Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective

Thomas Nelson Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective

Discover how life's broken pieces become the prism through which God's grace shines most brightly and beautifully! Likening people to stained glass, Clairmont offers help, hope, and a new perspective for women struggling in life's dark places. Includes character studies of biblical women, modern-day stories, memorable quotes, recommended music, Scripture, and prayers. 208 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.088 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
15
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3488%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Review 1 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is my favorite book!

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Laugh! I was laughing all way round... I really like to read Pasty's writings, expect to laugh, cry and inspired. It's not the type of book I would get on a long flight with. This time she uses inspire God will take the broken shards of our lives and solder them into luminous works of art. orations from art, scripture, song and prayer which I found thought provoking at times. His power to create something beautiful and with a new purpose. I t's also has excellent resource ideas from Patsy's Art Gallery at the end of each chapter, Patsy challenges us to see the beauty around us, and to view life as stained glass, something beautiful even in the storms of life. Patsy Clairmont is a poignant book for those who need a new outlook on life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Poignant Read

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rednexx Girl
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very excited to receive the book so that I could delve into it. I found myself enthralled in the pages. Patsy's candid, openness made this book one that truly will speak to you & open you to your own road of healing for your 'stained glass heart.'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is entertaining AND helpful!

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Edmonton, AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Writing out of personal experience with agoraphobia, family tragedy and a wonderful sense of humour in hindsight, Patsy Clairmont takes us on a journey that acknowledges the redemptive value of brokenness. In the first four chapters of the book, Patsy shares much of what has created her stained glass heart with stories of which most people will relate to several. With the wisdom of “60 plus years,” she conveys her stories in an easy to absorb way, and we are drawn into remembering our own stained glass stories. In the remaining chapters, Patsy takes on a journey of practices and activities that have “brought healing and color to [her] stained glass heart…”
Although captured by the imaginative title of this book, I was prepared to be underwhelmed. What I was unprepared for was the enlightenment that Patsy’s story is my story, too. The details are different, but the selfishness, depression, childish behavior, hurt, loss, longing and all the other dark experiences gained in a lifetime on this earth and relating with and to other people, also belonged to me. And that is the beauty of Patsy’s writing. Her humorous and yet pithy style reveal a genuineness that allows the reader to fully relate and jump into the story.
I was eager to learn how Patsy deals with the brokenness in her life, and chapters 5 through 13 are explorations into spiritual disciplines and practices presented in a non-preachy, experiential manner. In the form of stories and forays into the artistic world (each chapter includes various artwork to enjoy, readings, music, etc.), basic healing activities are discussed and explored.
Though not all the recommended art and readings were to my particular taste, I found my own stained glass heart being worked on in the reading of this book and I highly recommend it.
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stained Glass Hearts Book Review

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book was a forty day devotional, each day being a letter written from God's 'perspective' full of honesty and encouragement. Each letter is followed by questions that stir your mind and help you to reflect upon what you read. It also has prayer thoughts which I enjoyed thoroughly. This book portrayed Jesus' love for us in a real and open light. The devotionals were full of hope but also revealed that we do suffer, but through our suffering and by His grace we are made stronger. It inspired my to reread them over and over again, for encouragement and to remember again how it made me felt. The author did an amazing job articulating letters which God could write to us. It's not only a neat idea, but carried out brilliantly. It's not just easy-read, it makes you think, intellectually stimulating and complex. Very personal, straight to the heart, this book encourages one to see how God sees, so we can draw closer to Him.
Complimentary of Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a delightful visit with Patsy, 'm reading it again.
Highly recommended book!!! I have always enjoyed Patsy Clairmont but I think this is her best book....
I bought this book after hearing Patsy at Women of Faith Conference. It is a very easy and enjoyable read. I would recommend this book to anyone. I bought this book after hearing Patsy at Women of Faith Conference. It is a very easy and enjoyable read. I would recommend this book to anyone.
This book is wonderful, because of all the negative impact and discouragement we all get in the world, we need to be reminded Who loves us and keeps us taken care of. There are Bible verses to back up each devotion. f you can pierce through the visual barrier of the book jacket, the content will grab your heart, because it is Jesus speaking though one of his beloved daughters. f you are short on time and enjoy golden nuggets of truth regarding the bible and the personal relatinship that Jesus desires for everyone then these books are for you. Great for the beginners and seasoned faith beleivers as well.
I got a free copy of this for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
GiGi Reads
Location:New York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We read this book in my women's ministry class. We always find Patsy to be full of insight and grace. I enjyed this book very much. I look forward to more work by her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's okay

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
kaquinlan
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective is intended to help the believer see God at work among the trail of glass shards in which life leaves one’s heart. In this world, everyone experiences trials and sorrows. These leave our hearts in pieces that we may think unusable, unfixable, and undesirable. In this book, Clairmont uses art to help show the grace of God poured out to take the broken pieces of our hearts and create a stained glass masterpiece. Each chapter closes with several pieces of varying art (painting, poetry, literature, music, etc.) for the reader to google and enjoy.
I really enjoyed the first half of the book. Repeatedly, I found myself identifying with the emotions, faulty beliefs, and hopes that the Clarimont outlined. The early chapters challenged me to deeper faith. A few of the art items that she recommended were moving. But in the second half of the book, it seemed that the theme of art was forced and more central to the book than God’s grace. The final chapter was a bit redeeming as she encouraged the reader to care for the stained glass heart God is so sweetly working on. My final criticism is that the book needs more Scripture! God’s Word is what has the power to heal broken hearts! The book isn’t void of the Bible, but it often seems thrown in as an aside. Overall, I recommend the first 6 chapters and the final chapter.
(Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting and inspiring

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jade =)
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patsy Clairmont is another amazing speaker I had the privilege of hearing at the Women of Faith Conference back in August. I had never heard of her or read anything from her before, but as soon as she took the stage and started speaking, I knew I liked her style! She is feisty, and funny, and can totally speak the truth directly into your soul. I'm glad that I had the opportunity to hear her before I read this book, because it allowed me to be able to hear her voice and inflections in my head as I read along.
The book is set up as short bites of Patsy's story, insights and wisdom and then followed up with suggestions of how to dig deeper and consider the concepts more three-dimensionally. She has some wonderful suggestions of art to check out (either in the museum or ways to "google it"), songs that can touch your heart, and poems to read and ponder, as well as Scripture to reference. I think having those tangible ways to learn more really helps bring home the message, as it's so much more than just words on the page. Patsy teaches how those ugly, scary and disappointing moments in our lives can be turned into something wonderful once the light of the Lord touches it! Just like an artist can take broken shards of glass and turn them into something beautiful - a stained glass window!
I enjoyed reading this book because I thoroughly enjoy Patsy's sense of humor, and her interesting personal testimony of God's goodness. It's a fun read, insightful and inspiring. And I highly recommend taking the time to really looking up the art and music suggestions from this book - you might learn something!
I receive a copy of this book free in order to review it, the opinions are my own, honest thoughts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

encouraging

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
thinker
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an inspiring book to read. I loved that Patsy did not minimize the pain, the grief, the loneliness, the brokenness that we all encounter. In fact, she addresses each but not in ways I expected.
The pages are filled with stories. Stories that help us see Christ as One who offers grace-based love to humankind. Stories that help us see others with their stained glass hears, each one designed with delicacy and beauty. Stories that tell of redemption.
Through the telling of these stories, she encourages the reader to move beyond the hurtful events, the brokenness, the grief and see them rather as reflections of inspiration. This is not done with Christian platitudes and clichés, but rather with tenderness and honesty. These are her stories. She shares her “tattered life with its crashes and recoveries” in order that we can see a “fuller picture of Christ through the drama of what’s happened to us and how He goes about daily redemption”. (p.7)
Each chapter ends with "The Art Gallery", a section that provides suggestions for exploration. It may be a quote, or poem or music that, when explored, can inspire or bring comfort. Scripture verses are included in each of these “Art Galleries” that the reader might find encouraging.
The book is an invitation to look at our broken lives as an invitation by God to change us and to use our brokenness to create something beautiful - a stained glass heart.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Stained Glass Hearts

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tanya
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Thanks to Book Sneeze I just finished reading Stained Glass Hearts Seeing Life from a Broken Perspectiveby Patsy Clairmont. This book is a great read that will speak to readers through Patsy sharing some of her lifes experiences, scripture references, poetry, music, and art. If you have ever had the chance to hear her speak you know she is full of knowledge that she shares through her quircky humor and this is carried through in her writing also but yet more on a serious side in this book compared to some of her other books such as All Cracked Up.
In this book Patsy compares life as to that of stained glass; though broken, when put together and seen through light is really beatiful. She helps readers see that all the little parts of life, some good, some bad when put all together help shape the overall person God wants them to be.
Patsy shares about redemption and hope explaing that whereever redemption is, the light of revelation abounds. When light pierces the darkness, it’s with the proclamation of God’s redeeming love. Redemption is the rescue of humanity from sin by a sacrificial Savior, the restoration of the human heart, the reclamation of our dignity, and the revival of our purpose. Our faith journey is about grace.
One of the Bible verses referenced is; “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7
Turn over your thoughts to God and in doing so you will find His light in His Grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book...

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tina Ross
Location:PSL,FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello Friends,
Yet another great book!! Patsy will have you crying and laughing!! This book grabbed me from the first page, her spunky personality comes right out and makes for a fun read!! What I like to is at the end of each chapter she encourages you to check out a song, a book, things that she enjoys her self!!
This book will help you heal in areas that you may not know you needed to, it will draw you closer to OUR FATHER in heaven through songs and poetry, I hope you enjoy it as I have, its a keeper and a lender!
Many blessings,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Contains a lot of Wisdom!

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
EvaK
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reading Stained Glass Hearts proved to be a pleasant experience. I was initially drawn, with curiosity, as to how she would incorporate the recommendations of music, poetry, art, etc into the theme of book, as those are all things that I love. But mostly I was wondering ‘how does one see from a broken perspective?’ What kind of perspective will Stained Glass Hearts give me that will give me the chance to see my potential for color, sparkle, and great purpose through the grace of God, as it’s described on the back cover?
The descriptions the author infused into the chapters surprised me, as I didn’t expect such imagery to be found in a book like Stained Glass Hearts. Definitely one of my favorite aspects of the book. Many times I found myself rereading a paragraph because I wanted to fully capture in my mind the scene that was penned on paper.
Patsy Clairmont writes with a style that’s comfortable and familiar. She starts out the book sharing observances from her perch on a rocking chair on a cabin porch. And the feeling captured then is something that stays with the reader through out the book. You get the sense that you’re sitting with her, rocking away as well and she’s sharing, kindly and generously, the wisdom that she’s accumulated all of her years (and there are miles of the precious stuff in Stained Glass Hearts!).
It’s often very personal and sometimes right out heart-breaking, all shared with simplicity and a gentle grace. Very real. Very inspiring.
Having said all that, I found the synopsis and subtitle to be quite misleading. Here and there, what’s being said rings true to ‘seeing life from a broken perspective’, but mostly I saw the book as wanting to infuse in the reader an appreciation for art, poetry, music, and realizing how God means to bless us through the finer things in this life. That’s what the hugest chunk of the book was about, anyway. One person who read the book said that it went all over the place, and it’s something I noticed as well, but guess what? It works. Every single chapter, every life lesson shared is a different colored shard of glass and the end result is actually something quite beautiful.
Read it, when you get a chance. It’s good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet book for hurting hearts

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janelle
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stained Glass Hearts by Patsy Clairmont
While her familiar, folksy style is evident in this little book, Clairmont acknowledges that in this offering she is “revealing the solemn side of a heart etched in by loss”. Using a stained glass perspective, Clairmont acknowledges that all people have glass hearts, easily shattered, but with the potential to be restored to beauty through Jesus’ love and grace.
Especially lovely is The Art Gallery section at the end of each chapter. Here, Clairmont suggests poetry, music, or artwork that might inspire the reader to further explore the chapter topic. For example, in the chapter titled Reflections on Our Heart Condition, she suggests the reader Google the Norman Rockwell painting, Girl at Mirror, or possibly read the book Windows of the Soul by Ken Gire. I came away from Stained Glass Hearts with a long list of things to explore.
Stained Glass Hearts is a sweet book. It gently probes the hurts and heartaches that can cause a heart to shatter and, like a friend giving a hug, offers warm comfort. I recommend this book to anyone who is longing for restorative beauty in her life.
*** I was provided this book in exchange for my unbiased opinion through the BookSneeze blogger review program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spoke to my heart

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are lots of giggles and laughs in there, or it wouldn’t have been written by Patsy Clairmont, but this book has more serious or somber tones than others I have read. Patsy shares some of the broken pieces of her life, and how God has put her back together, given joy, and brought beauty through the ashes and the tears.
Since I myself am on a cancer journey, I chose to read and review this book to gain more perspective about brokenness and difficult places. Patsy transparently shares how God brought her from phobias and addictions to healing through the power of the Word and trusting God moment by moment to change thoughts and habits.
One section of the book was particularly powerful in my life. Patsy gave five suggestions for maintaining joy through pain. Three of the five were “Choose gratitude.” Gratitude and joy are both choices that we have the power to make. Even in our pain, “we can in the midst of it thank God for who he is. It is a sacrifice of praise when we acknowledge his lordship” (p. 70).
Patsy says many things in this book that we all need to heed. Every life will have struggles, losses, pain, and suffering, eventually. How we respond to these will determine whether the beauty of Christ will shine through our lives. I recommend this book, especially if you love reading Patsy Clairmont and if you are going through brokenness.
I received a free copy of Stained Glass Hearts from Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for this review.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Authentic and Real

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
twerthem
Location:stuart, fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stained Glass Hearts by Patsy Clairmont
Patsy is one of the speakers at Women of Faith. She is a small woman with a big laugh. She prefaces this book with the statement that, this may not be a funny book, but it is a helpful book.
Her authenticity shines through. She shares openly and honestly about her brokenness, specifically, her struggle with panic attacks and agoraphobia. The grace of Jesus is what set her free, and not her own performance. In the beginning of her recovery, the best she could do was to make her bed. This beginning opened the doors for greater healing.
Some of the tools she lists for recovery are community, owning our behavior, moving toward change and thinking new thoughts. In addition, we have to get honest about ourselves to be willing to let God change us. She received her healing through Jesus first and foremost, but there were various avenues that He used to set her free. They are music, prayer, poetry, books, puzzles, nature and gardens. At the end of each chapter, she provides valuable resources such as poems, scriptures, songs and books.
Overall, I enjoyed the book and the perspective of Patsy. She is vulnerable and authentic. It is so refreshing to hear from such a visible leader in the Christian community, who is willing to admit, that she does not have it all together. We all need support and I will take hers any day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautifully written book about God's redemption!

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and stayed up way to late each night reading it. I connected with what Patsy wrote on so many levels. My head and heart were nodding in agreement with her words in each chapter. I loved her writing style. It was as if she was sitting across the table from me in a cafe, two old friends, just chattin’ it up. I laughed and I learned and I knew I would be keeping this book on my shelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
DUCKgirl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Stained Glass Hearts Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
By Patsy Clairmont
Much like stained glass, life's broken pieces become the prism through which God's grace shines most brightly and beautifully.
"Life is no doubt full of difficulties, but it is also filled with promise and possibility," says best-selling author and WOF speaker Patsy Clairmont. In Stained Glass Hearts Clairmont guides readers to view the difficult experiences of life through the lens of God's grace. Using art as a theme, and likening people to stained glass windows, she shares that it's when we're surrounded by darkness that His healing light shines most brightly within us. Encouraging women to step back and see life from this new perspective, Patsy offers help and hope for the dark places of life.
Along with character studies of women in Scripture, and modern-day, relatable stories, each chapter includes:
Chalice—memorable quotes
Mosaic—recommended music
Spires—scriptures and readings
Litany—sample prayers
I didn't really like this book. I could never really get into it. It was hard to read. Just not my thing. I didn't really learn that much. I did not gain as much insight spirituality as I have in some of her other books. Oh well, maybe you will like it.
I received this complimentary copy from the publisher through their Book Sneeze Bloggers program. A positive review was not require and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just a Few Minutes...or Pages With a Friend

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whatever the circumstances you face right now, Stained Glass Hearts, by Patsy Clairmont will seem like a breath of fresh air. It's like sitting down to a warm cup of tea, wrapped in a homemade blanket a nd enjoying the company of your best friend, while you hear the winds of life howling outside.
Patsy Clairmont shares her heart with the reader; the struggles she has lived through and the saving grace of God that, though your pit seems deep, is much deeper.
She takes different aspects of beauty, from nature to art and develops a theme bringing us back to God's plan is good. That we can see beauty in ashes. We can experience peace when we give OUR plans to God. When we allow Him to steer our lives course.
Each chapter ends with tangible, hands on ideas to cement the thoughts and views of each chapter. To help us appreciate the beauty God has made through man, such as art, music, and video. But most of all God's Word that applies to each life's situation.
The reader will be brought to a new level of perspective as they read, Stained Glass Hearts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miss Lynn
Location:Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading several of Patsy Clairmont’s books and she shows through this book that she does have a serious side. Many times people cover up their serious sides, their problems and life’s difficulty’s with humor and we never see the real person underneath . And that’s what this book is about, women who in one way who have suffered from difficulties, God can take the broken pieces and put them back together again. Anyone that has see how stain glass is put together, knows that the pieces are broken and scattered askew, but put it all together and what you find is one beautiful window. Just as the pieces come together to form a beautiful window, God takes the broken pieces of your life and turns you into someone beautiful . As I read this book I did find some parts that I could compare to my own life.
I feel this is a book to read on a personal level and would not be a good one to use in a women’s bible study or small group session. I did find myself not reading this as fast as I have most of her books. I had a harder time getting into it or through it and feel like for myself I did not gain as much insight spirituality as I have in some of her other books. I think the main thing I received out of the book was God is always there to pick up the broken pieces of one’s life and put it back together. Just hand them over to God and he will reshape the pieces and have one beautiful person.
I received this complimentary copy from the publisher through their Book Sneeze Bloggers program. A positive review was not require and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stained Glass Hearts: Seeing Life from a Broken Perspective
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stained Glass Hearts

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
JCHuffman
Location:Staunton, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love Patsy Claimont's wit, wisdom and insight. I also love that she's not pretentious enough to act as though she has all the answers to lifes questions. In Stained Glass Hearts, she actually goes one step further and points out that it's ok to have questions, to ask why, to not know the answer in some trite, faulty way. All the while, pointing out that through our life struggles, failures and achievements we can enjoy the beauty that God created on His own, and through human hands. Although this may not be a "life changing book" for some, learning to enjoy life can indeed be worth the change!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>