Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3

Thomas Nelson Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3

Learn to enjoy all of God's music! In this third volume of his devotional series, Morgan blends the old and the new into a symphony of praise as he explores hymns, composers, and the stories behind them. He also reveals how the daily practice of "hymning" can keep you emotionally healthy. Includes lead sheets. 320 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Review 1 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Music Lovers

Date:December 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grew up in the church, and hymns were something I always loved. In fact, hymns are something that are somewhat "out of style" in most churches today, and I miss them a lot. This was like visiting a friend I hadn't seen in a while. I loved the history in the book, and I also loved the fact that each hymn was printed in the book with the music. I love reading the stories behind all these hymns. Some of them are well-known to me, and some are not. But all of the hymns were written to worship God within the church and even in one's personal devotional life.
The book was very well-organized so that you can easily find the hymns you know and love. This book is set up very well for daily devotions. In fact, I do not recommend that you sit down to read this cover to cover. I tried to do that, and I felt overwhelmed. Read this story by story, and I believe that you will truly be encouraged in your Christian walk. I was most intrigued by the real story of "It Is Well With My Soul." I had never heard the entire story behind my favorite hymn, and now I know it. It makes the song even more meaningful to me. I highly recommend this song to anyone who loves the hymns or wishes to discover them. There is certain to be something that will resonate with you.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Then Sings My Soul, Volume 3" by Robert J. Morgan

Date:September 30, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
"Then Sings My Soul, Volume 3" by Robert J. Morgan presents the classic hymns of the faith in a magnificent two-thousand year repertoire of music in Christian hymnody that reverberates awesomely through the ages of time. By learning the splendid legacy of our past, we create a beautiful legacy for our future.
All creation sings God's praise in a magnificent crescendo of sights and sounds.The Lord created us with an extraordinary capability for music and song. We are designed and destined to sing His glorious praises. "God lives in the praises of His people." Our spirits respond to God's truth in a musical form. Hymns are "distillations of the richest truths of God," "bursts of devotional richness,""portable units of praise," and "miniature Bible studies" that lead us to worship and praise God. Hymns have "an indestructible freshness and power." A hymnbook is one of "the richest fountains of edification."
Sifting through the overarching heritage of our hymnody, we come to the root core of praise. The history of our hymnody is a rich and varied study of inspiring legacies, selfless heroes and astounding stories. The history of the church is recorded in her soul-stirring hymns while the story of Christianity can be read in its inspiring songs. Just like the well-gleaned promises of the Bible, a unique hymn is available for each particular need of ours, covering every single circumstance we will ever face in life.
God loves music. He recorded a lot of it in the Bible. God loves it when His children sing His praises. Hymns and songs proclaim God's truth. God blesses people in every age and clime with the amazing ability to compose songs and music to glorify His Name in all the earth. God the Holy Spirit sings through the voice of His church. "When we sing to the Lord, it is the Holy Spirit welling up and overflowing in our hearts!" God is praised and honored when we sing to Him! To God alone be all the glory!
© Miriam Jacob
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another fine addition to series

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Selabear
Location:Fort Collins, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first thing that you notice when you hold this book is the pages. They are thick, uneven in an antiqued sort of way. It’s comforting. Matches the theme of the book. I know each book in the series is like this, but I still like it :-)
The sections in this book are The History of Hymnody, Do You Know These Hymns?, Six Hymn Stories I Love to Tell, and Hymning in Private and in Public.
I appreciate his breadth of knowledge and research that went into this book. Each hymn has a full page of information about the hymn, which is interesting and relevant to the hymn. The music and words are included for each hymn, which if I ever get back to playing the piano, I will love having.
Not growing up singing hymns and not having many hymns in our current church, I really enjoy reading about the history of the hymns. The whole premise of the book, as stated on the front cover, is Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith. I agree. I think we have a lot to learn from hymns and can draw closer to God through them.
Thank you to Robert J. Morgan for allowing us young’ns to feel the power of the hymns through this book and the other two in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book in exchange for an honest review from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sing with this book

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book will stay on my shelf for many years to come, really wonderful book. Then Sings My Soul - The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith Book 3 by Robert J. Morgan is the last book in the series. These books are treasures for any Christian's home library! a very easy to read format. it offers history on hymns... the author really researches,ponders, and studies each hymn, providing background information as well as his personal thoughts. That's why I love these series. In it, are over 50 songs and hymns, with the lyrics, the history and the sheet music. I was amazed at how beautiful it was. I would really recommended this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Hymnology Resource

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ronnie
Location:Livingston, MT
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my capacity as Worship Coordinator at our church and one of the music leaders I do a regular hymnology presentation which our congregation seem to enjoy. All three of these books are a wealth of easy-to-use information to help me prepare for these talks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good to read

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For more than twenty years, author Robert J. Morgan has served as the pastor of The Donelson Fellowship in Nashville, Tennessee, so he brings a pastor's reverence and appreciation of these hymns to his narrative. If you don't know what a hymn story is it is a story about the hymn writer and what may have inspired him to write the hymn. I often find myself singing songs with my kids, and then reaching for the book to find out more about what we're singing. If you enjoy singing hymns and want to know more about how the songs you sing were developed, then get this book! Morgan's writing style is easy to read and enjoy! Most of our beloved hymns were born out of tragedy, and this book will tell you each authors story about how they were inspired to write these hymns! A must read for Christians and non-Christians alike. This is excellent reading. Book gives precise history of Christianity, its developers, and their contributions. The biography of each person is detailed but not wordy. Excellent choice of the fifty people.
It's a great book and I highly recommend it to anyone, whether you are a biography buff or not. As extra incentive to get the book you should know that it comes with a "For Further Reading" list in the back where you are given books for the next step on your journey of studying these great men and women. Enjoy! It is pretty much what I thought it would be. The chapters are short and to the point which is what I was looking for so all is well w/this purchase. It is enjoyable, giving someone general information of who someone was if you never heard of them. If you already read an entire book devoted to someone in this book, then this book would not be helpful to you. It is basically beneficial for someone who does not know anything about the persons written about in this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Those Who Love the Story Behind the Music

Date:May 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tiddlywinks
Location:Bakersfield CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Then Sings My Soul, Book 3 by Robert Morgan he once again provides historical context behind some of the most beloved and sung hymns in church history. If you have ever wondered what the author may have meant when he penned the words to Victory in Jesus, you learn his daily battle and the victory he gained.
In volume 3, Morgan elaborates in further detail on the history & tragedy behind one of my all time favorite hymns, It is Well With My Soul. However, the history behind How Great Thou Art surprised me and reminded me how God uses all circumstances and all people.Tim Spencer was the author of Cigarettes, Whiskey and Wild, Wild Women who traveled with Roy Rogers. Throughout his time on the road, his devoted wife continued to write him notes of encouragement while he was away and one night reading those letters and a Gideon Bible in a hotel room he trusted Jesus as his Savior. In 1949 his son gave him a copy of of the song How Great Thou Art by Stuart Hine. Spencer would help it become one of the most beloved and well known hymns of our time.
The chorus goes, Then Sings My Soul My Savior God to Thee, How Great Thou Art. I feel God's pleasure and my soul sings when I do that thing that God has designed me to do and all I can say is How Great Thou Art. After learning of Spencer's life, I can't help wonder if his new found understanding of God and using his gift of song, he felt God's pleasure as he sung this song and couldn't contain himself, but say How Great Thou Art.
If you are like me and enjoy hearing the rich stories, difficult circumstance and joy from which the songs of our faith were written, you will love hearing all of this history behind some of the most classical hymns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reached beyond my expectations!

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
May
Location:South Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love singing. I often sing while I am working (cliche I know.) Even still I was a little apprehensive of Then Sings My Soul Book 3 by Robert Morgan. I am constantly on guard of spiritual books that don’t follow the inerrant word of God and I had never heard of Mr. Morgan even though he had written two other books in this series. I was leery, to say the least.
Then Sings My Soul Book 3 is a fabulous book that gives a little history on some wonderful Hymns. Book 3 also gives a bit of history about how hymns came about. I had never thought about how God has used hymns through out history and this book taught me a lot. As Mr. Morgan states in the beginning of the book, it is not through enough to be a used as a curriculum, but could easily be used as a reference book. I learned so much about some of the authors of great hymns I love to sing, and even learned so new hymns.
It was great to read each hymn, as they were printed out as sheet music. As I read, I couldn’t help but sing the hymns I knew.
I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in learning more about those great old (and some not so old) favorites.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Look at Worship

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
berrypatch
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grew up in a church that sang hymns. Each Sunday was another round of old favorites. I always looked forward to the evenings when we could call out hymn numbers instead of singing the old standbys. Those hymns have stuck with me long after I first sang them.
While I now attend a church where more modern Christian worship songs are intoned, we still sing hymns each week. However, it's no longer the cornerstone of the worship music in our congregation. I realized that the history and legacy of these songs was being lost for my children so it's something I've been teaching at home. I love having the stories behind the songs to make it even more meaningful.
Robert J. Morgan began writing his Then Sings My Soul books back in 2003. Volume three was just published in 2011. I think this statement from the publisher sums up the purpose of this series of book quite nicely: "This collection of the world's greatest hymns and the stories behind them stirred an entire generation to better understand the heritage of our faith through song." That is how I have always viewed hymns....as the "heritage of my faith through song."
This volume contains not only a new collection of hymns but the stories behind them as well as the history of worship, a look at the first biblical hymns, and biographical sketches of some of the composers. Each hymn included in this volume also has the musical arrangement included.
I'm now on the lookout for the first two volumes in order to add them to my new collection. I feel that this is a great way to supplement our hymn study and make it super easy to learn the history of the songs and the authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nostalgic & Information Rich Book

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have often wondered where to find a book that tells the story behind the cherished songs we know so well. From time to time, I've heard tidbits of stories about Franny Crosby, Horatio Spafford, and other well known hymn writers. When asked to review Then Sings My Soul (Book 3), I jumped at the opportunity.
Robert Morgan has done a wonderful job of compiling the history, stories of, and reasons for continuing with hymns in modern worship. While I was only seeking a book of "stories", this offers much more.
Prior to reading this book, I had never really thought about the age of some of the songs we sing. The first part of this book discusses hymnody in context of Biblical, Ancient, Medieval, German, English, and Gospel/Contemporary Praise music. It's quite the interesting and informative read.
Most of the history surrounding each hymn is brief (a page long), detailing the song's authorship, area/time written in, and circumstances surrounding said author's life. Each hymn is included (with sheet music). As an added touch, the book itself is constructed so as to resemble old hymnal pages; very nostalgic.
I look forward to reading Books 1 and 2.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for music lovers!

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THEN SINGS MY SOUL by Robert Morgan
One quote from the author seems to me to sum up the spirit of this wonderful third volume of the history behind selected hymns.
<blockquote>Hymns are miniature Bible studies that lead us effortlessly to worship, testimony, exhortation, prayer, and praise. They're bursts of devotional richness with rhyme and rhythm.</blockquote>
I love the history behind these hymns as well as the fact that the hymns are printed with words and music in the book.
<blockquote>The history of the church is encoded in her hymns..." the author states.</blockquote>
Worshippers used to own their own hymnbooks and carry them to meetings with their Bibles.
This particular volume is divided into seven sections:
Biblical Hymns
Ancient Hymns
Medieval Hymns
German Hymns
English Hymns
Gospel Songs and American Hymns
Contemporary Praise and Worship Music
I loved reading the stories behind "Shout to the Lord" and "In Christ Alone". Knowing the story behind the songs make them more meaningful.
I was provided a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great book, obscure hymns

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a great book that gives the history of hymns, who wrote them, what inspired that person to write them, and other information surrounding the hymns selected in this book.
This would be great for a variety of uses: to use in personal or family devotions, for a music minister to talk about a hymn each week and then the congregation sing it, use within a Christian school, especially in music class.
This book was a hard read for me because it's more devotional length stories, and I'm one who usually prefers to sit down and read one long story rather than little bits. That's just my reading style. However, I didn't know many of the hymns in this volume. They were very obscure. I went to three years of Christian schools (including a Christian college in Nashville, also known as Music City.) I was in my 20s before I started attending a church that sang more contemporary songs, so the fact I knew so few of these was a surprise since I have spent many hours singing hymns.
Also, I am not sure why "Up on the House Top" was mentioned. I've never sang that in church. (Perhaps because I don't think anyone considers it a hymn?) I have, however, sung that in first grade at our Christmas program since it is about Santa and not a religious song. That was one of only about the dozen or so songs I knew.
This is a great book, very interesting, however because of the selection of songs, I am only giving it three stars since they seem so obscure. My advice to the author would have been include the more well known ones in previous volumes and make them a little longer and skip this one all together. I believe it's the last in the series, and I think by the time the author got to this one, he'd covered most of the hymns everyone knows and went looking for ones to help complete this book. Even if they aren't as well known, it's still worth a read, but just not as enjoyable as if they were ones that were sung more often.
FTC disclosure: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Classic is Written!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyMrsO
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Long-awaited third installment has arrived!
It was an honor to review this special book for the simple reason that I love the great hymns. Their stories have a depth that speaks to my soul. Thank you, Robert Morgan, for continuing the series.
In 2003, Robert Morgan released what would become a future classic for over a million readers, a unique book entitled Then Sings My Soul. This collection of the world's greatest hymns and the stories behind them stirred an entire generation to better understand the heritage of our faith through song.
Now, in the long-awaited third volume of this series, Morgan expands his material to include the great history of worship, the first biblical hymns, biographical sketches of the most interesting composers, and almost 60 generations of hymn singing. The new book also includes a collection of the greatest hymns you've never heard, with lead-sheets included.
All of this is in addition to even more standard hymns and the stories of the composers behind them.
Morgan's conclusion guides the reader into enjoying all of God's music, blending the old and the new into a symphony of praise that keeps the worship alive for a new generation.
I read this book in stages so I could digest the story of each hymn. The book has a permanent place in my music library, as I teach piano and have had the privilege of singing and playing almost all of the hymns in this book throughout my lifetime.
Mr. Morgan's expanded stories of six hymns in Part 3 will bring a brighter appreciation for those songs. Wait until you read more of the story behind "It Is Well With My Soul"!!!
Finally, I'd like to applaud the author's opinion of Why We Must Embrace Interwoven Worship. I completely agree with his thoughts concerning how we will lose a heritage with a rich legacy of the "great cloud of witnesses" who have preceded us. If you attend any church, and sing praise choruses or old hymns, please take the time to read his thoughts. I would encourage all of us to extend an open mind to the new and the old songs of the church.
With that said, I recommend this book for all music lovers, so that you have a richer knowledge of an important element in music.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Then Sings My Soul, Book 3

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Midland, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Then Sings My Soul, Vol. 3, author Robert Morgan highlights many of the hymns that form our rich heritage and gives the background on the writing of the hymn. Covered in the book are ancient hymns sung by the early Christians to modern ones written by current hymnwriters, with a few stops along the way. This is the third book in the trilogy, so not all the traditional hymns are covered in this installment.
I really appreciated the author’s thoughts and views on hymns. Hymns are a way of turning our focus outward and upward for what God has done for us. Hymns are eloquent expressions of our beliefs, and many are prayers that we sing to God. In addition to being used in corporate worship, they should be read, committed to memory, meditated on, played, prayed, leaned on, quoted, and passed on to the next generation. It is important to dig into the wealth of wisdom the generations before us have left us through the richness of the hymns of the faith. Along with the cloud of witnesses, let us here and now proclaim, “How great Thou art!”
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of Then Sings My Soul, Vol. 3 through Book Sneeze, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating Look at Hymns

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love hymns. I think they’re beautiful and especially love holiday masses filled with music. Contemporary praise and worship is ok, but given a choice I’ll almost always choose traditional hymns. I was excited to read “Then Sings My Soul” by Robert J. Morgan because it is all about hymns. While I know some of hymns I grew up with are decidedly Catholic (Immaculate Mary, anyone?), I figured a lot of them would cross Christian faith traditions.
I only recognized a few of the hymns, but was happy to see three of my favorite Christian hymns included – Come Thou Font, Blessed Assurance and Shout to the Lord. Shout to the Lord is the only one I’ve heard in church – it’s frequently played at evening youth-oriented masses.
Even though I didn’t recognize most of the hymns, I thought this book was fascinating. It’s broken into four parts, with the largest section detailing the history behind more than 50 hymns. I read this book mostly in front of a computer, and used YouTube to listen to as many of the hymns as I could find. Sheet music was also included for each hymn, which I found helpful because I could follow along as I was listening.
It appears that part of the author’s goal with this book is to introduce readers to hymns they may not have heard before. There were several mentions in hymn backgrounds along the lines of, “this author is actually most known for the popular hymn…” One example is the hymn “Joy Fills Our Innermost Hearts today.” I have never heard of it, but the composer, William C. Dix, is someone almost everyone is familiar with – he composed the beautiful Christmas carol “What Child is This?”
This was a great book – fun to read and incorporate an interactive experience via YouTube – and I’d recommend it to anyone who is interested in the history of hymnody.
Note: I was given a copy of this book free of charge from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

how our hymms came about

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
grandmalol
Location:Amery WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is very interesting how our beautiful hymns have come about. It tells of the hymn creators and their faith and also their trials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent...a book every adult should read

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lindsay Mitchell
Location:New Jersey
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of the earlier "Then Sings My Soul" by Robert Morgan in addition to two other songs book with background stories. Singing has been my life in the Methodist Church at age 80, I have been in the same Church for 75 years..THANK YOU for being the best supplier of Christian Books and Gifts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for Devotional Time

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs. White
Location:Vermont
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a lovely book! The artistic quality is charming - including a peaceful cover, vintage-style pages, and it is packed with stories and songs and inspiration!
Robert describes the history of music in worship. He explains the beauty of singing the psalms, the stories behind old hymns and their writers, and describes the emergence of new songs by new generations. He really brought to light for me how important the writers of worship song and hymns are to our lives!
He clearly shows that, through the years, the music has weaved a story of our faith. He traces time- periods and events, like in Martin Luther's day (and his song "A Mighty Fortress is our God"), about what was going on when a song came from that era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Then Sings My Soul, book 3 is a fascinating book. I ordered the book looking for some old hymns and thought that the accompanying stories would be nice too. I received so much more. The author, Robert Morgan, introduces the reader to the rich history of congregational singing. Even those of us raised in the Church may never have realized the intrigue surrounding what we all take for granted today. The stories of the individual hymn writers becomes much more appreciated in the light of the historical backdrop upon which they worked. After reading Then Sings My Soul, I hope that you too, will find comfort in the Amazing Grace found at The Old Rugged Cross.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Then Sings My Soul: The Story of Our Songs: Drawing Strength from the Great Hymns of Our Faith, Book 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hymns. How they can thrill and satisfy

Date:January 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Years ago my husband and I purchased a book of Hymns and their stories. We loved using it in our home as we raised our five children. The music of the hymns we loved so dearly and how those hymns came to be written and put to music enthralled us and our children.
Hymns. How they can thrill and satisfy our soul's deep longing with their melodious message and their wonderful theological truths.
When my dear mother lay dying in the hospital, my family gathered around her bed. She was virtually unconscious, yet we still spoke to her telling her we loved her and recounted episodes how she was involved in her grand children's lives. I went out for a brief respite (enforced by my children), and when I returned to the room, my girls (all three were keeping vigil - from North Carolina, Georgia, and West Virginia) were singing beautifully the wonderful old hymns of the faith. Mom loved the hymns though she was a "timid" singer herself.
I know this musical encounter reached down in the depths of Mom's heart and touched her as she was beginning her final voyage to reach the shores of her heavenly home.
Then Sings My Soul: Book 3 by Robert J. Morgan is divided into four parts: I-The History of Hymnody, II-Do You Know These Hymns, III-Six Hymns Stories I Love to Tell, and IV-Hymning in Private and in Public.
I was surprised to learn how ancient "O Sacred Head, Now Wounded" actually was. The words are attributed to Bernard of Clairvaux who was born around 1091. The harmony is by J.S.Bach.
Near the end of Then Sings My Soul: Book 3, we read that in recent years, President Bush on September 11 after entering the solitude of his President Cabinet aboard Air Force 1 recalled the words of one of his favorite hymns - "God of Grace and God of Glory" and especially the line..... "Grant us wisdom, grant us courage, for the facing of this hour."
The wonderful history of how our hymns and worship songs developed is beautifully presented in part 1. And don't you love having at your hands a book so you can find that special hymn you want to sing but just can't quite remember the words to?
I definitely recommend this book for the home library, the church musician, minister of music, pastor, or church library. It is a good resource.
Another blogger wrote....
" The music of our past can sometimes reach the spiritual deserts of our hearts in a way that preaching and prayers cannot...."
When BookSneeze.com offered "Then Sings My Soul: Book 3" by Robert J. Morgan, I was delighted to be able to render a review of such a valuable asset for an individual or a home.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>