Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing Derailed, Windy City Series #2

Worthy Publishing Derailed, Windy City Series #2

After marrying Estelle, the love of his life, Harry Bentley's apartment feels too cramped, especially since his teenage grandson, DaShawn, already lives with him. God seems to provide the perfect solution in a new home on Beecham Street, a two-flat that will provide room for his family and perhaps his 88-year-old mother.

But when his mother is unable to share the mortgage, Harry has to go back to work as a detective, receiving a bizarre undercover assignment that sends him across the country by train and causes him to suspect his own son in a major crime. Each time Harry thinks he's following God's leading, his plans get derailed and he has to figure out what to do all over again.

Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Review 1 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Derailed

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
MKR1
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried my hardest on a few different occasions to read this book to the end but I was unable to actually finish reading it. The writing style (in Book #2 - "Derailed)" was so different from book #1 and it felt like it was written more from a male perspective, which is fine, but I was just unable to connect with Harry's character and even get into the book. This book also covered much of the information that had already been presented in the first novel ("Grounded").
I hated having to write this low scoring review because I have been a Dave & Neta Jackson fan since the Yada Yada prayer series. But I definitely enjoyed book #1 and I look forward to finishing the Windy City neighbors series as more novels are written. I will give it some time and try to finish reading this book all the way through. The reason I would still recommend someone else to read this particular novel is because you may have a different perspective than what I have. Whatever you decide, happy reading to you!
I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Completely addicted to this series!!!

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it when you find a true treasure in a great series of books. The kind that make you sad when you finish one because you have to wait for the next one and often times it could take awhile. Such is the case with The Windy City Neighborhood Series by authors Dave and Neta Jackson. After reading Grounded, their first novel in the series, the second book, Derailed has finally picked back up with our favorite characters we met in the first one. Perhaps by far, my favorite character is Estelle Bentley, because she has the faith that most would dream of having. The kind that offers up simple prayers as easily as having a one on one conversation with a close friend. But what we discover is that even those prayers are offered up, they are not always answered in the way we would like to. Even when it seems that the steps we take are guided by God, it soon leaves us second guessing if we didn't in fact step out on our own instead.
This novel is based on the Harry Bentley, Estelle's husband that was once blind but now can see, is asked to go undercover as a blind man in disguise working for the police on board the Amtrak trains. It takes us into the back story of Harry that we only glimpsed in passing in the first novel. Since Harry is new to the Christian faith, living with Estelle as a strong woman of faith makes him question his own actions at times. I love this honesty of how the life of faith isn't an easy one to walk and at times, we all find ourselves questioning whether we are doing what God would want or simply our own desires. He struggles being the head of the house and financial provider of learning to reverse the roles of putting his family first instead of his job. Not an easy one for men to live up to.
The Bentley's life hasn't been an easy one but is a true testament of what faith can do when it is applied correctly. Harry's son, Rodney has been in prison but now upon his release is looking for ways to turn over a new leaf. Since his son, DaShawn has been living with Estelle and Harry, Rodney is hoping to secure a decent job and find a way to start a new life for him and DaShawn. Perhaps my favorite part of this book, isn't really the individual stories but one of how they all interact with their neighbors. It shows us an example of what a faith based community should look like even if our neighbors are not believers. It shows us how to respond in love and kindness and role models what we all can hope to obtain by being better people to those around us.
I received Derailed by Dave and Neta Jackson compliments of Worthy Books and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. I can't wait for the next book in this series Penny Wise which you get a sneak peek at in the conclusion of this novel. There are also discussion questions included to make this a great novel for book clubs. I'd rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

the series has me a little derailed

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Audra
Location:Corsicana, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start by saying I've read all of Neta and Dave's books since the Yada Yada Prayer Group. I always look forward to when the next book goes on sale.
What I like is that in this series you get more than one point of view regarding what is going on with the story line. In other words, you don't have one narrator throughout the entire series. We also get visits from old friends we met in Neta's other series.
What I don't like is that Derailed covers the same time frame as Grounded, so you actually know a good bit of what happens before you get to it. You don't know all the details from the other person's perspectives, but you know a good bit of what is going to happen.
I think I would have enjoyed Derailed more if this second book in the series picked up where the first one left off or if you heard from more than one character per book. The Jacksons started doing the same kind of thing with parallel books with the Yada Yada House of Hope series (Neta) and Yada Yada Brothers (Harry Bentley series written by Dave), but I think it may have worked better then because it was two different series instead of one.
For some reason, it just wasn't what I expected. And Harry seemed different somehow. I can't put my finger on exactly what since it's been a while since I read the last Harry Bentley book.
With all of that said, I'm most certainly going to keep reading the series. I want to find out what happens with all the characters in the neighborhood and old friends from series past as well!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Train Storyline is eyeopener!

Date:October 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Windy City is a favorite of my family, and we usually ride Amtrak for 3 hours to get there. I thorough enjoy "visiting" Chicago through reading Neta and Dave Jackson's different series of novels set in that area. I must admit though that the characters and their adventures are the most important reasons to read the novels. "Derailed" is a parallel novel to "Grounded". Although I think once you've read this novel you'll want to read the other books written by the Jacksons, "Derailed" can be read as a stand alone novel. Two other novels in this series will be released 2014, and I will be getting my hands on them as soon as they are released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific Read

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
KristinJoy
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Derailed is a great stand-alone novel, though its charm is that it the fleshes out the details of a what appears, on the surface, to be a sleepy Chicago suburb. After having met sweet Grace in Grounded, we have the opportunity to explore her neighbors, the Bentleys. The intrigue of Harry Bentley's job, while working out the complexities of his past, his relationship with his ex-con son, raising his grandson, and supporting his wife makes for an compelling read. I truly appreciate Harry's struggles as "life" re-arranges his plans and he seeks to find his way in the midst of the turmoil. Terrific read. It is a great read for teens and older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liddia S
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the next book in the Windy City Neighbors series and I must say that it is a wonderful companion book to the first book Grounded. You can always count on Neta and Dave to make sure that you see the whole picture and what's going on with all the characters. I love how this book parallels Grounded right away with the story of the Bentley's and how they actually came to be part of the neighborhood. I have been a fan of Neta and Dave since the first Yada Yada series book, and I tell all my friends that if they want to read a good book to get one of the Jackson's books. For a great read, and a great story pick up Grounded and Derailed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great novel!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catclaw
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
So thankful that I found the Yada Yada series by Dave and Neta Jackson several years ago. I have loved getting to stay in touch with all of those characters and getting to meet new ones in the spin-off series.
"Derailed" is the next book in the Windy City Neighbors series. It's a great book filled with characters who grab hold of your heart. They make me wish I lived on their street! If you love books driven by great characters, these books are for you. You will be drawn in and won't be able to put the book down. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Jackson continue to give us excellen stories.

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
LAustin
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Derailed is another excellent Christian novel by Neta and Dave Jackson. I have enjoyed reading the Yada Yada books, and now I am still spellbound by the characters in the new Windy City Series. The characters become like friends to me. I am glad to read more about Harry and Estelle Bentley. Their lives in this book are examples of becoming the kind of men and women who show God's love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another good read from the Jacksons

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Likestoread
Location:Southwest Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I have read all the Yada Yada books and the following series and enjoyed them all. I enjoyed this book as well. It's part of the new Windy Cities Series but really feels like it's a continuation from the Harry Bentley books. If you liked those you will probably like this one as well. This book is a parallel book to Grounded. I was expecting it to take off from where that ended and go forward from another point of view. However, this was the same time period as the first book. I found it enough different that it didn't feel repetitive though. I really enjoyed continuing with Harry and Estelle's story and catching a few glimpses of my old favorite characters.
I liked the action in this one with Harry having gone back to police work, this time for Amtrak, mixed in with sensitivity with Harry's mom and Mattie.
I found myself trying to guess which characters might be the subject of the next books and looking forward to finding out about them. I really liked the feeling I can see building of "neighborhood" the kind that rarely exists anymore.
I was given an advance copy of this book in return for my impartial review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great read!

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
CDubsMom
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great read from Dave & Neta Jackson!
I loved the Yada Yada books and all that came after. It's great to see those original characters pop up from time to time as this story continues. The fact that this book centered around Harry Bentley was great for me because he's one of those characters that I've come to love. :) I actually liked this book better than Grounded, the first book in this series, because it had more of the characters that I'm familiar with.
I'm still intrigued with the Parallel Novel technique that these two are using in this series. Usually you only get to see one part of the story. Here, you're seeing all of the different pieces and how they fit together. I can't wait to see what's coming up next!
Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book by Wynn-Wynn Media in return for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I received no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Hearwarming Book

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nanseelee
Location:Wenatchee WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today I finished reading "Derailed" by Dave and Neta Jackson. I didn't want it to end. Reading about Harry Bentley who is a familiar character from several of the different series, was very heartwarming. I joined him and his family with their struggles and successes. Friends from other books appeared to help us remember their roles in the Chicago area. The next 2 books in the Windy City Series can't come soon enough. I love these books written by the Jackson Duo. Thanks for sharing your stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

They've done it again!

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sueboo
Location:LaGrange, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I've enjoyed the YaYa series and can't wait for new books so it was awesome to see a series come out highlighting the men, their thoughts, struggles. Thanks Dave & Neta for bringing it once again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another GREAT book!

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Musicaljean
If you love stories that feature real, down-to-earth people, life issues, and drama; if you are searching for true help in dealing with your own real-life issues and drama; if you enjoy laughing, crying, growing, and being stretched, this is a book for you! Dave and Neta Jackson are the BEST at pulling the readers into the story and making them feel like the characters are their best friends. Having previously read all the Yada Yada, House of Hope, Harry Bentley, and Souled Out Sisters books, as well as this book's parallel story, Grounded, I was absolutely delighted to get so well acquainted with my "friends" Harry and Estelle. I knew they would be living across the street from Grace, the main character in Grounded, but to live through all that transpired in the finding of, moving into, and being able to afford to keep that house, was fun at times, despairing at others. Finding out "the rest of the story" of Grace's experience on the train made it hard to lay the book down! Meeting more neighbors on Beecham Street was extremely interesting, and only makes it all the harder to wait for the the next book in the Windy City Neighbors series. Dave and Neta Jackson exhibit pure genius in their ability to tell simultaneous stories from two different perspectives. Another GREAT book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

READ THIS

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
flowerpowermomma
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've enjoyed the Jacksons writings for several years, and never been disappointed. Once again, they kept my interest, I didn't want to stop reading and then wished the book hadn't ended. Not only is it entertaining but also encouraging in a personal relationship with God. You will be challenged in your prayer life and worship too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another incredible adventure!

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dave and Neta Jackson have perfected the concept of parallel novels to the nth degree. I have personally never heard of it until I discovered this pair of remarkable writers in their group of novels, The YaDa YaDa Prayer Group, YaDa House of Hope, and the Harry Bentley books.
The Windy City Neighbors series has begun more adventures for some of the characters we have met before in the YaDa books. In particular, the first novel, Grounded, provided one story about a Christian music artist who had experienced some lifeshaking setbacks. Within that story we reconnected with Estelle and Harry. Now in Derailed, we see the story that started with Grace Meredith from a new perspective...Harry's.
I love how this concept of parallel novels takes us on a whole new adventure while reminding us of parts of Grace's story. But Harry's part in the story fleshes out details that were incidental in the first novel. We learn about how God is really teaching Harry to rely on Jesus to have the power to bring Harry through events in his life, rather than needing to know beforehand exactly how certain circumstances are going to work out. As Harry says himself, "Maybe it was okay if I still didn't understand it all. If I could get my comfort from seeking Jesus rather than wrestling everything to the ground, then maybe I ws being equipped to pass the same comfort on to other people."
This particular writing avenue seems unique to the Jackson duo of Dave and Neta. I love it! And I can't wait for the next adventure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book - didn't want to put it down.

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cohasa
Location:New Hampshire
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of Christian fiction authors Neta and Dave Jackson since reading the Yada Yada series a few years ago. This is the second in the Windy City Neighbors series and a parallel novel to Grounded. The Jacksons have a talent for making the characters in their books seem like family, and this book is no exception. The characters we are introduced to in Grounded take center stage in Derailed, and the questions we were left with get answers. As usual, this book has a few twists and turns and enough suspense so you don’t want to put it down. But the intrigue and mystery started in Grounded is finally solved in the last chapter of Derailed. After reading many of their books, my expectations are very high, and this book definitely exceeded them. Highly recommend this book, but be sure to read Grounded first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will leave you wanting more !

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
niboreus
Location:Candor, New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Derailed is yet another fabulous work of Dave and Neta Jackson.
As this story unfolds, we are introduced to Harry Bentley's side pf the drug bust that occurred in Grounded. (book 1 of the series).
As we delve into Harry and Estelle's lives, we see how God "derails" many of the plans they lay out for their future so that His will is done. Their dedication to prayer helps them to understand the will of God.
This novel will leave you wanting more of the Jackson's writings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Derailed, Windy City Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2013
Derailed is the second book in the Windy City Series. This book focuses on the lives of Harry and Estelle Bentley who appeared in the first book Grounded. Harry and Estelle contemplate the next phase of their lives as they consider a move into a two-flat foreclosure on Beecham Street. This would provide them with more space as their grandson lives with them and they would like to have room for Harry’s mother. After the Bentley’s move into the home an unexpected turn of events leaves them in a precarious position as Harry’s mother is unable to move in with them. Due to the loss of income they were expecting from Harry’s mother they are forced to look at the options before them to determine how to pay for the new home.
Rodney, Harry’s son, recently moved in with them as he needed a place to stay after being released from prison. He was having a difficult time finding a job and certainly did not have the money to pay them rent. As Harry and Estelle looked at their options they decided that it would be best if Harry went back to work after being retired from the Chicago Police Department. He was offered a job as an undercover detective which he originally declined; however, maybe this job was the answer to their prayers.
After much prayer and consideration, Harry decided to accept the position and began work with no time to waste. His undercover assignments included him traveling on the train to help bust the drug cartels. One assignment was especially difficult for Harry as he was forced to question whether a neighbor and his son were caught up in one of the large international cartels. His neighbor seems like an unlikely suspect but his son’s past makes him a prime suspect. Although Rodney seemed to be on the road to recovery could Harry have been deceived?
I enjoyed getting to know Harry, Estelle and their family. They seem like a family that could be living next door. They are good-natured people with situations that many may be facing today. As with Grounded, there are many life lessons to be taken from this book. Look for books three and four coming in 2014. The titles are Penny Wise and Pound Foolish.
*I would like to thank Worthy Publishing for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.