Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street Blink of an Eye

Center Street Blink of an Eye

A Saudi Arabian princess flees a terrifying forced marriage. An American graduate student discovers an astonishing spiritual gift. When the two meet, their future---and the world's---will change. Set in back roads America and the Middle East's shifting political sands, Dekker's romantic thriller will keep you wide-eyed to the end! (Reprint of Blink)
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Blink of an Eye
Review 1 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You need to remind yourself to breathe in this one

Date:July 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine if you had the unique ability of precognition besides an IQ that was virtually higher than any human being had recorded, but in your mind you simply saw yourself as the average nerdy kind of guy that found college boring and were looking for something more out of this life? Then you would be describing Seth Borders, who maintains an IQ of 193, Einsteins was estimated to be 163 and only 1 percent of humans even have an IQ of 135, so you can see how Seth would be simply bored by most things. He simply thought ahead of what most people thought and can see things others can't. He has been offered a job at the National Security Association or NSA and can either be a huge asset or a huge threat depending on who's side of the fence Seth is interested in working with.
Just when he thought life couldn't get any more exciting, he encounters, Miriam, a beautiful Middle Eastern princess who is running for her life. He sees her a few minutes before even encountering her and knows that if he fails to act, she will die in the future he has seen earlier. Not knowing how or why he has received this uncanny ability to see into the future along with hundreds of possible outcomes, he is willing to take that risk and it is one that will forever alter both of their lives.
Miriam is running for her life quite literally, because she knew if she stayed in Saudi Arabia, she would be forced into a marriage to a man named Omar bin Khalid. He is one of the most powerful men in Saudi Arabia and he has plans to upset the balance of power in Saudi Arabia by staging a coup and providing a son of royal birth through Miriam which will ultimately give him the power to rule. But Omar is not without his faults and killing those who stand in his path of achieving his success is merely a fore thought. When he learns that Miriam has fled the country, he vows to punish her for making him look like a fool and will only keep her around long enough to provide a son to take over the existing throne in his country. Then she will not serve his purpose any longer and will be eliminated.
I received Blink of an Eye by best-selling author Ted Dekker compliments of Center Street Publishing, a division of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained here are strictly my own. Ever since my first Ted Dekker book, I've been hooked by his unique writing style to draw you in from the very beginning and before you know it, you're holding your breath, reading as fast as you can flip pages, to find out just what will happen next. This one is no exception and I've loved being a part of Miriam and Seth's journey from beginning to end. It conveys to readers just how difficult life for a woman living in the Middle East truly is when she is treated like property and lacking all the basic rights of a human being. Her life simply isn't worth anything but a means to an end. I can easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to add this one to my growing Ted Dekker library collection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Haley
Location:ottawa on
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like any other Ted Dekker novel. It's extremely hard to put down! and full of adrenalin on every page! it also has a very nice romantic side that i appreciate as a woman :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blink of an Eye
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaining, maybe not for kids/teens

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
watchful eye
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this book for my 12 year old son. He would have loved it, but I did a preview read and decided that he needs to wait until he's older. There are themes of romance, though no overt sex. But mostly, the main character, a genius college age guy, has unresolved questions about God and religion, and these never truly resolve for him. And he remains fairly hostile to (all) organized religions. This is fine for me, but I would prefer more "religion neutral" or "pro-Christian" themes in material for my younger children since I am a Christian.
Otherwise, if you are an adult, this is an entertaining thriller. I enjoyed it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dennis Weidus
Location:Baton Rouge
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story, kept my interest all through the book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blink of an Eye
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story grabs you in a vice-like grip and doesn't let you go! Its a fascinating ride between cultures and religions that doesn't overdo it, but really sends you on a learning curve to Saudi Arabia! Dekker doesn't disappoint!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kole
Now, i'm a redneck christian country boy who loves good action and good realistic violence, while also a good message to find inside a book. not too big on love stories, that is the stuff for girls to read. but this book was so good i went out and bought it after borrowing it from a lady who reccomends books for me. the way he combines love, good action, suspense, and a message of how true love really is, i reccomend this book to guys. show them how to really take care of and love girl THE RIGHT WAY, and still stay true to who you are. good job Mr. Dekker
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne
I loved this book! It was fast paced and . It is a book that after a while when you forget the details you want to go back and read it. I am a huge reader and I want to read more of Ted Dekker's books. He is a Christian, suspense author that is definitely worth reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie
This was an absolutle awsome book! This is now my favorite book ever! I just couldn't put it down! AWSOME!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Roan
Only half way through. Good book but not one that I hate to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Benz
I really love reading Ted Dekker novels. He has such a creative grasp of spiritual truth and I truly appreciate the metaphors he uses which so aptly express my own spiritual journey. I have been saved by grace have become "horde" and washed anew by Jesus' blood. Thanks Ted, God has given you a gift to minister to me and others I of whom will share these truths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie
This is now my favorite book ever! It was amazing! I read more than half of it in less than 15 hours because I JUST COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN! Two big thumbs up! Can't wait for the movie!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Ray
A very exciting read! A very well written story that had me staying up late and not being able to get very much of anything else done because I couldn't put the book down until I finished it. Ted Dekker is an excellent writer and the plot plus the unique gift of the protagonist fascinated me beyond measure. A writer of less calibre would have butchered the story. I have bought untold number of books based on a fascinating synopsis only to be bitterly disappointed because the writer was a hack and butchered the story. Ted Dekker is a masterful writer and when I buy a book written by him I can be confident I will enjoy it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blink of an Eye
This review is fromBlink of an Eye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ashley B.
This book remains one of my favorites. I have also read the first version of this book "Blink". It has the same story line as Blink, but some parts of the book go more in depth or are more condensed. The main characters of this book are Seth Borders, a genius college student who begins to see the future and various possibilities of futures; and Miriam, a Saudi Arabian Princess. This book has a great storyline and it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it! :) I highly recommend this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.