Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross

Thomas Nelson No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross

In this compelling quest for the Messiah, best-selling author Max Lucado invites readers to meet the blue-collar Jew whose claim altered a world and whose promise has never been equaled. Readers will come to know Jesus the Christ in a brand new way as Lucado brings them full circle to the foot of the cross and the man who sacrificed His life on it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Review 1 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No Wonder They Call Him the Savior

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:oh
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No Wonder They Call Him the Savior by Max Lucado
In his book No Wonder They Call Him the Savior, Lucado delves deeply into the meaning of the cross. He takes his readers through the familiar story of Christ’s crucifixion, but focusses on the small details that are so easy to breeze past and overlook, without uncovering what each little detail adds to the truth of the cross. By examining Jesus’ journey to the cross, Lucado helps us see that Jesus went through some of the same trials that we face every day and is compassionate to our needs. I received copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Message, easy to read, makes you think.

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Waldner
Location:Lauder, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado’s book, No Wonder They Call Him the Saviour is the latest gift that I received as part of the Booksneeze Bloggers. Max takes the reader on a journey to better understanding the purpose of the cross and the reason for salvation. The book starts off with someone posing the question “What really matters?” and Max walks through all aspects of the crucifixion and the story of Salvation. Every chapter it seems is written in a different style to keep the reader engrossed in the story. Every viewpoint of every person that played a part and was present at the crucifixion is explored.
Nothing about this book is ordinary, except for the possibility of the language that is used. I enjoyed reading the story in a plain English sense, using plain words to tell an extraordinary story. I found myself imagining myself as one of the characters of the chapter. Even though I had heard the story of the journey to the cross, and the reason for the crucifixion this story made me think time and again of all the “ordinary” moments that occurred at the crucifixion that we often take for granted. Overall this book was a pleasure to read and I can see myself rereading it time and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Wonder They Call Him the SAVIOR

Date:February 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
iamprincessjang
Location:Philippines
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second book of Max Lucado's. I love his style of writing which can really strike your heart.
Scripture+Human Stories=A Great Book.
On the first day that I read this book--chapter 1-- (i miss 3 days stories in Our Daily Bread, that's why i stop & read it first), i cried so much that the book was filled of tears stain..
Why?
Because the book "No Wonder They Call Him the SAVIOR" and Our Daily Bread, got the same idea & concept.. A coincidence or must be God's plan..
I was enlightened about the CROSS.. (It’s Words, It’s Witnesses, & It’s Wisdom).. Through this book, i had realized how GREAT is God that questioning Him as a Savior will be put it an end.. He truly is a Savior, and NO wonder why they call Him One.. He is so selfless that you wanted to be with Him till the end.. His disciples, people around Him (at the time He has a human body) and we, are truly blessed to meet God.
"They do not what they are doing."
We are forgiven by means of Lord Jesus Christ as he let himself to be nailed at the CROSS for our sins..
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Look at our Savior

Date:December 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Wonder They Call Him the Savior by Max Lucado, one of his earlier books, has been republished in 2011.
It is my mission to read all of Max Lucado’s books, as I just really love his style of writing and the heart-felt, honest way that he “lets” us as readers all be human, but challenges us to strive to be everything we were intended to be as kids of the Heavenly Father who made us. I also love that most of his books are written in small bite-sized chapters that are easily studied as in-depth as you want to go with a meaty study-guide included in the back for use if you choose.
First time through this book, I enjoyed the imagery I got from Max describing Jesus in the flesh. I took to heart the fact that Jesus was thirsty, exhausted, frustrated, angry, and joyful. I allowed myself to take a good look at the Cross: It’s Words, It’s Witnesses, and It’s Wisdom (the three parts this book is divided into.) I closed my eyes, and imagined that Jesus was who the Bible says He was, as I read through the thoughts and ideas written down here in plain and simple words. I also “saw” the disciples, his friends, and the people we know surrounded Him, wrote about Him, and who kept their promise to tell the world about Him after he was gone.
I love the mix of Scripture, Bible stories, and modern applications. I love the way things are explained, and the questions that are asked. I love the images that are brought to mind through descriptive illustrations and stories.
In 33 chapters, Max takes his readers through the life of Jesus Christ straight to the Cross, “leaving no doubt why they call him savior.”
On my second read through this book, highlighter and zebra pen in hand, I am taking a look at some deeper hidden jewels that are in every book I’ve ever read by Max Lucado. This is the part, in my opinion, that makes him a most successful author, pastor and teacher. You can read his words, ideas, interpretations, conversations, teachings, chapters, sentences, and books as a quick pick-me-up inspiration, or can take it to a deeper level, picking out the theological principles that are there in plain English.
This is definitely one of my favorites I’ve read from Max Lucado, and would certainly recommend to others.
* I received this book from Thomas Nelson from their BookSneeze program in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received, and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Expectations Met

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'll start with a bit of a disclaimer: This is the first full-length book by Lucado I've read. I've read several shorts. I've received lots of "freebies" in the mail at church (with the hope by the marketers that we'd buy 100s of these for give-aways) for Mother's Day and Father's Day and Easter. I also received this via BookSneeze.com as an ebook, one of the first I've ever read "cover to cover" in this format (I used Nook for Mac).
All in all, it was a pleasant experience and a pleasant read. I don't think there was anything "stunning" within it. I've read many books on the Cross of Christ and didn't find anything aberrant or heretical within it's digital pages––I didn't expect to. Lucado is one of those Christian authors who is solid, as far as I know. If only more evangelical pastor/authors would stay as well grounded, we'd have better churches and better books.
But I digress. If I had a rating system of five stars, five being the absolute best and one being a bag o' rocks, I'd rate this at a three. I don't think you'll go wrong if you get this book and read it. If you're a fairly recent convert, this would be a good start for you at getting a handle on the central position which the Cross plays in all of Christianity. If you've been a follower of Christ for several years, this is good for review purposes. If you're a mature Christian, you'll probably find Lucado's style engaging, but you will have read other books that take you deeper into the theology of the Cross. John Stott's "The Cross of Christ" would be one that comes to mind and I'd highly recommend (although the final couple of chapters get a little wobbly, even for Stott).
Lucado's work takes you to the Cross through a variety of means: words, witness and wisdom. He seeks to make sure the reader knows, without a doubt, that the Cross is what really matters when it comes to believing in Jesus Christ. Apart from the Cross, you don't have Christianity. So, from that standpoint, Lucado is dead-on. The book also comes with a reader's guide at the end. This might help a reader delve deeper, or possibly use this is some form of small group study.
I don't mean to seem ambivalent about this book; it just didn't enthrall me. I know that there are many who adore everything this author turns out. Good for them; I'm glad they enjoy him. I just happen to be one who was just kind of middlin' about it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Pleasant Read

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
EvaK
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Max Lucado is a long-time favourite author of mine. He’s one of the first non-fiction Christian authors that I started reading, and has consistently remained enjoyed, and trusted. That’s one thing that Max Lucado does: brings certain parts of the Bible, whatever he’s tackling for that particular book, to life. Details are zoomed in on and we’re, maybe for the first time, invited to let our imaginations run wild and envision surroundings, and run possible conversations through our mind. I think we’re all guilty of often skim-reading during our devotions, perhaps because certain parts and stories are so familiar, so it’s refreshing to read the likes of Max Lucado. None of his books are all that heavy. To borrow a term from one of my favorite reviewers, Max Lucado can be described as 'theology light'. He certainly is no Oswald Chambers! But that’s okay. It’s a pleasant experience, to dive into the satisfyingly intelligent use of words and all-round inspiring and heartening reading. Quick and uplifting, that's what it is. No Wonder They Call Him the Savior is no different. It’s actually one Max Lucado’s earliest works, republished this year by Thomas Nelson, and having also read his more recent works, I’d only say that the years for certain have fine-tuned his writing. Still, it makes for a worthwhile read, perfect for a lazy, non-committal Sunday afternoon, chuck full of great analogies and much-needed reminders. Also, when you do get the chance to read No Wonder They Call Him the Savior, you’re in for quite the experience when you get to reading chapter 21. I’m not going to say anything here, instead leave the discovering up to you. It’s something you’ll want to savor anyway. Wink, wink. :) There’s an extensive, well-thought-out study guide at the back of the book, consisting of short excerpts from the book followed by dig-deep questions and reflections, as well as an invitation to look up and study relevant Bible verses. Any small group will find it valuable and for sure any individual as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope abounds!

Date:November 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For Christians, the Cross is a symbol of salvation and hope of eternal life. Our faith rests on what happened on the Cross, but can we find hope there for our everyday lives? When we’re feeling lonely, guilty, or tired? When we feel like giving up? Yes, the events of the crucifixion and resurrection can give us hope. The words Jesus spoke, the things that he did (or didn’t do, in some cases) can give us hope and be an example for us. Max Lucado carefully lays out each scene and points out the lessons to be learned. Some may surprise you.
Since each chapter is only a few pages long this book could be used a devotional, but it can be read straight through as well. This book focuses on what out faith should focus on… the Cross. The death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. No deep theology here. Lucado uses this book to break the events down and gets us focus on the words that were spoken and the things that were done, pointing out lessons we can learn from these things. Lucado has a way with words that helps bring you back to the foot of the cross as if you had witnessed it yourself. You will surely “discover hope in the unlikeliest place.”
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Wonder They Call Him Savior: Discover Hope In The Unlikeliest Place, written by Max Lucado, is a book that delves into the actions, thoughts and feelings behind what was going on during the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.
Each time Max brings us, the readers, through the story of Jesus within this book, he does so by bringing forth something new, something that we might not have contemplated before, or maybe just something that we have not thought of in the specific manner in which he delivers the message.
This book offers an in depth look at the subject matter, while coming forth in such a manner that it can be easily understood by all audiences. For those who are servants of the Lord most high, this book offers solidification. For those seeking a relationship with Christ, this book offers clear directions to the foot of and purpose of the cross.
No Wonder They Call Him Savior would make a wonderful addition to a private collection, a church library, or a gift for a friend or family member.
Dr Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simplistic view of the cross...

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
YMinister1204
Location:Athens, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a devotional-style look at the cross and what that cross represents to those who claim to follow Jesus Christ. The cross is seemingly a disturbing image when one understands the pain and suffering that is involved. However, what many people refuse to acknowledge and understand is that the one thing that gives a true Christ-follower peace is the cross. Max Lucado has always been a writer that gives his reader a bare bones, simplistic view of the topic he is discussing. This book is no different. It is a simplistic, stripped down look at the importance of Christ's horrible death on the cross. The reader will gain tremendous insight into what "the most important thing" is in Christianity. If someone buys this book looking for a deep, theological study, they are not going to find it. However, if a new Christian is in need of affirmation, or an older Christian is in need of a reminder, this book serves that purpose well. Max Lucado will always bring to the table an interesting look at the topic at hand, and in this case, he has done it very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book on a timeless story...

Date:October 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sands0113
Location:Berea, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"No Wonder They Call HIm the Savior" Max Lucado
A good story is one that can be retold hundreds of time and never lose its draw. Max Lucado has retold the greatest story on Earth in a new and amazing way. "No Wonder They Call Him the Savior" is an exceptional book.
From the back cover: "The Cross. It rests on the timeline of history like a compelling diamond...its tragedy summons all sufferers...its absurdity attracts all cynics...its hope lures all searchers...Far more than a gold-plated symbol of religious belief, the cross is the centerpiece of the Christian faith--the meeting place of time and eternity, where God and man encounter each other."
This book is easy to describe, Max takes you through the story of Jesus multiple times and each time he is bringing to light something that you probably didn't think of on your own. I have known the story of Jesus for quite a while now and yet I had never seen it quite like this. I was truly touched by this book and it is quickly becoming one of my favorites.
The best part about this book is that it appeals to any reader. You don't have to be a member of the Christian faith to read this book, and in my opinion it gives great insight into why those of us that are Christians have chosen that path. This book is excellently written and Masterfully inspired. Max Lucado has done it again and I'm proud to have this in my collection.
I'll leave you with one of my favorite quotes from the book: "The Cross. It rests on the timeline of history like a compelling diamond...its tragedy summons all sufferers...its absurdity attracts all cynics...its hope lures all searchers. And according to Paul, the cross is what counts. My, what a piece of wood! History has idolized it and despised it, gold-plated it and burned it, worn and trashed it. History has done everything to it but ignore it. That's the one option that the cross does not offer. NO ONE can ignore it."
DISCLAIMER: I recieved a free copy of this book through the publisher's(Thomas Nelson Publishing) Booksneeze blogger review program, HOWEVER, I was NOT required to write a positive review. ALL thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazingly well put!

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer927
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever thought about the theif on the cross's story? Does it tell you what value God places on people? Our society is losing it's regard for human life. We see it everywhere how unborn children are not even worthy enough to be called human or a child, let alone live. Thank God He's so vastly different. We try and label what we believe grace is and how far it reaches. In Max Lucado's "No Wonder They call Him the Savior" we see the cross and Christ like never before. It's such a great eye opener on the message of the Cross and what it means. I pray I'm never so religious I am not moved to tears when I think of the Cross and what it means for me. How humbling to know God's grace and all that hung on that cross.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Gem By Lucado

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Wonder They Call Him The Savior: Experiencing The Truth of The Cross by Max Lucado is a resource book for the believer and cynic alike. It chronicles the garden, the hesitancy, the denial, His death, the loyalty, His resurrection and brings to light the hope and just why we call Him Savior.
I would recommend this book to anyone who would read it. Even if you know the story, the working through of what you already know with the truth of Scripture brings about a renewed appreciation for who He is and what was done for us. I received this book from BookSneeze.com in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's like having a front seat with a great view!

Date:October 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What else can you say about a Max Lucado book, but, Wow! He is one of those authors that brings you to the Word of God. Nothing else. His writing is pure and simple. Never over you head. In his newest, No Wonder They Call Him Savior, he brings us to the cross, into the garden, all the way to the resurrection of Christ.
Of course as a Christian these are places we have visited in our reading, but Max brings us there to see the sights and sounds. This book leaves us wanting more. This is one of those books that gets you excited about digging into God's Word. Max brings our imagination to the fullest.
We are taken into the garden and it's like we are a visitor with a front row ticket. Through Lucado's words we can see it all from a new perspective. He doesn't change God's Word or add to it, he simply tells it as a great story teller.
Lucado has that gift that brings light to places I have read and passed over, but with his wisdom and knowledge of God's Word, he helps me to gain new insight in areas that I have read a hundred times. I think this just might be my favorite Lucado book to date. As you pick up this book you will not be disappointed. It will bless you as it will open your eyes to Christ like never before.
This book was a gift from Thomas Nelson for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, comforting message

Date:October 6, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“I took all the courses, the theology, the exegesis. But I quit. Something just didn’t click.”
Sometimes, those who are Christians sometimes find that the faith doesn’t “click.” We take all the right courses, go to the right church, wear the right clothes, and say the right things. However, Max Lucado tackles the problems faced by many Christians today: exhaustion of faith. Rather than focus on what adorns the outside, such as church buildings and credentials, Lucado calls Christians to go back to the core of the Christian life: the cross.
Using his knowledge of scriptures that highlight the victory that ensued as a result of Christ’s death, Lucado focuses on why Jesus is called “Savior.” Through His painful suffering for humanity, ability to control His temper, and His willingness to become God-in-flesh, Jesus is the Savior of humanity. Without Christ, the world has no purpose, humanity has no purpose.
In Max Lucado’s book, he carefully weaves a narrative of a simply man from Israel that loved the lost, prayed for His enemies, and reached the lonely. Because of Christ, Christians and those wrestling with the faith have a solace, One that they can turn to, One that can say “Come to me, all you who are weary, and I will give you rest.”
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Wonder They Call Him the Savior

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
AaronE
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I really love books by Max Lucado and this one is no exception. In my opinion, he is one of the most amazing Christian authors. In his book, No Wonder They Call Him the Savior, he brings the struggle of Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane, the humanity of Jesus on the cross, and the power of the resurrection to life. He also relates in a very profound way the story of not only Jesus, but the people who loved, lived, hated, and betrayed Jesus.
In this book you will have the chance to look through the Roman soldier’s eyes at the foot of the Cross, understand Mary’s perspective on that fateful day, see God’s unconditional love to the thief on the Cross, and then also experience the feelings of “Doubting Thomas”.
I was especially moved by the one chapter where he went through the whole story of Jesus, from the Garden to the resurrection, in just one word sentences. It was a very powerful chapter called “Alive”. I also appreciate the personal stories that Mr. Lucado added to this book and the powerful words of testimonies of unlikely people of whom God saved, transformed, and then used for His glory. I would highly recommend this book and suggest you defiantly purchase it for your own library.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Book Sneeze book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for No Wonder They Call Him the Savior: Experiencing the Truth of the Cross
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful.

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tracy
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love reading books by Max Lucado, he has some fantastic insight into the Scriptures and nature of God. I always come away feeling encouraged, empowered, and faith filled!
This book was no exception and one of those books that I'll be picking up for friends and new converts at our church. It was such a good book that really gets to the heart of why Jesus deserves our devotion, and admiration and love. We get taken on a journey of Jesus from the cross to the ressurrection, we see Jesus' stark honesty in the the Garden of Gethsemane and celebrate his ressurection in the tomb! Really this book meant so much to me, as Christians, (especially long time Christians) sometimes our faith tends to get stale and we forget the gloriousness of what Jesus did for us. We forget how absolutely astonishing and wonderous Jesus truly is. This book reminds us of that.
I love this book, I highly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.