Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ

Thomas Nelson 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ

Meet Jesus. A man both fully God and fully human. He lived most of his life in private, and spent only three years in public ministry. What do these precious days of Jesus' ministry have to say to us today?

In 1000 Days: The Ministry of Christ, Jonathan Falwell introduces the concept of "the happiness of less" as one of the keys to obtaining true peace in life. From trials and tribulations to radical love, from hypocrisy and temptation and prayer, 1000 Days offers rich insight into what Jesus has to say about life as we know it. Rediscover the life of Jesus, and along the way you just might discover the life you were meant to live.
Average Customer Rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 2391%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Review 1 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great help in spiritual development

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Marie
Location:Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book at a perfect time in my own spiritual journey. Over the past few months I have been taking time to get closer to God and develop a more in depth relationship with him. While reading this book, I believe I was able to move a step further in my relationship with Him. Even though I have heard the stories and parables many times, this book brought them all together into a nice timeline that made it all click.
As an entrepreneur I can definitely learn a lot. Mr. Falwell, points out how Christ took the ordinary people (just like you and me) and made them extraordinary. By working on my connection and allowing God to take more control of my life, I know that I can become and extraordinary person as well. It is all about choosing your mission and sticking to it no matter what difficulties lie ahead. If these men and women in the Bible were able to do that, why can't I? I can.
Mr. Falwell inserted an important opportunity for us to work on this connection through discussion questions at the end of each chapter. I am able to use these questions on my personal journey and I know you will be able to as well. I believe that this book is perfect for a small group study as well; the questions can definitely be used for group discussion as well as self-reflection.
I highly recommend this book to anyone looking to further their connection along their spiritual journey with God. It is a quick read with many thought provoking and poignant opportunities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Read.

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
jryanh10
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you ever thought about this fact? Our salvation was purchased on the cross by Jesus Christ and He was able to do this by being the spotless Lamb of God, the perfect One, both fully human and fully divine. The miracles, teachings, and insights didn't really play that large of a part. After all, having done all the miracles and so forth and having failed to be resurrected, Christ would be like every other religious leader throughout history. Obviously knowing the in's and out's of Christ's ministry gives us direction on how to live and the path to follow in seeking relationship with Him. This book is written from that standpoint, that is, Christ could have accomplished the cross and remained low key throughout his 33 years on earth, but He chose to take His ministry public and make sure that He left disciples competent and capable to carry on His teachings. This makes the happenings and occurrences which took place in that 3 and a half years or 1000 days of ministry very revealing.
Falwell does a great job at beginning the book with a hook to grab the reader's attention. Beginning with a story about individuals seeking the next thrill in order to keep experiencing a semblance of joy in their lives, Falwell ponders the thought that we have made Christianity and church another thrill seeking adventure that must outdo each time before to hold our interest. Falwell calls it spiritual "restlessness." The cure: finding life in Christ through His teachings over the 1000 days of ministry He conducted.
Falwell does a great job throughout the book at pointing out well known scriptures and diving deeper into stories and parables often quoted but whose meanings are often looked over. If I'm honest, about midway through the book, it got a little boggy, but as Falwell began to breakdown the events just before and during Holy Week, the reader finds himself being encountered by the humanity and divinity of Christ in a way that causes you to fall in love with Him afresh and anew all while realizing a new desire to emulate the Son of God and accomplish His purposes in your life.
If I had any negative critique, it would be that Falwell spends at least two or three chapters promoting his doctrine of eternal security. And while as the author of the book that is certainly his choice, the book's flow seems to be a little interrupted with the doctrinal push. I say that only to point out that this could be a stumbling block for the readers who will read this book for all the reasons listed above and end up having to read a defense of a doctrine they may or may not believe. In fact, referring to sporadically as he does may end up causing more questions than answers for the average reader.
Altogether though, the book was very good and I would recommend it. My copy included some exhaustive notes in the back as well as an index detailing 100 great events in the life of Christ which is as treasure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy Read

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hopw
Location:MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ministry of Christ: 1000 Days is a look at the last three years of Jesus Christ's life. While Jesus lived roughly 33 years on this earth, his public ministry was only 3 years, which is roughly 1000 days of ministry. The Falwell explains how we can apply the teachings of Jesus to our own lives.
This book was simply written,easy to understand and I came away encouraged after reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book had me in tears...

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ministry of Christ: 1000 Days is a walk through the history of Jesus' life and a walk through our intimate plan of salvation. Author, Jonathan Falwell, advocates the concept of 'happiness of less' as a key to true peace and accepting authentic joy through Jesus rather then skimpy and temporary happiness that this reckless world can offer. This book walks you through the events during Jesus' 1000 day ministry and how these events reveal to us the lives Jesus advocates we walk today. It focuses on topics such as enduring temptation, how to pray like Jesus, how to achieve peace, how to face hypocrisy/overcome it, diving into radical love, and how to be an ordinary person living an extraordinary life. The book wraps up by turning the attention to Calvary and the significance of Jesus' last words and His great victory over our sins. Therefore, we also, are victors in Christ.
This book had me in tears and drew me to a closer understanding and more personal relationship with the one who gave everything and endured an endless weight of suffering to give me freedom in Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ready to get blessed!

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reader is taken on a journey that begins over two thousand years ago linking it with our nation today as Jonathan falwell unlocks the beauty of Jesus's 1000 days on ministry on Earth! I wish I could put a copy of this book into into every persons hand to read, this will be your favorite book-- thats for sure. I can't put it down. It is amazing that God is still speaking to his people, or should I say to those who have an ear to hear. Out of His love for us He is warning us once again. The best part of this book is how it connects the people reading. Reading this books as a single person was a good idea, get this book! I enjoyed reading every page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good book on Jesus ministry

Date:August 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book advertises to meet Jesus--a man both fully God and fully human. He came to earth to be in mission with all those who ever would be on Earth. He investigates the truths that these days were lived and asks how do these days and what He did and said impact the people of today. What does He want us to learn from His mission on Earth. It takes a deeper look at the last 3 years Jesus spent on Earth--those 100 days.
I enjoyed this book, though it’s not light reading or a quick easy read. This book with insights by Jonathan Falwell, son of the famous Jerry, takes the reader through Jesus' last 3 years of service to the world. It is only 179 pages long with an addition of notes and a study guide so it is not an in-depth study for self study or small group use but rather a good starting point or all round summary. Well worth the time to read as well as to have on the shelf as a resource book.
I received this book from Booksneeze program for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting read

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
YMinister1204
Location:Athens, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book 1,000 Days is a solid read that outlines the ministry of Jesus and attempts to break his work down into minutes, hours, days, months, and years instead of simply a grouping of stories. The ministry of Jesus is far too great to simply call a story, because his ministry is the only hope any of us have of spending eternity in heaven. Mr. Falwell does an adequate job of portraying Jesus as a meek crusader who attempted to show the world his father through his words and actions rather than by open, military assault. I would recommend this book to just about anyone, no matter their standing in theirs walk with God because I believe there is much to glean from reading about the reality of Jesus and the reality of his ministry. Too many people view Jesus as a storybook character and Falwell's book does a good job of bringing the life and ministry of Jesus to reality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a good read

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
tdae1234
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book for those desire to discover more about the life and ministry of Jesus. Jonathan follows the 3 year 1000 days of ministry of Jesus. It was written not just for information, but for transformation- encouragement and enlistment for following Jesus. It is appropriate for adults who desire not only to know more about Jesus, but also to follow Him .
I enjoyed this book. The chapters were self contained yet part of the whole of Jeus' life and ministry. It was entirely rooted in Scripture and had practical application for its readers. Falwell clearly pointed out how we find our story in His story. I recommend this book!
I received this book from booksneeze.com in exchange for an honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

1000 Days

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reid
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1000 Days by Jonathan Falwell is a interesting premise - the days of Christ's official "ministry" and the book was good, it just wasn't great. There are a lot of interesting stories and examples, and it's a nicely written book, just not one that I'd recommend to all my friends as an amazing book.
Sorry.
I received this book free of charge by Booksneeze and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A great message for all.

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sands0113
Location:Berea, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1000 Days: The Ministry of Christ by Jonathan Falwell
I always look forward to reading a new book and I was in that same state when I recieved my copy of 1,000 Days: The Ministry of Christ by Jonathan Falwell. I started the book and soon found that this book was going to be a bit harder to read. (Now, to be fair, it could have been either the writing style or my crazy hectic life.) However, I made it through and I must say that I didn't necessarily enjoy the writing style of the author but I did enjoy the message of the book.
This book takes a look at the ministry of Jesus Christ (and the fact that His ministry was only 3.5 years of His life) and then tries to give us ways that we can apply Jesus' outlook and perspective to our lives. It gives examples of His ministry (radial love, calmed storms, temptation, peace, and prayer among others) and also gives us insight to how we can apply those same ministry techniques to our own lives. It provides us with a blue print of the ministry that has changed all of us and how we can use it to build our own ministries in order to continue reaching the lives that are in need. I really enjoyed the fact that the author used a ton of scripture to show where these things were happening...it gave me a chance to dig into the Word and see for myself and draw my own conclusions.
As I said, I'm not sure that I like the way that Jonathan Falwell wrote the book (the language and style, etc) but I do really LOVE the message and for that reason, I will be sharing the book with others. If you want to see a picture of how Jesus ministry (only 1,000 days of His life) was lived out...this book is a place to start.
DISCLAIMER: I recieved a free copy of this book through the publisher's(Thomas Nelson Publishing) Booksneeze blogger review program, HOWEVER, I was NOT required to write a positive review. ALL thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ, written by Jonathan Falwell, is a book generated to bring forth a closer look at the three year ministry of Jesus, the effects it had on Biblical society, and the effects it can have on our lives today.
Jonathan does a wonderful job of carrying His readers through the ministry of Jesus within this book. He brings a picturesque description of each moment found within the gospels, thus giving his readers the opportunity to not only experience the events of the Bible in a unique way but also absorb additional informational teachings.
This book would be a very beneficial tool for a new Christian seeking some understanding of the life and ministry of Jesus. It would also be extremely beneficial in reviving the direction of a believer struggling with their purpose in Christ.
Whether you are a seasoned Christian or a newbie to the faith, this book is a recommended read.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written and worth reading

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg35
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever wished you could have walked and talked with Jesus as He spent His three years on the earth? Ever wished you could have been one of the original twelve gleaning from everything Jesus had to say? Well, Jonathan Falwell gives us that opportunity in the 1000 Days – the Ministry of Christ. Jonathan gives us the opportunity to walk in Jesus’ footsteps as he provides an in depth look at the meaning behind Jesus’ teachings and works.
Jesus’ teachings weren’t just platitudes that were said to make us feel good. They were principles that show us how to live the abundant life that Jesus’ promised us all to live. Jonathan shows us how to take those principles and live them out in our every day living.
1000 Days – the Ministry of Christ is a book well written and well worth reading.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great explanation of Jesus's Minstry

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
gcw1
Location:York, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1000 DAYS The Ministry of Christ by Jonathan Falwell --- Are you looking for a good explanation of Jesus's ministry while here on the earth, this is the book you will want to read. Jonathan Falwell takes you through the 1000 days that Jesus taught his disciples and preached to the people about his kingdom and what they needed to do to follow him. A no-holds-barred explanation of his parables and what is needed to follow him. His human side and his spiritual side are examined with a easy to understand explanation. Jonathan starts each chapter with a antidote from his life and go into a parable or teaching of Jesus, at the end of each chapter he offers a few questions for you to answer and thing about, either on your own or in a small group. Also at the end of the book he offer a Bible study guide of the 1000 days ministry. This is a book I think all Christians should have and read.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspiring book

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book re-enforcing the reasons why Jesus came to serve on earth, and how we should live accordingly, 1,000 Days was inspiring and pleasantly easy to read in my opinion.
Both the book size and text font were comfortable to read, and the author did a good job in reaching both of his audiences : the Christian as well as the unsaved
‘Are you climbing mountain after mountain? Are you yearning for a greater sense of inner peace? Regardless of the degree of change you desire, you can sense that something in your life is not the way it is supposed to be and you long to satisfy that restless feeling’…. (pg. 2, 3)
I love the way the book began, with thoughts like the one above. It gave the reader a desire to continue the book, to read more about Jesus, and to discover what life REALLY is about! A good book for both Christians and the unsaved! We need to understand what Jesus said and did during his three year ministry on earth so we can apply His example to our lives today.
Although most of the statements in the book were familiar to me, I was very inspired by the book. How important it IS to find true contentment, true fulfillment in life through JESUS!
So many chapters in this book were favorites, including the chapter about hypocrisy (pg. 73-84), and the chapter about finding happiness in less (pg. 85-96).
I was also continuously marking the numbers of pages with good points….here are some examples : pg. 103 has good strong truth, pg. 26 talks about how God uses ordinary people, changing them to serve Him, and pg. 34 inspires the reader to serve God with his or her ALL!
Truthfully, there area couple points in the book which I know are wrong :
Pg. 15 2nd paragraph; Pg. 94, 2nd paragraph; Pg. 104, 2nd paragraph; Pg. 108 pt. 3. But here is not the place to explain fully why they are wrong doctrinally!
Apart from those few points, there were so many good truths in this book; I DO recommend it!
Read this book! Be inspired to live a life patterned after Jesus’ 1,000 days earthly ministry!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
1000 Days
By Jonathan Falwell
Thomas Nelson, 2012
English, 240 pgs
Description:
An opportunity to meet Jesus Christ like never before.
Have you ever thought that when Jesus Christ came to earth more than two thousand years ago, he could have simply given us salvation-period!-and never done another single thing? Jesus Christ could have chosen to be born of a virgin, live for 33 years in relative obscurity, die on the cross, be buried, and rise from the dead three days later, and still give us the opportunity for salvation without doing any of the things we read about in the gospels.
Yet there was more.
For three years-roughly 1,000 days-Jesus served in public ministry while on earth. He didn't need to do this ministry, yet he did anyway, and that's the key for us. This intentionality implies that there is a lot of information in Scripture that we need to grapple with. We need to understand what Jesus said and did during his 1,000-day public ministry, so we can apply his teachings to our lives today.
What makes these 1000 days of Christ so vitally important?
Jesus' public ministry was to help us understand what true love is all about-both for God and for other people. When we love God and others first, the rest of life falls into place: our possessions, our ambitions, our hopes and our dreams. Jesus modeled everything he taught, and his invitation is to make his mission our mission too.
Review:
Nothing really new. It was a great book but nothing super profound written.
There are questions at the end of every chapter that can be used for individual or small group study. There is also a Bible study guide at the back of the book with leader helps.
I received a copy of the book in exchange for a review. No additional compensation has been received and I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read for Christians, both young and old

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
youthpastor
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jonathan Falwell, son of renowned Jerry Falwell, recently wrote and released a book entitled, “A Thousand Days.” Both interesting and informative, I recommend this book to both new believers or seasoned Christians.
The book details the approximate 1000 days of Jesus' ministry. He explores a chronological look at the ministry of Jesus, pointing to the example that Christ set for all of us to follow. Each chapter starts with a story or illustration to set the stage for the spiritual truth to be discussed. I especially appreciated that the author took time to examine the importance of specific words in scripture and their original meanings. Many times the original language packs a greater punch than our modern English translations.
At the end of each chapter, the author poses questions appropriate for personal reflection or to be discussed in a small group setting. This certainly affords the reader an opportunity to facilitate a study based upon the spiritually challenging material presented in each section.
Whereas some theological works express spiritual truths in a manner difficult for some to understand, Jonathan Falwell crafts a book comprehensible by readers of all ages. Both inspirational and enlightening, this book deserves a place on every Christian's bookshelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Terrific resource for seekers and new Christians!

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
MuseReviews
Location:Southern USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From son and successor of notable preacher and author Jerry Falwell comes a new book about the days of earthly ministry of Jesus.
Jonathan Falwell’s 1000 Days is an in-depth look at the roughly three years of public ministry in which Jesus took part (i.e., 1,000 days).
This book talks about the fact that Jesus could have very well come to earth, spent 33 years in relative obscurity, died on the cross, and gone into heaven, still giving us the opportunity for salvation and eternal life.
Yet He chose to do more. Much more. The 3 years Jesus spent in personal, public ministry to others — teaching, preaching, speaking, healing, fellowshipping — none of that was without reason or without purpose.
From why Jesus chose common men (fishermen, tax collectors, and the like) to assist Him in His ministry, to why he waited to perform certain miracles while he did others immediately, to His run-ins with the griping Pharisees — it all had a purpose. Everything Jesus did, every word He spoke was intentional. Most of it is recorded in the pages of the Bible, allowing it to be a constant, recirculating message to us, a shining example of how to live life and love others, gain faith and resist temptation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1,000 Days by Jonathan Falwell

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arkatox
Location:Illinois
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not into nonfiction, but occasionally I come across a book of the genre that I truly enjoy. 1,000 Days is a book that focuses on the later life of Jesus Christ, i.e. the story told in the Gospels that takes place throughout a three-year period, or roughly one thousand days.
Jonathan Falwell, son and successor to the renowned Jerry Falwell, is an intelligent and resourceful wordsmith, and he expertly crafted a masterpiece. Each of the fifteen chapters centers on a separate subject, moving chronologically in the order of events that happened or the points that Jesus made. Nonfiction is not something I read easily, but 1,000 Days held my interest enough to get me all the way through. Falwell studied parts of the Bible his entire life, as his father was a pastor before him, and he's visited most of the locations Jesus traveled. Few would be as qualified to write this book as he.
Many of the chapters start with stories; some well-known, perhaps from a classic novel or a TV series. They are used very well as metaphorical examples of whatever the chapter is going to talk about, and though the transition between storytelling and discussing history is not always perfect, both aspects of the book are quite intriguing and keep the reader's attention. The stories I had been already familiar with contributed to my admiration of the book.
1,000 Days does have its downsides. Almost all of the scripture quotations are from the New King James version of the Bible, and though many people are fascinated by the old language, it often makes points made in this book hard to understand. In addition, though the editing and quality were very admirable throughout the book, the last 2-3 chapters seemed as though they hadn't gone through their final draft of editing. I can say, however, that these downsides did not lessen the fact that this book is a great read.
In the end, I would highly recommend this piece. 1,000 Days is full of great and valid points, and it knows how to generally make a reader interested. It forces the reader to reflect a lot on their own life and really think about who they are in relation to Christ. As I read through the book, I often found myself wanting to recommend it to people (a pastor, a school friend, my mother, etc.). I was torn between giving it a four star rating or a five star rating, but since there is no "four-and-a-half star" rating on consumer websites, I rounded it to the nearest whole number. 1,000 Days receives five stars.
1,000 Days was publicly released on March 13, 2012 and was sent to me for free from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I found this book easy to understand

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1000 days: The Ministry of Christ is a powerful devotional based on Jesus time on this earth. Written by Jonathan Falwell, you will find the study very helpful in understanding your purpose as a Christian.
What is our purpose? As you read about Jesus life and model your ministry after His, you will find that our purpose is to love others and show them His love. By being more like Him we will have an impact on those around us. At the end of the chapters there are helpful questions to further your study. These are good to do on your own or in a small group Bible study.
I found the information about Jesus and the times He lived in to be very insightful. I learned from this study! The end of the book has a list of the events of Jesus life while He was here on earth; this was the most helpful section in the book. You can follow Jesus ministry here on earth by reading these passages in the order they are presented. This is a great resource to study the events of His life on your own.
Overall I found the book easy to understand and think you would definitely benefit from reading it!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 1000 Days: The Ministry Of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Live christlike; worth read if u have time

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
joyives
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1000 Days: The Ministry of Christ by Jonathan Falwell is a book about encouraging readers to live our the example of life that Jesus left us. Falwell points out that if life was just about salvation and getting our tickets to heaven, Jesus could have been born and died on the cross. But the mere fact that Christ lived out the perfect Christian life for 3.5 years had to mean something. Christ left us this example for us to follow, not for us to just ignore. Although the book isn't deep, it is truthful and a good reminder to Christians to live the life that we are called to. The stories in the book (passages about Jesus) also are things we have heard before, but it is good to hear them again. So this is a good solid book but not outstanding. But still worth the read.
Falwell writes, "My heart has found an answer to its restlessness in the person of Jesus Christ, and I know you can find this same peace and purpose too." His book is about "meet with Jesus Christ like never before. It is a journey to understand His teachings, model your life after His example, and follow Him in a new way." "Get a sense of what it is that Jesus wants us to know about what He did, what He said, who He is, and what He wants us to do about that."
Falwell tells us that Jesus preached for 1000 days to give us an example to follow. Christ could have just been born and died on the cross. He didn't have to preach for 3 1/2 years and leave us an example, but he has. So, what will we do about it? Will we stay sitting in our comfortable homes or get up and do something about it and follow Christ's example? Falwell challenges readers, "Maybe you are one of the comfortable. You are a God-follower, a genuine Christian, but you really don’t want to get out of your seat. You don’t want to share your faith. The mission scares you or simply doesn’t interest you. You, too, have a choice to make. Your invitation is to travel that road with Jesus."
"The bull’s-eye of that target is that you and I become more like Jesus. Remember that He could have skipped His three-year ministry and gone straight to Calvary, except that He wanted us to see what a holy life looks like."
Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher for this unbiased review. I am not required to give positive reviewsDisclaimer: I received this book from the publisher for this unbiased review. I am giving my honest review, as positive reviews are not required..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>