Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers An Amish Family Christmas

Harvest House Publishers An Amish Family Christmas

After tragedy strikes the family of young Rebecca Shrock, her friend Tabitha does all she can to help. But things get complicated when Rebecca's brother, Levi, returns from combat tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. For one thing, he is an old flame Tabitha rejected when he chose to serve in the military. For another, he is under the Meidung-the shunning-and no one is permitted to speak to him or eat with him.

But God has a way of working on the hearts of His people-especially at Christmas time. When an unexpected turn of events sets things right, miracles happen to the Amish community of Paradise, to the Shrock family-and to Tabitha.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for An Amish Family Christmas
Review 1 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Pleasant story

Date:February 21, 2014
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a sweet read, with an interesting premise. The characters angst became repetitive as time drew on in the story, and the way the plot wrapped up was a little contrived. Three stars out of five- enjoyable story, but not one I'll pick up again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After tragedy strikes the family of young Naomi Miller, her friend Rebecca Bachman does all she can to help. But things get complicated when Rebecca's brother, Micah, returns from a combat tour in Afghanistan. For one thing, he chose to serve in the military even though he served as a medic and never picked up a gun. For another, he is under the Meidung--the shunning-- because of that and none of the Amish are permitted to speak to him or eat with him. And finally, he is not only Rebecca's brother, he is Naomi's husband! But how can Naomi pick up where their marriage left off after he turned away from her and his people to enlist in the army? How can Naomi and Micah even begin the process of healing their relationship when he will not repent of what he has done and the Amish will not forgive him for what he has done? Naomi despairs of ever again having a happy married life with her husband.
But God has a way of working on the hearts of His people--especially at Christmas time. When an unexpected turn of events sets things right, miracles happen to the Amish community, to the Miller family, and to Naomi and Micah, miracles that transform everyone.
Here is warm and tender story of faithfulness, love, and reconciliation at the most wonderful time of the year.
My Review:
Micah has done what he thought was right, but when you're Amish, that comes at a high price to pay. Choosing not to be a conscientious objector, Micah becomes a medic and joins the military in Afghanistan. But upon his return, his wife Naomi is not allowed to resume their married life because he is shunned. When it becomes clear that Naomi still loves Micah and desperately wants to be with him, it just broke my heart that the People were the cause of the division between two souls. I am a huge sucker for the story of lovers unable to be together, and this one was no different!
Pura brings the elements of Christmas, love that can't be changed by beliefs, and a beautiful story of faithfulness to life. While an incident in the story felt a little extreme in order to paint Micah in a good light, I will always love a good Christmas romance - especially when written by Pura! I would recommend this book to anyone, even if you're not fond of Amish fiction. This one is different and a perfect read for the upcoming holiday season!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After tragedy strikes the family of young Naomi Miller, her friend Rebecca Bachman does all she can to help. But things get complicated when Rebecca's brother, Micah, returns from a combat tour in Afghanistan. For one thing, he chose to serve in the military even though he served as a medic and never picked up a gun. For another, he is under the Meidung--the shunning-- because of that and none of the Amish are permitted to speak to him or eat with him. And finally, he is not only Rebecca's brother, he is Naomi's husband! But how can Naomi pick up where their marriage left off after he turned away from her and his people to enlist in the army? How can Naomi and Micah even begin the process of healing their relationship when he will not repent of what he has done and the Amish will not forgive him for what he has done? Naomi despairs of ever again having a happy married life with her husband.
But God has a way of working on the hearts of His people--especially at Christmas time. When an unexpected turn of events sets things right, miracles happen to the Amish community, to the Miller family, and to Naomi and Micah, miracles that transform everyone.
Here is warm and tender story of faithfulness, love, and reconciliation at the most wonderful time of the year.
My Review:
Micah has done what he thought was right, but when you're Amish, that comes at a high price to pay. Choosing not to be a conscientious objector, Micah becomes a medic and joins the military in Afghanistan. But upon his return, his wife Naomi is not allowed to resume their married life because he is shunned. When it becomes clear that Naomi still loves Micah and desperately wants to be with him, it just broke my heart that the People were the cause of the division between two souls. I am a huge sucker for the story of lovers unable to be together, and this one was no different!
Pura brings the elements of Christmas, love that can't be changed by beliefs, and a beautiful story of faithfulness to life. While an incident in the story felt a little extreme in order to paint Micah in a good light, I will always love a good Christmas romance - especially when written by Pura! I would recommend this book to anyone, even if you're not fond of Amish fiction. This one is different and a perfect read for the upcoming holiday season!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a story. At first I was so mad at the predicament of this young couple I felt like going and kicking their minister’s butts. Who can resist living under the same roof with your beloved husband and not even talk to each other—I would go steer-crazy. But as the story went on I was amazed at the way author displayed God’s amazing work in that community. I don’t want to give out the juicy parts of it. But I will tell you this – there are stories – amazing heart- gripping stories where the ending is so quick and platonic or just not satisfying and completely ruins the whole read. This is not one of those stories. This is exactly opposite – at first it is very sad and sort of stuck but as the story moves towards the climax and Naomi’s temper start flaring the story gets juicy and the ending is a perfect cherry on top. Written by a man this book will surprise you with all the passion and emotion mixed in it. I thought it was only women that were romantics. Big surprise there!!!
Devoted Amish girl, former soldier doctor, stubborn ministers, and the unmoving Ordnag rules.. and a God – the artist of the impossible.
Even if you never read an Amish book I believe you will be taken with this one. Buy! Read! Enjoy!!
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Harvest House Publisher, thought NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year!

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In An Amish Family Christmas, author Murray Pura weaves a magical Yuletide tale, set amidst a beautiful, snow covered Amish community in Paradise, Pennsylvania—where Christmas "tis not the season to be jolly" for one grieving Amish family.
Naomi Bachman has lost everyone who matters most in her life and is seemingly without hope. Her parents and sister have been recently killed in a buggy accident which has also left her brother, Luke, in a catatonic state—unable to speak or care for himself. Her husband, Micah, may as well be dead also, for the Amish elders have placed him under the meindung, or shunning, for joining the military in Afghanistan. Naomi is not allowed any fellowship with him at all and cannot speak or partake of meals with him.
Micah feels that God called him to serve in the war as a medic—to nurse the wounded back to health and those near death's door, back to life again. No one understands, not even Naomi who seeks to shut him out of her heart and life. But will a Christmas miracle occur during this most wonderful time of the year, bringing reconciliation and changing the minds of this strict community?…and will Naomi's heart open up to love once again?
As with all of Murray Pura's books I had major trouble putting this one down! Although a wonderful Christmas story filled with romance, miracles, and a beautiful, seasonal setting—this book also causes one to think deeply about man-made rules versus the Bible. Aren't we all called to obey God rather than man...to serve others in whatever capacity He lays upon our hearts? But what if that calling removes the people we love the most…furthest from our lives? Make sure to throw another log on the fire, grab a cup of hot chocolate, and snuggle up with this tender, heartwarming story of healing and God's faithfulness! Nicely done, Murray Pura!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amish Family Christmas

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AN AMISH FAMILY CHRISTMAS is a sweet Christmas story. I like the way Mr. Pura works military into Amish stories a sure-fire way of tension, knowing their stance. I wondered how this story would play out, with Micah’s determination and strong-will, and the ministers’ equally strong will about the bann.
The story had some wow moments. I literally couldn’t put this book down. If you are looking for a different sort of Amish story this Christmas, then AN AMISH FAMILY CHRISTMAS is one to consider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Naomi Bachman is grieving the passing of her parents and sister after a tragic accident. Her brother Luke was wounded in the accident and lost the control over his limbs and the ability to speak. Her husband Micah was gone on a tour of duty in Afghanistan while the tragedy occurred. Sister-in-law Rebecca is staying with Naomi and is doing her best to help and encourage her.
Naomi doesn’t know what to think of her husband. She doesn’t understand why he left her to go to war and broke the rules of the Ordnung by enlisting.
When Micah comes home, he is shunned and not allowed to speak or eat with other Amish. He is living under the same roof with his wife, but cannot speak to her, touch her, nor eat with her. The shunning will be lifted as soon as he repents of having gone to war, but Micah cannot repent because he felt it was God who sent him there to do the work of a medic and save people’s lives.
Christmas is nearing and letters and postcards from grateful family members of soldiers, whose lives Micah had saved, start to arrive. Naomi is beginning to see another side of her husband by reading the letters and notes and slowly she starts to understand some of the reasons why he enlisted. She takes the mail to the bishop, hoping that he will also be touched by reading the letters and will do something to stop the shunning.
When an accident occurs in their community, and Micah rushes to offer his help, will it change the thinking of the Ministers of the Amish church, or will it only make Micah’s predicament worse?
*Thanks to the publisher for providing me with a review copy through NetGalley.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for An Amish Family Christmas
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Agonizing bann of spouse

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Young Micah has returned from Iraq where he felt called by God to heal wounded soldiers. But there is one very big problem--Micah is Amish. Amish do not believe in fighting in wars and do not allow their church members to serve in the military in any capacity--even healing. Naomi's family has been killed and her surviving brother, Luke, is in a catatonic state. Naomi and her friend and sister-in-law, Rebecca, work to restore Luke to full health and Micah returns from the war. The church puts him under the bann when he refuses to say that he was wrong to serve in the war as a medic. Micah and Naomi can not speak or even sleep in the same room. They long to be together as a husband and wife are meant to be. Can they change the Ordnung ? Will Luke ever speak again or get up and walk?
MY REVIEW: This is a very compelling story. I felt the agony that Micah and Naomi were experiencing as Murray Pura's words are so descriptive and heartfelt. I have read many Amish Christmas stories and this one is far different from all of the others. I simply can not imagine enduring a shunning of my own spouse! Micah has been away from his wife and family for a year and he and Naomi long to hold each other. They are forbidden to do so. I will be honest and say that I do not think I could obey the rules of the Amish church in this respect. I value many of their practices and beliefs but not this one! So, to be preparing to celebrate Christmas, it would lack joy and wonder for me with shunning being practiced. I was eager to read this book and when I had to stop to do housework, I was anxious to get back to my kindle to see how Murray Pura resolves these incredible conflicts. This story shows God's forgiveness and miracles, for sure and certain. The bann is dealt with honestly and accurately.
I received a free kindle version of this book from netgalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.