Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3

Harvest House Publishers Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3

Katie Raber is trying to put her life back together after Ben Stoll's devastating betrayal of her love. When she is baptized into the church, she receives a surprising offer that will keep her close to her Amish community-much to her mother's delight.

But soon Ben is back in her life again-and at the same time she finds interest from another young man, though his bumbling efforts at winning her heart show him to be a far less desirable suitor than the more polished Ben Stoll.

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Review 1 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite

Date:March 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
You know when your into a book series, it is a great thing to have them all available at once. I am so happy I did have this series all here, I don't think my patience level could have handled having to wait. I truly have enjoyed this series so much. I love Katie and her personality. Throughout this series I have not enjoyed the character of Mabel, but this story pushed it for me concerning her. Her tactics make it easy to dislike her, but you have to feel bad for her after she realizes what her marriage is becoming. Another great story. Katie's new job as a school teacher was a surprise, and an enjoyable one. Ben coming back into her life was another surprise, and really just made the story over the top! I love this book the best, I liked all three but this was my favorite. 5 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In book 3 of the Emma Raber's Daughter series, Amish fiction author Jerry Eicher brings the faith-filled journey of Katie Raber to its happy conclusion.
Katie Raber is trying to put her life back together after Ben Stoll's devastating betrayal of her love. When she is baptized into the church, she receives a surprising offer that will keep her close to her Amish community--much to her mother's delight.
But soon Ben is back in her life again--and at the same time she finds interest from another young man, though his bumbling efforts at winning her heart show him to be a far less desirable suitor than the more polished Ben Stoll.
Readers who have followed the saga of Katie and her attempts to escape the stigma of being just "Emma Raber's daughter" will be charmed by her new look at life as a young woman with important decisions to make.
My Review:
Faith is a big part of this novel. I really enjoy that, and I appreciate an author that isn't afraid to do that. In Christian Fiction it's expected, but Eicher made it clear that it was the heartbeat of Katie's life. While the pace of the story was a little slower than the previous two in the series, but it made a very nice wrap up to the story as a whole.
There were a lot of elements in this story that aren't part of your typical Amish fiction. Jail, abuse, drugs, are the tip of the iceberg of subject matter, and I have to say I was very pleased with this addition to the usual fare. Eicher provides a lot of insight and inspiration for anyone who is a believer, and tucks a road map into his story that is a compass of direction on how true Christians act.
Despite being Amish, Katie is a shining literary character that is a good example for all of us. She looks to the Lord for answers for life's biggest questions, and despite her fallacies as a human being, Eicher writes Katie as a person we can all look up to no matter what our present situations.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Simply Enchanted Life
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry Eicher has quickly made his way to my favorite authors list this year. I was so excited to read this series but also a little sad to say goodbye to these characters. I often have trouble relating to or enjoying books written by male authors as I feel they do not usually adequately appeal to my emotions but I feel that Eicher captures each character and breathes life into them on the pages. I can’t wait to read more by this author
About the Story:
Katie is trying to move on with her life following the news of Ben’s arrest. Part of trying to move on is venturing back out into the dating world—much to the disdain of her sister who has a crush on the same boy that has asked Katie out.
From the get go I was a bit concerned about Katie’s relationship with Norman. I was worried about Katie still having feelings for Ben and also about Norman’s controlling ways. I suppose I can say that I’m not a bit surprised how that situation ended but I still felt badly for how it ended.
I don’t want to ruin too much of the storyline for those of you that haven’t yet read the book but I appreciated that characters in this book had some serious flaws. So many authors try to make everyone peachy keen and perfect and it can become hard to relate. These characters were real. They had faults and problems just like everyone does and only through the guidance from the Lord were they able to overcome them.
I feel like this particular author provides a lot of insight, motivation and inspiration for a person to continue growing their relationship with the Lord. Katie and her family all offer sweet assurances about the importance of a relationship with Christ and places importance on His will above all others.
If you’re looking for a new Amish series to read and you’ve not yet read them. I would strongly suggest this series. It’s a delightful read that will make you keep reading until you’ve finished all three books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In book 3 of the Emma Raber's Daughter series, Amish fiction author Jerry Eicher brings the faith-filled journey of Katie Raber to its happy conclusion.
Katie Raber is trying to put her life back together after Ben Stoll's devastating betrayal of her love. When she is baptized into the church, she receives a surprising offer that will keep her close to her Amish community--much to her mother's delight.
But soon Ben is back in her life again--and at the same time she finds interest from another young man, though his bumbling efforts at winning her heart show him to be a far less desirable suitor than the more polished Ben Stoll.
Readers who have followed the saga of Katie and her attempts to escape the stigma of being just "Emma Raber's daughter" will be charmed by her new look at life as a young woman with important decisions to make.
My Review:
Faith is a big part of this novel. I really enjoy that, and I appreciate an author that isn't afraid to do that. In Christian Fiction it's expected, but Eicher made it clear that it was the heartbeat of Katie's life. While the pace of the story was a little slower than the previous two in the series, but it made a very nice wrap up to the story as a whole.
There were a lot of elements in this story that aren't part of your typical Amish fiction. Jail, abuse, drugs, are the tip of the iceberg of subject matter, and I have to say I was very pleased with this addition to the usual fare. Eicher provides a lot of insight and inspiration for anyone who is a believer, and tucks a road map into his story that is a compass of direction on how true Christians act.
Despite being Amish, Katie is a shining literary character that is a good example for all of us. She looks to the Lord for answers for life's biggest questions, and despite her fallacies as a human being, Eicher writes Katie as a person we can all look up to no matter what our present situations.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Katie's Forever Promise by Jerry Eicher

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Katie Raber was suffering from a broken heart. After years of being known as "Emma Raber's odd daughter", Katie had finally won the attention of the man she secretly admired. Things were going so well with Ben. Each week they went to the nearby Mennonite youth meetings together and a deep love for each other had come fast to their young hearts. But then Ben was arrested for selling drugs and sent to prison. Katie was angry at Ben's betrayal and her heart was broken. Now Ben is out of prison and, after an attack on Ben's life, Katie goes to the hospital to help him fight for his life. When the old feelings come flooding back can Katie fight them or will she give into what her heart wants? After Ben was arrested Katie worked hard to repair her reputation in the community. Is it worth risking to be with the man she loves? Will she follow her heart or let the warnings of the people around her keep her from her heart's greatest desire?
Ben Stoll had been questioning the Amish faith for years so it was easy for him to get drawn into something so sinister as drug dealing. But when Ben started seeing Katie Raber he knew he wanted no more part of such dealings but, by then, it was too late. He was arrested and sent to jail to serve out his sentence. Now he was free and back home with his family. But would he ever be welcomed back into arms of the community. Most importantly, could he win back Katie's heart? When he is shot and then asked to leave his beloved Amish community all seems lost but Ben holds out hope that the damage he has caused can be repaired. Being sent away by the Elders is devastating but Ben also knows it's for the best until he can prove he is a changed man. With their faith in God and their love for each other strong, Ben and Katie fight for a life together while it seems the world is trying to keep them apart.
Katie's Forever Promise is book three in the Emma Raber's Daughter series. I found it can be read as a stand alone but I think I would have gotten the most out of it had I read it in sequence. I did love that Jerry Eicher brought in elements I'm not used to reading in Amish fiction. Drugs, abuse, jail and the court system. The characters were lovable with the exception of Katie's step sister Mabel. I so wanted to shake her but, in the end, I learned to love her and even felt sympathy for her. I loved the way Ben and Katie continued to love each other and hold out hope through all the hardships and road blocks they faced. I would like to go back and read the previous books in this series to see the events leading up to book 3. If you like Amish fiction I think you will enjoy this book.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions stated are mine alone and mine alone and I received no monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Katie finds her voice

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY Review: I have been reading this series of Jerry Eicher's with great interest. Katie Raber starts out in book 1 as shy, reserved, and with low self-esteem. She is known as "Emma Raber's daughter", the plain one. She took a great chance at falling in love with Ben Stoll, as he was extroverted and very popular in the community. Ben made a grave error, however, and pays dearly for that error. He is valiantly serving his time of consequences and seeking to protect his family and Katie and her family from the backlash. But trouble seems destined to find both Ben and Katie.
Can their love hold strong ? Will it survive such testing? Can they forgive and be forgiven?
Add to the ordeal, a sister, Mabel, who seems bent on hurting Katie and her mamm, and then her fiance, Norman. Whew! Trouble is definitely brewing!!! I love seeing the strength grown in Katie as she begins teaching and finds her voice. She is not afraid to follow her convictions nor her heart. 5 Star rating for this book, all the way.
I received a free copy of this book from Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Katie is one strong person, loved the series

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katie Raber's life is looking promising, she is the new teacher, Ben is out of her life, and Norman Kuntz is taking her home from the singings on Sunday's. She even feels like things are getting better with Mabel, her new sister, but she shouldn't plan on too bright of a future.
Ben gets shot on his first day home from jail and they don't think he'll live so at the request of his parents she visits him while he's unconscious and his mother is there the whole time. The community finds out about it and some are out to make trouble for her. She's finding out that Norman has a dark side and between him and Mabel things get worse and she soon loses her teaching job, in the middle of the year, they don't even wait for the school year to be over before firing her.
Jerry did a great job on this book, there are a lot of things going on and, again, I found I was putting myself in Katie's position and wondering what I would do. I don't think I could have kept my mouth shut as well as she did. Katie pushes on and moves forward with her life with as positive an attitude as she can have in her situation. Amish book lovers will really enjoy this series.
Thank you to Harvest House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is Forgiveness Possible?

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a huge fan of Author Jerry Eicher and I have read nearly all of his Amish fiction books.
Katie’s Forever Promise is a book that you just can’t wait to get back to if you have to put it down.
I love that this story is filled with real life obstacles and trials. My goodness, I have lived some of them myself. I think this is why this story hit so close to home for me.
Katie and Ben have their share of problems throughout this book. The author shows the reader that with God all things are possible if it is God’s will. That being said, will the community forgive Ben of his past sins? Has Ben really turned his life around? Will Katie forgive Ben after the shame he has put her through or perhaps she has moved on and is interested in another young man in her community.
Then there is Mable. This is a character that I had a love/hate relationship with. Pick up a copy of this book and you will see why I made this statement!
The author gives us an insight into the Amish community that usually doesn’t come out in other Amish fiction books. I think we have a tendency to think that Amish are very different from us. That’s not true. They have issues just like we do. When you read this book you will see what I mean especially when it comes to Norman Kuntz.
I was silly to think that I could get through one of Jerry Eicher’s books without crying. Well...that didn’t happen. What can I say, I am a cryer. I was really sobbing at the end of this story.
I am looking forward to reading this author’s new series that will be coming out in January of 2014. The Beiler Sisters, Book 1: Holding a Tender Heart.
I wish to thank Harvest House Publishers and author, Jerry Eicher, for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review. The opinions expressed in this review are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great read!

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
One Day at a Time
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While the Christian Fiction Amish genre seems to be exploding with material, Eicher brings a fresh perspective with fist hand knowledge to each and every book he writes! Katie’s Forever Promise is full of rich emotion. Eicher’s unique insight into the Amish and Mennonite way of life leads to great storytelling that leaves the reader coming back for more, story after story! Another must read, Katie’s story will give hope to the hopeless, and leave you longing for your future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Katie's Forever Promise, Emma Raber's Daughter Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, realistic, fast-moving plot.

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Michigan Thumb
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Of the making of many books there is no end—so don’t believe everything you read” says the Preacher in the last chapter of Ecclesiastes. But in Jerry Eicher’s books that’s hard to do.
Finally peace and stability is settling on the life and days of Katie Raber in this 3rd book in the series of Emma Raber’s Daughter—or does it? With a fast moving plot Jerry Eicher masterfully brings to life the saga of Katie Raber and Ben Stoll, her imprisoned ex-beau, and Katie’s new step sibling Mabel, still a challenge—so much so that I’m almost certain they are real people.
Then as Katie’s new position as schoolteacher begins, a strong encouragement to say yes to the school board member’s eligible son’s invitation to ride home after the Sunday night singing presents itself. But is it really more of an ultimatum? The twists and turns of the story line are intriguing and keep the pages turning. I smiled, laughed, groaned and cried through the 11 hours it took to read this sequel and epilogue, “Katie’s Forever Promise”. My husband had to microwave leftovers for supper as I couldn’t put the book down.
Jerry Eicher doesn’t sugar-coat the Amish lifestyle to the peaceful and picturesque ideal we non-Amish Englishers might like to impose on them. The scheming demeanor of Mabel Mast and Enos Kutz and Ruth Troyer were unsettling to me at first. Emotions flow—bitterness, envy, sorrow, regrets. The troubles mount and all play their part against true love’s loyalty. Prayers and pleas are frequent. I was reminded of Job’s declaration, “Man is born to trouble as the sparks fly upwards.” When the sparks are few and singularly burn out it only takes one stir of the glowing embers and the sparks race upward in bunches, much like the multiplying problems of Katie Raber. Still the daughter of Emma Raber—but now a confident young woman, Katie, a new church member with her heartbreak healed, is stronger in her determination to follow the faith of her people as Da Hah leads her. Accepting Da Hah’s will is central to their belief-system, but when those closest to Katie turn against her—how can this be?
The “sparks” (troubles) in this magnificent ending are many, yet as they burn themselves out—thankfully one can finally catch their breath and say that was an unforgettable read. Good prevails, true love wins, and Katie is on her way to happily ever after, “for sure and for certain.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.