Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984

Zondervan NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984

The Life Application Bible was created for the reader who wants to answer the Question, "What does God's Word mean for my life today?" This edition is full of features that will help you understand the timeless lessons of the Bible, including application notes, character studies, maps and charts, detailed book introductions, and more. The Life Application Study Bible is a rich resource to help you live out your faith in practical ways.

One of today's bestselling study Bibles—the NIV Life Application Study Bible—has been updated and expanded. The newly revised edition includes over 300 brand new Life Application notes, 350 note revisions, 16 new personality profiles, updated charts, and a Christian Worker's Resource, which make this study Bible even better.

Features
  • The bestselling NIV translation
  • Over 10,000 in-text application notes — including 300 new notes and significant revisions to nearly 350 others
  • Over 100 personality profiles with 16 new ones
  • Most charts revised to clarify meaning and importance, plus eight all-new charts
  • New information on the intertestamental period
  • Christian Worker's Resource, a special supplement to enhance the reader's ministry effectiveness, includes:
    • How to Become a Believer
    • How to Follow Up with a New Believer
    • Mining the Treasures of the Life Application Study Bible
    • So You've Been Asked to Speak
    • Taking the Step to Application
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • In-text and full-color maps
  • Index
  • Thorough Concordance
  • Silver page edges
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Review 1 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Treasure - Get It While You Can

Date:May 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
CBDrocks
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why purchase this particular Bible? 5 very good reasons:
1) The expanded Life Application notes, combined with Zondervan's cross-referencing system and color maps, greatly enhances and improves on the Tyndale editions.
2) The premium leather is out of this world! Soft, supple, lays nicely in the hand or flat on the desk, and smells extravagant! I have a personal size European Leather and it does not compare to the rich feel of the Renaissance Fine Leather edition. Ebony looks great and the silver gilded edges are a nice touch.
3) The NIV 1984, the "most trusted, most read" translation, will soon be out-of-print and very difficult to find anywhere. I personally don't have a problem with the gender inclusive changes of the NIV 2011; it's the slew of other changes I'm not happy with. Familiar passages like Romans 12:1, Galatians 5:22 and many others have been "updated" in a way that doesn't sit right with someone that's used the NIV for decades. Gone are most of the vocative "O"s of the Psalms and all of the "Selah"s. It's just too much for someone accustomed to the NIV, so getting my hands on this particular Bible means I can insert "brothers and sisters" for myself and keep on using the translation I've come to love and appreciate.
4) The hilariously reduced pricetag we've all come to know and love about CBD.
5) Quantities are limited and soon you will NEVER be able to purchase this product ever again! And if you do happen to find a re-seller online, I guarantee the cost won't be $55 dollars! You'll probably pay 10 times that amount.
So what we have here folks is a real treasure that, honestly, if you're even somewhat thinking about maybe getting it... GET IT before it's gone. The Lord bless you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

footnotes are good, quality leather binding

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nick
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bible is easy to read and understand as it is the NIV version. Footnotes are really useful, a great help to clarify scripture. Although they have skipped over a few passages to analyse!
All the way round a good product though. You have to pay a little more, but this you get back in quality. Thick leather like this should last a long time. The size of the bible is on the large spectrum of the scale. For some people it might be too big. There is a size guide in the product description. The font size in the footnotes are smaller than scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this Bible!

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grammy
Location:B.C., Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love every product I've received. Everything about Christianbook.com has met my expectations. Good Work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Renaisssance leather 1984 NIV detailed study Bible

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
seeker
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a beautiful Bible for those who want a very detailed study Bible. It has the Life Application study notes which are also available for several other translations. Most of the study notes are in small print, but the Scriptures are in somewhat larger print, although not "large." (8 pt?) The words of Christ are in red. Many, many verses or groups of verses have study footnotes, and there are many additional study helps. The study features probably take up half this Bible, very good if you are looking to clarify specific passages, but a lot of reading if you are reading an entire book of the Bible and read all the study helps for it. (*see note)
For having so much content, this Bible is an excellent size, larger than a personal size, but not huge. Its dimensions are 9.5 x 6.5 x 2". The ebony Renaissance leather cover feels very luxurious, the best I've seen on a Bible, and worth the extra cost imo. (great sale price) It's very supple and flexible, and the Bible lies open nicely at any place.
Another plus is this is the 1984 NIV translation, which I much prefer over the less accurate 2011 revision, and which may become unavailable later.
This is an unusually nice NIV study Bible!
*Note: Although I'm an adult, when reading longer passages I like the "student Bible, NIV 1984", such as #WW938569--just the right amount of briefer, informative study helps for all ages, in 9 pt print. It doesn't have a premium cover.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent bible but pages are thin and see through

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
the prophet
Location:Whitby Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Bible. the cover is soft fine leather.the commentary is great and ensightful .but the pages are to thin and you can see through them from the other side the words come through the other side.overall though its great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
singsong112790
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was satisfied with product, a few of the front pages were bent, but my brother loves the bible. It exceeds expectations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful tool

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christ is savior
Location:Windham,ME
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. Especially for the cost. I got it for 60$ and it worth much more. The leather on these renaissance leather bibles is so soft and well made. The study notes are excellent, they really add to the understanding. I don't feel like the notes go over board either. I love the charts and history sections. Can't say enough good. This is not tabbed so I picked up some of the regular sized tabbies and they are perfect. The pages are very thin because of the amount of info they are squeezing in so you will need dry highlighters.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another superb Study Bible

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dflo75
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say, that even though CBD no longer carries this particular type of study bible in it's 1984 type format, or in this type of leather binding, I was blessed to obtain at least one of the final ones that they had, and I have to say that I truly LOVE this bible! This is the Ebony colored Renaissance fine leather bible that I've obtained here, and I have to say that the Life Application study Bible in my opinion, is the number 1 best selling study bible out there with the ESV Study Bible a close second, and I own both of them, so that's how I know. This is the type of bible that feels good even to hold, besides read and study from. This renaissance leather is so soft and supple, once you hold it, you won't want to put it down! And the bible itself with it's wonderful study notes, personality profiles, and facts, really won't make you put it down! This bible teaches you so much, it's like the understanding will come to you in a snap! Thanks again, CBD, for another great bible, and should they come out again in the future with a bible like this, with this kind of leather, it will most likely be in the 2011 updated version.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paul in PA
Location:PA FURNACE, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with the quality! Nice soft cover, quality imprint, and so far as I've had the chance to read, most useful inspiration and education.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michael Goeth
Location:Las Vegas NV
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Application Study Bible... not simply knowledge... but relevant information with an Application to Life. This edition is wonderful, the binding is strong and the leather is soft, it will surely last years. 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for study

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
barn yard Billy
Location:Long Beach, Ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To start, shipping was handled very well, the book nice soft leather feel, looks great. Personally I like to take my time and fully understand the Word of God, the commentary is very helpful, maps are conveniently located and updated as time and conditions change, very good. I love this book, it keeps me on track. In my 35 years of asking,seeking and knocking I will say this is an excellent book and very well priced. I keep it by my side, in my opinion it covers each chapter fully and I'm blessed to have it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Life Application &#174 Study Bible, Renaissance Fine Leather, Ebony 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
cnote972
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a present for my mother and she was simply delighted when she opened it. Having looked at most Bibles, I was reluctant to choose, my Pastor recommended this particular one to me. This Bible was beautifully crafted from its excellent premium cover to the helpful footnotes. Cant wait to get my own soon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.