Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Plain Man

Harvest House Publishers A Plain Man

Though Caleb Beachy has lived in the English world for years, he's a Plain man at heart. Deciding to return to the Amish lifestyle, he moves back home---and catches the attention of Josie Yoder. Can she soften his hardened heart? Or will his past mistakes end up destroying their fledgling romance? 304 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.923 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Plain Man
Review 1 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness is hard to accept sometimes

Date:July 18, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved Caleb Beachy. He is the prodigal child that you are so glad that came home. We first meet Caleb in the book Sarah's Christmas Miracle. It's not a must to have read it in order to understand this story. I liked the back story, though, which I think is why I liked Caleb even more.
I liked how real Caleb was. He wasn't the perfect Amish man who dealt with little issues. He dealt with things that we have to deal with every day... believing that Jesus has truly forgiven us of our sins, no matter what it is. I also liked what was hidden under his arm sleeve of his shirt. I have yet to read an Amish book with that aspect. Josie was one strong woman to forgive and love him. I liked her and the way she related to Caleb.
Sarah and Adam were always a sweet couple, but there were times that Adam got on my nerves a little. I liked Sarah's attitude and wonder if another book will come out that includes the Beachy family again. I hope so!
Mary Ellis has become an author that I search out. She never fails to have me laughing and when I finish the book, I can't help but say how good of a book she writes.
______________
I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SHOULD BE AMISH ROMANCE OF THE YEAR

Date:May 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Laurie Kingery
Location:central OHIO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A PLAIN MAN, by Ohio author Mary Ellis, should be the Amish Romance of the Year. It's a retelling of the Biblical tale of the prodigal son, and is a realistic look at what happens when a young Amish man goes "English" during his "Running-Around Time" before he joins the church, and how his living like a modern man for a time affects his family and his attempts to rejoin the Amish world. Sometimes Amish fiction is a little too idealistic for me, but this story has a ring of truth that was irresistible to me. I look forward to reading many more of Mary Ellis's excellent books! This book was provided free for review by the publisher, HARVEST HOUSE,
Blessings, Laurie Kingery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Amish story

Date:May 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Northeast
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Man is one of the best Amish stories I've read. Mary Ellis bring the characters to life, portraying real-life-like situations for her characters. Caleb has some huge hurdles to overcome when he tries to settle back into Amish living after having been "in the world" for five years. And the Amish folks in the community have some trouble accepting him back. It takes faith on the part of all to find a resolution.
I highly recommend this book, especially to those who love a good Amish story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The prodigal son comes home - Amish style

Date:May 1, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've long enjoyed Mary Ellis's books, and A Plain Man is no different. Caleb's story is a touching story of a wayward son coming home. Except it's not an easy transition. With a little help from his sister's best friend, Josie, Caleb discovers some things about himself that threaten his future. I hate spoilers, so I won't tell you more; you'll have to read it to find out the good stuff.
A Plain Man is a quick look into the life of an Amish man who stepped away from his upbringing and has much to regret about his life. Upon returning to his roots, he is determined to do the right thing.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story !!!

Date:April 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an amazing book! I loved it!! It is the story of a young man who has returned home to his family and the Amish faith after living in the English world for 5 years. It is a story of forgiveness, humor, anger, and love all combined together. I almost felt like I knew the family after reading this book! Mary Ellis has done a wonderful job sharing how the Amish and English can work together and strong friendships develop! I highly recommend it!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Prodigal Returns

Date:April 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Chaptico, MD
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caleb Beachy has been living among the Englisch for five years. He turned his back on his family and faith and did things he never should have done. Now he has returned home to rejoin his community and be baptized into the Amish faith.
Josie Yoder, Cal's sister's best friend, has grown up in the past five years. She and Cal fall in love and plan to share a future together--that is, if Cal can let go of his past sins. Josie is willing to keep the past in the past, but Cal cannot forgive himself. Somehow Cal must find a way to accept God's grace before he destroys any chance of happiness with Josie or as a Plain man.
Mary Ellis has crafted another wonderful story of love, mercy, and forgiveness. Readers can certainly identify with Mary's characters. We have all done things we regret; many of us have difficulty forgiving ourselves and moving forward. Through her characters, Mary makes it clear God's grace is for all.
If you enjoy a romance with a message, you won't be disappointed in A Plain Man.
Susan Simpson, author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Story!

Date:April 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pegg Thomas
Location:Ossineke, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A slightly different angle on an Amish story. We first met Caleb Beachy in Mary Ellis's story "Sarah's Christmas Miracle." Now he's done with the Englisch lifestyle and has moved back to his parent's home. But it's not easy. Earning the trust of the community he left is difficult - or maybe impossible.
Josie Yoder is happy to see Caleb return. Besides being her best friend's brother, he's still the handsome man she remembers. Against the wisdom and wishes of her family, she and Caleb begin to see each other.
There is plenty of conflict to build this story on. The characters are fresh and interesting and easy to relate to. Not many of us have escaped our growing up years without a few scars - some visible but most not. Nice little twist at the end that I particularly liked. But no spoiler here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

forgiveness isn't easy

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Come, Thou Fount of every blessing, Tune my heart to sing Thy grace.....Caleb slouched down against a post. 'Plenty at first, when I had wheels and a good job. But money management didn't turn out to be my strong suit.' His friend's confusion only seemed to deepen. Caleb didn't know how much to reveal about his past. Could he admit he'd hung out in bars until closing time and bought drinks for people he'd never met before? Should he talk about sleeping with women who were little more than acquaintances? How about the fact that he'd attended church only once during his entire time in Cleveland?"......
Caleb turned to the Englisch world for several years but he has returned to his Amish family and desires nothing more than to live an upright life and marry Josie. His father doesn't trust that he won't return to the Englisch world. I have long believed that the Amish forgive and forget a person's sins if they have not joined the Amish church yet, but Caleb's father gives him a very hard time. This book is full of love and forgiveness. We all need a heavy dose of that in our lives. This is a 5 star work of Amish fiction. I have certainly had my share of mistakes and long for forgiveness for those mistakes. I could feel the emotional pain of the characters as I read. I was left with a feeling of hope and renewal when I read the last line of this book.
I was given a kindle version of this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Mary's best

Date:April 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Terri
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caleb Beachy left his Amish home for the Englisch world, where he squandered his money on women and beer. He returns home in shame.
His father is the bishop of their district. He treats Caleb as a boy whom he doesn’t trust to stay.
Caleb resents the treatment. Matters don’t improve when Caleb joins his dad’s construction crew. His mother mediates between them, and eventually his dad realizes he may have been the cause for Caleb leaving home in the first place.
Caleb is smitten with Josie Yoder, but will she, a proper Amish young lady, want a man with “Kristen” tattooed on his arm? They’re heading toward marriage, but Caleb breaks up because he doesn’t feel good enough for her. Then Josie gets an idea that may help him, even though their parents think it’s nonsense.
This is one of Mary Ellis’ best works yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish/English

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Man is the story of a man who has lived in both worlds, English and Amish. He now wants to become a full Amish man, but is dealing with some of the repercussions from some of the decisions he made living in the English world.
Caleb Beachy was gone longer than most men, when they leave their community, but after five years, has decided he want to return. Can he and his community accept his decision? Can he forgive himself of the sins he committed while live in the English world? Will he be able to conform into the person his faith requires of him?
He also has some romance on the horizon, but can Josie Yoder's family forgive him for leaving and living worldly for so long? As the Amish grapevine whispers about him, will he be able to hold his head high and finish his required classes?
Come and absorb yourself in the Amish Community, spend time at the Preaching Sunday. Enjoy the fellowship and the great meals afterward. You'll love some of the bantering that goes on. Some sibling rivalry, and family disagreements, just likes the rest of us. I so enjoyed my visit here, and hope there will be more to return to!
I received this book through Net Galley and the Publish Harvest House, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Returning as a Prodigal Son is not so simple

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Novel Destination
Location:Jamestown, NY.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In "A Plain Man", Caleb Yoder returns to his Amish family after being gone for 5 years--a very lengthy rumschpringe indeed. While the main story may seem to be one about whether Caleb-the Prodigal Son-can be fully accepted back into the Amish community, it quickly becomes apparent that the biggest doubter is actually Caleb himself.
From maple sugaring, construction projects in and out of the Amish community, working for Englisch while keeping the Amish Ordnung, dating, self-forgiveness and charity to a community's lapsed members...it is all in this novel.
Mary Ellis writes in a style that is easily understood and well plotted out.
I especially like the inclusion of "Discussion Questions" in the back of the book as makes it easy for book groups to chat about the reading experience and brings up some author-inspired discussion too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book by Mary Ellis!

Date:March 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tammy Courts
Location:Covington, Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was good to read a book with a man as the main character. Caleb is a perfect example of how we can get so far from God and believe we aren't worthy of His love but how God never gives up on us! What a blessing that is!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Plain Man
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!!! A MUST READ

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A PLAIN MAN" is a must read, once you start this book you will not get anything else done because all you will want to do is finish this book.
Caleb left the Amish life for awhile then returns to the plain life, He does have some struggles but with the help of family and friends he does get through them, He goes to work for his father Eli, but Eli has to trust him again, you will feel like you are one of the characters it just feels so real to life, with the help of family and friends and the good Lord they get through it, you will awed at the Baptism I sure was. Happy reading it will definitely put a smile on your face
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.