Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Worthy Publishing Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better

Worthy Publishing Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better

Author, licensed psychologist and certified addictions counselor, Rhona Epstein brings insights learned through her own battle with addictive eating to deliver tangible action steps to overcome eating issues. Full of practical applications from Scripture, genuine compassion and true stories of struggle and success, Food Triggers will help you understand that addictive eating is a physical, emotional and spiritual problem that must be addressed on all three levels in order to achieve true freedom. Food Triggers isn't just another diet book; it is truly a food addict's roadmap to the Promised Land - the land of success, peace and total freedom.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (5 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better
Review 1 for Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Information

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Food Triggers: End Your Cravings Eat Well and Live Better - The title of this book had my attention. I wondered if there are things I eat that cause me to crave other not so healthy foods and so I thought I would give this book a read.
Rhona Epstein is a certified addictions counselor and she wrote this book not only based on her expertise in the field, but also because she has struggled with food addiction in her life. In the beginning of the book she tells her story about how sugar was her trigger food and what eating sugar did to her.
While I do not suffer from food addiction, I found this book an interesting read. As I read about how some people have an emotional attachment to food and the negative talk that goes on in their heads about how they are alone and the only ones who overindulge and/or binge, I felt compassion toward people who suffer from eating disorders. I have known people in my life that have suffered from eating disorders. I think that we probably all know people who struggle with food and we don't have to look too hard to find them.
Epstein talks about not only addressing the chemical triggers that certain foods cause, but also dealing with the emotional baggage people carry that cause them to eat when they aren't hungry. Some people eat to fill a void that food can't fill and because it will never be filled, they continue to eat. It's a vicious cycle. I appreciated that Epstein addresses the whole person, physical, emotional and spiritual. She talks uses scriptures throughout the book and encourages people to look to God to fulfill that missing part of themselves.
While I didn't think this book necessarily applied to me, the information in it was good information for others that I have known or may come across. Epstein gives practical ways people with eating disorders can overcome their behavior and not repeat this crippling cycle. I would recommend this book if you or someone you know struggles to have a healthy relationship with food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product has great information

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Aussiegirl
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1/16/2014 Reviewed
FOOD TRIGGERS
By:
Rhonda Epstein, Psy. D
Clean your cupboard, refrigerators, off the counter, tables why because trigger foods lark around the corners of all this. What do you think of that? If you don't see them you won't them right --well not true, I still think about them. If you can't get to them easily, so replace them with fruits, veggies and nuts. It takes work but it is worth the Healthy Habits so start with them. Yumm Yumm.
Stay constant-- when you stay consistent there's little need to obsess, worry, or fuss right?? If you keep changing things it sets you up to fail. So you don't want to fail at this do you?
Those nasty carbohydrates keep them far away from you. Look at what is in your food and leave the carbohydrates a bay.
He brought me up out of the pit of destructions out of the Miry Clay and he set my feet upon a rock making my foot steps firm. Psalm 40:2 (nice to have some scripture with our reading, right).
Like me Rhonda loved sugar my chocolate bar addiction was 5 th Avenue (an old long ago candy bar for us that is in our 60's we know those good old candy bars well. When I see a 5 th Avenue in a store I have got to buy it and get to the car fast and wolf it down like no tomorrow. "My prayers are Lord help me have the strength to walk away and leave it lay". The only place to get a 5 th Avenue is at one gas station and now I don't even pass by that station. The Lord answers our prayers they way he sees it needs answered weather we like the answer to our prayers or not.
Thanks to my prayers he also has helped my not want sweets as much as I use too.
this book will 1) tell you about addictions to foods and need a course for recovery 2) There are warp to eat that allow you to make peace with food.
Part 1 The Science of Trigger 8 chapters in it.
Part 3 Beating your Trigger: A Plan it has 5 chapters
The chapters aren't really long and there's a lot of information.
For example:
Which one can you use
which one helps you?
It really has a lot of information that will help you IF you are willing to put it to practice and learn the right way to eat. It's true freedom from what controls you.
Very interesting book to read and find out what you need to do for you to better health!!
HAPPY READING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 Stars
ISBN 978-1-61795-158-9
I received this beautiful book from Worthy Publishing free for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review just an honest one. The opinions are entirely my own and no one else's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2014
If you or anyone you love struggles with binge eating, then this is definitely the book for you! One of my favorite parts of the book was the very beginning where Rhona shared her own personal struggle with binge eating and the path she took to overcome it. It sets the tone for the whole book and lets you know that she speaks from experience. The added benefit is that she is a Certified Addictions Counselor so she not only shares her personal experience but also her clinical expertise.
The book is broken down into three sections with several chapters contained in each section. The first section is entitled The Science of Triggers. This section goes into the description of what constitutes binge eating. The second section is entitled The Heart and Soul of Your Triggers and it begins to dissect the triggers into different categories so you can begin to see what it is that begins the binge. The third section is entitled Beating Your Triggers: A Plan. This section helps you lay out a strategy to overcome your binge eating.
If I had to come up with one word to describe this book it would be HOPEFUL. Rhona has a gentle yet firm voice that encourages the reader and continues to point towards healing. Her use of Scripture throughout cements the notion that this is more than just about eating too much it is truly a spiritual battle but it is a battle that can be won!
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye Opening

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly food is the fuel that allows our bodies to exist, thing is many of us find ourselves eating way more than we need! Food is a comfort to many, a friend of sorts that we turn to in times of sadness or stress. We find ourselves turning to our favorite food addiction whether it be ice cream or cookies, or maybe it's chips whenever things don't go as planned, only to feel guilty about it and then beat ourselves becoming determined to get a handle our eating habits. Thing is it isn't easy, but with Ms. Epstein's book Food Triggers she helps us begin the journey of why and how to break the hold that food has over many of us! Honestly when I picked this book up to read, I wondered what experience the author might have, well I learned that she too once had an addiction to food, that alone made me sit up and take notice after all she has been there. She shares her insights on the how's and whys of food triggers, such as the fact that it isn't always about will power, instead it's almost like "faulty wiring" in the brain that causes someone to obsess over food. Food Triggers by Rhona Epstein is written in an easy to understand manner, where personal stories are interspersed scripture along with very well researched information that helped me better understand food triggers and how to overcome them.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Food Triggers: End Your Cravings, Eat Well and Live Better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Transform your Body-Not Impossible with God

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
True North
Location:http://69.89.31.135/~truenou1/
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does your Bible have a secret panel to hide candy bars? Is your freezer stuffed with ice cream? Does your car automatically turn into every fast food restaurant? Do you have “stinkin’ thinkin’” when it comes to your body image? The New Year is here. No more putting it off till “tomorrow”!
This year, with God as your partner, make a solemn resolution to get your eating under control, and begin a new, healthier lifestyle. Quite possibly, you will even lose that extra weight.
This is not a get-thin-quick diet book! There are no gimmicks or crazy diets inside. No pre-packaged food to buy, no tasteless recipes included, no starvation-by-smoothies! In this book are Biblically based answers that will help you to understand, develop, and stay the course on a new way of living. Begin by learning your “food triggers” – foods that you can’t just have one of, that cause you to binge, eat poorly, or gain weight. Using personal examples and years of clinical experience, Dr. Epstein delves into the reasons why we become addicted to food. Dr. Rhona Epstein is a recovered food addict! She’s been where you are, and has successfully overcome! Dr. Epstein shows you how to get your body in order using common-sense solutions. But getting your body in order it is not enough. For a transformation that lasts, you must also get your mind and soul in order. Using Biblical references, Dr. Epstein shows you how to do that by: taking captive the all storms in your life; by going to God in prayer; and by seeing yourself through the eyes of a loving God.
It’s not rocket science. Included is a test to determine whether you have a food addiction or a “dysfunctional relationship” with certain foods. Using real food that you purchase at the grocery store, Dr. Epstein shows you how to develop a personalized, tailor-made food plan to help you overcome your ‘food triggers,” and how to stay committed to your plan. There is also a wonderful chapter on eating out, with realistic examples for staying on track. Each chapter includes a “Trigger Talk” section with useful tips, tools, and Scripture to help you understand your transformation process.
I found the last chapter, “Writing a New Story” especially insightful. Thank God, His promises are new every morning! (Lamentations 3:23 NIV).
What are you waiting for? God’s promises can help you to write a new story. This book will walk you through the minefield of your food addictions & cravings. By yourself, it may seem impossible, but with God, all things are possible. (Matthew 19:26 NIV).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.