Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy

Thomas Nelson It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy

Pop culture and psychobabble tell us to make ourselves the center of the universe in order to be happy. Churches have communicated the false idea that God exists to give us all that we selfishly want. In this book, Max Lucado reminds us that it's not about us, it's all about God. It is through this shift in thinking that we can truly live an unburdened, happy life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Review 1 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
BeckyL
Location:Summerville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most profound books I have ever read. It was life-changing. It made me look at everything in light of eternity. This life is not about us, but what we were put here to do for God. A must read for all Christians
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Different Perspective on Life

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hayley
Location:Central Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book really made me rethink things. In our society we’re taught that it’s all about me, and we are very self-centered. In his book ‘It’s Not About Me’ author Max Lucado tells us that if we got back to life not being about us but about what we can do for God and to help others how much better things will be.
This book definitely gave me a different perspective on things and allowed me to think about life a little differently, and will hopefully help me to be a better reflection of the “Son.” I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone, it will definitely give you a different perspective of life.
This book was provided to me by Booksneeze for review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's not about me

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abeeda
Location:The Netherlands
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a great read. In a world that is obsessed with self this book give you a different perspective. I highly recommend that you take the time to read this. It would be a great addition to your library, or an excellent gift for someone who is going through a difficult time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s Not About Me
~ Max Lucado
He has done it once again! Lucado has brought realization to the reader’s mind about how this world isn’t about us, it never was and never will be. God has put us here for a reason and that is to glorify Him and spread the news about Him.
Lucado has to be one of my favourite author’s. He says it like it is and gets right down to the root. Definitely a book I would suggest for anyone to read!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's Not About Me

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Liljequist
Age:18-24
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's not about me. It's not about you, either. What isn't? Life...and all the good things in it. It's about God.
This, in a nutshell, is what the book is all about. We were created (along with the rest of creation) to display God's glory. We were saved for the glory of God. And our purpose as believers is to bring God glory.
We're all born selfish. Wanting everything to work out our way and to please us. So it's a great reminder that life isn't about us. The world is truly not meant to revolve around us.
If we keep this in mind, I think Christian marriages would be stronger (think about how many marital problems spring up from selfishness/mecenteredness!)...Christian ministries would be more honoring to God...and our everyday lives would better reflect the glory of God.
There are two parts to It's Not About Me. Part 1: God-Pondering Part 2: God-Promoting The idea is that one naturally follows the other. When we take time to ponder the greatness of God, we will be more apt to declare the greatness of God. Max Lucado talks about how everything should be about God...our message, our salvation, our bodies, our struggles, and our successes.
There's a study guide in the back of the book with lots of questions if you wish to explore this subject further.
I recommend It's Not About Me by Max Lucado. The less we focus on ourselves and the more we focus on God...the better.
~I received this book free from Booksneeze/Thomas Nelson in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a book which I highly recommend for anyone

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve Hyde
Location:Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Max Lucado is a great author who has a way with words that makes you want to engage with the text. In the opening chapter he presents his thesis that people think the world is about them. We live very self-centered lives. He compares that with how in the past astrologers, scholars and religious leaders all thought that the earth was the center of the universe. Those who thought contrary were rebels and condemned. He contends that people should not think of themselves like the earth (the proverbial center of the universe) but as the moon. The moon only reflects light, it is nothing but a chuck of dirt by itself. We too, created by God, are to be a reflection of God instead of wanting to have the focus be on ourselves.
My favorite chapter in the book is chapter 10. In this, Lucado talks about the problem of people wanting to add their own “ingredients” to God’s perfect plan. They want to do that, because it makes them feel like it is about them. The results are incomplete. Jesus plus anything else is just legalism. Lucado strikes a hard tone against legalism because in essence it is “self-salvation” and highlights the problem of our self-centered lives. It is not about me! Lucado’s conclusion is that “May we have no higher goal than to see someone think more highly of our Father, our King.”
I liked this book. The anecdotes are interesting and help me focus on his point. They are both relevant and Biblical. I like how he combines modern illustrations with Biblical ones to make the point. It is a short book and quick to read. At only 120 pages you can read it easily in a few hours and its singular point will give you plenty to ponder about your own life. I think this is a good book for anyone to read, especially those searching for “purpose”. Maybe you have a struggle in finding a church that fits you, or struggles with life, either way, you will benefit from this book. I highly recommend it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program for my honest evaluation and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

IT'S NOT ABOUT ME

Date:July 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Location:Canton, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT"S NOT ABOUT ME
"What would change if we finaly found our place and lived in it?"
Best selling author Max Lucado turns the greatest lie we've believed on its head. You know the one that says "It's all about me" and sets our sights on a different goal. "We were not made to live this way." -- Max inisits
I must admit I always look forward to reading books by Max Lucado. Oh how he just paints a picture with words.
This book is no different. Here are just a few of the quotes:
"God does not exist to make a big deal out of us. We exist to make a big deal out of Him. It's not about you. It's not about me. It's all about Him."
"God - centered thinking acknowledges, "It's God's; I have to respect it."
"My pain expands God's purpose.' " Life makes sense when we accept our place."
"We move from me-focus to God focus by pondering Him, witnessing Him"
"Beholding HIM changes us" -- Max Lucado
It really is all about God and we are only vessels should we answer the call that God has on our life. As so many of us know only the things from God has a voice. In addition to having a voice, there is no end why because its from The Creator God Himself.
This is a must have for every believer regardless of where they are on the journey. Oh by the way be prepared to hear God's voice in this. You can't help but read this book and come closer to God. I know I did
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Learning to seek God's glory instead of your own.

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the simple, straight-forward style I have come to expect from him, Max Lucado has once again written a book that gets right to the heart of a major issue in the lives of many today. Even our American constitution tells us that we have the right to "the pursuit of happiness". 'Looking out for #1' is a common phrase, yet am I supposed to be my own priority? As a follower of Christ, that answer should be a firm, "NO!".
Max points out that the me-centered life is much less satisfying than the God-centered life. We are looking for short-term pleasures for our time on Earth, while God has the overview of knowing what is best for eternity. Think of it as having an extreme close-up of a masterpiece: the tiny portion you are viewing may determine your opinion of the painting, but you are incapable of seeing the full picture. God sees it all...and we must trust His judgement.
Max also reminds us that we are to be reflections of God. I know that I am guilty of wanting to bask in my own glory, but I want to make my goal to always seek the glory of God. I am writing this the day before Father's Day, and thinking about how I tried so hard to please my father and emulate Daddy when I was little. Now my focus should be on being the reflection of my Heavenly Father. Max ends this book with a story told to him by a rabbi. I won't disclose the details, but I admit that it is making a difference in my attitude and actions after reading it. I certainly recommend this book to all of those who want to be Son-seekers rather than limiting life to being self-centered.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for It's Not About Me: Rescue From the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life changing perspective!

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a marvelous book I found in Max Lucado’s “It’s Not about Me!” This book was short, easy to read and packed with insight that willl change your perspective and your life. I received this book, published by Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of the BookSneeze program.
Lucado is the master storyteller who uses clear illustrations to make a point that often speaks deep to our hearts. It began with the simple statement in the first chapter, “When God looks at the center of the universe, he doesn’t look at you.” We are to be like the moon; a clod of dirt that reflects the greater light.
This book hit deep in my spirit on so many issues. When I get a glimpse of glory or a glimpse of my Father’s face, I can face anything. Lucado explains God’s glory in a way that makes you want to seek it instead of your own glory. It makes you wonder if every act in your life seeks to reflect His glory.
He gracefully leads you into a series of ways that we can reflect God’s glory, no matter what is going on in our lives. Do I reflect God in my struggles? In my success? Do we understand what it means to be a tool in God’s hands? Are we really mirrors reflecting His glory?
This book will put your perspective of God back in the position it needs to be, realizing He has preeminence and that it really is about Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.