Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy

Zondervan The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy

The Amplified Bible captures the full meaning behind the original Greek and Hebrew. It is based on the philosophy that a given word may have a multitude of meanings. This translation's purpose is to reveal any clarifying meanings that may be concealed by traditional translation methods. A unique system of punctuation, italics, references, and synonyms to unlock subtle shades of meaning as found in the original languages is used inside to get the full meaning of the text. Black letter edition, study notes, footnotes, historical background, archaelogical notes, 8 pages of full color maps, book introductions, cross references, double column format, and bibliography. This is the large print edition, with 12 point type.
Average Customer Rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
77 out of 8096%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Review 1 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful purchase and great customer service!

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grandma57
Location:Carlisle, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my teen grandson who wants to understand the Bible. The Amplified definitely helps as it contains contemporary language while delving into the deeper meaning of the Scriptures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect!!

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
mari
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you ChristianBook for the fast shipping and excellent affordable christian supplies, professional customer service,you are the best!! great large print Bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
This review is fromAmplified Bible - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
lkf4741
Location:IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's nice to have a bible as concise as it is on my Kindle. I have two versions on my Kindle. If necessary, it is simple to carry my bible(s) to church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
This review is fromAmplified Bible - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ebook amplified bible is great for on the go.

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
readmakesmehappy60
Location:georgia/u.s.a.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my ebook amplified bible for my waits at drs. offices, waiting on grands after school, looking up verses quickly. With being on my smaller tablet it fits nicely in my pocket. The whole amplified Bible, my favorite version!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is nice

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Dayton, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is very nice. The print is nice and dark where you can read it. I like how it explains different words as you are reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
This review is fromAmplified Bible - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

necessary Bible version

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mlema
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think you really need to have the amplified Bible to read, no matter what other translations you also read. So, of course you need an e-amplified Bible! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Location:Rossville GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has been extremely helpful in helping me to understand scriptures more clearly in my Bible studies and devotions. The only thing I wish it had was Red letter in the New Testament.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sadie
Location:N.C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for a birthday gift for my sister - know that she will love it. I bought the Message Bible for her last year.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
This review is fromAmplified Bible - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dissatisfied
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the Amplified Bible. I was very disappointed in my purchase of the e-bible because it never worked correctly on my tablet. I really needed it for areas I travel with no Wi-Fi. I appreciate the fact that Christian Book refunded my money. However I really wish I can find an e-Bible to work on my tablet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amplified Bible is my long-time favorite

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Digicraft
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IMHO The Amplified Bible has not been surpassed by any of the later offerings in Bible translations, though I love ESV and The Voice. The only issue I have had in the past with my copies has to do with quality of construction. But when they can be replaced for only $20, it isn't really so bad; in general, Zondervan Bibles are no threat to Cambridge in the quality department. The large print serves my aging eyes well. I could wish for weaker commitment to the definition of grace as "unmerited favor" and occasional interpretive restraint as at Rom 5:12 in the Amp Bible, but otherwise I can't imagine life without mine. Count 1 happy customer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible ever

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this , very well made, will last forever and very well written, really helps to understand Gods word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great tool to better understand the Scriptures

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adrian
Location:Bloomfield, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a simple Bible;one that would be able to be read easily, but with the very greatly added feature of expanding upon the usual translations' simple word-for-word translation, such as the KJV or NASB. This Bible does that very nicely. The Amplified text really does justice to the original Hebrew & Greek/Aramaic, in that it does just as the word "Amplified" suggests-it very conveniently brings out the fullest meaning of the original languages, and does so without spoiling in any way the beauty of the original intent of them. The concordance is VERY good for most reader's needs; certainly for the average student of the Word. I chose the Bonded Leather binding and had my name engraved as well. It is one of my favorite "work-horse", every-day reading Bible. I feel the
purchase of this Bible was one of my best for the money. I recommend
this Bible highly.
this translation to anybody wishing to better and fully understand the
meaning & intent of the writers of Scripture. A must-read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it! Love it! Love it!

Date:September 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Reed
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The large print is truly large. The AMP version is awesome. The only thing this Bible doesn't have is the Words of Christ in red. Other than that it's perfect. Did I mention the AMP version is awesome? :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great buy!

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
prayerpower
Location:St. Petersburg FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use the Amplified Bible for my study because it gives all possible meanings of the words without having to look up information in other books. It's kind of a one-book resource that gives a great deal of information. This edition combined with the ASV, which is another of my favorite translations, simplified my study by having them together. The size type used is readable, and the price for this edition is very reasonable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best English translation I've found so far....

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
anniemouse
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the Amplified so much, especially with the large (more like giant) print. Although there is more reading involved, it takes the Scriptures into deeper understanding without knowing the original languages (Hebrew/Greek). English is not always a descriptive language, feminine vs mansculine, and we tend to take simple words such as 'keep' for granted. With the AMP it helps with adding the more descriptive details often missed in other translations. The NJKV is nice to read, but if one would like to get a deeper meaning of God's word, I HIGHLY recommend the AMP. The print is also bigger than even our NASB large print, so that helps for those who have trouble seeing smaller print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helps expand the meaning of Scripture

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharen
Location:Mesa,Arizona
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Amplified Bible helps me to better understand Scripture. It expands the verse and gives it more depth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent.

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Munch
Location:Inglewood, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bilble originally in 1996. I used it occassionally until this year. I love it! I ordered this one because I thought it would have larger margin space for me to write my notes. Alas, this was not so and I am disappointed in this issue alone. I think I'll just have to let this one sit because I have far to many notes to transfer them to the new Bible. It would be very time consuming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is a wise investment.

Date:July 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
mamabear47
Location:Watertown, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Amplified Bible is a wise investment for anyone looking to understand the Bible more clearly. It has increase my whole families understanding of the bible. Also, we are more comfortable with finding specific verses and information. Over all we are completely satisfied with the purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
rockintucson
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made and the name imprinted was a lovely bonus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Amplified Bible, Expanded Edition, Large Print, Bonded leather, burgundy
This review is fromAmplified Bible - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arlene
Location:Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have been so pleased with all my E-books and this amplified bible is right up there with the rest. Thank you for offering E_books.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>