Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3

Harvest House Publishers A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3

1886-Jesse Montgomery is beginning to feel restless. Though he's grateful to his friends Colin and Emma for helping him get on his feet again after a few bad choices and some hard living, surely the Lord doesn't want him to stay in Apple Grove forever. Doesn't the Almighty have plans for this reformed rowdy cowboy to build a life of his own?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Review 1 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Cattle Rancher Versus Apple Grove and Romance

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith in their new book, "A Cowboy At Heart" Book Three in The Amish Of Apple Grove series published by Harvest House Publishers takes us into the lives of Katie Miller and Jesse Montgomery.
From the Back Cover: She loves me... she loves me not... she loves me
Kansas, 1886-Jesse Montgomery is beginning to feel restless. He's been off the Chisholm Trail and on a family farm for a year now. Though he is grateful to Luke and Emma for helping him get on his feet again after a few bad choices and some hard living, surely the Lord doesn't want him to stay in Apple Grove forever. Doesn't the Almighty have plans for this reformed rowdy cowboy to build a life of his own?
When an unscrupulous cattle baron tries to steal Amish land, Jesse intervenes and is wounded. Lovely Katie Miller, the young healer in the district, attends to him while trying to guard her heart. This sweet Amish widow cannot risk falling in love again-especially with an Englisch cowboy, charming though he may be. And yet-she believes God has a life for her too that is more than what she can presently see. Could God possibly have a plan for both of them far beyond what they can see?
This is the third and last book in this series, which I am sorry to see come to an end, and this time the focus is Jesse Montgomery. You can read this volume as a stand alone with no problem but it is a lot more fun when you know the character's growth from the first two books. If this was a movie it would be the kind that John Wayne made during his middle period and he would be Jesse. There is a cattle rancher trying to drive off the Amish farmers and Jesse stands up to him almost getting killed in the process. Katie tends to him and the sparks fly but each is wounded and needs to heal before their romance can actually work. In the meantime the battle is on for the safety of Apple Grove. "A Cowboy At Heart" is a romance but it is much, much more. Ms. Copeland and Smith explore the themes of Grief over the loss of a spouse and Standing your spiritual ground when it seems that all is lost. I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next series from this talented duo.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Harvest House Publishers for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very satisfying conclusion

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
CDaBell
Location:Utah
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A very satisfying conclusion to the Amish of Apple Grove series. Once again, the characters were interesting, believable, and endearing. The plot flowed smoothly and the conflict resolution was clever. Though I enjoyed all three books, this one was my favorite because all the loose ends were neatly and happily tied up. Bishop Miller was a tragic figure, but not beyond hope, and I enjoyed watching Jesse find peace. Katie's bareness tugged at my heart and I admired her courage in the face of her trials. To be a healer when your own heart is broken is one of the secrets of life. Lovely story."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another good book by dual authors. Lori & Virginia seems to flow together as God writes the book.
I could so see Ranchers doing to the Amish like Mr. Littlefield did to Jonas. But Jonas being so forgiving is a lesson for us all. Yet Jonas had to work to fight his anger and remain calm.
I've really never thought about Amish being around in the 1800s.
Having read the story of Jesse before on cattle drives with Luke, it is refreshing to read of his struggles with whiskey and faith. I lived with a guy in my house growing up who fought both.
God's plans for Jesse, Jonas, Amos and Katie are revealed. A new Amish Community if formed because God leads the Amish same as anyone else.
My 12 year old granddaughter was reading the title yesterday and asking questions about the book.
Jesse's recovery from a bullet wound and a bishop who is hard to deal with were interesting to read.
The whole story is about forgiveness when wronged. Something that isn't that easy believe me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cowboy Turns His Life Around

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Emily Akin
Location:TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Cowboy at Heart is the third in the Amish of Apple Grove series, also known as Amish-meets-Wild West adventures. The first book, The Heart's Frontier, is about how a group of cowboys meet the Switzer family (Amish). One of the Switzer girls marries a cowboy. In the second installment, A Plain and Simple Heart, another Switzer daughter seeks out a cowboy she had a crush on as a girl. A trip to jail and other humorous happenings land her in love with the sheriff.
From the back cover: 1886—Jesse Montgomery is beginning to feel restless. Though he’s grateful to his friends Colin and Emma for helping him get on his feet again after a few bad choices and some hard living, surely the Lord doesn’t want him to stay in Apple Grove forever. Doesn’t the Almighty have plans for this reformed rowdy cowboy to build a life of his own?
When an unscrupulous cattle baron tries to steal Amish land, Jesse intervenes and is wounded. Lovely Katie Miller, the young healer in the district, attends to him while trying to guard her heart. This sweet Amish widow cannot risk falling in love with an Englisch cowboy, charming though he may be. And yet—she believes God has a life for her too that is more than what she can presently see. Could there be a future with Jesse only He could bring about?
My review: This third installment is the best, I think. Without giving away the story, I will just say that none of the Amish characters chooses to leave the sect. In most Amish fiction, at least one of the characters doubts his or her faith, and often they ultimately leave the Amish life. This story is as much about the cowboy's search for faith as it is about the Amish. There's drama, humor, and danger---all the elements of an entertaining story. In addition, you get an education about Amish attitudes about achieving peace without violence.
I highly recommend A Cowboy at Heart. You can start with this story and work backwards to the others without losing any of the value of the story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Harvest House with the expectation that I write a review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Amish ficiton

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend, A Cowboy at Heart, book #3 in the The Amish of Apple Grove series.
I loved the ending because it was unique and did not end like I thought is would. No spoilers from
me you will have to read it. Fans of Amish fiction will love this one. I look forward to reading the first two books in this series.
I give A Cowboy at Heart 4 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Peaceful Society

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The year is 1886 and Jesse Montgomery, has finally kicked the demon whiskey! With the help of his friends Colin and Emma, he has waged his battle and won.
When someone tries to steal Jonas and Mammi Switzer's farm, he goes out to help, only to be shot in the back. Young Widow Katie Miller, comes and helps the Doctor, and stays to help the young cowboy. Sparks tend to fly between them, but Katie is Amish.
Loved spending more time in this Apple Grove Amish Community. Good to see and hear from old friends. Will this be the end of the Settlement, they will not fight to save what is theirs. This peaceful society, will turn the other cheek. Will Jesse be able to help them? Will the Bishop Miller let them accept the help of the English Jesse?
Loved the twists and turns of this story. Through out it all, we see a strong love to follow the Lord's ways.
Don't miss the final story in this trilogy, you can read this one alone, but don't deprive yourself of two other great books!
I received this book through First Wild Card Book Tours, and was not required to give positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, honest read

Date:April 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daws1996
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story, set in 1886 Kansas, finds the Amish world and the cattle baron world colliding. While the Amish community determines to follow their beliefs and not fight back against an unscrupulous rich man determined to take their land, rowdy cowboy Jesse Montgomery steps in to help and almost pays with his life. Enter sweet, young, Amish widow, Katie Miller, who is drawn to Jesse as she helps to restore his health, but she carries a secret that keeps her guarding her heart against Jesse.
In case you didn't notice, A Cowboy at Heart is the third book in the Apple Grove series by these two authors. Although I guessed during reading the novel that prior stories probably had been told before, I didn't feel left out or like I was missing any details I needed. I was able to read the entire story and follow it without ever getting confused by prior events.
What I Liked
I found the pace very good. As with most stories, the main part of the story takes place quickly considering all that happens, yet the authors write in such a way that it is easy to go along without objecting to the timing.
The characters were well developed, some showing great spiritual or emotional growth and others far less. The emotions the people dealt with were real, and the authors were careful to show struggle while keeping them firmly within their convictions.
Although I am no expert on either the time period or the Amish, I didn't read anything that caused me to pause. The research seemed reasonable and the tidbits of history flowed well within the story without sounding forced or lecturing.
The Bottom Line - 5 stars
Was the storyline predictable -- maybe, but so what? A surprise every now and then is good, but mostly I pick up fiction to relax and enjoy the ride. With that in mind, I loved this book! It had action, a good storyline, compounding problems, believable solutions, people seeking God's answers, raw emotions and so much more. I enjoyed picking it up and had trouble putting it down.
If you enjoy historical romances or Amish stories, then I recommend giving this book a try. Even if you hesitate on Amish novels, this one is fairly well balanced by the addition of several Englischers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Cowboy at Heart, Amish of Apple Grove Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 5 star book from Lori Copeland and Virginia Smit

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marcy
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith hit a home run with this heart warming story of lost love, loosing ones house, life's difficult moments and overcoming it all. The trials of each character were real life trials that we all might encounter, even though the book takes place in 1886. The book is about trusting God to see us through all our trials and helping us overcome them in a manner pleasing to Him.
Katie is a young widow of her Amish Bishop's son. She is adamant that she will never marry again because she cannot have children. She does not want to have a man suffer through the same pain as he deceased husband. Katie is blessed as a healer and midwife and plans to live her life helping others.
Jesse is a former range cowboy and alcoholic. He believes that no woman will ever love him for the life he led, drinking his way through life. He is now sober and yearns for a home and family. He is also English living with Jonas' daughter who left the Amish faith along with his other daughter. Jesse works on their farms, he is a long time friend of Emma's Husband a former range cowboy.
Jonas is a widower with a farm he has lived on for 20 years. He wakes up one morning to see a fence running right through the middle of his hard earned and hard worked farm. A rich cattle baron has come to town to get as much land as he can and has decided that Jonas' spread has perfect access to water for his cattle. Because the Amish do not fight He has decided to take half of Jonas' land.
Jonas is in the process of trying to get his land back while remaining true to his Amish beliefs Jesse is shot in the back helping him. Katie comes to Jonas' farm to minister to Jesse's wounds and hopefully keep him alive.
Will Jonas keep his land? Will Jesse live through his grave injury and find a home and family of his own? Will Katie trust God and marry again? Will she ever be a mother? Read this wonderful heart warming book to find out. It is well worth the time to read it and the money to purchase it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.