Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover

Zondervan The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover

The Amplified Bible captures the full meaning behind the original Greek and Hebrew. It is based on the philosophythat a given word may have a multitude of meanings. Thistranslation's purpose is to reveal any clarifying meaningsthat may be concealed by traditional translation methods.A unique system of punctuation, italics, references, and synonyms to unlock subtle shades of meaning as found in the original languages is used inside to get the full meaning of the text. Black letter edition, concordance, study notes, footnotes, historical background, archaelogical notes, book introductions, cross references, double column format,and bibliography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Review 1 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to understand.

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pat Giesbrecht
Location:Winnipeg, Manitoba
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This Bible version is much easier to understand than most of the others. It is written in modern language so it is much easier to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amplified Bible

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cupcakes and Mommy
Location:Jersey City, New Jersey
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Amplified Bible is an wonderful source to read about living a prosperity life with Jesus.
Thank you,
Cynthia Johnson
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christian Booklover
Location:Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it because it fits easily in a small girls' backpack that I have strapped onto a walker which I use, and it comes in handy to read if I need to wait around for something, and also when I just need some spiritual inspiration at any other time, and being it looks like a regular book does not draw attention to the fact that it is the Word of God (unless somebody inquires and then I'll show them what it really is).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Munch
Location:Inglewood, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This value of this Bible is excellent. My only comment is that it should not be as thick and have more margin space to write in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joseph
Location:Millbrook, Alaba
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible is everything I thought it would be. The service is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful tool

Date:March 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laura Fletcher
Location:Council Bluffs, IA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
It is handy. It is good to read and use for study purposes.
I can take it with me more conveniently.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very happy

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
peh55
Location:Ireland
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Amplified Bible is a valuable tool...a fine addition to a Bible students library. The added flavor it brings is most enlightening.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is an AWESOME study tool.

Date:December 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tannersgirl
Location:Pryor, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've given this Bible out many times to inmates and friends to study with. The Amplified Bible is an AWESOME study tool to study God's Word and understand the meaning. And, it opens up God's Word much better than any other Bible that I have read. I would recommend the Amplified Bible to anyone and everyone!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
April
Location:Virginia Beach, Va.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a Very good study tool and it's a great gift. the information clarify the verse and words and makes it enjoyable to study.I gave it as a gift and now I will buy one for my self.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
woody
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very detailed in understanding I believe God also inspired men to do these wonderful translation for such a time as this. Amen
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Faith
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything was Great...I'm really enjoying the Amplified Bible it has great meaning and level of understanding for me. PTL...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
elsie
Location:Pottstown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I like the soft-cover product; the size is not too small, not too big, and the font size is very readable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Bible has everything you need.

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ronda Martin
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible as another reference for my personal Bible study. I do not think it is sturdy enough to be used as my 'main' study Bible to be carried daily. However, I am very pleased with the quality for the price. It is wonderful that we can purchase inexpensive Bibles to expand our library and reference materials.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is an amazing version i really like it!

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Zimi
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is amazing because it explains things in details and it has all the resources in itself that a bible should have like the concordance and the footnotes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gives excellent instant definitions to understand

Date:December 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shelly A Cox
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing version to have on hand to help understand the meaning behind the Greek. Gives a lot of light to the meaning, making Bible reading more enjoyable and palatable!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randy Bell
Excellent Translation of the Bible! I gave an personally engraved copy (five bucks extra for putting his name on it to make it personal), to my handyman Christian friend who has helped me install new back screen doors and some other minor fixups at my house, and I think he really loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Oliver (shengquan) Twist (dai)
It is good, and I am sure it will give me great help in understanding the scriptures. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louis Destefano
Great...Great Price Well thought out...np loss of meaning through translation...In Fact: the true meaning is "Amplified"...I guess that's why it's the Amplified Bible...A must have for student to teacher...or just to read through your daily walk...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Renee Hibbert
The Amplified Bible is my favorite version! I've had my copy for many years and most recently purchased this copy for my teenage son. This version just speaks so clearly the message of God's word. It offers different words and phrases to clarify the message so that anyone can really understand it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Allyn
Great value ! Easy, readable font selection and size, good concordance, excellent Bible study aid.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.