Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson By Faith, Not by Sight

Thomas Nelson By Faith, Not by Sight

An inspiring behind-the-scenes look at the life of the first disabled American Idol finalist! After experiencing a kidney transplant, blind musician MacIntyre defied the odds to sing and dance his way into the hearts of viewers of the hit TV show. His moving story of hope, persistence, and faith will encourage you to pursue your own dreams! 272 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for By Faith, Not by Sight
Review 1 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This is the book description given for this book by Scott MacIntyre:
A moving story of hope, faith, persistence and the power of dreams.
A piano prodigy, a nineteen-year-old college grad, a Marshall scholar, and an American Idol finalist. This guy had it made. He could sing.
He could ski blind. What couldn’t he do?
Even if you saw him in concert, you might not believe that Scott MacIntyre is blind, and you’d never guess that at nineteen, he faced a diagnosis that rocked his family and nearly took his life.
So how did he do it? How did he overcome the odds?
This is Scott’s story, but he’d be the first to tell you that it’s not really about him. This is the story of how God used a dedicated family, a selfless acquaintance, hardship, and a host of characters to give him life, faith, determination, and experiences most can only imagine.
Peek behind the scenes to see how he learned to overcome his disability, how he made it in the music industry, how he found the love of his life, and how God taught him that in all things, we can truly achieve our dreams By Faith, Not by Sight.
I really enjoyed this book. When everything was against him, Scott turned to the only Person who could truly help, and that was God. I'm amazed at how his parents were completely grounded through the entire ordeal that Scott went through. Not once did they question why, but took things one day at a time. Scott does a great job of pulling you in and letting you see into his mind through, probably, the toughest years of his life. He didn't let life get him down, but focused on God and what he wanted to accomplish while still living. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone. Miracles do happen and life is better lived by faith, not by sight.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not for me...

Date:December 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really wanted to like this book. When I read the description I became pretty excited, expecting to open up the crisp pages and dive into and engaging, inspiring read. I was disappointed. As I began to read, I waited and waited for the story to get going and grab my attention. I can honestly say, I never got hooked (although it did become a bit better once Scott began to tell of his experience on American Idol) I had to drag myself to finish the book, which is very uncharacteristic of me.
In this book Scott tells his own story. He tells you of his being born blind, going to college at 14, graduating at 19, and finding out the day of college graduation that he had severe kidney failure. He shares his story from being a young kid, to a college student, to a dying patient, to being on tour with American Idol, and an aspiring musician throughout it all.
There were a few things that I didn’t like out the book. For starters, Scott is VERY repetitive, continuously telling you stories or details that you have already read once or twice before. The thing that I disliked the most was the fact that there was a hint of pride in Scott’s writing. At times it came across like he was boasting about how great he had handled what he was enduring (although I don’t think that was his intent). For some reason, this really annoyed me.
I am not entirely sure I would recommend this book. If you are a huge Idol fan, then you would probably enjoy it, but as for me, I was not too impressed.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Inspirational

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
jryanh10
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scott MacIntyre became famous after appearing on American Idol season 8 with artists like eventual winner Kris Allen and runner up Adam Lambert. MacIntyre made it into the top 10 and proved himself to be a definitive talent and crowd pleaser. But the thing that made Scott different than all the other contestants that season or before or since is his disability. Scott MacIntyre is legally blind having what doctors have labeled "pinhole vision" which basically allows him to see things as one may look through a pinhole in a piece of paper. A legally blind singer would be enough to gain attention, but when you add to the fact that Scott is one of the best piano players in the country having played across the nation and studied and played in London, he proved to be more than a contestant. He proved to be a special inspiration.
Scott's book details his time on American Idol for sure, but deals with so much more that makes him unique. He tells the story of being born blind and the rigorous and invasive tests he endured as a child to try and discover the cause. He speaks openly about his faith in God and his strong family who raised he and his brother and sister in a godly home and instilled in them Christian values and faith. Scott also goes in depth about his kidney failure which resulted in him almost dying before being able to have a kidney transplant from a donated kidney from the wife of one of his past piano instructors in Arizona.
The book is an excellent read and extremely inspirational. Scott's story is one that will challenge and invigorate dreams as you find yourself rooting for him to overcome the many obstacles that kept being presented to him and his family throughout the book. Scott's message of faith is one that reminds us that with God all things truly are possible and at the end of the day, God's plan is perfect and His ways are just. I definitely recommend the book to those needing a good pick me up as well as for those interested in Scott and/or American Idol. Great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

American Idol Fans Will Enjoy !

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By Faith Not By Sight is the autobiography of Scott MacIntyre who was an American Idol contestant. This is his story of the role music played in his life as a blind prodigy.
Scott’s story is interesting because of all he has been through. If you are an American Idol fan, you will particularly love this book because it gives a lot of the “behind the scenes” information that TV viewers never realize.
I think my favorite part of this book was when he talks about his kidney failure and having to go on dialysis and then eventually go through a kidney transplant. I know many people who have gone through this but I got a different insight into what is involved and how it affects someone than I had ever realized before I read the book.
Much of the book, of course, covered his rise to success. This was interesting but I was left with more questions by the end of the book. I wanted to know more about his family, his father’s role, his sister that was also born blind and had kidney troubles.
Although it was not one of my favorites personally, I do think the book was well-written and an inspirational read. There was not as much about Scott’s faith as I thought there would be based on the title. It is not a deeply spiritual book but it is inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
By Faith, Not By Sight: The Inspirational Story of a Blind Prodigy, a Life-Threatening Illness, and an Unexpected Gift
By Scott MacIntyre, with Jennifer Schuchman
Book Description
A moving story of hope, faith, persistence and the power of dreams.
A piano prodigy, a nineteen-year-old college grad, a Marshall scholar, and an American Idol finalist. This guy had it made. He could sing.
He could ski blind. What couldn’t he do?
Even if you saw him in concert, you might not believe that Scott MacIntyre is blind, and you’d never guess that at nineteen, he faced a diagnosis that rocked his family and nearly took his life.
So how did he do it? How did he overcome the odds?
This is Scott’s story, but he’d be the first to tell you that it’s not really about him. This is the story of how God used a dedicated family, a selfless acquaintance, hardship, and a host of characters to give him life, faith, determination, and experiences most can only imagine.
Peek behind the scenes to see how he learned to overcome his disability, how he made it in the music industry, how he found the love of his life, and how God taught him that in all things, we can truly achieve our dreams By Faith, Not by Sight.
I especially loved the fact that he was homeschooled and how well he did academically. At the age of 14 he began college in large part to the education his mother helped provide for him while the was home. A nice positive story of successful homeschooling.
Scott truly is an inspiration not only to those with challenges such as blindness, but for all of us. He never allowed the challenges he faces daily to give him an excuse to quit. He had to overcome many, many things in his life, not just his visual impairment (read the book!), and his faith shined through it all.
Overall I really enjoyed this book. In fact, I had it read in about three days. I would highly recommend it.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

By Faith Not by Sight

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Muffy
Location:Chillicothe, Oh
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By Faith Not by Sight is the autobiography by Scott MacIntyre, American Idol contestant. Scott's story is so inspiring. What he has accomplished blind most sighted people never even imagine. I think the real story though is the story of his parents. His mother thought he was blind from an early age and the doctors kept telling her he was alright. Once the diagnosis was made she went beyond the call of duty to do what she had to do for her child. Once she realized that he had the gift of music she even went further beyond. The most memorable part of the book was when they took him and left him in England. I dread putting my teenager on the bus let alone leaving him blind in a foreign country. What love and will power those parents must have.
I have to admit the first part of the book was very slow for me. I had a hard time sticking with it. But the second part picked up and was a little easier to read and stick with it.
There is a reason that biographies are my favorite books. Other peoples story are the most interesting and the most inspiring.
I received this book from Booksneeze and was in no way required to give this book a good review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

By Faith, Not By Sight

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the life story of musician Scott MacIntyre, some may know him as a top 10 contestant on America Idol. His story is how he was born blind and his parents always encouraged him to not use his blindness as a handicap. He shares his story of how he has overcome obstacle in his life. Scott tells of how he was diagnosed with the scare of a brain tumor (directly after graduation), having a rare kidney disease, having a kidney transplant, going to London for school, learning to play the piano and recording songs without reading sheet music, going on American Idol, learning to deal with society, media and dealing with his family and his belief in his love for GOD, his faith, family and what keeps him going without giving up.
This is a very encouraging story of dealing with life's up and downs and understanding that trusting in GOD is always the answer to your prayers. I enjoyed this story.
disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring story of perseverance!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy G
Location:Houston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its no secret that I am an American Idol fan and love when people of faith make it far each season. I really enjoyed getting to know Scott MacIntyre during Season 8, but reading this book let me in on so much more of his life journey and I am even more in awe of him and his determination to succeed. By Faith, Not by Sight is his story of being born blind and learning how to not only survive but flourish with his disability. God blessed him with so many other gifts including his mind and his musical ability. But he was also blessed with a family who would go to the ends of the earth to help him become all that God intended him to be. They supported him not only through his childhood as he learned to live with his blindness, but as an adult when he was diagnosed with a life threatening kidney issue.
I was inspired by Scott's life, but was also encouraged by reading about all that his mother did for him. As a mother I hope I have the strength to do for my children all that Scott's mother had to sacrifice for her son. I was in awe reading about all that he dealt with growing up and how he didn't use his disability as an excuse to not work. He worked even harder than most people. As an Idol fan, I loved the last part of the book as Scott described his journey through Idol and how he strived to use that platform to bring glory to God. I would encourage any American Idol fan to read this book but also anyone who loves to read about inspiring people. Scott MacIntyre has an amazing journey that can teach us all life lessons.
I received this book from Booksneeze in exchange for a review, but was not obligated to give it a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this book!

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
farm girl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I remember watching Scott on American Idol (back when we still got one channel on our TV) so, when I had the opportunity to read this book I was very excited. I wanted to know more about his story. Not only was he blind, which grabbed my attention, but he was homeschooled! I thoroughly enjoyed reading his book. It is just as inspirational as it says it is.
As I read his book I felt like I could have been sitting down for coffee with him. He has a sweet spirit and it shows through his dialogue.
Not only is Scott an inspiration, but so are his parents. As he talks about all of the struggles, the triumphs, the up hill battles and the joys of making his dreams a reality you see the family bonds, the close friendships, the love, and the faith they had in God to see them through every trial and every miracle that took place in Scott's life.
By Faith, Not By Sight is very uplifting, encouraging, and as it promises to be, inspirational. Oh, and there is a bit of a love story in there too and I love a little romance. Especially, when it is honest and innocent, and is love not lust.
I received this book at no cost to me in exchange for an honest review. The opinions in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Audience of One

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I may be the only person who reviews this book who doesn’t start with knowing at least a little about Scott MacIntyre. I’ve watched American Idol a few times, but I always thought the show was mean spirited in many respects. I didn’t have any idea about who he was until I read the first chapter. I got the book because I know two blind persons – one is my boss and the other is my niece. Other than knowing about the blindness, I knew nothing else. That said, I am really glad I got to know Scott through his book.
Scott’s story is one of incredible faith, inspiring persistence, and incredible obstacle. The blurb on the cover says a lot: is it possible to be high on a mountain and deep in a valley at the same time? It is – when all of the pieces start to fall into place, according to your plan, and God upends them because it’s not His. Scott experienced this several times. And every time, as God inserted His plan where Scott’s had been, the blessings were manifold.
Scott’s story is not just about being blind, although many elements of his story have an impact because of that disability. It is about being a Christian, whatever your circumstance, and recognizing that the challenges you face are difficult to face alone, but limited by nothing when God is your ally. God led Scott through some very tough things – a life-threatening illness, personal rejection, and more. But the key is that God led him through them – He never left him to handle these things alone.
That Scott was an American Idol contestant is, to me, of little significance. That God used that opportunity to create new ways for Scott to glorify Him, well, that’s just the way God is. Whatever hills we have to climb, whatever valleys we traverse, the ultimate purpose of all of our struggles are the glory of the One who made us. That’s true if we’re planning to sing to audiences of thousands or pick up trash to an audience of One.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautifully written

Date:May 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jess
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This autobiography is beautifully written; quite a lovely story of fear, hope, redemption.
I highly recommend it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book for Every One with Inspirations

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nellie Dee
Location:Stone Lake, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to read this book when I read the description which said that Scott (the author) was able to play the piano by ear at a very young age. I wanted to know the story of his gift, his struggles with his health, how he overcame obstacles and how he triumphed by the power of faith.
I had no preconceived ideas or expectations about this book, other than hope to find some encouragement in the area of my own musical aspirations. I don't often watch Idol, so I had not seen him on television. (It's not that I wouldn't watch, but rather that the remote is not usually under my control.)
I really was amazed by Scott. Amazed by his maturity, his character and determination. I was encouraged by the depth of detail he went into with his experiences with each of his instructors, equipment, keyboards and pianos. I loved that he was inspired and awakened by pop music, and that he was frustrated because the piano fell short of producing the sound he was trying to create.
I was astonished by the stories of his running, bike riding and even diving but when he learned dance routines to perform with a group on Idol, I was blown away.
I was glad to see pictures included. About halfway through the book, I had to check Scott out on YouTube.
I have only one complaint. I wasn't big on the book's title. I understand it. I know the verse applies, but it just doesn't grab me.
This book was an indepth faith challenge on every level. The story is a must read for anyone who loves music, who is faced with adversity and challenged by circumstances beyond their control. The fact that he had gone from being a blind child prodigy who was able to overcome any obstacle to someone who was barely alive and with no hope of even knowing if he would live another day brings bright hopeful rays of sunshine to the darkest circumstances.
I highly recommend this book and will forever perk up in interest at the mention of Scott MacIntyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Obstacles come in all kinds of shapes and sizes

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a fan of American Idol, I am not a fan of Scott MacIntyre, and I am not a fan of pop music. So why did I pick up this autobiographical memoir written by a top-10 finalist of the popular TV show American Idol? Let me suggest three reasons I was drawn to this book:
1. I have two dear blind friends, like Scott MacIntyre, whom I have known for almost 40 years.
2. I, like Scott MacIntyre and my two friends, am a Christian.
3. I enjoy the real life story of someone who has overcome adversity.
I was not disappointed. In the course of nearly 300 pages, Scott overcomes three distinct obstacles - kidney failure, the American Idol competition, and the love of a woman. Scott did a good job of writing an interesting tale that even kept the interest of one that knew very little about him or his circumstances.
In the midst of his story, it is clear that faith plays a very vital part. He did not always understand what God was doing. This was especially true as he spent ten months on dialysis unsure about his musical future. But much of that uncertainty came together as he moved through the various auditions that preceded the live American Idol shows in the late spring of 2009. But even in the midst of his success, he was mystified as to why the one girl he had his eyes on had removed his name from the top of her MySpace friends. And that was one question he never had answered.
Now, having read By Faith Not By Sight, though I am still not a fan of his music, I have become a fan of Scott MacIntyre. I am grateful for the opportunity to have walked with him and see how God has worked in the life. Perhaps you will be too.
______________
This review is based on a free electronic copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookaholic
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description:
A moving story of hope, faith, persistence and the power of dreams.
A piano prodigy, a nineteen-year-old college grad, a Marshall scholar, and an American Idol finalist. This guy had it made. He could sing.
He could ski blind. What couldn’t he do?
Even if you saw him in concert, you might not believe that Scott MacIntyre is blind, and you’d never guess that at nineteen, he faced a diagnosis that rocked his family and nearly took his life.
So how did he do it? How did he overcome the odds?
This is Scott’s story, but he’d be the first to tell you that it’s not really about him. This is the story of how God used a dedicated family, a selfless acquaintance, hardship, and a host of characters to give him life, faith, determination, and experiences most can only imagine.
Peek behind the scenes to see how he learned to overcome his disability, how he made it in the music industry, how he found the love of his life, and how God taught him that in all things, we can truly achieve our dreams By Faith, Not by Sight.
By Faith, Not By Sight is a beautiful, true-life story about a man's journey in life. With all odds stacked against him at a young age, Scott MacIntyre, has over come trials when most people would simply give up. This story touches your heart from the first page, and continues throughout the chapters. Scott MacIntyre is a music prodigy and former American Idol contestant..and, he's blind. What I loved most about this book, was Scott's ability to retell his life story, however terrible it may seem to the outsider, and get us to believe that through God and with faith..all things are possible. I couldn't put this book down once I started, and the emotional feelings I walked away with, can't be compared to anything. There are many pages where I have marked quotes from Scott..his thoughts and feelings..and have used them in my own personal life. In the end..if he can get through all his trials, I can certainly get through mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story of a blind prodigy

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
dlruss
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By Faith, Not Sight
Scott MacIntyre, Author
with Jennifer Schuchmann
Thomas Nelson, Publisher
I absolutely loved this book about Scott MacIntyre. Born blind, Scott tells his life story. He tells how he learned to overcome his disabilities to become a Marshall scholar, the first blind contestant on American Idol and recording artist and inspirational speaker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"By Faith, Not By Sight"

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Since I am not a regular viewer of American Idol, I only vaguely remembered seeing Scott perform, but knew he was a very gifted performer. The odds he overcame to reach this platform are amazing to read though. Legally blind since birth, and homeschooled, he was able to attend college by the time he was 14. His parents taught him to be as self-reliant as possible and took every step to help their musically gifted son to excel. Scott's parents and his two younger siblings (sister, Katelyn, is also blind) are a remarkable family who work, play, and pray together and are very cognizant of being supportive to one another. The love shown and sacrifices made as Scott continued to grow as a musician and a scholar, while battling kidney failure are a testament to their commitment as a family and to Christ as true source of their strength. Even while he was involved with American Idol, his sister was going through the same need for a kidney transplant Scott had undergone earlier.
Some of the chapters covered a bit of old ground too much, as though each could have been used as a separate magazine article, but it was an interesting read. For fans of American Idol, there is a bit of background info that is fun to know. For those who struggle with disabilities, it is a powerful story of how perseverance, prayer, and support of loved ones can enable you to have a fulfilling life despite obstacles. I think Scott is an extraordinary person, and may be a bit hard to live up to, but still an inspiration. His faith, determination, good humor, and ability to meet each challenge head-on will leave you cheering.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided to me by the BookSneeze Blogger's program in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Anyone who wants to be inspired should read this!

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anyone who is feeling sorry for themselves, should read this book. And anyone who wants to be inspired not to quit or give up, should read this book!
Scott MacIntyre has certainly had his fair share of reasons to quit and give up on his dreams, but in his book, By Faith, Not By Sight, you'll read the inspirational story of a guy who didn't stay down, no matter what life brought him.
I watched American Idol the season that Scott was on, and remember some of what he talks about in this book. But his story goes beyond his brush with fame, and readers meet a young man who is passionate about music, passionate about God and determined to live his life to the fullest. I was happy to read about his recent marriage and that he's doing well after his health scare. Definitely a great story of perserverance and faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read!

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lightatheart
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you physically challenged and wondering what you could ever do for God? Or maybe the trials and stresses of life seem as if they have become super-sized? Was your life on track to realize your greatest dreams when out of the blue your dreams splintered into a million pieces? If so, meet Scott MacIntyre through ‘By Faith, Not By Sight’ and be encouraged!
This is not a self-help book. ‘By Faith, Not by Sight’ shows how Scott trusts God through some very impressive obstacles and challenges. It isn’t preachy, but subtly encourages and exhorts the reader to see life in a new light and perspective.
Scott takes the reader on a twisting, intimate path which jumps around through the years as he reveals the story of his life. He shows us not only the triumphs, but the failures. This remarkable young man gives us an inside look at the: doubts, fears, pain, joys, dreams, and faith that made Scott who he is today. This book leaves the reader feeling like they have known him all his life. By reading how God caused Scott’s dramatic circumstances to turn around so many times, it brings hope to the heart of the reader. Hope that the black clouds and stormy circumstances they are facing today might be transformed into sun drenched views beyond anything we can imagine tomorrow, just as Scott’s were.
If you need encouragement, read this book. If you can’t imagine how God could use your life, read this book. If you are at the point of despair, read this book. If you just want to know more about who Scott MacIntyre is, read this book. To sum it all up…Read this book!
Purposes of Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a temporary digital copy of the book mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

By Faith, Not by Sight

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
TNMil
So I’m going to admit it. I might be one of the only people who does not watch American Idol. With that said, although I didn’t watch the season that Scott Macintyre performed on, I did hear of his story on the multiple news stations covering the show. I’m glad I decided to read By Faith, Not by Sight: The Inspirational Story of a Blind Prodigy, a Life-Threatening Illness, and an Unexpected Gift because it allowed me to learn more about Scott Macintyre’s struggles and difficulties he faced and overcame in his life.
This book tells the story of Scott’s life. From his childhood all the way through his time spent on the American Idol Stage. Scott was born with tunnel vision, which severely limited his eyesight, causing his almost total blindness. Throughout this and other health scares, he continued to pursue his musical passion as well as his educational goals, obtaining his Master’s Degree from the University of London and the Royal College of Music. In addition to his strong desire to further himself intellectually, the book also focused on his commitment to God. Many people would become bitter after facing struggles such as blindness and stage 4 renal failure, but he continues to be an example of living a Godly life to all of those around him.
I think anyone would enjoy this book who was an American Idol fan, but more than that, this book will be enjoyed by anyone who likes to read about perseverance and dedication to achieving ones’ goals in life. I am very glad I had the opportunity to read this book, and I can’t wait to share it with others.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for By Faith, Not by Sight
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book, Inspiring!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“By Faith, Not By Sight” by Scott MacIntyre is a fantastic book documenting the life of an amazing and successful man who has been blessed by God and overcome difficult obstacles to reach where he is today. It is a very interesting read that will encourage and inspire you.
Scott MacIntyre is a piano prodigy who was born blind and then faced life-threatening kidney disease at the age of 19, which resulted in a kidney transplant, and then made it to the top 10 of season 8 of the television reality show American Idol. This book is his life story and chronicles his amazing gifts and talents as well as his struggles with blindness and kidney failure.
MacIntyre is an incredible man with a very strong faith. His book will amaze and inspire you. It is very well written and extremely honest. MacIntyre is not ashamed of his faith, his disability, or of sharing his deepest, innermost feelings and struggles. His perspective on life is outstanding, despite all that he has endured. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to be inspired, blessed and encouraged.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>