Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street Boneman's Daughters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Center Street Boneman's Daughters

Military intelligence officer Ryan Evans is hot on the trail of Boneman, a Texas serial killer who murders his victims by breaking their bones. Evans witnessed this torture technique when he was serving in Fallujah. Now he's a suspect and his daughter is Boneman's latest target! Can he clear himself and save his daughter?

Note: Some profanity

Average Customer Rating:
4.152 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
2 out of 540%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boneman's Daughters
Review 1 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Father's Love

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amber McCallister
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a story that will resonate with adults\parents and teenagers alike. It is a story of a father's undying and unwavering love for his daughter.
Even though the father has been separated from his family by a time of serving in the military, he is very anxious to get back to them and become a family once more. However, things have changed since his absence. His wife has turned to another man and is poisoning their daughter against him.
As a huge twist to the story, the daughter is kidnapped by a serial killer just before the father can begin to try to win her heart back. To make matters worse, his wife and the authorities begin to suspect that he is actually the serial killer. This makes his attempts to get help to rescue his daughter an almost impossible task.
In the end, he must rescue his daughter himself.
The love of this father is a beautiful sight to see. He will go to whatever lengths are needed and endure all manner of pain and suffering in order to find and rescue his daughter. His love knows no bounds, and he won't rest until she is safe.
Who wouldn't want a father like that?! What man wouldn't want to be this type of a father for his daughter?
This story echoes the Biblical story of the The Prodigal Son. It describes in beautiful detail the love of the father towards his wayward son. How much he yearns for his son to return home to him. It hurts him to know that his son is in misery, and that he chose that path himself to take.
We also watch as BoneMan, the serial killer, tries to take the place of the father. He wants to become a counterfeit father to destroy this girl and make her into a shadow of what she is meant to be.
The father eventually sets his daughter free, but in the end, it was her choice to be allowed to be set free. You see our Heavenly Father will never go against our will. We have to choose Him, and when we do oh the unimaginable blessings that He will shower us with. He desires to give us the utmost desires of our heart, but we have to choose to obey Him and allow Him to bring about those blessing into our life.
God is not about restrictions, mandates, or procedures. He is about love, grace, and hope. He wants to sets us free to become who He intended us to be from our inception. He wants to give us a full and rich life that abounds with grace and love.
Which father will you choose? The one who sets you free by the sacrifice of His son, or the one who wants to put you in chains and keep you captive to satiate his jealousy over God's unimaginable love for you?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very disappointed

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nhuskr
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my first (and last) Ted Dekker novel. Not sure what I was expecting, but it wasn't what I got. Good versus evil, where in the end "good" becomes judge and jury and basically turns to evil, is what I got out of the story. I did not see Mr. Dekker turning hearts toward God, which is what I would expect to see from a "Christian" author.
I know evil like this exists in our world, but I don't want to knowingly put those images in my head, in the name of literature. Putting a priest in the book, along with a scripture or two and some general references to the Bible does not make a book Christian.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Boring, brutal and a bit dirty

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Finland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Story of serial killer Boneman is boring and brutal, writing was sometimes potty-mouthed and I started to skip pages. I am not saying he is just another Stephen King, but this was not good, either.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gail
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book is really good! all of ted dekker's books we have read are all good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
cindy
Location:Southern Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this at a used book sale because Ted Dekker is an "author of Christian books" The story was fine but there was no "Christian" to it
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shellie
In BoneMans Daughters we meet a serial killer who is trying to find the perfect daughter. He has already taken six young women lives due to the simple fact they did not meet his expectations of what a daughter should be. He breaks their bones and leaves them for dead. The DA thinks they have put this BoneMan behind bars, but two years late lack of evidence frees the man. Ryan Evans an intelligence officer with the Navy on a special assignment with the army is taken by terrorist. With this one event he realizes what he has done by fleeing his family was not his best decision. BoneMan strikes again and this time it is non-other than Ryan Evans own daughter, Bethany. Accusations that Ryan is BoneMan flare and he has no other choice, but to go after BoneMan himself. To save his daughter. With the clock running out, Ryan Evans is on the mission to save his daughter. To right the wrongs and take back what is his. BoneMans Daughters is a roller coaster ride, full of twist and turns. It will leave you guessing till the end, unknowing of who to trust and who to root for. Ted Dekker is a mastermind of page turning, captivating stories that will leave you fulfilled and hungered for more. Dynamic plot and unforgettable characters are always part of his book. And BoneMans Daughters doesnt fall short. I read this one in two days. I couldnt put it down. I had to know what was next, I had to know if my guesses were right. Who would win? What happens? Edge of your seat story. If you have ever read Dekker before you know his great ability to turn the story into a mirror of the love for us that the Father and put it in front of you in these characters. If you have never read Ted Dekker before I recommend you pick up a copy of BoneMans Daughters or any of his other great titles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kole
Awesome! that is the best word to descibe this book. i bought it the day it waas released in the store i go to, and a tore through it like lightning! he is definately at the top of his game. i like how he doesn't give you just the good side of the story, but he gives you a look inside the bad dudes head also. some might find that messed up and creepy, but there is no way, in my opinion to write a book with a serial killer if you can't show what state of mind the bad guy is in. how he reacts, what he finds appealing, it's all part of the story. my dad tore through this book also, almost as fast as i did(1 day). thats how good it is, and i will always recomend it to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda Matheney
Dekker is always a great read and this is no exception. Plan on finishing it when you start. There is no place to set it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ted Dekker
FYI, all who tread here. Only the Audio version has the objectionable language referred to in some reviews and that was an error on the part of the publisher. It's been taken out of all new presses of the audio and does NOT appear in any written format. My deepest apologies to any offended by the audio. I would recommend the written copy of BoneMan's Daughters, which is a story of God's heart for his child and Satan's diabolical and violent plant to crush that child. In all honesty, it's one of the most Christian books I've ever written. A beautiful prodigal story that takes us to the foot of the cross. He who has eyes to see, let him see.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne
I started listening to the audio book and was enjoying the build up of the story when I heard the character use my Lord's name in vain. I was shocked and angry. All the reviews I read said this guy was a Christian author and I can't imagine any committed Christian using our Lord's name in vain. I don't recommend it.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
brian
ok i realy dont like reading, but this book was amazing and for some to say that its was so bad bc of one little word and he only used it once so it really shouldnt be that big of a deal. but all in all it has to be the best book i had ever read
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
I have to say that this book is one of Ted Dekker's best works. I am a huge fan of Christian thriller and suspense novels, all of which I find in reading his books. When I read this book, it felt so real,it was as if I was there. It takes a very gifted author to be able to write a book,in which it causes the reader to feel as if they were truly there within the story. Ted Dekker is one of my favorite authors. Throughout each of his books Christianity is clearly seen as with this one. There was some profanity used, but only twice.I would strongly suggest reading this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Josh Ostermann
I don't understand. For one thing, it was a great book! But was the audiobook different than the book itself? Because I can't believe Ted Dekker would take God's name invain in his own book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Goering
Another amazing piece of fiction by Dekker. This is the first novel I've read that I've had to put down to settle my nerves, and I read a lot of thrillers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley McClay
This is my first ever negative review! I absolutely love Dekker's Circle Trilogy. Every since then I find less to like about his books. This one will make me avoid his books altogether. There was nothing redeeming or worthwhile about it. I love mysteries, suspense, and even serial killer books... but this was just sick. If I wanted this kind of stuff in my head I could pick up mainstream books. I expected more from him. He takes you into the killers head and through the sick stuff he does. There is no spiritual lesson in here (unless you reeaalllly stretch it... weak at best)and I finished the book feeling sick inside and unsettled. (shuddering)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Andie
I loved this book, and had a hard time putting it down. Yes, there is mild profanity:A.. and P...Evidently, there is more in the audio book from what I hear. But it is a fantastic read, with a good message. Ted Dekker is not geared soley towards "Christians", he is mainstream and I think he does fantastic at representing both. He can reach anyone with Gods message his way. And I applaud him for that. Yes, the ending is a tad weak, but justified.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matthew P.
This book was amazing.. I really enjoyed it.. the story is a great one and I am very glad I read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rick Gilmore
I purchase this book as an audio book, the story line was good as all of Ted book are, but this book contain something that I was not prepare to listen to. It is filled with cussing, direct and slang, it used the lords name in vain several time and used slang that for the F word like freaking, it uses piss in many forms, A _ _. If youre OK with this the buy the book, but I do not consider this a Christian book, it is a secular book with Christian theme. I wonder how in the world any Christian can tolerate the Lords name taken in vain. I look at these reviews and I shake my head, I can only hope that these are not written by Christian. Remember in the Bible it says to spit out luke warm water, neither hot nor cold, this book is just that spit it out, and I would warn any one to read review of Dekkers future books, I know I will Listener beware!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matthew
I'm a huge Ted Dekker fan, but I have to say I wasn't insanely fond of this one. There were two occasions where there was mild profanity which is a growing trend in Ted's books. Additionally, I did feel that the Christian connection was loose at best, trying to tie in the verse at the end and the beginning, I just found that as his books go this one seemed to be grasping a bit. Finally, though we're flooded with it on TV I was a bit disappointed at how dark and violent this story was.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Boneman's Daughters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kim
I am confused as to the reviews on how much profanity is in this book. After reading the reviews, I read the book with a bit of trepidation. I counted 2 profane words in the book. By NO means is this book full of them. And the words arent even what I would consider as "profane". And to say that Christ is not in this book? Re-read it! Look up the Scripture given in the end. Christ is there! And the story is there! Read this without worry. It is a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.