Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dutton Books The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism

Dutton Books The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism

How could a loving God send people to hell? Why does he allow suffering? Can one religion be "right" and the others "wrong"? Responding to the questions of open skeptics and ardent believers, Keller draws from literature, philosophy, reason, and real-life conversations to explain how faith in a Christian God is a soundly rational belief.
Average Customer Rating:
4.766 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 out of 29100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Review 1 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Study!

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elder
Location:Olympia, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thought provoking and most relevant to today's culture
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Skeptic or believer - I think everyone should read

Date:September 2, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why hello modern day C.S. Lewis. I mean, for real Timothy Keller. For real. This is by far one of the best Christian apologetic books I’ve read in a while. It’s an easy read, yet so many great points to think about and ponder. Whether a skeptic or believer, you should read this book! I believe a decision about faith is too important a matter to not think about it.
Here’s the list of chapters so you have a better idea of what he covers. The first part he address is common arguments against Christianity and the second is reasons for belief in Christianity.
Timothy Keller, the founding pastor of Redeemer Presbyterian Church in New York City, addresses the frequent doubts that skeptics and non-believers bring to religion. Using literature, philosophy, anthropology, pop culture, and intellectual reasoning, Keller explains how the belief in a Christian God is, in fact, a sound and rational one. To true believers he offers a solid platform on which to stand against the backlash toward religion spawned by the Age of Skepticism. And to skeptics, atheists, and agnostics he provides a challenging argument for pursuing the reason for God.
Part 1: The Leap of Doubt
There Can’t Be Just One True Religion
How Could a Good God Allow Suffering?
Christianity is a Straitjacket
The Church is Responsible for So Much Injustice
How Can a Loving God Send People to Hell?
Science Has Disproved Christianity
You Can’t Take the Bible Literally
Part 2: The Reasons for Faith
The Clues of God
The Knowledge of God
The Problem of Sin
Religion and the Gospel
The (True) Story of the Cross
The Reality of the Resurrection
The Dance of God
There’s lots of quotes to share, so let’s dive right in!
“Everyone has faith in something….What is religion then? It is a set of beliefs that explain what life is all about, who we are, and the most important things that human beings should spend their time doing.”
“At the very heart of [Christians'] view of reality was a man who died for his enemies, praying for their forgiveness.”
“Love is the most liberating freedom-loss of all. Human beings are most free and alive in relationships of love [whether for a friend or romantic love].”
Regrading injustice: “When people have done injustice in the name of Christ they are not being true to the spirit of the one who himself died as a victim of injustice and who called for the forgiveness of his enemies. When people give their lives to liberate others as Jesus did, they are realizing the true Christianity that Martin Luther King, Jr., Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and other Christian voices have called for.”
“If there is no God, then there is no way to say any one action is “moral” and another “immoral” but only “I like this.” If that is the case, who gets the right to put their subjective, arbitrary moral feelings into law?”
On the resurrection: “The resurrection also puts a burden of proof on it’s nonbelievers. It is not enough to simply believe Jesus did not rise from the dead. You must then come up with a historically feasible alternative explanation for the birth of the church. You have to provide some other plausible account for how things began…If the resurrection of Jesus happened, however, that means there’s infinite hope and reason to pour ourselves out for the needs of the world.”
So now that I just did a quote slam, what do you think? Have you read any of Keller’s writings? Any of the quotes resonate? I would love to hear your thoughts!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryM29
Location:Washington
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is jam packed with so much information and wisdom- I am not done with it yet, but I have loved every page. I want to read it more than once to take it all in. I highly recommend it to Christians and non Christians. VERY well done. Answers questions with respect, fairness and fully.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book!

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
mlb526
Location:Muskegon, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was introduced to this book a couple of years ago, and I love it. I have been a Christian since I was in high school (several years ago). I read this book and appreciated Timothy Keller's logical case for the existence of God, and the way he answers some of the questions common to all unbelievers and newer believers. He started and grew a large church in NYC, and he deals with skeptics all the time. The book is very thought provoking. I bought copies for all the graduates on my list.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I use this book all the time

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
enelson1304
Location:Kelso, Wa
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this book about 3 times. The clarity that it contains is truly exceptional. I bought this copy to give to my son-in-law as I have my copy marked up and highlighted. I don't want to lose it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The half-believers and their Stepford God

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
LifeVerse
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can anyone look at the world objectively? According to this author, no, definitely not. Working from that assumption (which I happen to agree with), he proceeds to deconstruct the deconstructionists, proving that all people base their worldview on certain unproved (and unprovable) assumptions. The skeptics who like to bash religion for being irrational and unscientific are not exactly the gold standard for rationality themselves.
I doubt the book would change the beliefs of the hardcore theophobes, since their biggest beef against God is that they don’t like competition, plus they enjoy feeling intellectually superior to everyone else. I do think the book serves the admirable purpose of strengthening the faith of the faithful, much as C. S. Lewis’s books Miracles and The Problem of Pain do. I read this book in 2009, and recently re-read it after witnessing the kerfuffle over Year of Biblical Womanhood and its author’s emphasis on believing in a God she is “comfortable” with, which apparently struck a chord with a lot of ex-evangelicals. Timothy Keller, by contrast, is content to take the God of the Bible “as is,” knowing that that God isn’t some adorable spiritual pet that 21st-century “spiritual but not religious” people can cuddle with on a rainy day. Keller has a very high opinion of God, and a very low opinion of the human ego – in other words, he has the right priorities.
Rather than drag out the review, I’ll let the author speak for himself:
All doubts, however skeptical and cynical they may seem, are really a set of alternate beliefs.
God's grace does not come to those who morally outperform others, but to those who admit their failure to perform and who acknowledge their need for a Savior. p 19
Any community that did not hold its members accountable for specific beliefs and practices would have no corporate identity and would not really be a community at all. p 40
When the idea of God is gone, a society will transcendentalize something else, some other concept, in order to appear morally and spiritually superior. p 55
Because Christians think wrongdoing has infinitely more long-term consequences than secular people do, does that mean they are somehow narrower? p 81
And, these two gems directed at the half-Christians or “spiritual but not religious crowd”:
To stay away from Christianity because parts of the Bible's teaching is offensive to you assumes that if there is a God he wouldn't have any views that upset you. p 112
If you don't trust the Bible enough to let it challenge and correct your thinking, how could you ever have a personal relationship with God? In any truly personal relationship, the other person has to be able to contradict you. . . . You'll have a Stepford God, a God essentially of your own making, and not a God with whom you can have genuine interaction. p 114
I highly recommend the book for any Christian who feels uncomfortable about sharing his faith with his nonreligious friends, who is guilty of sharing the secular culture's contempt for Christians and their "irrationality" and "intolerance" and "exclusivism." If you ever feel the urge to ditch the label "Christian" and start calling yourself "spiritual but not religious," this book might well help you maintain your loyalty to the God revealed in the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book that every inquiring mind should read.

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kingger
Location:Sierra Vista, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Keller reasons from an oustanding depth of knowledge. He s extremely well-read and logically counters anti-Christian arguments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Apologetic - not for the average reader

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian Elmer
Location:Toledo, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Yes, as another reviewer stated - "not for the average reader". Keller is in NYC and encounters a more diverse audience. So he addresses several questions that secularists raise. He answers well, but you must slow down as you take in the information. If you are looking to deepen your understanding of reasoning with the secular world, this book is for you. I love the challenging read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it's a very worthwhile read

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
renee
Location:canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the book to be a very worthwhile read. It was thought provoking and I thought the author's points well presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
underfoot
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent intellectual treatise for belief in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great evangelistic help

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Hugoton, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
For anyone who wants a great apologetic tool for sharing Christ or needs an excellent resource to give to those who have fallen for the world's concept of God, this book is wonderful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstandingly insightful

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Hunt
Location:Memphis, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keller makes many sound arguments, but one particularly stood out to me. He makes an argument for God loving from all eternity past because he has always existed as three persons and how it could not really be said that he "is love", otherwise. This is a new thought for me, but I must admit a powerful one for the truth of the trinity in addition to irrefutable passages as such as John 1:3 and Colossians 1:15-16.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dr. Keller delivers the faith with charity & logic

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
mikeharloff
Location:Priceville, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:male
This book has, so far, been the most accessible book in giving sound and sensitive reason for believing in Jesus Christ and accepting the gospel. I'm a big fan of apologetics and I listen weekly to a selection of podcasts that give reasons for why it's logical and of eternal significance to believe. This book would be the first thing I'd give to anyone who's interested in hearing the gospel from an intellectual and heartfelt perspective. Dr. Timothy has done an excellent job in presenting the truth in an age of religious plurality and relativity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great explanation of Christianity

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
revgary1
Location:Tiffin, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For either the seasoned Christian, someone new to the faith, or someone seeking to understand what being a Christian means, this is a terrific explanation and well-written book about what Christianity is all about. It's easy to read. The quotes and examples that help illustrate the reasons for the Christian faith draw upon sound biblical information and a well-chosen variety of quotes from scholars, philosophers, theologians, and others. Well done! A valuable resource for anyone!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book met the mark for our classroom teaching

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shiloh Bible College
Location:Oakland, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used this book as a teaching tool for our Apologetics class. It met the mark for discussion and logic in understanding how to minister to people in a time and season when so many are unsure if God even exists.
Thank you. This is our second order for a future class.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
happytobemomto3
Location:Chicago area, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had gone through this book in our Adult Sunday School class. It was a great book to help confirm why we believe what we believe and give us some talking points to help discuss with sceptics what the truth is. I wanted to have a copy to refer to in the future.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its a great book

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Samara
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book as a gift to my co-worker (who is a non-believer). She said she loved this book and it answered alot her questions about Belief & God
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A clear reasoning for God/sin/Christ/salvation.

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
eimi
Location:Ct
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading this book, I now agree with a few other reviewers about the importance of Tim Keller's ministry in this Age of Skepticism to the many versions of non-believers. In this book, these ask questions and he both states, explains and identifies with clear logic and reasoning through literature, philosophy, anthropology (and other disciplines) the compelling case for God-His truth-our Creator-Sovereign, All Authority/sin-lostness, separation from God/Christ-the cross-death, resurrection-salvation-being declared justified, away from His eternal wrath (damnation, eternal hell).
One question he asks that almost no one wants to consider deeply in this ever increasing violent world: what is holding all out evil and destruction (by man and nature) back? And what determines which cells in man will bring about death, one person before or after the other? (For we know that death is no respecter of life).
This is an incredible present day generational apologetics, easily understood; a clear and defining defense for God's truth, sovereignity and total authority in lieu of His authority to eventually bring unbelievers and evil to their final conclusion-destined eternal suffering.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy read. Practical theology.

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stanley Hall
Location:Fosom, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tim Keller writes from personal experience in ministering to a present generation of seeking, questioning adults. Each topic is developed from conversations with individuals who were questioning the nature of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Reason for God: Belief in God in an Age of Skepticism
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lolo
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an absolutely AMAZING book! A great resource for anyone who is already a Christian, or still questioning. I would recommend this book to anyone. Easy to read and very thought-provoking.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.