Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2

Harvest House Publishers Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2

Now becoming a woman, Katie Raber desires to be more than Emma Raber's daughter. After Emma's "change of heart," Katie begins attending Mennonite youth gatherings and catches the eye of the popular Ben Yoder. When she's offered a free trip to Europe with him, will this be Katie's Journey to Love or a rude awakening? 304 pages, softcover from Harvest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Review 1 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good book

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book, it was great seeing Katie grow into a confident young woman, who found the love she was looking for. But this book has a twist in it, and if you haven't read it, I am not sharing that twist. But I will say this is not your typical Amish romance book. I really enjoyed seeing the trip abroad through Katie's eyes. The story told of what that Anabaptists forefathers faced for their choice of religion, was eye opening. A wonderful story, and looking forward to the last book of the series. 4 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Family's Transitions

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Emma and Katie's new life as a part of Jesse Mast's household is presenting numerous challenges. Of Jesse's 5 children all but 16-year-old Mabel are adjusting to their new Mamm and stepsister. Katie and Emma are the recipients of frequent vicious verbal attacks by Mabel in spite of Jesse's discipline. Katie has a crush on Ben Stoll, and has visions of a future with him, but her Mamm and Jesse have warned her that he is not gut for her. Katie is attending the Mennonite youth gatherings with her girlfriends, and Ben Stoll suddenly appears and shows an interest in Katie. She is smitten and eager to be his girl. Three of Katie's friends plan to take a trip to Europe to visit the origins of their Anabaptist ancestors. They beg Katie to go with them, but Katie has no money to pay her way. An anonymous donor leaves a significant amount of money with one of Katie's coworkers, indicating that the money is for Katie's trip to Europe. Assuming that is Da Hah's blessing to her Katie prepares for the trip of her lifetime.
Jerry Eicher writes with such depth into the history and modern-day life of the Anabaptists that he transports the reader to a whole new realm. The characters are portrayed with realistic human emotions and actions, and he captures the essence of the Amish lifestyle. True to life characters are portrayed with candor, and their actions and dreams are illustrated in detail. Depictions of the locations and history throughout Europe and the backdrop of the sufferings of the Anabaptists are authentic and impressive. The love and respect for God runs true throughout this story of trials and adventure. This book is so well written and poignant, I had a hard time putting it down. I'm looking forward to the next in the series with bated breath!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Katie's Journey to Love - Jerry Eicher's Newest No

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Eicher has done it again!! I do believe that this is his best book yet!!
The main character, Katie, never fit in ANYWHERE! At school, at home, at church, in the community! Why? Because her mother was considered "strange" by the Amish community in which they lived. Katie never thought that her maam would remarry, not with the reputation of being so odd!!
Of course, Katie also didn't believe that she would ever have a male interested in her. She was shocked to become the object of Ben Stoll's attention. He, being a popular, handsome young man, is much desired by the whole single female population!! Katie truly believed that she would be forever labelled as "Emma Rader's daughter" forever and always be an outsider to the other Amish youth.
BUT , things change!! Mamm marries Jesse Mast and Katie finds herself riding in Ben's buggy!! What a surprise !! Maybe all things are possible, even marriage????
Katie travels to Europe with her new friends to visit the birthplace of the Amish faith. She was very reluctant to accept the invitation as she did not have the money to cover her airfare or accommodations, however, to her surprise, the expenses are unexpectedly paid by an anonymous donor. Katie's life is definitely looking up!
BUT then her world crashes down upon her!! The worst betrayal anyone can imagine , has struck. Will God see her through? Will Katie listen to His quiet voice and come through this a better person???
What a fantastic read! I felt that Katie became part of me. I cried with her in her misery, rejoiced with her in joys, and worried about her in trying times. Her feelings became mine. Jerry shows his talent at character description vividly in this book! To so easily identify with a character, to me, makes a great book! The plot was full of intertwining plots that had unexpected turns as often as I turned the pages. The shock that I experienced when Katie's world dissolved around her was unimaginable. I could not believe that the previous events could end on this negative note...... but at the next turn, I saw Katie become a stronger, more faithful, thus happier person, due to the turn of events.
Jerry also has the talent of portraying the Amish lifestyle accurately. That is something I look for in an Amish fiction book. If it isn't realistic, I don't want to read it!
All I can say, is "WOW!" This is a five star book! Don't miss it. Definitely worth the read.
This book was received from the author and Harvest House Publishers in exchange for an honest and fair review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a chance at love and new beginnings

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 ***** Stars!!! Thank you, Jerry Eicher, for the privilege of reading this delightful book!
I am a huge fan of Jerry Eicher's Amish fiction. I loved reading Katie's Journey to Love. This particular book has Katie and her three Mennonite girl friends traveling to Europe to see the history and beginnings of their faith for themselves. This was a fascinating part of this story for me, and I found the history would likely appeal to both male and female readers.
It is refreshing for both Katie's mamm and herself to have a chance at love. Katie is so precious as she treasures having a daed since she did not know her own daed. This made me think of my relationship with my own father who is deceased. It gave me good memories to ponder. There is, of course, conflict in the story. Katie finds love with Ben but Ben has secrets that may end their relationship before it has a chance to get started.
I have always longed to travel to the Alps and so the portion of the story where the girls get to visit the Alps and spend time there was very meaningful to me. The beauty and wonder of God's magnificient creation of the Alps brought healing to Katie. The desire to travel there was made even stronger as I read of their reaction to the beauty there. I am definitely eagerly anticipating the release of book 3: Katie's Forever Promise.
I was given a free copy of this book by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Katie's Journey

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paula Osborne
Location:Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie's Journey to Love by Jerry S. Eicher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Series Emma Raber's Daughter, book #2 "Katie's Journey to Love" by Jerry Eicher
In book #1 we found Katie a young shy girl starting to make changes by going to Mennonite group gatherings and finding two girls who became great friends, Margaret and Sharon. Her Mamm did not agree to these type friends and there was friction between the two.
Emma had met and married Jesse Mast so book #2 finds Katie adjusting to living in a larger family and the changes that involves.
Jesse's children were not pleased with Emma and her daughter moving in and the oldest daughter Mable in particular who had been doing all the "motherly" things since their mother had died years ago.
Mable wanted her "Datt" to marry the school teacher who she just knew would be a better choice. The school teacher also had dreams of that happening too.
This story takes us a little further on Katie's journey as she is finally noticed by a young man that she has dreamed about for a long time,Ben.
There will be happiness - sorrow -betrayal and forgiveness needed. Read and enjoy as I have this story of Katie and Emma finding Love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Does Katie Find Love?

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Raber has been through so much in her young life being overly sheltered by her Mamm. While growing up there were a lot of things Katie was not allowed to do. She was kept close to her Mamm's side.
With the marriage of her Mamm to Jesse Mast, Katie's life starts to change. She is finally coming out of her shell. She has her dear Mennonite friends to thank for that.
While things have changed for Katie and her Mamm, life is still not easy. Mabel, Jesse's daughter, is making life unbearable for her and her Mamm too. How will Katie ever become friends with someone who is so hateful?
Katie has a crush on Ben Stoll and longs for Ben to notice her. She has daydreamed about him for quite some time. What can she do to get him to talk to her? Katie's Mamm most certainly doesn't want Katie to court Ben because of her fear of past experiences in her own life. Is Mamm's fears reasonable? Katie doesn't think so!
Katie is excited when a wonderful opportunity comes her way. She is invited to go along with her Mennonite friends to Europe to visit the birthplace of her Amish faith. Oh how she would love to go. Katie is sure Jesse and her Mamm would never let her go.
This book is a little different from other Amish fiction books I have read. I loved that it had some unexpected twists mixed in.
As I have come to expect in this author's books he speaks of faith in God, God's love, and forgiving others. Prayer and scripture are common in his books too. For this I am thankful for good Christian authors.
I wish to thank Harvest House and Jerry Eicher for sending me this book to read and review. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Katie's emotional rollercoaster

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life has changed for Katie and her mamm now that her mamm has married Jesse Mast. She now has 3 brothers and 2 sisters but if she thought life would be better, she's finding out that isn't so. Mabel still hates both Emma, her new mamm, and Katie, she says hateful things and is always trying to cause problems between them and Jesse, her daed.
Katie is still going to the Mennonite youth meetings, still working at Byler's and still 'in love' with Ben Stoll. Mabel has a secret love also and when her daed discovers her secretly seeing him he orders her to quit yet Katie gets to keep doing things not approved by the Amish, she even gets to take a trip to Europe to visit the birthplace of the Amish faith.
When Ben Stoll starts talking to Katie and taking her to and from the Mennonite meetings she couldn't be more pleased. It takes time but her mamm is coming around and letting it happen without trying to talk Katie out of seeing him. This part of her life couldn't be better, for now anyway.
As the series goes on it gets better, I enjoyed this book more than the first one and there is a lot of interesting information about the anabaptists brought out as they travel through Europe. You will be thrilled for Katie as you find yourself wanting to 'smack' Mabel and as the story moves on your emotions take a different path. I'm really anxious to get the next book and find out what happens now!
Thank you to Harvest House Publishers for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Katie Raber's life is changing

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the first book in this series a while back and was anxious to continue on with Katie's story. Well this one starts out with Katie feeling sort of unsure of her place. Her mother has married and they have moved into the Mast home. Sixteen year old Mabel Mast has been used to running the home, so I couldn't help but wonder how smoothly things would go in that regard. In addition to that Katie is still interested in the Mennonite church, but more than that she has her heart set on Ben Stoll, but she is sure that she would never stand a chance with him. One things for certain, there are plenty of changes going on in Katie Raber's life, how will she fit into the Mast home, and will she ever catch the eye of Ben?
An interesting continuation of Katie's story from beginning to end. While this book is the second in the series it can easily be read as a stand alone work because the author does a wonderful job of providing information so that we can understand what is going on in the characters lives. That said I read the first book and this entire series is well worth reading. Fans of Amish fiction will enjoy this story, I know that I did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Katie's Journey to Love, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie’s Journey to Love by Jerry Eicher is the first Amish fiction that I have read that was not written by a woman author. Jerry did an excellent job and I will be reading more of his novels.
Katie and her mother had been living an unhappy life after the death of Katie’s father but her mother’s hardened heart was finally softened by the love of Jesse. Mabel, Jesse’s daughter, had been running the household since her mother’s death and was very resentful of her stepmother and Katie and took all her spite out on Katie. Katie was Amish but had become good friends with some of the Mennonite girls at the Mennonite youth gatherings. Ben, who is Amish, had also started coming to the youth gatherings and began paying attention to Katie which she accepted and encouraged. Katie was invited by three of her Mennonite friends to travel with them to Europe to visit the places where the Amish faith began. The only problem was that Katie had no money for the trip but an unexpected gift of money came to her. While she and her friends were in Europe she learned that Ben had been arrested. Once again Katie’s world was falling apart but she found healing by visiting the Alps and other lands where her forefathers had suffered so much for their faith When Katie returned home she was determined to develop a friendship with Mabel and to forget Ben.
The book was a most enjoyable read. There was some suspense and romance but it was more just a book about life and its problems and how the problems were solved. The author did an excellent job developing the plot and the characters and the dialogue and the description of the scenes were very real and I felt as if I were right there in the middle of the action. I found the book to be inspiring as I do all Amish novels and I was definitely entertained. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a well written good book and especially to those who like Amish fiction..
I received this book free from Harvest House Publishers through Net Galley in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.