Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2

Though adept at solving riddles, bookish heiress Millie Jean Cope doesn't realize her new fiance is really a crafty criminal looking for Millie's Treasure. Meanwhile, agent Kyle Russell believes he's finally got Will Tucker cornered. But is the clever woman on the con man's arm an unsuspecting victim or willing accomplice?
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Review 1 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
This review is fromMillie's Treasure - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From bestselling author Kathleen Y'Barbo comes Millie's Treasure, the second book in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker series, a new set of novels involving romance, adventure, and hidden identity.
Memphis 1890--Bookish heiress Millie Jean Cope is as clever as she is beautiful. Unfortunately, though adept at solving puzzles and cryptograms, she doesn't realize her new fiancé isn't who he claims to be, but instead is a charming scoundrel. The infamous Will Tucker is presenting himself as a British gentleman, Sir William Trueck, though in reality he is a crafty criminal looking for a hidden map to a secret treasure.
Pinkerton agent Kyle Russell has been on Tucker's trail for years. At last Kyle believes he has Tucker cornered, but he is uncertain whether the lovely woman on the con man's arm is an unsuspecting victim or willing accomplice. Finding reasons to spend time with Millie is easy. Keeping himself from falling in love with her is another issue entirely.
A fun and entertaining story of how God can shine the light of truth on the most cryptic circumstances.
My Review:
Going back and forth between the past and the present is actually a very delightful premise, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have to admit, I found Millie really smart and astute, but I just have to shake my head at how naive she was at times! By the same token, Will Tucker is a most dashing and debonair man, who stops at nothing to get what he wants.
This novel was a treasure hunt, a con man on the run, a guileless heroine, and romance all rolled into one! Millie is a strong woman who is not afraid to go after what she wants. Her father is consumed by guilt of the past. And her fiance is not who he is portraying himself to be.
I did find some of the scenes in the book to be a little contrived and far-fetched, but overall, it lent a different air to the book. There was a little bit of a steampunk feel to the treasure hunt elements, as well as the inventions that were not patented or invented yet. But it was a wonderful novel for anyone who loves an innovational Christian novel.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun and entertaining story!

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathleen Y'Barbo excels at light-hearted adventure stories with humour and heart. Millie Jean Cope is a bright woman but instead of reading and thinking she is supposed to stick to the more 'feminine arts'. She's a great character because far from being bookish and boring, she's bold and daring and it was a delight to follow along on her adventures!
This is part of a series following the cad and swindler, Will Tucker and the women he leaves behind. He makes his living tricking heiresses into agreeing to marry him and then taking off with as much as he can. The Pinkertons are on the trail. Lucas McMinn from the first book, Flora's Wish, is back in action here. We also meet Sadie Callum, whose story, including her search for Will Tucker, will be the basis of the next book in the series. I definitely plan to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Scoundrel, Adventure and Romance

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathleen Y’Barbo in her new book, “Millie’s Treasure” Book Two in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker series published by Harvest House Publishers takes us into the life of Millie Jean Cope.
From the back cover: If I drew you a treasure map, could you find the way to my heart?
Memphis 1890—Bookish heiress Millie Jean Cope is as clever as she is beautiful. Unfortunately, though adept at solving puzzles and cryptograms, she doesn’t realize her new fiancé isn’t who he claims to be, but instead is a charming scoundrel. The infamous Will Tucker is presenting himself as a British gentleman, Sir William Trueck, though in reality he is a crafty criminal looking for a hidden map to a secret treasure.
Pinkerton agent Kyle Russell has been on Tucker’s trail for years. At last Kyle believes he has Tucker cornered, but he is uncertain whether the lovely woman on the con man’s arm is an unsuspecting victim or willing accomplice. Finding reasons to spend time with Millie is easy. Keeping himself from falling in love with her is another issue entirely.
A fun and entertaining story of how God can shine the light of truth on the most cryptic circumstances.
Will Tucker is a swindler, a cad and an all-around bad guy This time he is after Millie’s fortune and whatever he can bilk from Millie’s father. Pinkerton Detective Kyle Russell is closing in however he doesn’t know if Millie is a partner with Tucker or his prey. Of course he finds out the truth, he is a Pinkerton Detective after all, and things take off from there. ”Millie’s Treasure” is quite a story. It has everything: a detective, a thief and a woman in danger of being swindled out of everything. And it is a romance too. This book is a lot of fun and it entertains you as you keep flipping pages as you try to find out what is going to happen next. Ms. Y’Barbo has a great way of telling the story and moving it along at a nice pace. Her characters are wonderful and she gives them life and unique voices. A really enjoyable read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From bestselling author Kathleen Y'Barbo comes Millie's Treasure, the second book in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker series, a new set of novels involving romance, adventure, and hidden identity.
Memphis 1890--Bookish heiress Millie Jean Cope is as clever as she is beautiful. Unfortunately, though adept at solving puzzles and cryptograms, she doesn't realize her new fiancé isn't who he claims to be, but instead is a charming scoundrel. The infamous Will Tucker is presenting himself as a British gentleman, Sir William Trueck, though in reality he is a crafty criminal looking for a hidden map to a secret treasure.
Pinkerton agent Kyle Russell has been on Tucker's trail for years. At last Kyle believes he has Tucker cornered, but he is uncertain whether the lovely woman on the con man's arm is an unsuspecting victim or willing accomplice. Finding reasons to spend time with Millie is easy. Keeping himself from falling in love with her is another issue entirely.
A fun and entertaining story of how God can shine the light of truth on the most cryptic circumstances.
My Review:
Going back and forth between the past and the present is actually a very delightful premise, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have to admit, I found Millie really smart and astute, but I just have to shake my head at how naive she was at times! By the same token, Will Tucker is a most dashing and debonair man, who stops at nothing to get what he wants.
This novel was a treasure hunt, a con man on the run, a guileless heroine, and romance all rolled into one! Millie is a strong woman who is not afraid to go after what she wants. Her father is consumed by guilt of the past. And her fiance is not who he is portraying himself to be.
I did find some of the scenes in the book to be a little contrived and far-fetched, but overall, it lent a different air to the book. There was a little bit of a steampunk feel to the treasure hunt elements, as well as the inventions that were not patented or invented yet. But it was a wonderful novel for anyone who loves an innovational Christian novel.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful adventure and romance

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Millie's Treasure, book #2 in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker by Kathleen Y'Barbo takes us on an adventure with Kyle Russell and Millie Jean Cope. Kyle is an inventor and Pinkerton agent. Millie is a very forward thinking young lady who loves reading, science and things frowned upon for a young lady in the late 1800's. On New Years Eve Millie goes up on the Cotton Exchange roof and comes across a mystery man who is testing his flying machine. He quickly realizes that Millie is not an empty headed female and is drawn to her. Millie's adventures begin when he takes her for a ride on his flying machine.
I do not write spoiler reviews so I will let you read this highly entertaining book for yourself. You will be very glad you did. I give this book 5 stars and plan to read book #1 in the series.
I was given an ebook of Millie's Treasrue by Harvest House and Netgalley for my honest review. I was not paid in any way for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun, fantastical historical fiction

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Following "Flora's Wish" in the series of "The Secret Lives of Will Tucker," Will Tucker is once again out of jail and pulling his finacé scam on wealthy young women, swindling them out of their jewels; this time, his eyes are set on Mildred Cope, the bluestocking daughter of a southern gentleman. Millie's father is not the most pleasant of men - in fact, she is planning on marrying her Sir William Trueck for the sole purpose of escaping her father, who has forbidden her studies in cryptology and other scientific research. Pinkerton agent Kyle Russell has been momentarily pulled off of the Will Tucker case to search for lost Confederate gold, and while experimenting with his latest invention encounters the lovely Millie. Though off to a mildly rocky start, they forge a bond over their love of science, and Millie has a puzzle she needs Kyle's help to solve. Despite what Kyle's heart tells him, he cannot be sure of the lovely southern belle - is Millie connected to the missing treasure? And has she joined forces with the notorious Will Tucker to find it?
This is not your typical historical novel; though the setting is well researched regarding time and place, it actually borders on fantasy, based on legend rather than historical fact. The tales surrounding Jean Lafitte and his treasure are fascinating; I had no idea that there were connections (tenuous though they may be) between Lafitte and the stories of hidden Confederate gold. Even if it is not necessarily how history went, it is fun to hear them and wonder how close they are to the truth. The steam punk aspect - the inclusion of inventions that have not yet been patented and quite possibly not completely invented - also adds to the fantastic feel of the novel. Really, how romantic would it be to have the gentleman of your dreams appear in your window, ready to whisk you off on a romantic flight beneath the stars?
While it is a light-hearted novel, "Millie's Treasure" does touch on a couple serious issues - Millie's father, wracked by grief and guilt, has pulled away from his only surviving child, feeling guilt for her mother's and sisters' deaths every time he looks at her, afraid to show his love. Millie must fight to find a way to be herself in a society and under the authority of those who disapprove of her interests and desires. It is a fun, clean, read, full of romance and adventure. 4 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A perfect weekend read

Date:September 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While reading Millie's Treasure I actually laughed at myself because I forgot who the book is really about. I expected that Will was going to be the main character, but there really wasn't much of him in this book which surprised me since it is supposed to be about him. I was half way through when it dawned on me who Sir William was.
I enjoyed the tale of Millie and Pinkerton agent Kyle Russell. With romance with many puzzles to solve and a great sense of hope attached to the answers of these puzzles, the story quickly became an "up all night reading" book for me. I loved reading about Kyle's inventions and Millie's many questions on the subject, all the while trying to figure out just how and if they were going to catch the infamous Will Tucker.
The book held lots of surprises throughout the story and had great dialog between the characters. Some of whom have you laughing while others leave you hoping that God's best will come out of the mess they managed to created.
Through this story I believe author Kathleen Y'Barbo wanted to point out that even though there may seem to be no light at the end of the tunnel and no truth to be had, if you will place your trust in God He is faithful to bring clarity to all that is in the dark.
***Thank you Harvest House Publishers for the free book in exchange for my honest review.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Millie's Treasure by Kathleen Y'Barbo

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Favorite Excerpt:
Small talk. He detested it. And yet he found himself wishing he could remain in this chilly attic room and talk about anything but what was really important. Instead, he moved toward the window and away from the woman who tempted him so.
"I shall continue to search for the treasure whether you accept my offer to help or not," she said when he met her gaze. "I have no choice."
"Nor do I," he admitted as he exstinguished the lantern and plunged the room into silver shadows and puddles of moonlight. "Which is why I cannot accept." He reached for the curtains. "However, you have my word that what we have discussed here will go no further."
She was moving toward him now. "And the kisses?"
"I thought we have covered that point. Am I mistaken?"
"We covered the first two times we kissed." She stepped within his reach, her gaze holding his. "However, we have made no such arrangement with the third."
Only an idiot would have missed that hint. And he was a certified genius.
Gathering her in his arms, Kyle inhaled once more the floral scent that was al Millie. A scent he would commit to memory and recall often until the Lord showed him how the two of them might find their way back to each other. He bent his head toward her only to find her finger pressed against his lips.
"Do not think this is agoodbye kiss, Kyle," she whispered, "for I promise you I will see you again." She gave him a meaningful look and a wry smile. "And I always keep my promises."
"As do I," he said before he captured her lips with his.
She put her arms around his neck and kissed him back. Time stood still.
"I fear I have made a mistake," he finally managed with a whisper that sounded far too rough for his ears.
"Oh?" Her eyes widened even as he traced the line of her jaw with his knuckle.
"Yes, a terrible mistake." He smiled. "I should have waited to photograph you, now. Like this." He reached to wrap a dark strand of hair around his finger and then met her gaze once more. "Freshly kissed."
My Review:
Millie Cope is a Lady of society in Memphis Tennessee but no one knows that she lives under the thumb of her tyrannical father, Silas Cope. After her mother and two sisters succumbed to the fever, her father became unbearable, often going into fits of rage. Millie loves studying science, inventing and reading but her father refuses to have those things in his home. Millie knew she had to get out of that house and out from under her father's rages and watchful eye so when Sir William Trueck started calling on her, she saw it as her means to escape. Marry Sir William and move to England. Until the night she met a strange but handsome man on the roof of the Cotton Exchange building. Millie is determined to find the hidden treasure of Jean Laffitte. She knows the answer lies in the cypher she wears around her neck and she also knows Kyle Russell is the perfect person to help her find it. But, somewhere alone the way, Millie losses her heart in the process.
Kyle Russell is a Pinkerton Agent by profession but a scientist and inventor at heart. When his boss sends him on a job searching for stollen Confederate gold, he is also on the search for Will Tucker, a thief that preys on unsuspecting ladies. Will Tucker escaped from Angola Prison and Kyle has made it his mission to find him. While on his search in Memphis, Kyle sees this as the perfect opportunity to test his flying machine and what better place to test it but the roof of the Cotton Exchange building. What he doesn't expect is an audience in Millie Cope. Beautiful, smart Millie Cope. She is everything he has been looking for in a woman and once he takes her for a ride on his flying machine he knows there is no turning back. With a thief to catch and hidden treasure to be found, Kyle sets out on a journey with Millie. Will the treasure he finds be Millie's heart?
This was a fun, romantic and even intriguing book. Flying machines, gadgets and contraptions, oh my! Every situation Kyle got into he only had to reach into his pocket and pull out a new gadget to accomplish his goal. He was a regular 1800's Agent 007 in action and I loved that. Being scientists, Kyle's and Mille's minds were always thinking. I could see the wheels turning inside their brains on several occasions but when it came to romance they were spot on. The romantic scenes were so sweet and done very tastefully. I found myself sighing quite often. I also loved the author's knowledge and attention to detail. I learned alot about inventing and Jean Laffitte and I have always been fascinated by the Pinkerton Agency. It has the right ammount of spiritual overtones without trying to overload the reader with Biblical information. It had a touch of humor, romance and was overall a very satifying read. I DO recommend it to anyone that likes Inspirational Historical Romances.
**This book was provided free by the publisher for my true and honest review**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This story continues the chase for the elusive criminal Will Tucker. Pinkerton Agent Kyle Russell has been assigned to the case of capturing Tucker as Lucas McMinn, the former agent on the case, has retired, married and started a family. Kyle is now on the trail and won’t stop until he captures Tucker. Kyle and Lucas are also partners in creating new inventions, which is Kyle’s first love as far as a profession is concerned. Kyle is assigned a new case of looking for Confederate gold with a starting point in Memphis, Tennessee. While there, he meets Millie Cope, a fellow scientist and book lover. She fascinates him, frustrates him and soon has him thinking about her far too often. Millie’s father is involved in some shady dealings. Is Millie involved in her father’s schemes? If it comes down to it, will he be able to arrest her or her father if they are criminals?
Millie Cope is odd. Her father has always told her it is so. She disdains the “womanly arts” of sewing, cooking and housekeeping in favor of math, science and languages. When a man suddenly indicates an interest in marriage, her father jumps at the chance for her to wed, thinking no one else will ever offer for her. After all, she is 24 and not getting any younger. Millie goes along with the idea so she can escape Memphis and her cruel father. She just knows he blames her for the death of her mother and two sisters. He can barely stand to look at her. She knows their deaths aren’t her fault, but decides it is best to be quiet and not draw attention to her. As the wedding grows closer, so does Millie’s feeling of suffocating. She doesn’t love her fiancé, but maybe over time she will. She meets Kyle unexpectedly and finds a kindred heart and mind. If only… She soon is spending more time with Kyle and falls in love with him, but determines there is no future for them. However, before her wedding she discovers her fiancé has lied to her about several things and breaks off the engagement. Now she is free to find her treasure and enlists Kyle’s help to do so.
I would have given this story a higher rating, but it was very slow moving for the first half of the book. After that, there is a search for pirate treasure, romance and a trap laid for an escaped criminal so the action picks up. So don’t give up, because there is a good story with a wonderful, sweet romance. The second half of the book flew by as I anxiously read to find out about the treasure and the romance. A third book is planned for the series titled, Sadie’s Secret due in February 2014, which I plan on reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Loved the characters in this book

Date:August 4, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed the characters in this story. Millie is not afraid to speak her mind and go after the things she loves, her dreams, I admire that.
Kyle is a great hero, he will do whatever it takes to protect Millie and go after the bad guy.
The search for Millie's treasure kept me reading. I wanted to see if and when they would find it and what would happen when they did. I can't say a bunch about that, it would give away too much of the plot. But there are many twists and turns in this book.
In case you are like me and expected Will Tucker to play a more important role in the book, I will tell you he doesn't. He is very secondary. I actually would have liked to see a bit more with him and his trickery.
I did feel that some of the developments in the story were a bit contrived and far-reaching. But I went with it and allowed the story to unfold.
For me this book was okay, not great. There wasn't the heart pounding romance I really like. Although there was romance I didn't really feel it. However, there are some moments when you are sure Millie's father is going to ruin everything for her and a very heartbreaking moment that takes place.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Romance with a Twist of Steampunk Fun

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Millie's Treasure is the second in Kathleen Y'Barbo's Secret Lives of Will Tucker series. She calls it historical with a twist of steampunk, and that steampunk element comes through in this sotry because the hero Kyle Russell is an inventor as well as a Pinkerton agent. His inventions and workroom are wonders I'd love to see.
Millie Cope is a heroine I wanted to scoop up and protect. She's learned that the best way to get along with a difficult father is to disappear into the background and say as little as possible. The problem is she is brilliant and wants so much to escape and become the person she could be that she's willing to mary Sir William Trueck. Kyle has been tasked with uncovering a rumored Confederate treasure and arrives in Memphis on his way to test an invention. The two meet by chance and he is enchanted. Millie begins to realize she is settling and plots a way out, all the while searching for a family treasure that has disappeared.
I read the early parts of this book as the author wrote them and couldn't wait to dive into the finished book. I wasn't disappointed. I loved the interplay between Millie and Kyle. She befuddles him and challenges him as he shows her more is possible. When their minds tackle a problem, they are unstoppable. And through the story, there are strong overlays of faith, though it does not overrun the romance. I can't say that I've ever read a book with Steampunk layers to it, but I thoroughly enjoyed slipping into what could have been possible, even as the historian in me kept thinking not possible. This book is perfect for those who enjoy a well-crafted historical romance with threads of more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An aviator and a society scientist fall in love!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Clipped to the second page was an envelope with his name written in Henry's scrawling handwriting. Inside Kyle found a letter, a match and a key.
December 24, 1888
While I cannot be absolved from keeping you away from family on Christmas Eve, I can at least make up for the fact by providing a brief respite before work on this case begins in earnest on January 2. Arrangements have been made for rooms at the Peabody Hotel in Memphis form tomorrow night through the aforementioned second day of the New Year. Should you find that your work on the missing gold case requires it, of course the agency will pay for as many nights past that as you deem necessary.
Our friend Taft suggested that the rooftop of the as-yet-unopened Cottn Exchange building on Second Street might prove the venue for your test flight. To that end, he has secured access for you and assures me the three of us are the only ones who have knowledge of this. Thus, I hasten to warn that you must not be caught lest you alone will be forced to explain. And, per Mr. Taft, please remember to leave the key in the Weather Service office on the third floor before the service employee arrives at work after the holiday and realizes it is missing.
Consider this a small measure of thanks for your dedication to the agency. And no, I have not cleared this with Mr. Pinkerton, thus the need for the match. I am sure you will make good use of it, as always.
Best regards,
Henry
December 24, 1888
Memphis, Tennessee
Cook was right. The best thing about marrying Sir William Trueck and beginning a new life in London was that Millie Cope would leave Memphis and everything she knew and once loved behind. And this was no small thing.
For she knew she could not stay, not when her life in this house was merely the wisp of a shadow slipping into darkness. As Sir William Trueck's American bride, she could step out of that shadow. She tried to recall that when fear rose to make its attempt at choking out good sense. And Millie Cope was nothing if not sensible.
After the death of her mother and two elder sisters, Julia and Sarah, to a yellow fever epidemic a decade ago, the distance that yawned between her and her father had become unbearable. So when Father brought his new business partner, Sir William Trueck, home for dinner, it was Cook's idea for Millie to smile sweetly in his direction. To allow him to court her when he asked. And, finally, to accept his proposal of marriage, but only if it came with the assurance that she would be allowed to live in England and have complete freedom to do as she pleased.
In the latest novel in The Secret Lives of Will Tucker, Millie's Treasure by best-selling author Kathleen Y'Barbo, takes us back into the life of Pinkerton agent, Kyle Russel who has been tasked at searching for confederate treasure believed to be hidden in New Orleans. What he doesn't plan on discovering is that his heart has been lost to a society scientist, Millie Cope who may just be at the heart of his investigation along with her father. Dabbling in inventions along with his partner Lucas McMinn, who readers got an in depth look at in the first book in the series, Flora's Wish, Kyle is hoping to test his latest invention, a flying machine during the down time in his investigations. What he doesn't expect to find is someone who can match his intelligence, skill and passion for science in Millie. Millie's just hoping for a chance to immerse herself in books and research in cryptology and begin her own search for her family's lost treasure. A treasure that may in fact lead her to more than a way to escape the plan her father has in store for her.
I received Millie's Treasure by Kathleen Y'Barbo compliments of Harvest House Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I am completely charmed and enchanted by this series, because the women characters that Kathleen's creates are much like how I would envision my own life if I lived at that time. Struggling between what is expected of women from upper society and the desires of their heart, ones that don't conform to what society or their family believes an proper woman should do. They are strong, smart and at times fail to see their own self worth, believing what their family thinks of them instead, but along comes a true hero that shows them they are a unique and beautiful creation, designed specifically by God and captivates their hearts. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to read Sadie's Secret, which reader's get a sneak peek at in the end of this one. There is also a discussion guide at the end that is perfect for book groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Millie's Treasure, Secret Lives of Will Tucker Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pirate's Treasure, Science, and Romance

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book by Kathleen Y'Barbo that I have read and it will not be my last.
Millie's Treasure was such an interesting and fun story. From the synopsis, I was expecting a man hunt, investigation type story, what I got was much more. There was science, history, pirate stories, and the lore of pirate's treasure. There was also a fun bonus, I don't want to call it steampunk, but the ideas kind of leans toward that direction. I will say the ideas mentioned were on the cusp of the inventing age. The Victorian era inventors is the best way to describe it.
Millie Cope is in the top 5 of favorite female characters that I have read about this year. She is smart, resourceful, hungers for knowledge, she is a crack shot, she doesn't bend under pressure, and she has a wonderful library! She hasn't had the charmed life, however. She lost her mother and two older sisters in a yellow fever epidemic. She is left with only her father. A father that doesn't approve of women learning and reading and keeping their minds occupied on someone other thing than their husbands, but that doesn't stop her from perusing her passions at any means necessary.
There is quite a bit that goes on in Millie's Treasure between Millie and Pinkerton Agent Kyle Russell, but it flows together wonderfully in to a thought provoking adventure. Millie and Kyle are on equal ground when it comes to science and solving puzzles, on paper or that of a questionable person. It was good to read a story, where the hero and heroine have a passion for knowledge and can exchange ideas which builds and leads you throughout the book.
Thank you to Harvest House, I received this book for free for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.