Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3

Harvest House Publishers Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3

Gabriel Gless and Helen Crouch's first meeting nearly ends in tragedy because of Helen's wayward son. Despite all they have in common-the loss of their beloved spouses, the experience of raising their children alone, their rock-solid faith-it seems their chances of finding new love together are gone before they've even had an opportunity to get to know each other.

Meanwhile, Helen's good friend, Annie Plank, is still reeling from the death of her husband when Gabriel's son Isaac walks into her bakery and into her life. His heart is still sore from a lost love, and they too struggle to find a place where their paths can join.

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Review 1 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bliss Creek isn't all peace and contentment

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bliss Creek saga continues in this third installment of the story of the Amish there. Widow Helen Crouch struggles to raise her children on her own. Widower Gabriel Gless moves to the area with his children, but he and Helen seem to provoke each other rather than peacefully assist one another. Could there be hope that these two could join their families?
Annie Plank still runs the bakery, but misses her beloved David, who lost his battle to cancer. How can she go on without him, and could she ever love again? Isaac Gless is interested in her, but it seems too soon to abandon her feelings for her departed husband.
Some of the Amish men travel to other states to seek a location for a new settlement since their district is getting too big and land too expensive in Kansas. Soon their close community may be torn apart and families separated. This adds to Annie’s uncertainty. Gabriel wonders whether he should uproot his family again or stay put. Especially with the attraction between his daughter and Helen’s wayward oldest son.
Another heart-tugging story by Kelly Irvin. So glad the tale will continue in her new series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is the third book in this series

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third book in the series called The Bliss Creek Amish. The other books in the series are To Love And To Cherish and A Heart Made New. You do not have to read the others in the series but I would recommend it as it gives you a better understanding of the setting and characters in this story.
I gave this book 4/5 stars. Although the story moved quickly I just did not connect well with the characters. I thought there was just too much sadness in their lives and it made their personalities sad and not upbeat. This book was not uplifting the whole time but was rather sad at times and just not a book I would enjoy reading again. However, if you enjoy Amish fiction you will probably still enjoy it!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!!!! A MUST READ

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Fond du Lac WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The brief summary says it all "AWESOME", even if you did not read the first 2 books you will be able to follow this book, it will take you through love and lose, and how to get through it all, I fell in love with all of the characters and you will to, pick up this book you will not be sorry
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Amish romance

Date:March 27, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Irvin has given us what I would like to consider a real taste of the trials of Amish life. Loss and change come to everyone. It's not so much what happens to us, but how we react to it that makes us who we are.
Love's Journey Home shows us the loss and change in the lives of many characters, but the story revolves around Helen and Gabriel. Their first encounter involved a speeding buggy, a drunken boy, and a small child.
I enjoyed Kelly's insight into the not-so-perfect side of the Amish people. They get angry. They hurt. They mourn. And yet in the midst of that, most continue to trust God.
I thoroughly enjoyed the word-play between Helen and Gabriel, and the end...yes, well, I always enjoy happily-ever-afters. And you know it has one 'cuz I despise books without it. :)
***I received this book from the author/publisher for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

FINAL NOVEL IN THE BLISS CREEK AMISH SERIES...

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
LOVE'S JOURNEY HOME by Kelly Irvin is a wonderful inspirational Amish Romance set in Bliss Creek. #3 in the "Bliss Creek Amish" series, but can be read as a stand alone. This is the third and final volume in this series. Follow, widow, Helen Crouch,widower, Gabriel Gless,and their young family on a journey home to find acceptance,healing,faith,second chances and love. Helen and Gabriel have lost much, each has lost their spouse,and must raise their young children alone. In the meantime, this little community of Bliss Creek is dealing with their own crisis,due to the drought,many families are having to leave for a new settlement. Saying goodbye is very hard. Some are struggling with their faith,while others struggle with new found love and maybe second chances. A heart warming story of love and faith and how God's plan will lead to many blessings if one just follows his direction and not their own. A wonderful read full of faith,and love. I enjoyed this story and would recommend to any reader who enjoys Amish,romance, and inspirational reads. Which, this is not a "preachy" story. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media,LLC.
RATING:4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Chaptico, MD
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Love's Journey Home, Kelly Irvin reminds us of the importance of second chances. We have all faced loss, disappointment, and hardships. We all struggle to fit the pieces of our lives back together. Like characters Helen Crouch, Annie Plank, and Gabriel Gless, we need to summon our courage and begin again.
Irvin does a wonderful job of weaving together the stories of various families in Bliss Creek. Some have lost spouses or loved ones to death; some have lost loved ones to the world; some must leave their homes to establish a new community. All must find the courage and faith to start anew. The reader can easily get caught up in the fast-paced plot and can immediately care about and identify with the residents of Bliss Creek. Irvin's writing is descriptive, informative, and reaches into the heart and soul of the reader.
It is not necessary to be a fan of Amish fiction to enjoy Love's Journey Home. Anyone who likes reading romances with a message will not be disappointed. Thank you to Kelly Irvin for another great novel. I give her newest book my highest recommendation.
Susan E. Simpson, author
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love's Journey Home is a contemporary Amish romance. I am generally not a fan of Amish books, but this one was good. It's the only book in the series that I have read, and I had no problem following the storyline. There were a lot of characters, but each character had a distinct personality which made it easy to keep track of who is who--I'm horrible with names.:)
I won't bother summarizing the story since it's already been done.
This book was given to me by the author for the purpose of review. I was not required to give a positive review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
shirl
Location:Georgia, VT
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book makes me want to go to the Amish country and live the life they have to see what it is really like. They all seem so sincere in their faith.
Very good fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love's Journey Home, Bliss Creek Amish Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love's Journey Home

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Book three of this series picks up around two years after book two. It starts out with Helen who we got to know a little in the first books. She is struggling with her teenage son and something he does puts her in bad light to the new family in town. Gabriel has come to Bliss Creek to start over yet he soon finds out his new community may not be much better then the one he came from. At first he does not like Helen but the more he is around her the more he finds himself interested. Annie is also again a main character in this book. David has died( :() and she is a widow raising her son and dealing with her grief as she runs the bakery that she now owns. Can she over come her grief to find love a second time?
What I liked: I enjoyed the story between Helen and Gabriel both have been through loss and are raising their kids. Helen is dealing with a teen who is not following the rules and Gabriel moved to Bliss Creek for his kids to have a fresh start so he is not happy with Helen's son. This causes some tension that made it fun to read.
What I did not like: Honestly the face that David is dead was a huge let down for me. I know life happens but this series had a lot of bad things happen and I really wish he had lived. I also do not understand why Annie’s new love interest did not get a first person telling. I wanted to get to know him and really did not get the chance and I was disappointed in that as well.
Over all this book was just okay. I am giving it four stars because its well written and I really like the characters but the plot of Annie in this book made me want to give it a three star rating. I am hoping that the new series coming after this one will see less loss and more happiness. The author is a great writer this book just was not what I had hoped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.