Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2

Harvest House Publishers The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2

Local historian Jenny Springer has a burning desire to find out who she really is. When a drifter named John comes to town looking for his own roots, she gets serious in her search for answers. Will her discovery surprise her? And will opening doors to the past help them both see a future---together?
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Review 1 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book!

Date:May 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen Gervais
Location:Troy, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading A Quilt for Jenna I couldn't wait to start reading The Road Home. This book had me in tears because of Jenny. Jenny, an English girl who was adopted by Jerusha and Reuben when she was found by Jerusha in the first book of the series. Jenny grew up Amish with the desired to find her birth parents. I was drawn into this story because I myself have been adopted and also had the desire to find my birth parents but never looked into it. This book isn't just about Jenny, the characters in the first book are there along with a few newcomers. Patrick E. Craig really hit the spot on this book. I enjoyed the first book but this second book was even better. Will the third book in the series top them both? I recommend anyone to read this series. I'm really looking forward to reading Jenny’s Choice, book 3 in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Key to Understanding....

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two young adults searching for something missing in their lives meet under unusual circumstances. As their paths cross Jenny and Johnny become acquainted and discover they have a common bond, the need to find out who they are as individuals. Adopted and raised Amish by Reuben and Jerusha Springer, Jenny has an insatiable curiosity about her past, who her biological parents were and how she ended up trapped in a car in a blizzard in Sugar Creek, Ohio when she was only four years old.
Johnny Hershberger is a hippie escaping a drug deal gone bad. He escapes pursuit by the drug dealers through traveling off the beaten path in Amish country, Ohio. Noticing an Amish family working the fields near Sugar Creek, Johnny stops to watch, and the scene brings him to tears. The sight is surreal as he recalls a recent dream. A strong feeling of familiarity affects his emotions, bringing more questions to the surface.
Repairing a badly damaged Rose of Sharon quilt is Jerusha's way of coping through difficult circumstances. As she makes repairs to the quilt she prays, and God speaks to her as she stitches. The quilt is a testament of life. God's deep and peaceful voice spoke to Jerusha as she kept her mind and hands busy. "I have things to show you, Jerusha - things that will help Jenny, but they will help you also. All of your life, you have been in My hand, and yet you still don't understand Me. The quilt is the key to understanding."
The second book in the Apple Creek Dreams series, the story of Jerusha and Reuben Springer continues, focusing on their adopted daughter, Jenny. This story is told with depth and detail, delivering a beautiful story of the love of family and the love of God. Jenny and Johnny's search for that missing link in their lives is a strong element in this installment of the series. Jerusha's Rose of Sharon quilt becomes a pivotal part of the story, as the quilt represents life in all its shapes and forms. Patrick E. Craig writes with brilliance and incredible insight, enveloping the reader in rich details and familiar emotions through his picturesque narrative. The Road Home kept me engrossed and left me with the comfort of being embraced by Jerusha's quilt. I highly recommend this book! It's a journey through broken and shattered lives, and exposure to life in its deepest, darkest moments, ultimately bringing peace through its spiritual revelations and restoration.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author through Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Page Turner!

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Road Home is book two in the Apple Creek Dreams Series. This book is about Jenny Springer, the little girl who was rescued by Jerusha in book one A Quilt for Jenny. After the rescue, Reuben and Jerusha adopted Jenny. Even though Jenny loves her adopted parents she has the burning need and desire to find out who her birth parents are.
I loved book one. I couldn’t believe that book two could be even better. Author Patrick E. Craig really knows how to keep you interested with twists, turns, and excitement. I picked this book up every chance that I got. I had to know about Jenny’s search.
This book isn’t just about Jenny as you will find out. There are so many other characters in this book that are not only interesting but very fascinating. Good characters as well as bad characters. I found myself with some very anxious moments because after all, I was drawn into the story as well. I had to help Jenny, didn’t I?
There are also some lessons to learn about turning everything over to God and allowing him to have control over our lives. I really enjoyed the interaction that some of the characters had with God. I will admit that I shed some tears at the end of this book.
I am looking forward to reading book three in this series, Jenny’s Choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Patrick Craig continues the story of Jenny Springer, the child rescued in A Quilt for Jenna with a story of reconciliation and healing.
Jenny Springer is the local historian for the Amish community in Apple Creek, Ohio. As a child, Jenny was rescued from a terrible snowstorm, and when no trace of her parents could be found, the Springer family adopted her. Since then she has had a burning desire in her heart to find out who she really is.
When a drifter, John Hershberger, comes to town looking for his own roots, Jenny gets serious in her search for her long-lost parents. As she opens doors to her past, she finds the truly surprising answer to her deepest questions. And as John discovers the story of his own heritage, his growing love for Jenny causes him to reexamine his lifelong atheism. In doing so he discovers his need for a real home, a family, and a relationship with God.
My Review:
The 1960's was an odd time in history, and I thoroughly enjoy Amish books in this time period. Add to it that a man wrote this novel, and I must say it made for a winning combination! The Amish genre is sugar-coated quite a bit these days, (that's not to say I don't enjoy them) but this is an eye-opening view of what life was like for them back then.
Jenny Springer and her parents are back in this second book to the Apple Creek Dreams Series. Adopted by Reuben and Jerusha Springer, Jenna's life is forever changed. Now grown up, she can't help but want to know what is in her past, and she is drawn into a world where drugs, hippies, crime and freedom of choice is the norm. She meets a young man (but of course!) who is also looking for his roots, and they instantly connect as they journey into the past for answers of who they are.
The element in this book that was a winner for me, was that the message of salvation is plain to see in the writing. Craig is a former pastor, so I expected no less, but I was pleasantly surprised with the richness of the writing, and the power of God's Word throughout the story. The final conclusion is that this is a must-read from the Amish genre; different, but inspirational and uplifting.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
This review is fromRoad Home, The - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Patrick Craig continues the story of Jenny Springer, the child rescued in A Quilt for Jenna with a story of reconciliation and healing.
Jenny Springer is the local historian for the Amish community in Apple Creek, Ohio. As a child, Jenny was rescued from a terrible snowstorm, and when no trace of her parents could be found, the Springer family adopted her. Since then she has had a burning desire in her heart to find out who she really is.
When a drifter, John Hershberger, comes to town looking for his own roots, Jenny gets serious in her search for her long-lost parents. As she opens doors to her past, she finds the truly surprising answer to her deepest questions. And as John discovers the story of his own heritage, his growing love for Jenny causes him to reexamine his lifelong atheism. In doing so he discovers his need for a real home, a family, and a relationship with God.
My Review:
The 1960's was an odd time in history, and I thoroughly enjoy Amish books in this time period. Add to it that a man wrote this novel, and I must say it made for a winning combination! The Amish genre is sugar-coated quite a bit these days, (that's not to say I don't enjoy them) but this is an eye-opening view of what life was like for them back then.
Jenny Springer and her parents are back in this second book to the Apple Creek Dreams Series. Adopted by Reuben and Jerusha Springer, Jenna's life is forever changed. Now grown up, she can't help but want to know what is in her past, and she is drawn into a world where drugs, hippies, crime and freedom of choice is the norm. She meets a young man (but of course!) who is also looking for his roots, and they instantly connect as they journey into the past for answers of who they are.
The element in this book that was a winner for me, was that the message of salvation is plain to see in the writing. Craig is a former pastor, so I expected no less, but I was pleasantly surprised with the richness of the writing, and the power of God's Word throughout the story. The final conclusion is that this is a must-read from the Amish genre; different, but inspirational and uplifting.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
TMWoodsBooks
Location:Kansas City, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Here is a novel that is not at all your typical Amish Fiction. First it takes place in the sixties, and is full of suspense and mystery. Patrick Craig is a story teller with his own technique. He’s not a rule follower, but just goes right into telling the story in his style.
I asked Patrick about his style. He had this to say. “I am fortunate to have inherited the… quality – I love to tell stories and I think that may be my saving grace, since my style seems to fly in the face of conventional wisdom. People seem like my books because of the story and the characters. So as writers, I think we will find the most success with a great story first, and then with strong characters.”
Another thing you must know about this author before I give my review is that he used to be a pastor. So he is already very gifted in sharing spiritual truths in a beautiful yet down to earth way.
Okay, so here is my review. This story follows Jenny, an adopted Amish girl, as she tries to figure out who she is. She goes on a journey to find out about her past, believing that she will feel complete, and whole by knowing where she comes from.
Johnny is a hippy that is on the run and finds himself in Jenny’s life. As they both discover their family roots and their love for each other, God works in their lives.
For the quilt lovers out there, there is a magnificent quilt in this story that is used to tie so much of their lives together and the truths of God’s love. There is praying, a strong deep amazing strength of prayer that is a foundation of this book. It is a beautiful gift.
I am not one to like a lot of description in the books I read. I did enjoy this story, with all of its twists and turns, mystery and the need to see Jenny through to find answers to her many questions. I also wanted more out of the romance. The best part by far for me was how the spiritual message of God’s love, salvation, and letting the Holy Spirit work in our lives––was told.
Note: I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book. The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility. Other reviews can be read at http://TMWoodsBooks.com/blog . Also follow me on Twitter @TMWoodsBook, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/TMWoodsBooks .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once in awhile a novel or two comes along that just snags one’s attention and won’t let go until the very last page is turned and word is read. The Road Home is just such a book. For a long time I didn’t want to read books containing Amish stories as they were mostly for entertainment or it seemed like there were so many coming out at one time it was overwhelming. So I decided not to read or review any books that contained anything referring to Amish until recently. Since then, I have read a couple of extraordinary Amish novels that went deeper with the people, story and scenes.
The Road Home is uniquely written as mainly a mystery as one adopted young lady desires to find out about her past. Her longing to know the truth is so deep within her soul that she sets out to locate her information. Before this, Jenny is remembering her past in dreams and how she came to live on an Amish farm and be the only child. When a young man enters her life “coincidentally” as Johnny thinks, the adventure takes off.
I think the adventure of the story both for many characters as well as deeper within the hearts of a few main players are what kept me reading to the wee hours of the morning. Here you will see how choices made by others can at times affect families for generations, both right and wrong ones. You will clearly see how God uses everything to bring us to Himself if we but humble ourselves and turn toward Him.
Throughout the book there are so many threads from various angles and characters one might wonder how the piece will look when finished. I can tell you it was extremely encouraging, filled with hope and God’s message of salvation. I found one theme showing us that whether young or old we can never stop learning, repenting and turning to the Lord. Above all was the message that God always is in control whether we see Him clearly at the moment or later on. He is always who He says He is!
I hope you will read this novel and find it speaking to your heart and mind. I didn’t know about the first novel in the series, A Quilt for Jenna, so I didn’t read it. I can tell you that this particular tale was worth reading all the way through from start to finish. Also, I plan on sharing with a friend and perhaps you will too after you’re done reading it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancy
Location:White Cloud, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book turns around things that will help the couple as they grow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Road Home, Apple Creek Dreams Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

searching for answers leads home

Date:May 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patrick Craig has done an incredible job of blending romance with adventure, suspense, and spirituality. Jenny is searching for her birth parents and Johnny is searching for meaning. They both find many things along the way that they never expected or believed could happen. Their lives are thrown together in what seem like haphazard ways and yet, God has a plan for their lives just as He does for each of us. Jerusha and her lovely gift of quilting make the story complete with the Rose of Sharon quilt. There are many wounds that need healing for Amish Jenny and Englisher, John.
I felt drawn to the characters as I read. It caused me to reflect on my own life and the ways that God has given meaning to my life. God has given forgiveness to me and there were several precious examples of forgiveness in this book. Patrick Craig utilizes the scripture through out the book to help characters, to lead them, to comfort them and to guide them. I believe that he has used more scripture appropriately in his novel than I have ever seen in Amish fiction. Patrick Craig was a pastor and I feel that he draws on those experiences and his educational training for the ministry and this enhances his writing. I am looking forward to book 3: Jenny's Choice.
I was given a free pdf version of this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.