Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions

Thomas Nelson Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions

Over the years, Lucado has received thousands of questions in letters and e-mails---and even on coffee shop napkins! In this collection arranged in a Q&A format, he pens thoughtful personal responses to more than 150 queries on parenting quandaries, financial challenges, difficult relationships, the role of prayer, the reason for hope, and more. 256 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.311 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(151 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
48
3 stars
20
2 stars
4
1 star
1
140 out of 15193%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Review 1 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is in question & answer format.

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doc King
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a huge Lucado fan. The format of this book, however, really did not speak to me. I did not realize when I purchased it that it was in Q and A format. It wasn't "deep" enough for me. I did not rate it poorly, however, because I feel my views are merely based on personal preference and are not a reflection of the book's quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

general life advice book

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Triple Shot
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Max on Life
by Max Lucado
Let me first say that I really generally enjoy anything that Max writes, but this is not the type of book I would typically purchase for myself, nor is it a book I would purchase as a gift for someone.
It is a compilation of life questions regarding topics such as hope, hurt, help, him/her, home, haves/have-nots, and the hereafter. The questions are based on letters, emails, calls, questions etc from people like you and me. I think this would be a good read for an airplane flight or a road trip in the car - as it has short little question and answer chapters. Easy to pick up and put down. Although there is definite substance in the answers, I personally prefer the short stories used in Mr. Lucado's other books like No Wonder They Call Him the Savior.
Max's understanding of God's grace shines through his often unexpected, honest answers to some of the questions. I'm sure that these are the stand-out questions that Max has received repeatedly through his years of servanthood, and that weighed the most on his heart. I'm just not sure that it was worth writing an entire book for these questions. Perhaps they would have just as easily been answered on a blog or as an addendum to another book related to the topics.... just my opinion.
Disclaimer: I received this book form free from Book Sneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Norma
Location:Salida, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love everything Max Lucado does. I have almost everything he has written and I re-read many of them time and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good resource

Date:August 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
James Mang
Location:Erie, PA
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is another good book by Max. The only (minor) complaint I have is that I wish some of his answers would have gone deeper. It is a great collection of answers to questions most Christians probably have at one time or another and a good resource to use when others ask you for answers to things that are troubling them. Good book and great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful

Date:July 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Theresa Low
Location:Singapore
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find the questions and answers in this book very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the way Max Lucado writes!

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
VMSeeks
Location:Springfield MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado's books are always written where the "everyday" person can understand. This book is good because I think we all have questions we don't ask, or need answers and don't know what to ask.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy reading and great insight

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
jude
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book for all family members. Leave the book in a place where all can have access. Stories are great for how to live out lives
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Reference Tool for Life's Questions!

Date:February 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan@CreativeBibleStudy.com
Location:Louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever wished you could sit down with a pastor and ask them any life question and get a sound Biblical answer? How about if this pastor was Max Lucado answering those heart rendering questions for you?! In his book, Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions, Max gives Biblical answers to some of life’s most pressing questions that have been collected from real people like you and me. Questions cover topics that deal with who God is, how to walk through the Christian life hurts and all, marriage & family, work & money, and many other questions from everyday life. Then from his rich experience of being a pastor, author, husband & father, Max gives practical Biblical answers. Written in his easy-to-understand manner this book is one that will be kept as a handy reference tool. Both a topical index as well as a Scripture index is included in the back for quick reference. Not only is this book a great resource for personal use, but it can also be a valuable tool in equipping us to answer questions for others that may be in our family, friends, Sunday school class, or other acquaintances. This is uniquely Lucado writing but also uniquely different from all his other books. This is sound doctrine for real, everyday life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
YS533
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a good book for everyone who wants to know more about every aspect of life through God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent reference; especially for new Christians

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trellis Poe
Location:Clearwater FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Max never fails to encourage and enlighten. His common sense and Biblical interpretation are helpful for one to get grounded in areas of concern. I am always proud to give one of his books, especially this one, as a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Max on Life

Date:December 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Berea, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Max on Life is a book written by Max Lucado and is his answers to questions that people have submitted to him in various ways over the years. The book is divided into sections that can be read individually or the book can be read from cover to cover.
I normally love reading Max’s books and I looked forward to receiving this one when I chose to review it. Since this isn’t a novel it was quite different from the other books that I have read by him. The answers, while biblical, are not as deep as I would have liked. This is a great resource for those who have just come to know Christ as their savior, a good book to place on the living room table when people are visiting, or something to use in a new believer small group.
Some of the questions are interesting and have led me to a deeper search into the answers myself. Other questions may surprise the reader and I will leave those up to you to find.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Max On Life

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
pkjsbooks
Location:West Virginia
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Max On Life by Max Lucado
Max takes on answering the big questions about Life' Faith he also touches on money and raising kids.This book is also broken down in to seven sections called Hope, Hurt, Help,Him Her, Home,Have and the Have nots and the Here After. this book also has a topical index, and also a scriptural index that can take you to any thing you want to know.
While i enjoyed reading Mr Lucado's answers this wasn't a favorite book for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Relevant & real. A Must-Have book!

Date:November 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catheryn Chuah
Location:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A collection and list of Q & A. Extremely easy to read. The categorised topics also made it a breeze to refer to. Straightforward, relevant, real and most (not all) of the remarks was concluded with a Bible verse readers can use as reference. A compilation of real and day-to-day questions from readers and accompanied by Max's personal opinions and experiences. Addressing issues about families, parenting, Christianity, financial, relationship etc.
This is a very good & valuable guidance book everyone and every family should have keep in their bookshelf.
And... a very nice and handsome profile picture of Max on the cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deep Insight of Life's Questions

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Cordoba, ES
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going through the book, Max Lucado brings hope to my life by answering important questions which seem menial to people. The book is divided into different sections making it easy for me to find what questions I had on my mind first.
The questions of life are answered in a very systematic and easily understood manner. Multiple sections which cover different areas of life, from finances to the question of God. I would recommend everyone to take a look at this book and dwell in the life which God gives to each of us freely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just Average

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Runner
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my first book to read of Max Lucado. Even though it had many thoughtful insights from years of experience, it didn't captivate me. It also didn't read with any flow.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
mazziemo
Location:Scotland
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Max on Life” by Max Lucado is great, as I knew of Max Lucado and have read a couple of his books before so I thought his book would be a good read too.
In this book Max Lucado answers many of the questions that he has been asked throughout his career.The book is divided into seven sections. There are questions answered on Hope, Hurt, Help, Him/Her, Hereafter and Have/Have Nots .Each question has its own chapter and so with the different sections it is easy to just dive into the book and into a particular section that may be of interest to you. Max Lucado answers these questions with candor, honesty and warmth and with frankness too.
I liked the fact it was not a book to read all in one, you could IF you really wanted, but it is not ment to be that way.I think it is a book to read and enjoy over a period of time and to take time to digest the questions and answers. A good book for discussion if others have read it too. The book is for adults and older children I would say, as some of the concepts would not be grasped by younger children. Also this is a great book for a person who is "searching" to answers of life and death. It could lead them to a wonderful loving God.
Max Lucado answers with candor and honesty and warmth. I liked his frankness too within the answers he gives to some difficult questions and so gives the reader some things to be thinking about.
I would recommend "Max On Life" to everyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisa Boykins
Location:South Bend, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Max Lucado, his books have helped me through many storms and have inspired me to look at things from a different perspective. Thats my confirmation of the annointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

THis book answers many of life's hard questions

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Steve
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I finished reading Max Lucado’s book Max On Life, I would say that his answer’s to many of life’s hard questions were well thought out and scripturally based. The biggest struggle that I had with this book was after a few chapters the answer he gave seem to be repeated over and over. I understand that the Bible does hold the answers to all of life’s struggles. But it seemed that he used the same scripture to answer all the questions. So for me by time I reached the end of the book I found that I somewhat bored. I would recommend this book for anyone who may be struggling at some point in their life and are looking for answers. I do think that this book would be a better reference book that you would turn to when you are looking for a place to start when looking for answers to life’s hard questions. Because I do think if you read this book straight through you’ll find that many of the chapters will sound very much alike. Over all I would give this book 3 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great as Usual

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer927
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome book and awesome questions in the book. Scripture references for every question and topic and he didn't skimp when it came to answering the tough stuff!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Max on Life: Answers and Insights to Your Most Important Questions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
daleboston
Location:Fredericton, NB
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Max on Life – What I have always liked Max; in his way how he tackles all situations and how honest he is. I love the way uses scripture for his answers. Max uses languages that everyone understands and we know what he is saying. Max on Life is a great book to use as a reference; use a study or for new followers in Christ that have a lot of questions.
What I like about the book is that I do not feel that Max always gives complete answers but he give us a starting point. He gives us scripture to read and to look at what the Bible says about each topic. I find that each question are good ice breakers for topics that can be discussed for each topic. It is a great book because I think it covers every question that people want to ask but maybe wouldn’t ask it themselves.
The book contained a lot of question that I have always had and Max gives me answers, scriptures and helpful ways to understand the answers to those questions. Thanks Max for let God using you.
Booksneeze.com recommends I give a short paragraph on the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...8Next >>>