Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Guideposts Living with Less So Your Family Has More

Guideposts Living with Less So Your Family Has More

Whether you've chosen to have one parent stay at home or been forced to accept new financial circumstances, how can you make it on a limited income? Offering an honest, straightforward approach, the Savages share 20 years of personal experience to help your family adjust your attitudes, create a unified vision, and put practical strategies into action! 224 pages, softcover from Guideposts.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Review 1 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed.

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie Robb
Location:Ontario Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes when reading a book like this one you feel overwhelmed with all the suggestions etc. With this book you feel encouraged and motivated to put your family first, with very usable suggestions and examples that are easy to relate to. I would definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Poinsett
This book is practical, inspiring, and insightful. Any reader could pick up good tips about simplifying his or her life from this book. Personally, I also enjoyed reading about the Savage family. They are an interesting and inspiring family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn Doucette
I cried my way through this book. In a good way, mind you. My husband and I have been married 18 years and like most marriages, ours has had years of plenty, years of want, years of "uh, now what do we do?" Husband and wife team, Jill and Mark Savage, tackle financial issues in their book with honesty and pragmatism. They share personal stories--their own years of plenty and want. They acknowledge that for some of us, choosing to live with less feels so much more admirable than the alternative, but living with less still has redemptive qualities; in fact, God is willing and able to bless us when we have less. Spiritually, emotionally, relationally, etc. In several spots throughout my copy, I underlined, circled, highlighted, I'm a little embarrassed to lend it out to my friends. Not only do I feel encouraged, but I am equipped with specific tips and suggestions. Many thanks to Jill and Mark for this wonderful book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jolene Philo
Jill and Mark Savages book, Living with Less so your Family Has More, is a must read book for recently married couples and parents of young children. Why? Because the advice and resources contained in it will help them make financial goals and set priorities that can result in positive long term consequences and reap eternal rewards. The book is divided into four sections. In Part 1, the Savages help readers shape a vision for living with less. In Part 2, they encourage couples to transform their attitudes about money by examining and strengthening their trust in Gods faithful provision. In Part 3, they provide resources - how-to lists, websites, books - so families can put feet to their financial goals and revised priorities. The eighteen chapters are sprinkled with stories from the Savages lives, sometimes from Jills point of view and sometimes from Marks, along with stories of other families who have learned to live with less. Each chapter ends with a prayer and a Lets Talk about It section to encourage discussion between couples.The ideas in Living with Less are most effective when implemented by those mentioned above, recently married couples and parents of young children. But, I am recommending this book to many families, regardless of the age of the parents or kids suggestions can help any family, regardless of the age of parents. Its a book which can help everyone live more frugally and intentionally.In fact, Im ordering two copies to give to my children and the spouses they recently married. It would be more frugal to order one copy for my son and his wife and pass along my copy to my daughter and her new husband. But I cant do that. I need to keep my copy to refer to as I put some of Jill and Marks suggestions into practice at our house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2010
I was eager to read Living with Less so Your Family Has More (Guideposts), by Jill Savage and Mark Savage, because I knew I could use some inspiration in an area of simplicity and frugality that God has been nudging me to consider. Jill and her husband, Mark, did not disappoint. And in case you would shy away from this book expecting some sort of brow-beating by them to make you feel guilty in order to make changes, you can be assured that their book is gentle, humorous, realistic, inviting, and very, very practical. It's not only a let me tell you what God has been doing in our lives, but here are ideas that you can consider. Although written primarily for families with at-home children, I believe any of us would benefit from this book. I did. Regardless of whether we want to simplify our attitudes because we have to, or because we want to because it could honor God, Living with Less so Your Family Has More provides the vision, biblical attitudes and practical actions, as you can see from the Table of Contents. Just by looking it over, you know that every area of a family and marriage has been included. Jill and Mark are honest about their shortcomings and vulnerable in sharing their struggles. Their attitudes of humility and honesty make the book even more attractive. It's definitely not a book of we've conquered this and so should you. And every chapter ends with a Let's Talk About It section so that husbands and wives can more easily consider what they've read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Barlow Jordan
Jill and Mark's book give simple and practical guidelines for frugal and simple living--a good basis for contentment. It's a book about choices--and we all make them. And it's a book that gives ample evidence that nothing is impossible when God is at work in our lives. I appreciate the emphasis on family values, and both the personal stories from the Savages' lives as well as other families who have been able to live on less, giving their family more of what is important in life. Their principles are biblical and show that you truly can live simply when you choose wisely. Jill and Mark are not idealists. They share their struggles along the way. And many will benefit from hearing how they met the challenges in their marriage of debt and differences. The principles are not new; but journeys like theirs need to be shared repeatedly to each generation. This book is especially helpful in today's economy when so many are discouraged with their financial situation and see no way out. Having lived so many of these principles in my own family's life, I can testify along with the Savages, that they work. This book will help you reevaluate what is important and show you ways with God's help, to make this American dream a reality. Simple is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2010
This book was one of the best titles I have read on the subject of simplifying lifestyle. The authors, Jill and Mark Savage, write from their own personal experience about how they willing have reduced their income, enjoyed a greater quality of life, and have survived! They begin with casting the vision for a simpler lifestyle by redefining what it truly means to get ahead in life. From that vision they move to attitude changes that go against the culture and that promote contentment, sacrifice, simplicity, frugality, spirituality and community. After detailing the attitude changes required, they move to specific actions that bring the new vision and mindset into reality .The Savages have inspired me with their story. This book is well worth the time and money spent. If you're seeking to simplify your lifestyle and no longer pursue more and more material "stuff," then this title is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Strauss
Great book! Easy read and full of recommendations and suggestions. I love the down to earth honesty between Jill and Mark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Living with Less So Your Family Has More
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Conley
This is the most practical family money management book I have ever read bar none! Jill and Mark give real life examples and realistic applications for every facet of family finances. Thank you, Savages, for providing this tool that teaches us that less really is more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.