Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things

Thomas Nelson The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things

In The Gospel According to Jesus Pastor Chris Seay contends that Christ came to breathe life and light into the the brokenness of our dark world. Rather than upholding the faith as a type of personal piety or code of moral purity, Seay teaches that the true Gospel lives according to the manner and teachings of Christ. Let pastor Chris teach you the deeply personal and spiritual transformation that comes with the practice of true Christianity!
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 out of 1669%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Review 1 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Challenging

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book centres itself at least in my perspective around the term “shalom.” Chris Seay uses this term to describe this state of restored relationship with God and with those around us. For the author are all called to live in and embrace others in shalom and help others find shalom in their own lives.
The gospel is the good news that God is calling out all people to be redeemed by the power residing in the life, death, and ultimate resurrection of Jesus the Liberating King. These ‘called-out ones’ are rescued from a life of slavery, sin, and failure to become emissaries in a new kingdom set to join the redemption of the entire creation, groaning and longing to be redeemed. 49
I really did enjoy this book and I found that it did challenge me in my faith and how I live it out everyday. However, that being said I found it to be a difficult read as I found myself losing interest at times. I found that odd because it was not as if it was not helpful, or interesting, I just found that it was a book that you would read a bit and then set it down to think over the challenges that were laid before you through the words of the author.
Chris Seay is attempting to right a misunderstanding between understanding the true meaning and actions that define a righteousness. The conversation and I would say the conclusion that Seay came to is that the majority of church going individuals define righteousness through their understanding of morality and not through the message of the gospels.
The best simple translation of the word righteousness is ‘restorative justice.’ God is stepping into our brokenness and making things right, taking fragments shattered by sin and restoring them to fullness. The reality is that God is calling us to take part in his glory, which comes from heaven to earth, and to live in his abundance, together. Seeking his righteousness is about being an active agent for his restorative justice in all of creation. 12
I will say that I did lose most of my interest at the end of every chapter when their was a manuscript of an interview between one or two individuals and the author. At first I liked the premise of this idea, but I found that they did not provide the necessary ah ha moments for me that I hoped a practical discussion around the chapter would have provided.
I really enjoyed the discussion on how we can jump the gun and call things of this world, or individuals evil without thinking through what the connotations of that statement really represent in the eyes of God.
Modern Christians have taken a previously integrated world and subdivided it into the sacred or secular, physical or spiritual, good or bad, profane or religious—categories that do not serve us well because they are simply untrue. God created the physical, and that makes it uniquely spiritual. The so-called “bad people” are also created in the image of God. 146
The author wants the reader to imagine seeing people as “shalom” or “broken shalom” rather than good or bad. If you see them as broken shalom, you’re not allowed to look down on them; instead, you are called to join God in his redemptive work in their lives.
I would not say this is a must read. I probably would not have read it if I had not heard him speak at a conference I attended, but I wanted to go deeper into his ideas of righteousness and shalom.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay book

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Caitlin
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The Gospel According to Jesus" by Chris Seay was a mediocre book. While I liked the subject matter and I think that it was well written and even amusing in parts, I think that the majority of what was written really just mimics the gospels, Romans and Acts from the Bible. To me, I could just sit down and study those books of the Bible and probably come to the same place, though I do see purpose for others for this book, it just wasn't for me personally. I can see lots of potential for a bible study group for new believers. The book has a nice way of ending each chapter where the author talks to friends of his who are pastors or thelogians, and it is nice to be able to read a sort of interview in a relaxed sort of way with other evangelicals. There is also a prayer in each chapter which is a nice way to get a clear picture of something specific to pray for when reading the book, which is again good for new believers. There is a pretty interesting section of the book that talks about the findings of a survey the author had done for this book about what people think of righteous. All in all, the book isn't bad in the least, I just think that it is more suited for the new Christian, or someone that isn't yet a believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good book, just not unique

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Keysville, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay, I'm going to be honest, this was a tough read for me. It's not that it wasn't well written (it was) or that it did not have some unique aspects (I enjoyed the interviews at the end of each chapter), it 's just that this book travels down the same road as several others I have recently read. Essentially, it's a book on discipleship. After reading Stearns' 'The Hole in Our Gospel' and 'Starving Jesus' by Gross and Mahon, and 'The Christian Atheist' by Craig Groeschel, this book struggled to keep my interest.
Seay begins with the fact that the term 'righteousness' is widely misunderstood in Christendom and that we mostly relate it to behavior modification. He then argues that to achieve righteousness we must live as Jesus lived (i.e. become a disciple of Jesus). He gives a chapter on what we were created to be (image bearers of God) and why we fail at this (because we are sinful), and then he spends the rest of the book on how we can live in relationship with Christ. At the end of each chapter he interviews some well known church leaders on how they accomplish this in their lives. Personally, I got more from the interviews than any other part of the book.
The book is written with a somewhat 'anti-establishment' voice that is common to many young writers and ministers who are trying to shape the Church into an effective institution for post-modern culture, yet he doesn't try to purposefully offend anyone. His call to live in relationship rather than with regulations is spot-on. If you haven't read any books on discipleship, this would be a good start, although there are several others that I think share the same message much more effectively.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall a good book

Date:November 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Iowa
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Gospel According to Jesus is an attempt by Chris Seay to show the fullness of what the gospel/good news is all about. Focusing on the highlights of the biblical narrative - creation in God's image, sin, redemption, righteousness, religion, brokenness and community with God and each other - the author shows how the gospel is meant to transform as well as to save. He shows how the gospel is often distorted into a social act or a spiritual act and that the two need to be held up together.
Probably my favorite portion of the book deals with the false dilemma that the gospel is either a social call for justice or a spiritual call for holiness. The author gives many biblical references about how the gospel includes those things, but encompasses so much more. It makes the point that we need each other also, just as we need God, to learn how to forgive and exercise the gospel not only on a personal level, but also in our relationships. The book ends each chapter with a prayer and a brief interview with some of the author's well known pastoral friends. While I'm sure some will like this part, I thought it broke up the flow of the book and it just didn't fit with me, just a matter of taste I guess. Otherwise the book is a good overview of the gospel and I would recommend it to those either new to the faith, or for those that feel their faith is just running through the motions.
Disclosure Note: Thomas Nelson has been gracious enough to give me a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jack
Location:West Bend
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I finally got done recently with the latest offering from Chris Seay entitled The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith that Restores all Things. This book tackles the fact that 84% of Christians do not even understand the concept of righteousness. In the book Seay gives us a clear understanding of this and lays it out in a way that is easy to understand. I did not find this book challenging to my current thoughts which is okay since I was on the same page for most of the book. This could be why it took me awhile to plod through this book while reading others. One of my favorite chapters though was Justification: Rise or Fall. This was particularly useful in a recent small group setting dealing with a common subject of good works. I pointed to the equation in this chapter of Jesus+anything does not equal Christian salvation. Although simple it helps to underscore our righteousness in God's eyes. I did enjoy this book but I did find it to be a beginners guide that would serve well with new Christians and a refresher for those that are strong in their faith and understanding of righteousness.
I did receive this book for free in exchange for an honest review from Booksneeze. I was not obligated to give a good review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hard Read

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary hess
Location:Summerville, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was a good read. I believe Chris is trying to convey how differently we should be living our lives if we are truly to live it the way Jesus intended for us. He has great interviews with key people from around the nation that have successful churches that are reaching out to the world through different, sometimes unconventional means. This isn't a book to speed-read through. And while I didn't agree with everything I read in it, there were definitely points that Chris made I'm having to really process and think through. If you're looking for a different perspective on outreach and evangelism, then this may be the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
TN MOM
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Gospel According To Jesus by Chris Seay
I was very excited to get the book titled: The Gospel According To Jesus by Chris Seay. I had never heard of this author but the small preview looked like a great read. I have to say I was very disappointed. This book was supposedly about the church and our misunderstanding of the meaning of righteousness.
This is the first book that I have reviewed for Thomas Nelson's Book Sneeze that was difficult for me to get through. I would have put it down and not completed it if it were not for the review I had agreed to do on this book. I felt that this author's thoughts were scattered and difficult to follow. At times, I even found some comments to be offensive. I felt like more of the book was about him and his friends' opinions than scripture backing. I found very few items that made me think in a way that he was wanting me to think. I would not recommend this book. I feel it was a huge letdown.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hopeful

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My kind of book.
In The Gospel According to Jesus, Chris Seay fearlessly delves into why the church isn’t functioning as it should. The meaning of righteousness has become so clouded many of us can’t even pinpoint the true understanding of the word.
Throughout the book Seay offers hope.
By providing layered, detailed conversations with church leaders Seay highlights beautiful ways we can join together as a church and live out Jesus’s vision for our lives.
I underlined all over my copy of this book. It was hard to choose, but I wanted to give you a taste of what I experienced while reading The Gospel According to Jesus. Here are a few messages that spoke with such command; Morgan Freeman might as well have been dictating them into my ear as I read…
“Is it possible that we have ignored Jesus—our wild, messianic King –and chosen to re-create Jesus in the image of the Pharisees themselves?”
“What does it look like to collaborate with God? It means letting God wrap his heart around your own while letting go of the control of your own heart and binding to his passion. It is allowing yourself to be his pulse on the earth, to be filled with his desire to make things new. It is seeing and presenting his view of the world by reflecting his light into every place. Yes, every place, no matter how dark.”
“We cannot be pupils of Jesus unless we are willing to drop our own desperate attempts to fix ourselves, turn in acceptance and humility, and begin to truly learn, to take instruction.”
“The question is, what are we supposed to be doing in this world?”
If you believe we’ve misrepresented the foundation of what Jesus came to share, but also believe there’s hope for us to begin shining a new light, you’ll devour this book. Seay stirred my thoughts, jumpstarted my heart and reminded me how important it is to drop to my knees in prayer.
It’s a good book.
*I received a copy of this book in exchange for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hard Read

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
daleboston
Location:Fredericton, NB
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As I starting reading "The Gospel According to Jesus" it was hard to read, I am glad that I was reading it for a review because I might not of finished reading it. Chris makes a lot of great points and believe he has a great heart but I found this book very confusing to read, Not really sure what the point was and seem to put a lot of random thoughts together. Really enjoyed the last chapter and gave me some food for thought.
When he talks about a church that follows rules, I thought that this might have been an older book, this is a church that I experienced about twenty-five years ago and does not seem to fit the mold of the churches were I live. But I felt what he wrote because I have been there. I felt Chris talk too much on theology and doctrine; and not enough on LOVE which is the "The Gospel According to Jesus".
This will be a book that I will eventually read again, to try to find if I am missing the point.
This book was provided for review by Booksneeze.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Look at the Gospel

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Gospel According to Jesus by Chris Seay is a fresh look at the scriptures and the truth of the Gospel. As Seay states, “We are all called to be the hands and feet of Christ, to radically change the world.” In his book, Seay explores what it means to have righteousness and seek the Kingdom of God first. He believes that too many Christians misunderstand righteousness and the truth of the Gospel. They become bound up by rules and obligations much like the Pharisees in the time of Jesus. His information is well presented in the book, using references from scripture. Each chapter ends with an interview with other leaders in the church community to further expand on the ideas presented. The other statement from the book that really imprinted my mind was when Seay wrote, “When we cease to shine forth as people who seek first and foremost to glorify God, we have lost our way.” He discusses the objects and beliefs of our world that prevent us from seeking God first, as we are all broken people equal in the eyes of God.
In the second half of the book, Seay goes on to tell us how we can strive to live toward Shalom. (a Hebrew word meaning peace and completeness) He gives some practical suggestions of how we can live our lives to bring God’s Kingdom here in our world.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Explaining 'The Gospel According to Jesus'

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bernie
Location:Hoschton, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oftentimes in Christianity today, we operate under the assumption that the Gospel is simply a message used by evangelists, teachers and preachers to bring people to a decision for salvation. In this book, Pastor Chris Seay sets out to reveal that the Gospel is so much more than simply a message of salvation … it is individual and community life where Christ Jesus lives in and through His children drawing and attracting people in the world around us unto Himself and His Kingdom.
Throughout the book Pastor Seay challenges many of the assumptions of western Christianity and the religion that oftentimes tends more to hinder the work of Christ than equip believers in His work. In his own unique way, he then proceeds to describe the characteristics of a Christ filled and Gospel driven life. Each chapter begins with the author's teaching and explanation regarding a characteristic then closes with a conversation among his pastor-author friends on that characteristic. This format really worked for me as he touched on the topics of righteousness, the Kingdom, the Gospel, imago dei, sin, the heart, justification and shalom. The book then closes with with a fascinating look at what this Christ filled and Gospel driven life might look like … what the fruit of a good tree looks like.
This book challenged me to not only count myself among the rescued but to also count myself among the rescuers, remembering from whence I came … and joining Jesus in His rescue, reconciliation and redemption mission. Excellent message – excellent book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chris Seay challenges us to act!

Date:October 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carin
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, I had doubts about this book before I read it. Knowing that the author had written books with references to popular television shows (Lost and the Sopranos) in the title, I was skeptical. I'm happy to say that this book far exceeded my expectations and brought me to tears on more than one occasion.
For me, the essence of this book is that we are all human, we are all God's creation, and we were all made in His image. None of us is more important or more worthwhile than the other. Seay challenges readers to step outside of their comfort zone and interact with people we normally wouldn't. We are all broken before Christ.
Seay emphasizes the practical side of Christianity, claiming that the so-called "rules" are not what is important, but our behaviour and actions towards other people is what counts. Loving one another, regardless of our differences, regardless of our beliefs, says Seay, is what we are commanded to do.
The book states that we were "saved for a purpose." Seay lists some heartbreaking statistics about the state of our world today: 40 million people are living with HIV/AIDS; 24,000 children are dying every day (1 every 3.6 seconds); 5,760 children become orphans each day. One of my favorite quotes from the book was this: "Our greatest failures cannot be blamed on our resources or capacity, only our wills." People around the world are not dying because the earth lacks resources; they are not dying because of a lack of ability or knowledge. People--children--are dying because we are turning a blind eye to them. This book urges us to open our eyes and start helping.
Thompson Nelson Publishers have provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the good news should be good

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
mojo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whenever I hear the name Chris Seay, I always think of the Robbie Seay band. Maybe someone can tell me if they are related, because if they are not – they should be. (I’m just saying.) But Chris is actually the Pastor of Ecclesia Church in Houston, the President of the Ecclesia Bible Society and Translator of The Voice bible.
Chris’ newest book “The Gospel According to Jesus” (not to be confused with John MacArthur’s book) offers a fresh look into the theme of righteousness. In this book, Chris writes that Jesus came to bring new life into the darkest areas of life and that the “true gospel” means wholeness and healing to the world. Being “saved” isn’t just some ritual law code that Christians follow to have pious lives, but that the gospel is a movement of rebuilding that transforms the lives of individuals from within.
Chris offers this quote from Leslie Newbigin…
“I think we’ve used the word gospel without giving as much attention as we need to the question of what actually we mean by that word. We don’t mean Christianity. Christianity is what generations of us have made the gospel and we know we have often made a mess of it…The specific responsibility which has been given to the church and to nobody else is the responsibility to bear witness to the reality of Jesus victory.”
But what often happens is the church becomes the “inside” and the rest of the world is the “outside.”
Inside good….
Outside bad…
Those on the inside are the “chosen frozen” (as an old mentor of mine was fond of saying) and the outside are the “dirty sinners.”
Chris writes, “Many Christians see the world this way, and are blind in their point of view. It’s time to stop categorizing one another and call this line of site what it is: heresy, specifically Gnosticism. Our broken ideology can be rescued when we forsake the “sacred versus secular” labels and see what has been redeemed and what is in need of redemption. People are not good or bad; they are simply broken, and God has either restored them to shalom or is seeking to restore them…” (page 148)
I really enjoyed this book, it often reminded me of Andrew Farley’s book, and some of the other Jesusy gospel books I have been reading. At times, I felt this book was a “hey we all gotta do something” book. In some places it’s a call to arms to pick up that shovel or piece of bread and in other places its an extensive look at the Roman road.
An interesting part to this book is that at the end of each chapter there is a brief interview with other pastors and writers concerning the chapters previous topic. You get to hear from great voices like Shane Claiborne and Mark Batterson, Dan Kimball and others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

required reading for Christians/the Church today

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
markbraye
Location:Temiskaming Shores, Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
there's a scary trend among Christians and the Church today. according to research conducted by Chris Seay and Barna Research Group 84% of Christians are living a distorted Christian life and misunderstand the essential tenents of their faith.
at times, sadly, we can all miss the point.
for too long we've made Christianity about morality, piety, conservative politics, and a list of dos and don'ts.
author and pastor Chris Seay's latest book is The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith that Restores All Things.
the text is great. Seay covers right (correct) righteousness, the Kingdom of God, the Gospel, justification, and among other topics, shalom. he tells stories, quotes other great writers, and expounds on these topics to highlight the importance they have for the Christian faith.
my favorite passage from The Gospel According to Jesus comes after Seay quotes Luke 15:1-7...
"Many Christians see the world this way, and are blind in their point of view. It's time to stop categorizing one another and call this line of sight what it is: heresy, specifically Gnosticism. Our broken ideology can be rescued when we forsake the 'sacred versus secular' labels and see what has been redeemed and what is in need of redemption. People are not good or bad; they are simply broken, and God has either restored them to shalom or is seeking to restore them to shalom. Imagine seeing people as 'broken shalom' or 'shalom,' rather than good or bad. If you see them in the midst of broken shalom, it does not allow you to look down on them; instead, it calls you to join God in his redemptive work in their lives. What a beautiful privilege."
(Chris Seay, The Gospel According to Jesus, page 148)
most of the quotes and passages of Scripture are taken from The Voice, which is a wonderful translation/paraphrase of the Bible.
at the end of each chapter, except chapter nine, Seay includes conversations he's had with other leading writers and thinkers in Christianity today: Dan Kimball, Gabe Lyons, Mark Batterson, Rick McKinley, Shanr Claiborne, and Alan Hirsch.
The Gospel According to Jesus is required reading. it will shake-up and wake-up todays Church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Gospel According to Jesus is Pretty Good!

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
YMinister1204
Location:Athens, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“The Gospel According to Jesus” by Chris Seay
This book is a great analysis of the current state of modern-day views on righteousness. Seay does an incredible job of connecting the word righteousness to a discussion of justice, rather than just an accepted belief that righteousness is doing good things. Most Christians think that righteousness is simply doing something good. However, there is a difference in how the Christian will live when he or she understands that doing what is right is a good thing, but it is not righteousness by definition. Seay instead suggests that righteousness is defined as God’s “restorative justice.”
The other major discussion hosted by Seay in this book is what it means to live a life of shalom. Shalom, a word representing peace, is given to people who come in contact with God’s “restorative justice.” Seay discusses the ten ideas that can lead a person to a shalom lifestyle in the final chapter of the book, giving great insight into how any person can develop this mentality, not just Christians. The one detraction that I would offer concerning this book is that Seay seems to have had a negative experience with a more traditional-style church and that carries over into some of the writings in this book. Overall, however, this book was an excellent read and gave some excellent thoughts in the idea of how the church’s definition of righteousness has changed throughout the years.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:October 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Harter
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
“The Gospel According To Jesus” by Chris Seay, would be more properly titled: “The Gospel According To Chris Seay,” although after reading it I’m still not certain that what his definition of the gospel was, or how it was involved in this book. He opened the book by addressing some problems in the church, mainly the lack of the understanding of the word righteousness (which he also failed to give the definition of).
I was very excited about reading this book… that is until I started reading it. While the author has some amazing thoughts, he takes them to extremely unbiblical proportions. I would caution anyone who reads this book to be very discerning. In all honesty I wouldn’t have even finished this book if it wasn’t required of me. The interviews in between the chapters made it hard to follow, and interrupted the flow of reading for me. I think that his target audience is one that is up to speed with pop culture (aka the secular scene). If you are not, then this book really won’t hold much for you. Either way, I will not be recommending this book to anyone, as I do not think it holds much Biblical truth. Again, he had great thoughts, backed with Scripture, but taken to unbiblical proportions.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
ministerdoc
The Gospel According to Jesus A Faith that Restores All Things By Chris SeayPosted on September 24, 2010 by ministerdocGod Is Waiting And Is Ready For His People That Are Called By His Name To Stand Up And Be What He Demands From Us.Chris Seay Has Tapped Into The Biggest Thing Going On In The Church Today. Saints Of God Needing To Stand And Be What As Christians We Need To Be.This Book Is A Eye Opener For Followers Of Christ .To Strive For Excellence In A Troubled World.If You Have A Desire To Be More For Christ Than What You Are.This Is A Must ! Great Read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Gospel According to Jesus: A Faith That Restores All Things
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Colburn
An important book for new Christians as well as for those who have been 'in the way' for sometime, but have not connected with Jesus. Chris helps the reader identify and jettison the plethora of religious obstacles from the spiritual teachings of Jesus. Lo and behold, the reader discovers that the truth is not religious rules at all, but the Person Jesus. He alone is the Truth. This is not exactly earth-shattering news for many of us, but - unfortunately - it is for far too many Christians.Chris began his book with a survey he commissioned through Barna. The question was carefully designed to grasp just how Christians conceived the word: 'righteousness'. Whether unwittingly and/or just wrongly taught, many folks have come to understand righteousness in terms of things rather than Person. With a 'thing' oriented foundation, the Christian life will be built with lots of judgmental attitude rather than grace-oriented love for others - making for a rather distasteful religious presentation.The author ended each chapter with interviews which, in most cases, creatively expanded and deepened the previous discussion. Over all, Seay's writing style is easy to read and his progression of chapters are laid out adequately to convey his thesis.The gospel of Jesus is all about a change in heart that takes place not through teeth-gritting self-discipline, but through the persistent power of a Spirit-led life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.