Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2

Treachery causes Gwyneth Fairchild's world to crumble. The daughter of a British general, she barely saves her life by fleeing London aboard a ship to America. Her goal is to find refuge with the Lane family in Maryland, having been told by her father she could implicitly trust Winter and Bennet Lane, even though their nations are once again at war. After meeting their son, Thad, she wonders how safe she truly is when she discovers that the Lanes trade in a dangerous commodity-espionage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Review 1 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Whispers from the Shadows...

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Gwyneth Fairchild is sent from Great Britain to America for her own protection. Moments prior to leaving her home, she witnesses her father being murdered by someone she never dreamed capable of murder. The secrets surrounding her father’s death follow her across the ocean and threaten her in the New World. Mysteries, both old and new, must be solved before Gwyneth and those she love can remain in safety.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Roseanna White offers her readers a novel that contains a well woven plot with intriguing mystery. However, the character of Gwyneth Fairchild proved to be a character too weak to adequately play the role required of the main female character. Where strength and confidence were needed, fear and hesitation were provided. This characterization of Gwyneth is contrasted by the character, Thad Lane, who actively confronts his past to display strength in the present. Overall, the novel remains an engaging read; albeit, the characters would benefit from further development.
MY RATING:
3.5 (out of 5 pennies)
*I received a complimentary copy of Whispers from the Shadows from Harvest House Publishers for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual Warfare meets historical accuracy

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen L. Maher
Location:Breesport, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was unprepared to be blown away--swept away into a time and place apart from my normal historical romance escape. I confess, the characters, setting, plot, and writing as superb as they were, came secondary to the powerful theme and message. Faith overcoming fear. Trust trouncing suspicion. Mercy triumphing over judgment. And the all-staying hand of a sovereign Lord who does indeed take human affairs into His loving hand.
Gwyneth Fairchild witnesses the unthinkable, and must flee her home in London--straight into the arms of her political enemy. The War of 1812 has been raging, and treachery abounds in her circles with a father who serves as one of Britain's leading generals. Alone and filled with terrors that only come out in her paint and canvas, she must adapt to a new life with strangers, in America where her father has sent her. Can she trust her father's wisdom? Can she trust her new guardians, the Lanes, whose clandestine activities would make her and her family suspect them under ideal situations?
Thad Lane, a merchant and so much more than meets the eye, has sworn to protect his Baltimore and his America from British threats. When he receives this special care package from London in the form of the beguilingly beautiful Miss Fairchild, his mission takes on new dimensions. Can he reconcile his involvement with his parents' espionage ring while remaining true to his heart and to the leading of the spirit within? As his feelings for the lovely and mysterious young lady deepen, can he trust himself?
A page turning journey kept me in its grips these past weeks as Gwyn, Thad, and a host of fascinating characters reveal secrets, unfold the will of God, and yield surprises as told by only a master craftsman in plotting and pacing. This is my first Roseanna White novel, and though it was the second in the Culper Ring series, it read seamlessly. I am eager to go back and read the first, detailing the elder Lanes' romance and intrigue during the American Revolution. And I eagerly await the next story, set in the American Civil War amid the Knights of the Golden Circle.
This book's depiction of the historically accurate events surrounding the British invasion of Washington and attack on Baltimore showed in a beautiful way how the miraculous hand of the Divine preserved our young nation. At every level, powers unseen vie for the upper hand--at the national, local, and deeply personal . . . Comparable to the groundbreaking work of Frank Peretti for showing spiritual warfare in authentic ways, this book plays between the seen and unseen world with fine brushstrokes and vivid sensory depiction. A must read for lovers of history, spiritual truths, mystery, and romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't wait for the third book!

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
A great sequel to Ring of Secrets. Author Roseanna White did a fantastic job bringing the characters to life, painting a clear picture of their surroundings, and packed the story with mystery, trouble, and romance.
The first chapter had me tuning out the rest of the world. Captivated and shocked, I could not put the book down. Following Gwyneth from one continent to another while she is plagued by haunting dreams, finding she is being entrusted to a handsome fellow she did not even know, not to mention the fact these two continents were at war, created a fascinating and memorable story.
I believe the author wants us readers to take away the fact that we often place our trust in so many things--family, friends, government--that can ultimately let us down. Yet we should be placing our full trust in God, our creator, because we can be confident that He will never let us down.
***Thanks Harvest House Publishers for the free book in exchange for my honest review.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exciting and adventurous romantic spy novel is the second book in a new series from Roseanna M. White. Whispers from the Shadows combines fascinating cloak-and-dagger secrets with a tale of love and intrigue during the War of 1812.
Treachery causes Gwyneth Fairchild's world to crumble. The daughter of a British general, she barely saves her life by fleeing London aboard a ship to America. Her goal is to find refuge with the Lane family in Maryland, having been told by her father she could implicitly trust Winter and Bennet Lane, even though their nations are once again at war. After meeting their son, Thad, she wonders how safe she truly is when she discovers that the Lanes trade in a dangerous commodity--espionage.
Not long after Gwyneth finds refuge in his city, Thad Lane experiences the tug of love, though he fears it may blur lines of loyalty. With family playing the part of enemies and enemies proving themselves friends, a future with Gwyneth is uncertain. But at this moment, with the British advancing on Washington and Baltimore, they have only their shared faith in God as a shield about them.
My Review:
Gwyneth and Thad were simply amazing characters. I know I've said I loathe perfect romances, but while their romance was beautiful, sweet, and tender, it very believable. I am a huge history lover, so the backdrop of a war won me over from the opening chapter. The settings and places were described by White in intricate detail, and I didn't get bored with any characters and their complex emotions and problems. Their faith was important and well portrayed, not at all overdone or dramatically flaunted.
While the romance was wonderful, my favorite element of this novel lay with the codes and encrypted letters. The aspect of espionage really just set the perfect backdrop, and I enjoyed the element of danger and vulnerability of such perilous endeavors. The historical accuracy was wonderful (I admit, reading this book got me researching!) and taught me a lot about the time period and what life could have been like. A recommended read to anybody who likes a combination of good spy novel and plenty of romantic suspense.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story full of heart and action

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Morrill
Location:Overland Park, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my new favorite of Roseanna White's books. Though I say that about every book of hers I read :)
While this had a lot of the Roseanna White characteristics I love - an intelligent heroine, the threat of war, and rich spiritual truths - there seemed to be extra heart to it. I loved Gwen, but found myself connecting more with Thad. He's a big-hearted protector yet also a fierce warrior. I also really enjoyed the historical context of the story, since it's a time period I have read much about.
Very well done, and I can't wait for Circle of Spies!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exciting and adventurous romantic spy novel is the second book in a new series from Roseanna M. White. Whispers from the Shadows combines fascinating cloak-and-dagger secrets with a tale of love and intrigue during the War of 1812.
Treachery causes Gwyneth Fairchild's world to crumble. The daughter of a British general, she barely saves her life by fleeing London aboard a ship to America. Her goal is to find refuge with the Lane family in Maryland, having been told by her father she could implicitly trust Winter and Bennet Lane, even though their nations are once again at war. After meeting their son, Thad, she wonders how safe she truly is when she discovers that the Lanes trade in a dangerous commodity--espionage.
Not long after Gwyneth finds refuge in his city, Thad Lane experiences the tug of love, though he fears it may blur lines of loyalty. With family playing the part of enemies and enemies proving themselves friends, a future with Gwyneth is uncertain. But at this moment, with the British advancing on Washington and Baltimore, they have only their shared faith in God as a shield about them.
My Review:
Gwyneth and Thad were simply amazing characters. I know I've said I loathe perfect romances, but while their romance was beautiful, sweet, and tender, it very believable. I am a huge history lover, so the backdrop of a war won me over from the opening chapter. The settings and places were described by White in intricate detail, and I didn't get bored with any characters and their complex emotions and problems. Their faith was important and well portrayed, not at all overdone or dramatically flaunted.
While the romance was wonderful, my favorite element of this novel lay with the codes and encrypted letters. The aspect of espionage really just set the perfect backdrop, and I enjoyed the element of danger and vulnerability of such perilous endeavors. The historical accuracy was wonderful (I admit, reading this book got me researching!) and taught me a lot about the time period and what life could have been like. A recommended read to anybody who likes a combination of good spy novel and plenty of romantic suspense.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Culper Ring as great as the first

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
General Fairchild has uncovered a fatal secret. He sends his daughter Gwyneth from their home in England to friends in America in the nick of time, but not before she sees one of her mother's brothers kill her father. The ship's rocking and her horror over what she's seen send her into a frightful state. The servants who accompany her to America and her father's friends fear for her sanity.
Why did her father so trust Thaddeus Lane, a young man he hadn't seen in many years, especially during this horrid war? She didn't know, but now she finds Thad is also the only one she trusts. She cannot sleep unless he is in the house, nor did she sleep on the ship on her way to this land at war with her country.
Thad finds himself drawn to the haunted wraith thrust so suddenly into his and his parents' care. The young woman is a talented artist, but what are the shadows in her drawings? Why does she act so frightened? She's hiding secrets, but she's letting no one in on them--not even him, not even though it's so obvious she trusts him with her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strong message, good plot

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Whispers from the Shadows" continues Roseanna M. White's Culper Ring Series in the War of 1812. The Culper Spy Ring was initiated during the American Revolution, and has been revived again now that the British once more threaten America. After witnessing her uncle kill her father at home in Britain, Gwyneth Fairchild flees to America, uncertain as to whether she was spotted, and becoming a severe insomniac in the trauma. Thaddeus Lane, son of General Fairchild's good friends, has been entrusted with her keeping after receiving a cryptic letter from the man. While trying to figure out the hidden message from the General, they also are kept busy gathering information on the British movements and attempting to raise their fellow Americans out of their stupor to fight for the independence for which their fathers battled so fiercely.
Just as the War of 1812 was fought differently from the American Revolution - more by sea than by land - so the methods of spying differed. Most intelligence was gathered by American privateers; there was little worry about it falling into wrong hands, and so the old invisible inks were out of style. As an official Culper, Thad works as a privateer and spends hours gathering information in public houses, though we do not get to see much of the actual spying since so much time was taken up with Gwyn. Because of his personable nature and reliance on the Holy Spirit, Thad is well liked by all and able to give them what they need at the moment. However, in his desire to be that help for Gwyn, he oversteps the leading of the Spirit. How easy is it to be doing what God wants us to do, but then we rush ahead of His plan? Like for Thad, it can pretty easily land us in hot water.
Gwyn has never had to question her safety before, growing up with a general for her father in upper class England where she never knew want, she never had to worry about who to rely on. However, when her father is killed, she no longer has that reliable safety net; she turns to Thad for her security, but as a man, he makes mistakes and cannot be there always for her. After battling the hallucinations and whispers she hears in her state of insomnia, she finally realizes who should be her security and rest - the Lord. Where does your strength and rest lie? In yourself, in your spouse? Or do you you place your trust in God, the Alpha and Omega, Beginning and the End, who is, was, and is to come, the Almighty? Man is fallible and will disappoint, but God is a rock that cannot be moved.
I admit to knowing little about insomnia, but Gwyn's ability to sleep in the Lane house seems a bit far-fetched, though it is rather romantic. On the other hand, Thad's "intuition," or rather, listening to the Spirit, is documented thoroughly throughout the bible and still exists today for those who listen - that little nudge that sends one in a direction one would not normally take, or to talk to someone to whom one has never spoken. Good reminder to listen to the Spirit!
While I liked the more active intrigue of "Ring of Secrets" better, "Whispers from the Shadows" is still an excellent novel - romantic, suspenseful, and a strong message of keeping faith in God. 5 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whispers from the Shadows

Date:August 16, 2013
Wow! Just wow! After reading the first book and novella in this series, I was prepared for a great book. I was definitely not disappointed! While Whispers from the Shadows was less suspenseful than Ring of Secrets, I still thoroughly enjoyed it! It was one of those rare books that I was loathe to put down ... and couldn't stop thinking about when I wasn't reading it. The romance was so perfect. Gwyneth and Thad follow the rules of propriety, but there was definitely passion there too! The author also did a beautiful job sharing faith lessons in this story without "preaching," which is often a hard balance to strike.
While this book could stand alone, I would strongly encourage you to read the series in order. I think it will help explain a few things along the way that would otherwise be confusing. I have completely fallen in love with this series and can't wait for the next installment. Judging by the epilogue, we're in for another treat!
I received a free copy of this book from Harvest House Publishers via FIRST Wildcard Tours in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Whispers from the Shadows

Date:August 16, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When Gwyneth Fairchild witnessed the murder of her father, a beloved British general, her world changed forever. Haunted by nightmares manifested in physical and mental ailments, she is but a lost soul when Thaddeus Lane, prominent American citizen and covert spy, first meets her. With no one to trust, Gwyn turns to painting for solace. But her pictures convey more to Thaddeus than a casual observer would notice. Time and kindness lead Gwyn to Thad, but her heritage as a British citizen and Thad's work as an American spy create a seemingly impossible barrier. Can Gwyn and Thad find a mutual cause to support? Could loyalty and love thrive between a British woman and an American man? Read more in Whispers from the Shadows by Roseanna M. White.
Whispers from the Shadows by Roseanna M. White is labeled as the second book in the Culper Ring Series though there is an e-novella (Fairchild's Lady) available that takes place in between Ring of Secrets and Whispers from the Shadows. What I love about this series is that the author creates two characters, on seemingly opposing sides of the American and British conflict, and draws them together inside a story of intrigue and romance. I loved the character of Thaddeus Lane in spite of feeling he was a “too good to be true” type of hero. It wasn't that he didn't make mistakes in the story, it was just that he always seemed to have the best of intentions and landed on his feet. My feeling that he was unrealistically perfect never disappeared, but it became inconsequential in light of the captivating story line and character growth of Gwen (of which Thad was very much a part).
Readers who enjoy romantic suspense in concert with Christianity will enjoy Whispers from the Shadows by Roseanna M. White .
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review: Whispers from the Shadows

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Whispers from the Shadows by Roseanna M. White is book 2 in the Culper Ring series, taking place 35 years after the wonderful Ring of Secrets. The setting is the Chesapeake Bay area during the year of 1814, as the British begin their march on Washington and Baltimore, and the focus is on the Culper spy ring that was initially formed during the Revolutionary period. It is a story where things aren't always as they seem - family can become the enemy, while enemies prove to be true friends. Whispers from the Shadows combines elements of history, romance and intrigue with well-woven spiritual themes, and it is a story that I am glad to recommend.
I'm unashamedly a fan of historical romance, but Whispers from the Shadows is that and so much more. Roseanna has a great gift for storytelling and characterization. From a historical standpoint, Roseanna has done her research well, focusing in this second book on the War of 1812, a war that doesn't get much fictional attention. The whole series seems well thought out and planned; in fact, I can't imagine how much time Roseanna put into her research.
Thad is a great hero, a man who cares deeply about the people of America: "The farmers and merchants and smithies all laboring to build a legacy for their offspring. The fishermen who could weave a yarn like no other, the trappers who had explored the great unknown to the west, the lawyers who philosophized on what their land could be with the proper guidance. The strangers who could someday be friends." And he understands that this war is about revenge for the Revolution, about hatred.
The Culper spy ring is fascinating because of its composition - ordinary people wanting to help their country - and how successful it was. It is a joy to see an older, but very happy, Bennet and Winter from Ring of Secrets - Bennet with his arsenal of chemicals and Winter with her experience with codes. Winter even pulls her famous "clueless" stunt on one occasion. I loved her line: "When one acts utterly silly, no one ever thinks to look for deeper motives."
The romance between Thad and Gwyn is my kind of romance, very tender, sweet and real. I also loved the deep friendship and camaraderie between Thad and Alain Arnaud, which only grew stronger out of past heartbreak and their ability to be open and honest.
Gwyn's journey from relying on Thad and turning to the true source reminds me of the beautiful passage from Psalm 121: "I lift up my eyes to the mountains—where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord . . ." And Gwyn discovers that God's path can be found in the most unlikely people and places.
On a purely human side and along with a lot of other fans, I hated to see General Fairchild die - this is not a spoiler; it happens in the first few pages - but his death is a necessary plot vehicle for everything else that happens. While this book can stand alone, readers really need to begin with Ring of Secrets for a greater understanding of how everything fits together.
I greatly enjoyed Whispers from the Shadows and highly recommend it to all readers. Thank you, Roseanna, for giving me the opportunity to review this book. I eagerly await the next novel, Circle of Spies, which releases in April 2014.
Roseanna writes: "What I love about the Culper Ring is that they weren’t specially-trained spies. No James Bonds or Jason Bournes. No action heroes with razor-sharp instincts. They were just people like you and me. People who changed the world by actively looking for a way to help their neighbors, their compatriots, their country."
In the first two books of this series, Roseanna draws from a collection of Puritan prayers and devotions that I often use for meditation and highly recommend, The Valley of Vision, edited by Arthur Bennett.
This book was provided by Harvest House Publishers and Roseanna M. White in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring of Secrets is the first novel in the Culper Ring Secrets series, which is set in the Revolutionary War timeframe. Continuing with the faith-filled family from the first book, we now look at another generation faced with threats upon American soil. The British fleet is in the water and Redcoat soldiers are coming on land to begin to fight again to tear asunder the unity of the colonies at several locations at one time. As the secrets of the ring were passed to Thad Lane years before, he knows he must put to use all his knowledge to ascertain the sudden appearance of a British general’s daughter from England.
Gwyneth is only 18 years old, but has already been exposed to treachery that no young lady should face. Her father has sent her to America to be safe to people she met a long time ago. Now, crossing the ocean to live with strangers and not knowing the reason propels Gwyneth to discover the reason. However, due to a trauma before sailing, she is unable to communicate the atrocity or the party to be held responsible.
Within the pages of the book, the adventures, dangers, and mystery go far beyond what I share here. One aspect that carried from book one to book two is the including of Puritan prayers that are sure to touch the heart and mind of any who glance at the pages. Also continuing is the Ring of Culpers, who has encoded messages sent and received that are shared with trusted government officials. One huge theme that radiates from the novel’s pages is the need to look to God alone for our needs and entrust our loved ones to His care.
The author has penned a brilliant fictional reading that resonates with patriotism from our past and the need of it to never fade from our land. Sacrifice, love and believing God are definitely a three cord strand woven throughout the story. It is one of forgiveness and learning to trust after suffering a devastating heartache. Plus, the reality that it takes time to deal with heart wounds. Only the Lord knows the perfect timing for the unveiling and the choices faced by each person to forgive and move forward so as not to become embittered.
Part of this tale includes the way some hear or sense the Spirit’s leading and hearing the voice of the Lord. I loved how a couple of the characters looked to the Bible for guidance and comfort when faced with a fork in their journey and not sure of which path to travel. We may never know if such a secret ring ever existed or if it still does today, but in either case I know that God moves in mysterious ways and has his angels watching over His loved ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

War, Spying, and Romance...It's a good fit.

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whispers from the Shadows by Roseanna White was a book that started off little slow, but picked up to a good pace. The story was interesting and on a subject I didn't know anything about, The Culper Ring. The Culper Ring was the first spy organization in the US, that was around during the Revolutionary War. (I will be researching more about this now.)
This story follows Gwyneth Fairchild, the daughter of a distinguished British General. She has no idea why, but her father is sending her away. His rushing of it has her questioning a lot of things and she feels lost. Trying one last time to plead for more time, Gwyn watches as her uncle kills her father from the library door. Gwyn flees as fast as she can without a backwards glance with her two elderly servants, who had been holding the carriage for departure. In shock over what has happened, Gwyn retreats inside of herself and confides in no one. Fear and sadness lead her to insomnia through her several week trek across the ocean to America.There doesn't seem to be any more light in Gwyneth Fairchild's life, until an encounter on the sea leads her to Thaddeus Lane.
Thaddeus Lane is a guy who knows everyone. He makes it his job to know everyone in his city and at times it seems his country, which is important since he and his family are in The Culper Ring. He cares very much for his family and with war looming, to see that they are safe, he asks them to stay at his house in Baltimore, Maryland. It isn't long after his parents arrival, when a new house guest arrive, Gwyneth Fairchild. The Fairchild's and the Lane's have been family friends since the Revolutionary War. Unlike most people of the time, Gwyneth's father and Thad's parents had struck a friendship during the hostile times. And because of this, Gwyn's father believed her safest there. During their time together, Gwyn and Thad try to figure out the last bit of information Gwyn's father sent with her.
Whispers from the Shadows was an interesting story. The plot revolved more around Gwyn and her struggles to over come the fear she had growing in her, than The Culper Ring. I would have loved to see more into the secret society that was formed through close friends and family. The ways of communication during that time was fun to see. Technology has come a long way.
There was one small thing that I found didn't fit that well into the story. In a contemporary story, I could see it easy, but for a book set in 1814, it was a bit off for me. The speed at which Thad started calling Gwen "Sweet". This was a time of propitiatory and having a term of endearment like that when not courting or engaged seemed a little off. Other than that small bit, it was an interesting story.
Thank you to Harvest House Publishers, I received a copy of the book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Whispers from the Shadows

Date:August 5, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started reading this book I thought I would read a few chapters a day until I finish the book, but oh boy! I was in for a surprise. This book drew me in from the first page and I could not put it down; I was up until 1 am reading and I enjoyed every single minute of it. I can tell Roseanna White really loves her characters and she allows them to show us their love for our Lord Jesus. Thad and Gwyn are amazing and I can't wait for book 3.
PS: I did not want this book to end and I love how she allowed Thad and Gwyn to show their passion for one another in a very tasteful manner. Roseanne, if no one has told you; let me be first to say that you are truly an amazing author and one we need in Christian Fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Sequel (but I preferred the first book)

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gwyneth Fairchild has been sent by her father, Isaac, to stay with his old friends from America, Winter and Bennet Lane. Never mind that it’s 1814 and England is at war with America, and never mind that she doesn’t want to go. As she is leaving, she is intercepted with a marriage proposal from the handsome Sir Arthur, but when she goes back inside to speak to her father, she unwittingly witnesses his murder at the hands of her Uncle Gates, so she knows she must leave, immediately, before her uncle realises what she has seen.
She suffers from dreadful seasickness on the voyage, and doesn’t improve even after arriving at the Baltimore home of Thaddeus Lane, son of Winter and Bennet. But they are determined to care for her, even without knowing why she is so afraid. When they find out, they are even more determined to protect her, especially Thad, who finds himself falling for the beautiful artist.
I didn’t enjoy Whispers from the Shadows as much as Ring of Secrets or Fairchild’s Lady (a novella), because the focus was more on the relationship and the suspense around Gates and Sir Arthur, rather than on the activities of the Culper Ring, which were much more a focus of Ring of Secrets. This could be because it was rather slow to get going. Gwyneth sees her father murdered, falls to pieces mentally, and doesn’t really recover until almost the halfway point. Yet Thad falls for her almost immediately, despite the fact that she’s just not herself.
And Thad is hiding his own secrets. He’s been married before, but no one talks about it, which seems very strange. We realise why when there is a huge argument at the halfway point, and it’s at this point that Whispers in the Shadows really starts to get going and pile on the suspense. Danger is coming, both from the inevitable war with the British, and from Uncle Gates. The second half of the novel is excellent, as is the unexpected finish, and I was impressed by the historical research and the way the historical events make the war between the North and the South inevitable.
Although this is part of a series, it can easily be read as a stand-alone novel—the parts of the story that are confusing in the first half are confusing even to someone who has read the previous books, and the questions are answered in the second half. I will look forward to the next in the series, but I hope it returns to more of a focus on the Culpers, and maintains the pace all the way through.
Thanks to Harvest House and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Spies, War of 1812, Murder and Romance

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roseanna M. White in her new book, "Whispers From The Shadows" Book Two in the Culper Ring series published by Harvest House Publishers introduces us to Gwyneth Fairchild and Thad Lane.
From the back cover: I love her...Can I trust her? I love him...Is he safe?
1814-England and America are again at war. Sudden and implacable treachery causes Gwyneth Fairchild's world to crumble in a moment's time. The daughter of a British general, she just barely saves her life by fleeing London aboard a ship bound for America. Her goal is to find refuge with the Lane family in Maryland. Yet after meeting the Lane's son, Thaddeus, Gwyn wonders how safe she is. For she discovers that this family she soon discovers that this family trade in a dangerous commodity-espionage.
Thad Lane is a prominent citizen in the city of Baltimore. He has the ear of everyone, and he is in a unique position to pass on to the leaders of government exactly what he hears. Not long after the beautiful and British Gwyneth Fairchild finds safe haven in his community, he experiences the tug of love, though he fears it may blur lines of loyalty. With family playing the part of enemies and enemies proving themselves friends, a future with Gwyn is more than uncertain-it could be life threatening.
In the end, with the British advancing relentlessly on Baltimore, Thad and Gwyn have to trust in their shared faith in God to be a shield about them. To give them a future and a hope.
If you did not read the first book in this series you will still enjoy reading this one however you won't realize the connection of the characters. Gwyn is the daughter of General Fairchild, Colonel Fairchild from the first book. The General fears for her safety and wants her to go to America, to the safety of his friends the Lane's, the Culpers from the first book and whose son, Thad, has now taken up the reigns. There has been a murder, the British troops are amassing for their march on Washington and Baltimore, there are those that want to stop Gwyn and Thad, separately and collectively and they both have secrets. This is one exciting adventure. Both Gwyn and Thad have secrets that they do not want the other to know for fear that it will separate them yet there is a romance brewing between them and these secrets are holding them back. Ms. White does a nice job of keeping that tension between the two of them throughout the whole story. "Whispers From The Shadows" is great fun to read. Ms. White has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she gives them life and unique voices. I liked it a lot and am looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intrigue. History. Romance. Faith. LOVED it.

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joanne Sher
Location:Grand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This exciting and adventurous romantic spy novel is the second book in a new series from Roseanna M. White. Whispers from the Shadows combines fascinating cloak-and-dagger secrets with a tale of love and intrigue during the War of 1812.
I've been waiting for Whispers from the Shadows impatiently ever since I read the first chapter teaser in the back of Ring of Secrets, the first book in the series. And this book did not disappoint.
As always, Ms. White's characters are rich and deep and complex, her history is woven in expertly, and the romance and intrigue are top notch. But I think my favorite part of this particular book was the spiritual aspect. Both Thaddeus Lane and Gwyneth Fairchild struggle at different times with who they are trusting with what they hold dear. Roseanna White brings these characters realistically and powerfully to the end of themselves, until they can trust the only One who can keep them safe. Both of those scenes touched me like nothing else I have read outside God's Word itself.
I eagerly (again!) await Circe of Spies, the third book in the series.
Thank you to Harvest House for providing a copy for review purposes. These opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great!

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought the first book in this series was enjoyable, but I actually ended up liking this novel even better. I found the storyline more to my liking, and I liked the characters better, too! I especially liked Gwyneth, and her fragility and quiet spirit was a nice change from the overly feisty heroines that have taken over fiction nowadays.
The only quibble with this book that I had was 1) the beginning was a little confusing and I had a little trouble keeping the characters straight and 2) some characters called each other by their first name (or called them by first name sooner than they should have), which wouldn’t have been appropriate for the time period. However, aside from that, Whispers From the Shadows was a great follow-up to Ring of Secrets.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whispers from the Shadows, Culper Ring Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I LOVED THIS BOOK!!
Do I have your attention now? Yes? Good!
Roseanna White takes the reader back to 1814, to the war of 1812, where we meet again with the main characters from the first book in this series Ring of Secrets—Winter and Bennet Lane. Their son Thaddeus Lane is our hero and he also is Mr. Culper now.
Our heroine is the daughter of the British General Fairchild—we met him in the first book as Colonel Fairchild. Gwyneth Fairchild is being sent away by her father to America. He believes their lives are in danger and he wants Gwyn to leave immediately. He sends her to his American friends—the Lanes. Just before she enters the carriage to leave, her British suitor – Sir Arthur Hart – asks for her hand in marriage. Excitedly Gwyn runs back to the house to talk to her father. But instead of talking to him she is a witness to his murder. Panicked, she runs back to the waiting carriage and leaves England and Sir Arthur behind.
After a long and horrendous sea journey, Gwyn finally arrives in America. She has been sick and has had terrible nightmares. She did not tell anyone that she saw her father being murdered. Fear that the killer might follow her to America, has kept her awake and made her sick. Her servants thought she was seasick, but she cannot tell anyone what is really plaguing her.
When she finally meets Thad – the only person she knows she can trust because her father trusted him – she falls asleep in his arms.
Captain Thaddeus Lane – or Thad – has received a letter from General Fairchild, but the content doesn’t make any sense. He assumes there must be a hidden message in it, but he can’t figure it out. Not even his parents can break the code—if there is one.
When Gwyn arrives at his doorstep, he doesn’t know what to do with her. Can he trust her? She is British after all…and America is at war with England.
Back in England Sir Arthur and Gwyn’s uncle are looking for Gwyn, but they don’t know where she went. When Arthur finds a letter from the Lanes in General Fairchild’s study, her uncle believes that is where the general has sent her. Together they follow Gwyn to America—Arthur in hopes to claim her as his bride and Uncle with another purpose.
Gwyn’s trust for Thad – because her father trusted him – runs deep. She will have to learn to put her trust in Someone else to find peace and healing from the monsters in her nightmares.
Thad is a widower, but doesn’t talk much about his deceased wife. For some reason it is a sensitive subject. While he starts to care more and more for Gwyn – and his feelings are returned – he neglects to tell her why it is such a sensitive topic. When his best friend, Alain, spills it all out during a fight, Gwyn is shocked to learn what happened and runs away to hide in her bedroom. Before he has a chance to talk to Gwyn, Thad is called away on a dangerous sea journey to spy on the British fleet approaching America.
Can an American Captain and the daughter of a British General find love?
Will Gwyn understand that he had to leave before they could talk it all out? Will she forgive him?
And what about Sir Arthur? Will he find Gwyn to claim her for his own?
Will her father’s killer find Gwyn?
And General Fairchild’s letter…will they ever break the code and learn what secret message is hidden inside it?
There’s a lot of suspense and intrigue in this fabulous book. Murder, spies, secrets, war, love, grief, forgiveness, faith... There’s so much to enjoy in this story. The characters and plot were very well developed and the writing is clear and exciting. I’m already looking forward to the next book in this series. Fantastic job, Roseanna!
*Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy through NetGalley.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.