Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Grace of God

Thomas Nelson The Grace of God

Nobody deserves the sin-free life and glorious future that God offers---but remarkably, it's ours for the taking because of God's grace! Join Pastor Stanley as he warns against the pitfalls of legalism and explores the transforming power of God's unmerited favor, lavish love, and kindness. Then come to terms with your own "grace story"!
Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
57 out of 5997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Grace of God
Review 1 for The Grace of God
This review is fromThe Grace of God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jennifer M
The Grace of God is a detailed and straightforward examination of God's grace as it is revealed throughout the Bible. Stanley takes us through both the old and the new testaments, and really shows us how it is a story of God's unwavering grace, as well as what that means for us as believers. He illustrates his points both through well-known stories and characters in the Bible, and his own personal experiences.
While I enjoyed the premise of the book, and indeed gained a much richer understanding of the true depth of God's grace, I unfortunately had a difficult time finishing the book. I'm not sure why I found it slow-moving, as the book was well-written, and in a conversational tone, but it didn't always hold my attention.
I will say though that it was an overall important message, and one that I think every Christian could benefit from hearing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Grace of God
This review is fromThe Grace of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
beck
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cant even put into words the value of this book to myself and sister..i purchased her a copy too and weve been reading together for several years this was our latest...Thankyou JESUS!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Grace of God
This review is fromThe Grace of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best book on Grace

Date:October 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robynleigh
Location:Australia
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book definitely is the best read on the Grace of God, and certainly would be of help to anyone struggling in this area. I like the way that the author uses Bible stories to illustrate the truth of Grace, instead of just theology.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Grace of God
This review is fromThe Grace of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good view of Grace in the Bible

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andy Stanley creates essentially what is a biblical theology of grace. That is, he works through the whole bible, old testament and new testament examining the theme of grace. Starting with creation in the first chapters of Genesis Stanley sees grace as an essential part of the biblical narrative. Using this as his foundation he sets out to draw the reader in. Grace is utterly undeserved yet is freely given to all by God.
This book goes some way to dispelling the myth that the "God of the Old Testament" is full of wrath and judgement where as the God of the New Testament is full of grace. Actually He is the same God and grace is present throughout.
Overall this a great book for anyone to gain a better knowledge of grace and how it can effect all our lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Grace of God
This review is fromThe Grace of God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
radharc
Location:Ireland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this book brought the grace of God to my understanding with indepth knowledge and made it real. I founf after reading it God's grace was tangible . Praise God for His word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Grace of God
This review is fromThe Grace of God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a pleasure to read.

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is no way to earn this gift. Mr. Stanley does a good job explaining this simple but profound truth An excellent precursor to other written material that provides more in depth information on what the Bible says...
It tells us we need to break out of the norm because normal isn't working. We all today with our daily schedule are in a hurry. We need to take time to enjoy life and our families and also make time for ourselves. I really took the time to test my life against these standards. Stanley is completely silent about situations where abuse or unrepentant exist. Even if he had no intention of applying his concepts to these circumstances, I found myself wishing he'd at least made a statement to reflect as much. Stanley's work would make a great ten-week Bible study for any individual or small group that wants to understand the discrepancy between our hearts and our choices. Stanley captures the importance of living now,with an eye on the future, while offering hope for a change in direction when we find ourselves drifting from God's clear guidance.
If you read only that it would be worth the price of the book. Stanley teaches the reader how to reframe hurt as a debt. "know what others who hurt you did, what exactly did they take from you"? Until you know the answer to that question, you're not ready to forgive.
It was really a wake up call for me. Why am I not where I want to be? This book will show you why you are where you are and how to get where you want to go. The principles are so easy to implement into our daily lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Overlooked Topic, Brought to the Surface

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robbie Oh
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Judging by the cover of this book I though that It would be pretty ordinary, but I was very mistaken. This book is about one of the most beautiful things you will ever discover, God's grace.
I had heard about God's grace a lot but it was never explained to me very well. This book opened my eyes to God's Grace and gave me a whole new appreciation of it. I highly recommend this book.
Note: Don't read this book quickly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Experiencing God's Grace while reading

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
ckwing80
Location:MY
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
The book title didn't attract me at first. I thought it is a normal testimonies or experiences sharing kind of book.
I can tell it is not after I read it.
Author is anointed to tell us how God's grace work since the beginning of the world. From Adam, to Abraham, Jacob, David, Jonah, Paul, and up to the smallest character-one of the crucified sinner beside Jesus, God shows His amazing grace. I thought grace only happen after Jesus paid the atonement of sin, but I was wrong all the while. God has been a gracious God since the Old Testament. You may say "How can it be? Humiliation, cruelty, etc happened!"
This book enlightens me different perspectives of how God works at his most unconditional way. I've never been at close with the topic of God's Law vs God's Grace. We tends to do all kinds of good things to make us look good.
I've been experiencing the grace while reading through this book. The last bit is the best, it seems unfair that His grace is given so freely and yet people do not believe in it. It is true, Grace is given to all that forgiven.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book on Grace!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andy Stanley wrote an excellent book on the Grace Of God and it was published by Thomas Nelson. I am reading it and it isn't a book you can read fast.
I'm not saying it's a difficult book to read at all. It really is an easy read. But the subject matter, God's grace, is not something you can plow your way through and expect to glean, to learn anything. It just won't happen.
I highly highly highly recommend this book. Here is a just a tidbit, and truly it is a tidbit from the book. The church is most appealing when the message of grace is most apparent.
Chew on that one for a minute. That could almost involve a whole book and it's only one line.
Andy Stanley talks about how much we really need grace and how little we really know of our great need. I have read parts of this book aloud to almost anyone who will listen, I would copy it here for you but that would violate copyright laws. So all I can say is get this book. Pour over it. Allow it to sink in. Allow the grace of God to pour over you.
You will not be disappointed.
This would be a great book to do in a small group or Sunday school class. The discussion would be phenomenal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace is evident all throughout the Bible.

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jani
Location:Bryceville, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After receiving my free copy of "The Grace of God" by Andy Stanley to review, I immediately dove into reading it. I am a fan of Andy Stanley's messages and felt certain that I would enjoy reading his book. And what better topic than grace? Sometimes we have our preconceived notions about what will be written about grace based on our limited understanding of God's grace. Andy takes the time to go back to the beginning and clearly point out how even in Old Testament times God's grace was evident. He touches on stories about Joseph, David, Jonah and others. He takes you on an exciting journey and explains how it's now just a matter of grace for savation; there's much more to this thing called grace. All in all I felt this book was very informative. It gave me a deeper understanding of grace. I would highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple Read on Important Overlooked Topic

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
dlemon
Location:MO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a Christian all my life. In fact, I'm a missionary. I tell you that to give you perspective. I thought I could explain the theme and concept of grace through the Bible as well as anybody. Andy Stanley's thorough yet very easy to read, "The Grace of God" not only defines grace simply but take reader deeper through the story of grace weaved in Scripture. Instead of ignoring any apparent discrepancies of an Old Testament God vs the New Testament God, Andy tackles the tough topic like a middle linebacker meeting the running back in the hole on 4th and inches. What you come away with is not an explaining away but reassurance that even in the Old Testament full of laws and bloodshed "don't stand in contrast to grace; they are introduced within the story of God's grace."
As a former youth pastor and missionary, I've seen too many people slip into rule based Christianity. I wish every one of them could read chapter four, "Redeemed by Grace." The law is put into perspective. Andy points out that our modern mindset is to jump to the "thou shall nots", "simply stated: obedience gets you in, disobedience keeps you out." Grace is a subject that I believe too many Christians take for granted and don’t have complete freedom because of a lack of receiving the fullness of God’s grace.
I would have given “The Grace of God” a perfect rating but for a few times when Andy seems to want the reader to use his imagination to make a point instead of letting the Scripture speak for itself. Though I do believe our imagination can be used by God, it’s difficult to make that jump for it to form our theology. Overall though, this is minor.
Get the book, and allow the Spirit of God to teach you about grace all over again. You will not regret it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Walk through the Bible with Andy Stanley and see just how God has demonstrated His grace to us. Using both "good guys" and "bad guys" from the Bible, Mr. Stanley clearly shows that God's grace is for everyone, not just "church people" or "good people".
Well written and understandable. The only things I "took marks off" for were that pronouns referencing God/Jesus weren't capitalized as I feel they should be (but that's just me) and he does mention "karma", which I understand was included because it encompasses the idea of reaping what we sow (but I still didn't think it was entirely appropriate). Those things don't take away from the ultimate message though, that God's grace is for everyone.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free through the BookSneeze program by the publisher in exchange for a review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enlightening Book on Grace

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fantastic book on grace! Andy Stanley has done a great job capturing God’s grace in his book, “The Grace of God.” This book is well-written, enlightening, and even funny at times.
Stanley starts from the beginning, at Creation, to tell an amazing story of God’s grace through many familiar stories of Scripture. Reading this book will open your eyes to new aspects of many of the well-known Old Testament and New Testament stories. Stanley has a knack for seeing the big picture of Scripture, while zeroing in on the grace of God throughout the Bible. He shows the relationship between grace and truth, not as balancing each other, but how God is the full expression of both at the same time.
I absolutely loved how Stanley takes you into the stories of Joseph, Jericho and Rahab, David, Jonah, Nicodemus, the Samaritan woman, and others. He gives such refreshing insight into the grace of God as it is interwoven through Scripture, all while allowing the reader to identify with these people of Biblical history. I highly recommend this book, for the seeker or a seasoned believer. No matter where you are, understanding God’s grace at a deeper level is a blessing!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do you want to know how much God loves you . . .

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annies Inklings
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
. . . then you must read this book!
Andy Stanley is one of my very favorite speakers and he writes just the way he speaks – powerfully! Consequently his book, “The Grace of God,” is a powerful lesson on how much God loves us and freely gives us His grace with no strings attached. Grace is unmerited favor – we don’t deserve it and we can’t earn it. Andy is gifted with the ability to explain, describe, and peel back layers until he brings you to the point of a full and deep understanding of the scripture he’s teaching on. He did just that for me as he explained that the grace of God began even before the Garden of Eden. He led me on a journey through the Old Testament, highlighting many acts of God’s grace given to biblical figures – Adam and Eve, Abraham, Jonah, Rahab, and even the thief on the cross – to name a few. And then we come to the New Testament where Andy teaches on the parables of Jesus. But this is not a brief explanation after a quick read of the scripture. As Andy helps you to come to a deeper understanding of grace, you are rewarded with background information of the customs and practices of the Jewish people which sheds a more bright and wonderful light on the meaning of the parables and how grace is intertwined throughout them.
The book is written in a conversational style that is smooth flowing, uses plain language, and is easy to understand. It is one that I would highly recommend to others. I am very happy to have this book on my bookshelf for future reference and inspiration. As of now, it is the very favorite of my library.
Many thanks to Thomas Nelson Publishing for providing a complimentary copy to me through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinion expressed here is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grace is Good

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
PastorJack
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eternal life isn’t a reward for good people; it’s God’s gift to forgiven people!” Isn’t that good? There’s more such succinct succulent morsels of sheer grace packed into Andy Stanley’s delightful book, The Grace of God. Here’s another: “Grace is the vehicle God uses on occasion to ensure that we get precisely what we don’t deserve.”
Andy’s gift as a communicator comes through as he leads us through the Bible, picking out people stories as he goes, to show us the message of divine grace displayed in life after life. One his gifts is Stanley’s ability to give us the meat of solid Biblical exposition and theology side by side with generous servings of milk and honey stories and insights like, “the church is most appealing when the message of grace is most apparent.” Of course it is.
Every dimension of grace is covered in the book’s 200-plus pages, from the grace common to us all to the seeking, saving, and securing grace of our Gracious God. Andy has included something for everyone, casual reader, Bible student, pastor, or teacher. There’s not much to not like in the book. After all, it’s pretty hard not to like the grace of God.
(The reviewer received a copy of Andy’s book from his publisher, Thomas Nelson.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
chris miller
I'm sure most people reading this would be familiar with the words of the Hymn: "Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound."
Is it?
Usually, grace only shows up when I've messed up. And then in that situation I'm hoping, or even pleading, for grace.
But is that Grace?
That is the question Andy Stanley opens up in his book, "The Grace of God." He begins where the world began, in the garden of Eden, and works through the Bible to the book of Acts pointing out what grace looks like.
He doesn't explain grace with a theological argument. He sets out some of his understandings of grace, but the book is about showing grace. So we read Bible story after Bible story and Andy Stanley offers commentary pointing out where grace was evident in the story.
It's a bit sad to me that in many of the stories where I was tempted to skip ahead because I've heard them countless times, my eyes were opened to see grace where I thought none was being shown. His point is that grace is offered by God in the beginning, and if we ask for it, beg for it, or deserve it, it is not grace. Our only response is to accept grace, to open our eyes to see it, to welcome it, and live differently in the way of grace.
That is the beauty of this book. After reading it I'm now looking to see grace: where God has shown me grace, and where I need to be offering it to others.
The book is a quick read. It's not long and not complicated. Another of his points is that grace isn't supposed to be complicated. I guess it's fitting that the book isn't either.
I was left struggling with who this book would be for. Certainly I, as a pastor and a longtime Christian, got something out of it. But I can't say that it changed my life. I do think he is wanting the church to wake up and be better known as a group that offers grace. I'm not sure enough was done in these pages to achieve that goal. Perhaps there is a followup book needed called: "The grace of God was given to you, now get off your but and go show some to others." I'm confident that says more about me than anything else.
I'm sure many will read this book and be encouraged, and some will read it and think he's missing the point. The author is aware of this and tries to address it in the conclusion. My hope is that, if people are struggling with grace they will continue to do so and not throw aside the thoughts presented here.
Andy Stanley offers some beautiful thoughts on an even more beautiful subject: grace. And all of this is to point us to God to one who offers grace. This is never supposed to be about us. It is all about God. And he is a God of grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear Biblical Truth

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been so incredibly blown away from this book it has made it to my top ten best books ever list. Andy Stanley is a very well established author, yet this is the first book I have read of his.
What I most appreciated about this book is the insight Stanley gives to the Old Testament. As Stanley takes the reader on a journey from character to character he tells the story of God's pursuit of relationship in a fresh and clear way. Not only does Stanley give new insight into the lineage of Jesus, he gives historical perspective that allows the reader to understand the Israelites in a new way.
My understanding of how amazing God's grace is has been deepened, and I have also gained a new perspective on how the Bible is a group of stories that actually tell one larger story.
I think this book would be amazing for a new believer or someone who has grown up in the church. I give it 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mom2HalfDozen
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure what to think going into reading this book, knowing little about Andy Stanley and having never read anything by him before. But I've been pleasantly surprised. Mr. Stanley points out very well how grace began with creation, how giving the law to Moses centuries ago was an act of grace meaning to point them and us to Christ, and how grace is not meant for good people. This book was very well written and very easy to read and it certainly spurred me into thinking more about God's amazing grace! A bonus is I've come to see some of the Bible's stories in a whole new light -- especially the story of the woman at the well.
So why did I give it an "A-" instead of something better? There were parts of the book that just weren't "meaty" enough for me, if that makes any sense. Despite thinking more about grace and seeing some Biblical characters in a new light, I still felt like this book was a "light" read. And while I wouldn't have said it before I read the book, I guess I really was looking for "TGOG" to challenge me and I didn't really get that. Overall, though, reading "TGOG" has been a great experience for me and I would definitely recommend it to other readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Theological lite...good jumping off point

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
jroc
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Title: The Grace of God
Author: Andy Stanley
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: 2010
What is Grace? How do we get grace? Are we deserving of God’s grace? As Christian people we long to be recipient of God’s Grace. Author, Andy Stanley in his book “The Grace of God” takes a close look at Grace. In 221 pages Stanley tries to tackle the hard topic of grace. It is a huge topic and one just has to go to the Christian section of the bookstore to see that many before Stanley have attempted to describe God’s grace.
Stanley uses a straight forward approach to discuss grace, his writing is clear and understandable. The book is well laid out in 13 chapters. Each chapter focuses on a different aspect of Grace. The beginning chapters stick more closely to scripture when talking about Grace. Later chapters use both scripture and fictional examples.
This isn’t a deeply theological book, in that it doesn’t go into the work of Augustine or Luther etc, but it is a book that I found myself reading a chapter at a time. Having read theological works for years, I have to say I did not like the format of Stanley’s work in having his “key points” bolded. I felt that this was unnecessary for me, and in some ways it distracted my own train of thoughts while reading.
This may not be the great resource that I keep on my shelf to come back to, but I think that this may be a book that I lend to someone who is struggling, and perhaps doesn’t have the theological background. It would appeal more to the crowd that I describe as “theological lite”. If you like Max Lucado, Joyce Rupp, then you may want to try this book. It’s a nice easy reading book on a difficult topic.
Rated 4/5 a good starting point.
isclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Grace of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful book

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grace, what a beautiful term and where would man be without it. In this book, Andy Stanley takes us through different characters of the Old and New Testament to help reveal what Grace has looked like throughout the Bible. I thought this book was very well done. It was easy to read and understand. The humor throughout the book was great and well placed. I loved the example of his dog Shadow and how the rules/boundaries they set up for the dog are given after they own the dog, not before. In the same way, God set up rules (Ten Commandments) after the relationship was already established. I really enjoyed this book and think this is a great book for anyone to read. He really highlights the fact that we cannot earn God's grace by anything we do. It is freely given.
I received this book free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.