Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street The Priest's Graveyard

Center Street The Priest's Graveyard

The last thing Renee Gilmore remembers is being rescued by a pair of unknown arms after her drug-dealer boyfriend attempts to murder her. She wakes up in a beautiful glass house surrounded by doctors and the man that saved her life, Lamont Myers. Lamont offers her protection, if she abides by his rules. Namely, she isn't to leave the house, making her the bird in his gilded cage.

Danny Hansen is a Bosnian immigrant who came to America to escape the bloodshed of his own country. Danny is a priest who lives by a strict moral code, one which values love above all else. It is those that abide by religious and legal law but eschew the law of love that insence Danny. And he believes it is duty to show them the error of their ways. Those that see light are set free, but never without a reminder of their wrongdoings. Those that refuse to admit to their behavior are killed.

A year after Renee is rescued by Lamont he is murdered and she vows to seek revenge. At the same time, Danny has continued down his path of retribution against those who live without love. In their individual pursuits, Danny and Renee's paths become entangled and before long it becomes clear that neither of them may make it out of this hunt alive.

Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 out of 3097%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Priest's Graveyard
Review 1 for The Priest's Graveyard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book a lot of twists

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Docsue
Location:CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed this book and it certainly held my attention. I was a little distracted by the "jumping around" but, overall, the book was great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Dekker's Best

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laila Deyo
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been an avid Ted Dekker reader and novel collector for years and I was very disappointed with this latest novel. I pre-bought it last summer in eager anticipation to complete the three set (Boneman's Daughter and Bride Collector) but I should have waited for the sale price. I just didn't find it as gripping, suspenseful and as well put together as his normal flow of the storyline...BUT that being said I did read the whole thing and I haven't exactly written a book yet, so kudos to him for getting another big novel under his belt and I hope he puts out another "humdinger" that I have come to love and expect!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good, but not Dekker's best

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When his mother and sisters are killed during a religious war, Danny Hansen makes it his calling to deal with the injustice in the world. Renee Gilmore is a victim of such injustice. When the love of her life is killed, she vows to avenge his death by going after his killer. These two paths eventually cross, and the twists and turns lead them down a road that could end with the deaths of both.
If you’ve been to my blog enough, then you should know I am a huge fan of Ted Dekker. I have yet to read a book he’s written that I absolutely didn’t like. This one, however, is not one of my favorites. Dekker’s skill still shines. He knows how to weave a plot, and the characters are very well written. These characters in particular, though I could sympathize with them, were not really likable… but I believe that may have been intentional. These characters are born out of trauma and pain, which leads them to situations of more trauma and pain. But I think it was the unlikable characters that made me not enjoy the story as much.
As usual, Dekker’s overall theme is love. Not mushy, romantic love… real love. This one also brings in themes of judgement and grace. Overall, it’s still a good story, just not up to par with Dekker’s previous work, in my opinion. You do have to realize, however, that my love of Dekker’s other works puts me into the OMG!-I-love-Ted-Dekker!-fangirl category. So my “negative” review of this book really isn’t all that negative, seeing as I hold his previous work in such high regard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good mystery.

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
jdees
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In true Dekker style, this book keeps you guessing until the last page. Very different from most Christian writers but compelling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic story! I can see this as a movie.

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Call me twisted, but I love the way Dekker's mind works. Whenever I read his thrillers I always vacillate between being freaked out and being impressed by his subtle theology. In the end I am always edified by his insight into the human condition, which is the most important thing for me when I read a book. The takeaway value of Dekker's thrillers is priceless...for me, anyway. I get something out of each story and it's not merely thrills and excitement. I think about spiritual things, which is something I don't get out of anyone else's suspense/thrillers. Like I said, call me twisted, but I love them!
His novels are always page-turners for me, too. And the depth of the love themes is mind-blowing to me, but only because I see it. I'm sure many people miss the message because they aren't looking for it, but I see how he shines light in the darkness every time. It's funny because I never feel grossed out or disgusting after I read one of his novels. My pulse gets pounding and my adrenaline goes up because I am truly worried for the people in the book (which is nuts because they aren't real, or so I keep telling myself) and somehow Dekker manages to make me smile at the end of each and every book of his that I read.
Dekker "gets" how complex the human heart is and he does a fantastic job with redemption themes. This story shows how it's impossible for man to live by the law and how grace is the only answer...and he shows this through serial killers. Crazy, but true. They may be killing for what seems to be noble reasons, but in the end they are still killing. Yet at the same time he makes them fully human. He shows how trauma twists the way people view things. All brilliantly portrayed and executed...literally. I could go on and on, but the bottom line is that I loved this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Book came in execellent condition.

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gibbys
Location:Moline, il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
I did not care that much for the story. A little dark for me but that is jsut my taste good conversation. The book held my interest and didn't want to put it down. It was more graphic than I care for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love Ted Dekker!

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Another great book by Mr. Dekker. Was very hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
herb
Location:Summerside, PEI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son read this book in two days and really enjoyed the story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastically suspensful

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommaomany
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is fantastic! I have 10 children and have very little time to read. I ended up reading this book in 3 days because I simply couldn't put it down. I devoured it at nap time and bedtime!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prepare for A Change of Heart

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amber McCallister
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once in a lifetime a magnificent novel is written that allows us to peer into the hearts of those around us and ourselves with such harsh clarity. This is one of those stories that will put a stranglehold on your mind until it is absorbed by your heart. This is an insightful and compelling story that will bring you to your knees in anguish, in anticipation, and in a longing to become the best of yourself for your sake as well as for those around you.
The characters in this story will make you laugh, cry, scream, and leave you begging for more. They are as complex as they come, but yet they are simple enough for anyone to understand, identify with, and love. This is one story where you will love the “bad guy”. As strange as it sounds, you will cheer him on and demand that he do more. Yet, for the main female character, he will be both her savior and her tormentor. This is one story where the end will leave you with more questions than answers. However, questions are good for the soul. They force us to stop and take a closer look at decisions we make. Are we making choices that only benefit ourselves, or are we making choices that will help those around us more and in turn benefit us to a much greater degree by transforming us into a better version of ourselves?
No matter where you are when you begin reading this book, you will not be the same after you have finished it. You may not notice it at first, but it will make a home in your heart and begin to influence your thoughts, your questions, your decisions, and you. It will give you a broader view of the other humans you share this plant with. It will encourage you to look past yourself and straight into their eyes for a full view of their life, their heart, and how they are not much different then you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another riveting read by Dekker

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be honest, It's probably not really a wise thing for me to write this review, because I am unequivocably a "Dekkie"- translation- huge Ted Dekker fan right here. Ted is an author that never seems to tire of taking risks in his writing and I never tire of reading his books. "The Priest's Graveyard" is no exception. From page one I entered into "Ted Dekker land" a wonderful place where I become completely riveted to his story and don't want to quit reading until it is through.
This is a tale full of heartbreak, grief, and intense love. Danny Hansen is a man who has lived through horrific events at the hands of the Orthodox Christians in Bosnia. Leaving his past behind, he comes to America for a fresh start and at that time becomes a priest. With that fresh start our priest finds it necessary to mete out justice to the truly vile creatures of the world who have escaped true justice and Danny makes sure they received some of his own. He is a vigilante of sorts who proclaims judgment on those members of society that need it. Enter Renee Gilmore- a young beautiful girl with a past of her own- a former drug addict and down on her luck sort of girl. She finds her path crosses with Danny because they are both tracking the same man. Renee seeks to destroy this man because she believes he killed her former husband and Danny also seeks him because he believes him to be a vile member of society who needs justice to be served. They team up, and the story just heats up from there.
In true Ted Dekker fashion- there is a twist (or two) and at times your holding onto your seat for dear life. It is amazing how completely enthralled one becomes with these characters. Judgement, moral reasoning and ultimately how love and grace factor into all of it are all brought together in an amazing way. I raced through this book quickly as I really needed to know how it turned out. Yes there are some edgy parts to this book for sure, so be prepared, but it was really a wonderful read. Compelling, riveting and as always throught provoking. Once again Ted- Bravo!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Words Are Inadequate!

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am rarely at a loss for words, but after finishing this book...I find it hard to describe the mix of emotions clamoring for attention. It is fascinating, raw, compelling, intense, creepy, but painfully honest. It shows the jagged edge of the human psyche that can easily slip into the dark side. The weakness of the human soul but strength of the spirit is glaringly displayed. It also demonstrates the power of love, however twisted it may appear. This has the makings of a bestseller!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was thrilling and life-changing.

Date:May 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jess
Location:Hollywood, Florida
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a wonderful story about revenge, judgement, and forgiveness that entrances the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Masterpiece!

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
AwesomeNiks
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ted Dekker has done it once again! This is a tale of epic proportions that shows us that there is more than meets the eye and questions your very sense of what truly is “right” and “wrong”? In this riveting and heart-wrenching (and sometimes quite gut-wrenching as well) story, readers are taught never to judge by what is seen. There is always more to every story. There are not enough words to describe the beauty of the intracies that Ted entwines into this story. It is not only a book, it is a cleverly crafted masterpiece. It is a powerful, magical story hidden behind the guise of a “novel”. Read it, and the magic contained in this story will unfold beautifully before your eyes. And until you finish that last page, don’t even begin to think that you understand it. Because as Ted has beautifully portrayed, nothing is ever quite like it seems. This book will haunt you long after you finish that last page.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Priest's Graveyard

Date:May 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
TopHat
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a book that grabs the very desires of your soul. Then you should look for Ted Dekkers new novel The Priest's Graveyard. This book will give you everything you love to watch, read and dream. Its filled with action, romance, suspense, and Blood and not to mention and a bunch of good looking mysterious characters. That will make you fill like your inside the book your holding and make you ask yourself if you are making the right life decisions or if you just as twisted as some of the characters in Ted Dekkers most wonderfully written book The Priest's Graveyard.
He'll leave you wanting more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Intense

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jasha Shay
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a mind shattering story.
This is one of Dekker’s best novels, and it is twisted. The villain is the protagonist; the protagonist is the villain. The vigilante is the hero and the killer. It’s a fascinating twist from the normal good guy, bad guy motif. It’s entirely unique, impossible to put down, specific on all the best details, and comes with the theme that will eat at your head long after you close the back cover.
It will change every expectation you ever had of the word, "love."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Dekker book!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Candi Michelle
Location:NC
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Different is one word to describe this book. It is not like most Dekker novels yet, it is. I loved Renee and Lamont…until I learned the truth of Lamont, that is. I loved Danny, the priest. This book is different in the “graphicness” as one of my friends put it, but not in a way that I would stop reading it. Graphic, in the sense, that some of the things that happened were quite shocking. (page 25 mainly). Renee’s OCD made me laugh. The love Danny shows, and his “Confession” at the end is…I don’t have a word for it. Amazing.
All in all, I loved this book. As a novel I promoted for weeks, and bought 8 copies of,and was majorly excited about I was not let down. I couldn’t put it down—unless it was necessary. Amazing read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing.

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrittanyOsgood
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You should really read this book when you have a decent amount of time on your hands so you can give it the appreciation it deserves and devour it in one or two sittings. The second you pick it up, you won't want to put it down. Humor mixed with wide eyed, edge of your seat action and situations that make your heart pound is what you'll find in Ted Dekker's latest novel. Without giving anything away, The Priest's Graveyard causes you to examine your own beliefs of right and wrong and judgement. Do you feel superior to others? Or do you only feel superior to those who inflict pain on others? Questions like these will wander through your mind as you embark on this wild ride with Renee Gilmore and Danny Hanson. It will leave you stunned and racing to the first chapter so you can read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intensely gripping read

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
CaliGirl
Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It’s unusual to read a book in which the hero would ordinarily be considered a villain. Danny Hansen, a priest with a passion for justice, kidnaps those he judges to be the scum of the earth and kills them if they do not repent. When his mission intersects with that of Renee, a hurting young woman in search of revenge, they join forces to take down a smooth talking tycoon with blood on his hands. The final confrontation they come to is a twist worthy of the name on its cover.
Danny is a killer in the name of God, true enough, but he is also a kind man who treasures goodness and beauty. Spunky, determined Renee is very naïve in some ways and very experienced in others. Each with their own dark and complex past, they read as very authentic and well rounded, raw human beings simply doing what they must. Their chemistry is surprising, and still feels completely inevitable. Ted has a real knack for putting his characters in breathtakingly fantastic and/or horrific situations that reveal the core of their humanity, and The Priest’s Graveyard is no exception. The characters drive the story, which is absolutely as it should be.
The climax is packed with enough suspense and emotional oomph to rank it firmly among Ted’s finest works. This is an ending I definitely did not anticipate and felt a bit torn about, and yet I can’t imagine it ending properly any other way. In my experience, that’s always a mark of a truly fantastic story.
At the time of this writing, just nine days past the release, The Priest’s Graveyard has already hit #9 on the New York Times bestseller list, the quickest of any of Ted Dekker’s books to date. I read it over the course of one weekend and could hardly put it down. I’ve been anticipating this book for well over a year now, and I’m happy to say it lives up to the hype. This is no cheap thriller barreling through on blood and adrenaline; it’s an intensely gripping story containing both edgy suspense raw enough to make you tense every muscle, and reckless love strong enough to bring a lump to your throat. This story will leave you breathless and will haunt you with the question, “Who really has the right to judge another?”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Priest's Graveyard
This review is fromThe Priest's Graveyard.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Ted's best!

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emily
Location:PA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Priest's Graveyard is intense and thrilling and challenging. How far would you go, rather, how far should you go, to stop someone from hurting someone else? At what point do you step back and say "that person is just going to have to suffer, I won't do anything to help them"? In the story, Danny believes it's his job to go as far as killing someone to save the people that person is hurting. The crazy thing is, I felt myself agreeing with his reasoning! It'll definitely make you think. The Priests Graveyard also explores judging others and revenge. But really, this story is about love and grace. This book is dark. But just like Ted's other books it's in the darkest moments that the light comes through the brightest. Amazing how that works. I've fallen in love with these characters and am looking forward to seeing them again. This book is a thrilling ride. It'll take your breath away. And it'll make you cry. And laugh. It'll change the way you think about people. This is definitely one of Ted's best.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>