are actually weak and easily tempted. However, the book did not do a very good job in showcasing God's grace and mercy as well as to guide fellow Christians into focusing on God and His Love. This book has many areas in which I felt can improve on. Maybe it is a biography and everything is as real as it has been written down; but it fails to capture and enlighten me in ways I have kind of hoped it would.
To comply with new regulations introduced by the Federal Trade Commission, I must post that Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book to review. I also must say that the opinions are all mine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing True Story

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ascent from Darkness is an incredible true story about a man named Michael who had given his soul to Satan himself and lived for the kingdom of darkness, and how he made the transition to being saved by Christ and doing work for the Kingdom of Light. This story builds trust with the reader as it progresses, showing how the small steps into darkness turned into huge leaps and bounds that had Michael in the absolute pit of pits where his life was tormented and destroyed. The powerful redemptive work on the Cross is the true hero in this book. Powerful to read and opens ones eyes to the darkness that is really out there.
I thought I had a fairly good understanding from a Christian perspective of the darkness that we battle against, but reading this book has opened my eyes to an entirely different playing field. Michael's honesty is believable because he builds trust with the reader from page one through to the end. His interjections into his own story are compelling and powerful. Be prepared for this book to change your life if you'll allow it.
I am a member of booksneeze.com by Thomas Nelson Publishers. In exchange for writing a review, I received this book for free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: Ascent From Darkness – Michael Leehan

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At the age of 33 a young man named Mike Leehan made a decision on a Saturday afternoon, after determining in his mind that God was responsible for all of the problems in his life, decided to serve God’s enemy: Satan. After buying the books and making a blood oath with Satan, Mike Leehan became attached to the darkness of the demon world. This bond would last twenty years, when Mike is given an assignment by the forces of darkness, to kill Pastor Craig Groeshel. Now, he sits on the front pew, listening to that same pastor.
Positive: This book is an incredible account of a man’s journey into devout Satanism, and Mike does not spare in giving us some of the details of exactly what happens in the circles of Satanists, and of informing us of the rituals and different duties that he performed as a Satanist, such as going across the country and planting satanic bibles in churches, infiltrating single’s groups in churches and sleeping with several of the single women, and memorizing scripture to twist it to a satanic message. This book was a huge eye-opener for me, and I was interested and disturbed by the different things that were recorded in the book that I had never heard of.
The book takes us from Mike’s descent into deep depravity to his radical conversion to Christ which took place only a few years ago. All in all, this is a gripping and moving account.
Another one of the elements in the book I found extremely interesting, was when Leehan shows us what he thought of Christians as a Satanist, and his incredible perception to the spiritual state of most in our churches. These passages are something I found to be an incredible indictment on modern so-called Christianity that we would do well to think about.
Negative: I actually have very little to put here, the only things I could say that some might find the general darkness of the account. As before stated, Mike does not spare in spots to show just what wickedness he was involved in, and the depths that he had gone to as a Satanist, for people who may feel they cannot read about rituals, and different disturbing events, this may not be a book for you. However, I will say that if you are interested in an incredible account of God’s miraculous free and sovereign grace in the life of a totally depraved man that we would consider beyond hope, then this would be a book for you to pick up.
The only other negative that comes to mind is some questionable theology toward the end. Leehan is of the charismatic stripe, so some of it I did not agree with, and some others will disagree with that I didn’t see a problem with, but don’t let that stop you from reading the book, as I said, this is an incredible account of God’s rich and marvelous grace.
All in all, this gets a four out of five from me, I would say you should read it.
I received this book completely free from Booksneeze.com as part of their blogging program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing book!

Date:December 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. I think what made this book even more intriguing and amazing was that it was a true story – a testimonial from Michael Leehan – about God’s amazing grace and ability to deliver someone from the deepest entrenchment with the enemy. He is very forthright concerning not only what happened to him, but his role in the process of handing his life over to satan for many years, his involvement in trying to tear down Christians, churches and sabotage any one he could for the enemy.
But then there’s God! And wow! Michael shows how God strategically placed true Christians in his life who helped plant seeds of hope, encouragement, faith and love, even though he purposely chose not to leave his life of service to satan. I love the story of his conversion and how Father God showed him the battle He was waging for Michael’s life and soul. When he was assigned to kill the pastor of his church (yes! he was going to church!), Michael knew something had to give. It was a beautiful thing to read. I love it! This book was intriguing, easy to read and full of life – even in the midst of dark times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book gives validity to noises in the dark

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Gilbert Luftig
Location:Central PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From an early age, life seemed to leave Mike wanting. His family life was dysfunctional, he never felt safe due to suffering a nearly lethal attack from a stranger, and he had been labeled suicidal due to an accidental overdose from pain pills and alcohol. In his search for relief from fear and desperation he prayed, but only found hypocrisy in the Christian religion he saw around him. It wasn’t long before Mike sought and then embraced life as a Satanist. From the making of a blood covenant with Satan to hearing, seeing, and experiencing his evil minions, Leehan’s life was controlled by Darkness. Ascent From Darkness journals his trek back from Satan’s isolation and destruction to Jesus’ grace that waited for him.
Leehan’s style of writing was easy to read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the story, although I found the graphic details involving satanic worship a bit disturbing. Because he wrote about well-known characters (e.g., LifeChurch members and Pastor Craig Groeschel), I have no doubt that all the explicit details shared in this book are true. Unfortunately, I found I needed to stop reading and distance myself from the book for a couple of weeks to be able to return to it with a discerning and prayerful spirit. This helped when I continued into the later chapters.
I strongly recommend this book for well-grounded Christians only. Evil is real and all around us. Citing one example of Leehan’s account of the evil spirits’ saying, “I don’t think he can see us,” should be taken as a serious warning; be sure that they are always looking for new victims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

eph514

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
eph514
Location:Columbia,TN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ascent from Darkness (How Satan’s Soldier Became God’s Warrior) by Michael Leehan
This is one of the most powerful books I have ever read. The book is about the author dealing with depression, addiction, hopelessness, and spiritual warfare. These are some of the exact things that we deal with every day. These are the tools that the devil uses to try to win and take us away from God. No matter how alone or hopeless we feel there is a God (Father) there that loves us. We just need to open our hearts and let him in.
A lot of the parts of this book really hit home for me. Battling with spiritual warfare and bouts of depression can really bring you into a dark place and you don’t think that there is any way to get out so you might as well join the “dark side”. But just like I found out the author overcomes this and becomes a warrior for God. It was a great relief for me to be able to read a story so close to my own. Showing me that no matter what we deal with we are never alone. People battle the same problems as we do every day.
In closing I would just like to say that if you feel alone , depressed, hopeless or know anyone who does, this is the book for you. This is a miraculous story on the love, forgiveness, grace, and mercy of our God. I hope and pray that everyone enjoys this book as much as I did. God Bless!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ascent from Darkness By Michael Leehan

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
evwind
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Michael Leehan's book: Ascent from Darkness, How Satan's soldier became God's warrior. Michael gives his amazing testimony, about how his life was devoted to the "dark arts" and "witchcraft", for years and how it encompassed his life everywhere he traveled. The miracle that took place in his life to bring him to the point of writing this book can only be credited to Jesus who took him out of the dark and into the light. The author did a great job of keeping his account accurate but not too graphic, although the author probably had to edit much of his story for the target audience. This book is not for the light of heart, because this book covers an array of very serious and unfortunately real topics that have to do with the evil that is in this world and the affects it has on individuals lives who choose to engage in it. I think this is a "must-read" for all christians, who enjoy reading a testimony to display how a person is never "lost", and the power of a miracle can and does change lives. I received this book from booksneeze in exchange for my time/effort reviewing it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be Prepared to Be Absorbed

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie E
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From beginning to end, Michael Leehan had my attention, his life was very different from mine and yet I felt a familiarity with it. It's not just that I have felt the darkness of the spiritual world in my life but that he manages to convey his internal struggle so well.
In Ascent From Darkness, Michael writes in detail about Satanic practices and rituals without glorifying them. Prior to this book I had no experience with such things, or had I? Michael reveals that we are either with God or against Him, that the enemy will take every opportunity to sway us and we may never realize it's happening. I was pulled to consider the Ouija board moments of my youth, reading Tarot cards for friends in my 20's....those moments certainly weren't for God and I did relate to the feelings of "Power" that Michael describes. I began to see the spiritual battle which had been taking place in my life more clearly.
Michael turned to Satan when he felt that God had abandoned him, he offers his life on a platter between the covers and challenges us as people to review our own. Bible scripture is offered throughout the book to support his stance of giving the glory of his rescue to God and those people whom God put upon his path during the journey.
Please run and get this book, open your mind and you will be amazed at the power of God's love and his people here who didn't give up on Michael.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging and worth the read

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will admit I was not sure I wanted to read this book. I don't like to read about evil spirits and demonic forces but the fact that it was a true story of one man's life made me want to continue on. I am so glad I read this book. It was very well done. Michael tells his story in a way that you get the severity of what was going on in his life without getting the gory details. He makes it clear the depth of his devotion to Satan and the battle that raged within him. I'm amazed at how his "mission" was to go to churches and Bible studies and disrupt them with difficult questions and basically just try to lead everyone astray. Another great reason why we need to be on guard spiritually at all times. I was thanking God by the end that this man has been freed from the bondage of Satan and that he now is a follower of Christ. The appendix also sheds some great light on the story of Michael from the perspective of those around him. I love how God is using him and his testimony mightily today! I find his passion inspiring and the fact that he can't not share the love of God with everyone he meets an encouragement and challenge to the rest of us.
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening- Ascent from Darkness

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
LiteraryJohnson
Location:Denver, Colorado
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ascent from darkness is an incredibly insightful book every Christian should read. Most of our perceptions about Satan are based on movies and fantasy books, leaving many to believe that they’re simply scary stories. I knew the dark realm was real based on my own encounter with people. You can see it and feel it. As Michael described demon possessed houses, chills ran through my body. I had lived in such a house and not for very long, you truly feel suffocated.
Michael opens his tortured past to open our eyes. If anyone doubts that God loves them, that they have sinned too much, that they are too far gone, this true story of Michael’s life will change their mind.
Michael’s ascent provides a very candid look into the lukewarm church body and Christ followers. Through his demonic eyes we see how weak followers can be, and easy to tempt, pulling more into the darkness. Through Christian eyes he leads us to God’s protection and demonstrates how badly we need it, every single day.
While reading Ascent from Darkness I found myself hating and loving Michael all at the same time. I hated the demons in him and the crimes he committed, but my heart ached for who he was, who he could be. There are many who wrestle with good and evil their entire lives, but Michael’s extremes were beyond believable, though heart wrenching and true.
It is clear that God continued to send people to intervene throughout Michael’s battle. I don’t know if I have witnessed that level of a servant heart in the Christian church body. His friends never gave up on him, because Jesus never gave up on him.
Ascent from Darkness was a book I could not put down, nor stop thinking about. It speaks to you on so many levels. My husband was eagerly awaiting me to finish it so he could read it, I was so moved I read parts of it aloud to him and our fifteen year old son.
Sure, it’s easier to pretend that the darkness isn’t a real threat. Ignoring it doesn’t make it go away. If we are going to be strong enough to battle and win against the enemy, shouldn’t we know what we’re dealing with? Michael has shown us. May God continue to bless him and his continuing work.
Please note: The publisher has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy through BookSneeze® in which I provide a genuine, honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zealfire
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ascent from Darkness opens with a note from the author in which he states his intentions in writing the book. I found this worth mentioning, because it is clear that his purpose is to share through truth and testimony of his life. The work discusses the depth of darkness he plunged into as he rejected God and openly embraced the demonic powers of this world and Satan. As the back excerpt states: “Practicing the dark arts that include ritualistic cuttings and blood sacrifices, while fine tuning his manipulation and control skills…” The darkness consumed Michael, but yet not so fully as to have no cracks for the light to get in. The battle discussed in this work does not make it an easy read even knowing the end as having read the excerpt on the book itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was so GREAT! I loved it!

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
yogurljenny
Location:Ks
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ascent from Darkness How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior
By Michael Leehan
This book was a pretty interesting book at first glance! It immediately drew my attention. Title and all! This book is about a man's story who was once a satanist, who then turn and gave His life to Jesus Christ. It was really encouraging to read this book! This guy's life was so full of despair and hopelessness that he began to follow satan and become a satanist. Thirsting for more power spiritually from the darkside, satan gave him an "important" mission. And that was to kill pastor Greg. Pastor Greg is the senior pastor of the lifechurch.tv network church that's been expanding like crazy in Oklahoma. He got tired of his wife and daughter talking about the messages they learned from the church, and just how much a man of God he was. When he recieved and accepted the mission, he decided to go to church with them. only to scheme and study ways to accomplish his mission. He knew the time was coming, and within hours he may die. ... Pastor and the people of the church continued to pray with and for Micheal. Sharing the gospel and surround him with God's mercy and grace... later through the years[long years] Micheal gave his life to Jesus. His testimony is an amazing! and really capture the TRUE GRACE and DIVINE POWER and AUTHORITY that Christ has. I would def. recommend this book to anyone. Especially if they're going through a lot of hard times in life. His story kind of reminded me of Paul's story written in ACTS! He was hardcore killing christians, and then He served God even to his death! Chains didn't stop Paul! Excellent read!:)
I give it **** stars!
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>