Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson When God Whispers Your Name

Thomas Nelson When God Whispers Your Name

Do you find it hard to believe that the One who made everything keeps your name on His heart and on His lips? Did you realize that your name is written on the hand of God (Is. 49:16)? Perhaps you've never seen your name honored. And you can't remember when you heard it spoken with kindness. In this book, Lucado offers the inspiration to believe that God has already bought the ticket-with your name on it.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When God Whispers Your Name
Review 1 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daisy Malave
Location:Glendale,Ny
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent! I love the way Lucado express himself and I love his style of writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Max Lucado's "When God Whispers Your Name"

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Whit
Location:Austin, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my copy of Max Lucado's "When God Whispers Your Name" arrived, I immediately opened the book and settled in on the couch to begin reading...I was lucky that it was nap time. After reading the 4 page introduction, I knew that I was really going to enjoy and walk away with a lot after reading this one, and I was right. This book fell into my hands at the perfect time and in the end I truly believe it was a fabulous read!
I like first of all how Max broke the book down into three parts with several small chapters in each. There is a very useful "Notes" section in the back of the book which lists all the scriptures, sermons, and phrases used throughout the book. Then, there is a discussion guide with short studies written to not only tie back to the ideas Max wrote about, but also to look deeper at the scriptures referenced. It took me a little over a month to get through the entire book with all of the included studies, and was well worth all the time spent reading, contemplating, praying and listening. You can order the book online from Christianbook.com for around $9.99.
I love how Max Lucado makes you feel like he is right there talking to you and at the same time shows you how clearly the Lord is also right there with you, "whispering your name". I felt like I was having a conversation with dear friends throughout reading this book and in the end did truly hear the whispers from God. I would highly recommend this book to anyone: struggling or not, hurting or not, Christian or not...it just might make you look at things in a different light!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS BOOK IS WELL WORTH IT!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
EDUB
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good book, the standard set by Mr. Max Lucado is attained and he does a great job unpacking the subject matter as always. I would recommend this book to all.
Thanks For Reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Whispers Your Name

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHEN GOD WHISPERS YOUR NAME – by Max Lucado …. Discover the Path to Hope in Knowing That God Cares For You----- Have you ever wondered if God is speaking to you? Are you looking for a loud voice like thunder? In this book you will find different examples how God does speak to us, only in a whisper. Max tells us God is speaking to us and calling us by name to follow Him and do His will. God speaks to us in a small still voice and we need to be listening.
This book is very easy to read and Max will entertain you with some funny stories about himself and others and will show how God does speak to us. It is a very enjoyable book and packs a very powerful message. I would recommend this book to all ages.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DO you hear Him calling to you?

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommybugg
Location:SE Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you find it hard to believe that the One who made everything keeps your name on His heart and on His lips? Did you realize that your name is written on the hand of God (Is. 49:16)? Perhaps you've never seen your name honored. And you can't remember when you heard it spoken with kindness. In this book, Lucado offers the inspiration to believe that God has already bought the ticket-with your name on it.
I've read many of his books and I must admit that this is his best. The way he makes you laugh and cry. The feeling you feel when you have read this book is so spiritual. You feel so close to God. I read this book in two days. I couldn't put it down. Max Lucado has become my favorite christain author. I will always be his biggest fan. God loves us and Max shows us how important God is in our lives, how much we need Him.
In every day language and using word pictures anyone can understand and relate to, we are reminded of how much God loves us and therefore enables us to extend that love to those around us. This is a great book for small study groups with a study guide provided at the end of the book. I highly recommend this book for individuals or groups. Very easy to read and a great discussion or thought starter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When God Whispers Your Name- Inspiring!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Madeline Drew
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When God Whispers Your Name is the first book I have read by Max Lucado. Now I can see why he has such an amazing following! This book is a wonderful collection of stories that bring the Bible to life in a way that people can relate to in present day. Enlightening, inspiring and eye opening, I enjoy the way that Max Lucado speaks to his audience without speaking down to them or being overly preachy. Moses, Joseph, Paul, Jesus and others experiences are shown to us in a way that reflects our own lives. It was so refreshing! The overall message is that God cares for you. We need to remember that even when life is difficult, we can't give up. The best is yet to come! The writing is entertaining and engaging and makes you think. There is even a discussion guide in the back of the book for further reflection. I would definitely recommend this book to others and look forward to reading more books by Max Lucado in the future!
I received this book free from the publisher through the Book Sneeze in exchange for my honest review. No other compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a real inspirational gem

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
When God Whispers Your Name – Max Lucado
This truly is a book that reminds us to ‘Discover the Path to Hope in Knowing that God Cares for You’. Divided into three parts, ‘The Song of the Minstrel’, ‘The Touch of the Master’ and ‘The Guest of the Maestro’ Lucado cleverly weaves stories, thoughts and Bible quotes to bring the message of hope. He blends modern day people with biblical times occurrences, to point out that God has not changed and just like Moses, we don’t always understand the circumstances we’re in, but we still need to trust that it’s all for God’s purpose. With its thought provoking Points to Ponder and Wisdom from the Word study guide, this book could easily be used as a devotional.
When I started reading, I couldn’t help but wonder, ‘What’s with the short, simple sentences?’ I chuckled when I came to the fifth chapter and Max answered, “Here’s a toast to the simple sentence. Here’s a salute to one-liners. Join me in applauding the delete key and the eraser… More periods. Fewer commas…Concise, clear, vivid… Ahhh, brevity. An art apparently unheeded in the realms of insurance brochures and some-assembly-required bicycle manuals. We learn brevity from Jesus. He made his point and went home.” (OK Max. Got it.)
My favourite chapter: ‘The Gift of Unhappiness’. I had to let that thought swirl around in my head a while, before I ventured into Max’s musings on it. The whippoorwill is an awe-inspiring analogy of how our songs in the night comfort and encourage -- God whispering peace when we hurt; and how trials make us yearn for heaven, because ‘God has planted eternity in the hearts of men.’ Eccles.3:10. Once again, Max Lucado blessed us with a real inspirational gem – this time, leaving us wanting to sing with the whippoorwill.
In exchange for an honest review Book Sneeze gave me a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When God Whispers Your Name
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Read, Inspirational Find!

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Location:Unicoi, TN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When God Whispers Your Name" By: Max Lucado - Book Review
We have all been there at one point in time or another losing faith or possibly losing our way. For some of us it becomes gradually harder to find your way back to keeping the faith & staying on the right track with our christianity. What if I told you there was a book by the widely known Max Lucado, that could easily inspire you to do better, & to understand that there is hope even in the darkest corner? Well I am going to tell you just that! "When God Whispers Your Name" was a very compelling, inspiring peice of literature that, once I started reading, I just could not put down. With every single turn of the page Lucado had something else to say that just encouraged me to do better in my day to day life and also encouraged me to keep the faith & hope that no matter what is going on in my life that the "Man Upstairs" has a purpose for me. I may not always understand his purpose for my life, or I may not always comprehend just exactly what he has in store, but by reading this amazing book I soon learned that as long as I keep the will and strive to do my best, not only in life but within my faith as well, that everything will pan out.
"When God Whispers Your Name" is easily broken down into short chapters that are easy to digest and take in. Lucado did a wonderful job in teaching us all that GOD needs to be part of our lives everyday, not just when we wish to have him there. He teaches us that it is VITAL to keep your christianity strong, and after that, everything else will just seem to fall in place. I personally liked the fact that when reading this litterature, I did not feel as though I was being hounded or preached to. Rather, I felt like I was being sat down and told a story and with that story being encouraged to make a difference in the world that I live in.
I feel that Max maintained his main goal or purpose throughout the course of this book. He told many different stories, yes, but all were relevant to his point and were crucial to understand what he was trying to say. With each one that he told, it seemed to play a major role in my understanding of how GOD works miracles in lives & how easy it is to be a better person when your focused on becoming one with GOD not trying to please the rest of the world. I feel that this particular peice should be a part of everyones collection. It was very well written, the points were easy to understand & it was very inspiring!
"Do you find it hard to believe that the One who made everything keeps your name on His heart and on His lips? Did you realize that your name is written on the hand of God (Is. 49:16)?" Excerpt from "When God Whispers Your Name".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.