Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything

Worthy Publishing Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything

"He's had a rough life." "It's probably my fault." We frequently excuse others' poor behavior. But when should we speak up? Helping you deal constructively with difficult relationships, Clinton and Springle show how to set respectful boundaries so you can protect yourself from the controlling, irresponsible behavior of spouses, parents, friends, and co-workers. 288 pages, hardcover from Worthy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Review 1 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Christian Book

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was completely impressed with this Biblically-based book about healthy relationships. And I don't mean just marital relationships, but all relationships. The authors give you practical tips on how to transform your relationships(and predominantly you)into what God wants them (and you) to be.
The thing that impressed me more than anything was that the Bible was continually consulted as the primary source. So often in Christian counseling, there is too much emphasis on secular self-help strategies. The authors continued to bring us back to what Jesus did on this earth and what the apostle Paul wrote in his epistles. They do bring in other sources by various Christian theologians and even non-Christians, but everything is measured against the world.
I did see some of myself and others in my sphere of influence. I plan to go back and do a rereading of various sections so I can apply many of their principles. In the end, it is good to know that in my experience, I am not alone. There are others who feel my pain and have walked in similar circumstances. And it is possible to change with the help of God.
I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever had difficulties in a relationship. Isn't that everyone?
I was sent of a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great for empowering younger readers

Date:June 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
HisGirl
Location:southeastern ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
helpful, godly information but not as well organized as could be. should be read by younger persons not too far along in truly difficult relationships. hard to change things after forty plus years...results could be... catastrophic.
But insightful and empowering, if applied early.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Concise, revealing and hopeful.

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Elaine Wrye
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reasons we are the way we are is brought out in ways that brings the a-ha response. Understanding brings out the desire to move beyond our present situation and leave behind this turmoil that ensnares us. The book then takes us through steps to do exactly that, with guidelines and suggestions that make our journey successful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good read

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
LyonsLady
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am always leary of books like these because sometimes they go so far away from scripture and give too many of their own opinions of the Scriptures that it sometimes goes too far from the Truth of the scriptures...But when they are spot on using scriptures and keep them into context they are a blessing...such as this book...
In Chapter one this book starts out with "What the world calls "love" often isn't true love at all"
If our version of love is destroying us or someone we care about, then let’s not call it love. It that's you, if you or someone you know has been mistaking counterfeit love for real love for the real thing, then you need a breakthrough, a flash of insight and a dose of courage to take action and change the status quo. And that’s what this book will give you. Change doesn't happen quickly or easily, step by step you can learn~and live~authentic love, wise trust, genuine forgiveness, and real freedom.
We are all in some strained relationships, strained can drive us crazy, yet we seem to be helpless to exercise true love, move toward a more healthy relationship/ After these statement’s they share several different ways how people deal with others thinking they are doing it because they love them...
I am ashamed to say I have been guilty of some of the very same examples. Then there are those who claim and believe they are Christians and misuse the Scripture’s from Gods Word in a very very wrong way….this to me is very sad indeed.
Each chapter deals with the wrong way we deal with relationships and the right way we should deal with relationships. Then there are questions to help you understand and see what you think true love relationships, not only in marriages but with family, friends, co-workers etc.
In Chapter 4 there is a self-test to help you see what’s going on in your life….which I found very interesting and helpful.
In my opinion (and we all have one, just like a belly button) I found this book very helpful. You cannot just pick it up and start reading; it must be read slowly and with a Bible and with prayer.
Tim and Pat make very good and easy ways to see how we are in parts of our lives and how to change our ways for Gods Glory. May HE continue to use them in that very purpose, HIS Glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

"Break Through" is no breakthrough ...

Date:June 22, 2012
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When a big name in Christian counseling circles writes a book, even with a co-author, you naturally expect an excellent read. That was not my experience with "Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back" by Tim Clinton and Pat Springle (published by Worthy Publishing).
First, let me say much of the content of the book is solid. I simply found the writing of it somewhat confusing.
My initial expectations regarding the content was garnered from the title on the cover of the book. But once I opened the cover and started reading, I was not able to definitively zero in on what this book is primarily about. The content seemed to be a mishmash of subjects from enmeshment (what I think is supposed to be the core topic) to boundaries, trust, parenting, forgiveness, and other topics, some of which seemed to be repetitious.
I think the problem with "Break Through" was a lack of concise communication, starting with clearly identifying a focal point for the book, and then continuing with a concise unfolding of the issues pertaining to that focal point. The content is more an ongoing rambling, switching from one topic to another, and then back again without clearly connecting everything to easily identifiable focal points.
Because of the odd way the book is written, it is not a standout regarding the topics it does cover. There are multiple other books that more concisely, more clearly, and more simply convey as good of content as you will find in this book.
For these reasons, I have to say "Break Through" is no breakthrough. Even with that said, I have no doubt there are many who would find themselves blessed with some of the content if they're willing to work through the muddle of the message.
I received this book free from Handlebar Marketing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nate
Location:Poland, ME
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"By the time you’re finished with this book…you’ll not only recognize love for all that it is, but break through the fog of your relationships into the light of an amazing new day for you and for those you love the most."
Thus ends the introduction to Dr. Tim Clinton and Pat Springle’s new book, Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back. A lofty promise indeed, but one upon which Clinton and Springle deliver.
In the book, the authors give insight into unhealthy relationships, such as codependency and abusive relationships. Why does a wife make excuses for an alcoholic husband? Why does a father continue to bail out a deadbeat daughter? The answer may surprise you.
Using biblical insight and real-life examples, Clinton and Springle offer clear explanations for the real causes of unhealthy relationships and a clear path to forming healthy relationships. Each of the easily digestible chapters ends with a series of questions designed to make us think about our own relationships. The book also includes a guide for groups and classes who are looking to make the most of the book’s teaching.
To say that I found this book enlightening would be an understatement. It has caused me to think about my own relationships – both healthy and unhealthy – and to start to address the areas of concern. I found the writing to be very easy to read, the print perfect for my lately very tired eyes, and on top of that I love the feel of the book jacket – very soft and nice to hold.
Whether you recognize unhealthy relationships in your life or not, I highly recommend this book. You and your relationships will be changed for the better by reading it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Handlebar Marketing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Break Through to a Healthy Relationship & Healing

Date:June 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BREAK THOUGH
When to Give In, How to Push Back
by Dr. Tim Clinton and Pat Springle
Worthy Publishing
Often our relationships are controlled by our misconceptions of what love is. We dominate or cower in the name of love, but the very nature of this love is destructive and unhealthy. When we allow ourselves to be enmeshed we rob ourselves and the object of our devotion of a healthy relationship and the joy and happiness that true love brings. This unhealthy dependency usually masks feelings of resentment, anger and eventually hate.
But we can break through this destructive pattern and discovery what a healthy relationship is. We need to realize our true worth – that God wants more for us than to be trapped in an abusive relationship. We need to learn to step back and see where we are heading. Until we can see clearly the path of destruction we are on we cannot heal.
We cannot fix other people, they have to face the consequences of their own actions. We cannot take on their consequences and expect them to ever be responsible. Nor should we expect someone to always be there to get us out of every little situation we find our self in. Throughout the world there are emotional twelve year-olds walking around in adult bodies seeking and craving attention, affection, and affirmation from irresponsible and untrustworthy people.
When our relationships aren't what we expect them to be we feel broken and empty, so we attempt to fill the hole in our life with unhealthy relationships. We seek to fill an inner longing with one unhealthy relationship after another, but we must break the pattern we are stuck in.
Do you want to break-free and experience a true relationship - one that is not codependent on others? You can change, but the change is gradual. You cannot expect an overnight instantaneous transformation. God is willing and able to help you, you need to listen to the His call. What we refer to as a crisis is often God's attempt to wake us up.
True love is defined in First Corinthians 13. Love is unselfish, caring, forgiving and when you look to Jesus you see true love lived out. When we experience God's love we have hope and God is our center and the past has no claim on our today or our tomorrow.
We must dig deep to to work our way back up. Trials come but they are a tool to deepen our trust in God and to serve as an example of encouragement to others who are on their own journey to freedom from unhealthy and addictive codependency. Break Through is your guide to breaking free so that you can make healthy relationship decisions.
I received a copy of this title from the publisher Worthy Publishing for the purpose this review. A favorable review was not required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you struggling with an abusive, controlling, or just plain unhealthy relationship? This book is all about having healthy relationships with people and when to give "tough" love and when to "give in". It's filled with practical advice, stories and thoughts on the correct way to handle relationships and love those around us. It's from a Christian perspective and would be gold for a person dealing with one or more dysfunctional relationships.
Even though I, thankfully, don't have to deal with any of these issues, I still enjoyed the book. It wasn't too clinical or boring and was filled with stories to break up the advice being given. Definitely a book I would recommend if you are struggling with a relationship gone wrong.
I received this book free of charge from Handlebar Marketing in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

help with unhealthy relationships

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
None of us grew up in a perfect family or have a perfect work environment. We all carry relational wounds and face unhealthy relationships.
Clinton and Springle want to help us break through the fog of our relationship problems. We “need a breakthrough – a flash of insight and a dose of courage to take action and change the status quo. And that's what this book will give you.” (4)
“The driving hope of every human heart is to be connected to someone, to give and receive authentic love...” (94) We struggle so much “because at our core all people on the planet fear rejection.” (94)
There is hope. “In the gospel of Christ, God offers the attachments for which the human heart longs...” (102) We were made for God and we will never find happiness or an answer to our divine discontent and emptiness until we reconnect with the God who made us.
The authors look at the life of Jesus as an example of right relationship. “He shrewdly observed people; he spoke the truth no matter how people might react; he offered relationship without manipulation.” (174)
The authors help us become aware of our patterns of mistrust, understand the scope of responsibility (heroes, turtles, field marshals), how to speak the truth (confrontation), how to take steps to resolve the damage of injustice (forgiveness), and how to step back and get a clearer view.
Throughout the book we are encouraged to seek the help of others, be it a friend, a small group, or a counselor. We need God's Word, God's people, and God's Holy Spirit. Change will not happen over night. And sometimes it might get worse before it gets better.
They finally remind us that life can be different. But half measures won't do. There must be conviction. Progress is like a long hike. There will be steep and difficult times. But with confidence that God holds tomorrow, there will be a breakthrough.
There are questions at the end of each chapter to think about. There are also suggestions for group use at the end of the book.
Food for thought: “The past isn't the past if it is still affecting the present.” (115)
This book is full of great encouragement for people needing to break through a difficult relationship. The authors give several examples of people who took the steps outlined. Some turn out well while others have seen their efforts thwarted, a reminder that we cannot control the actions of others.
As is often the case with books like this one, I think it would best be read with a friend or in a group setting. There is much to discuss and others will help maintain accountability with the difficult actions.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through Handlebar Marketing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help with relationships

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book about learning how to handle a relationship that is not good for you. Being able to protect yourself is important and the authors in this book have some great advice on ways to do that. Learning to not make excuses for those around us that are displaying irresponsible behavior is the most important principle taught in this book. Once you stop making excuses you accept their behavior and learn how to either live with it or walk away from them.
I think everyone will learn something while reading this book. Whether you need help in drawing some boundaries or just want to make sure your reactions are normal, this book has some great suggestions. I enjoyed the personal touch of the authors. You can tell the book was written to help, as the writing is not judgmental at all.
If you are having any difficulties in a relationship and are feeling like you are making excuses for the other person’s actions, you can benefit from this book. I gave this book a 4/5 stars because although most of the book had helpful information, some of it seemed repetitive.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Breaking through unhealthy relationships

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Relationships. They are a part of everyone's lives: parents, siblings, spouse, friends...the list is endless. The issue is whether your relationship with others is healthy or unhealthy. What I Did For Love is more than just a show tune; it is also a lifestyle of unhealthy relationships for some people. In BREAK THROUGH, Dr. Tim Clinton explores some of the relationships we have with others and what makes them healthy or damaging. He, along with author Pat Springle, have written an easy to read book...yet one that can seem hard as one is confronted by their own reflection in some of the cases given. I know there were a couple of examples written that described me, even to the point of using terms I have only heard myself use. I believe the advice given in the book would most likely be very useful, and it has given me a few things to think about.
I received a copy of this book from Handlebar Marketing. I was not required to give a positive review, but only my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Break Through: When to Give In, How to Push Back: The Moment that Changes Everything
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beneficial!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In reading this book I discovered and recognized myself and those close to me within these pages. Very beneficial to readers from all walks of life, those stuggling in present and past situations and ones needing breakthroughs and understanding which is delivered in an honest and compassionate voice. I connected with each life story contained in most chapters.
Some topics discussed are: How to really love the people in your life even if they have a hard time repaying the love, how to recognize counterfeit love, what is enmeshment, the different levels of trust and so much more! Included are self evalutation questions to reflect upon.
I learned so much while reading this well written and researched book. I found myself rereading some material before proceeding to the next chapter. Don't expect to finish it in a day or two as alot of valuable information is contained within this volume and to rush through it would guarantee missing key points. The overall message is inspiring and I found myself totally immersed into the book. I was greatly entertained and would highly recommend this book to others. Thanks to Worthy Publishing and Netgalley for the ARC for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.