Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1

Harvest House Publishers A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1

It's 1851, and Evie Lawrence is penniless and heartbroken after a failed romance. When a kind elderly man announces his plan to move west and make his fortune, Evie jumps at the chance to go with him and start a new life. She says goodbye to the only home she's ever known and sets out for the Northwest.

There she meets Noah Hughes, a handsome young man who has gambled everything he owns on the chance to make a fresh start. Living the rugged life of a lumberjack, he too is determined to one day make his fortune. The last thing he's looking for is a bride.so why can't he get Evie out of his mind?

Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Review 1 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A nice fun book

Date:February 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's 1851 and Evie Lawrence is working for Miles and Letitia Coffinger and as Miles is reading a letter from his nephew, Noah Hughes, to his wife, Evie overhears the suggestion to bring a load of women to Oregon Territory. Evie is engaged to James but one evening she finally sees the light and a different plan starts forming in her mind. She confronts Mr Coffinger first to see if he'd be willing to be a partner in a new restaurant in the Oregon Territory then she breaks off the engagement with James and soon finds herself, along with Miles and three other ladies on her way Oregon.
The plan doesn't go as well as she planned, Miles didn't have the money she thought he did and now she finds herself owing a bank money and the owners of the lumber company are very unhappy when women show up. The women didn't know just how rough the wilderness would be and find themselves having to work harder than was bargained for, oh, and there are Indians too!
I found this a peaceful smooth and fun book to read, I found myself chuckling in a few spots and just about had to brush away a couple of tears. Anytime I do that when reading I consider it a good story. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series, "Rainy Day Dreams", to come out in April.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hardheaded, stubborn, with laughs

Date:February 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Location:North Carolian
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A woman is inadvertently given the opportunity by her employer to move to the west and make something of herself. After making the decision to cut ties with her fiancé, she takes her employer up on his offer. Dragging along some husband-seeking friends with her, Evangeline Lawrence sets out to reform part of the west, starting with a restaurant in the middle of a settlement made up entirely of a lumberjacking community. Evie herself is a woman on a mission; she is determined and hardheaded, and for the most part sensible. Noah Hughes, the man who is not of her dreams, is equally stubborn; however, he is a man with a troubled past which sometimes manifests itself when he deals with Evie.
While reading “A Bride for Noah” I truly appreciated the sensory details that were often included. I could actually place myself in Evie’s shoes, and visualize the camp to an extent. One can certainly appreciate the research that must have been put forth to compile facts about lumberjacks and the Indian traditions of that era. I highly recommend this book, if just for the laughs it evokes. (rev. Jael B.)
DISCLOSURE: A complimentary copy of A Bride for Noah was provided by Harvest House Publishers in exchange for our honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer. No compensation was received for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buiilding Seattle, romance and so much more

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The beginning Seattle. An Adventure in logging, love and more.
Evie feels she can leave Tennessee and start over. She travels with an employee who she has a partnership with to start a restaurant. Two other ladies are with them too. When she cannot get help from the loggers, it doesn't stop her from getting ladies to help her clear off lady for a restaurant. Love that part a lot.
Turns out land belonged to Noah so she forms a partnership with him too. Noah can hardly believe his Uncle brought women to logging site. He is kept busy trying to keep the women out of the men's way so they will work. But turns out he finally has to allow women near men to get the work done on time.
Just as Evie and Noah are about to start a relationship someone from her past shows up. It turns everything upside down. But love wins out eventually.
I love how the Indians and white men worked together because often the Indians are portrayed in a poor light. I have Indian blood and was taught to be proud of it.
Relationships have hard moments of truth sharing before marriage in many cases. Yet not all.
Ethel and Cookee show how opposites can attract and find the strength in each other. I loved their lives.
All the characters you will warm to and feel like you are there watching it all.
Noah had been stung by a woman partner in the past so found it hard to believe Evie when she shared the truth.
A beautiful story of the beginning of a town.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Seattle and Romance

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith in their new book, “A Bride For Noah” Book One in the Seattle Brides series published by Harvest House Publishers takes us into the life of Evie Lawrence.
From the Back Cover: In the shadow of the mountain
It’s 1851, and Evie Lawrence is penniless and desperate for an adventure. When her employer announces his plan to move west and make his fortune, Evie jumps at the chance to start a new life. She says goodbye to the only home she’s ever known and sets out for the rugged Northwest. She’ll build a restaurant in one of the new settlements, she decides.
A restaurant in the wilderness? Noah Hughes, a handsome young lumberjack, can hardly believe his ears. Evie has no idea what she is getting into. The last thing his logging camp needs is a woman! And the last thing he’s looking for is a bride…so why can’t he get Evie out of his mind?
In this first book of the Seattle Brides series, two people learn what it means to move beyond their expectations and embrace the very best God has for them.
I love history and the authors have skillfully blended the founding of Seattle, Washington into this first book in this new series. Evie is not coming out as a mail-order bride, she is coming out as a business person looking to start a new life out West. I admire her. Evie is a strong minded woman who knows what she wants and clashes with whomever seems to get in her way. Noah is her male equivalent and the two seem to be adversaries all the time, yet Noah is beginning to melt to her. Both Evie and Noah are wounded individuals in romance and it is going to take God to heal them before they can accept the present, embrace each other and embrace the future. I enjoyed the characters in this book, the good guys are worth cheering for and the bad guys are, well, bad. I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next book in this series from this talented duo.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Harvest House Publishers for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
This review is fromBride for Noah, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, but not Lori's best

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Margot
Location:South Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've read a lot of Lori Copeland's books, and love them all. "A Bride For Noah" was another great read, but I wouldn't say it was fantastic, like so many of her others. It was fascinating to read about the origins of Seattle and to discover that the book was somewhat based on actual people and actual events. Such a determined, pioneering spirit in those people. I enjoyed the character of Noah - hesitant to trust again, but helpless not to fall in love with Evie. Evie was a visionary, stubborn, strong-willed, independent young woman who knew when to give up her independence in favor of relationship. The humor of the book was largely contributed by Miles - philanthropist, business partner, wayward husband, drunkard, but all-round kind-hearted fellow. There wasn't as much of God in this book as is usually found in Lori Copeland's stories, and I thought it lacked her usual depth. But it was still a lovely historical romance story, which I would recommend to fans of this genre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Northwest History

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patty LeBlanc
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to receive the first book in the Seattle Brides series. Living in the Pacific Northwest I looked forward to reading a book set in my home state.
Getting to know some of the history of Washington state was pretty fun and interesting. I loved the characters and how their personalities developed. I was once again extremely pleased with the storyline these two authors created and can't wait to read another book in this series. These authors are quite the dynamic duo, and I never finish one of their books feeling disappointed. On the contrary, they always create a story that draws me in and keeps me wanting for more.
Set in the 1850s, this book tells the story of different people trekking to the Northwest to start new settlements and the history behind the starting of those settlements. Also discussed are how those settlements got their names. I loved reading these bits of history, along with the storyline weaved in to make it a read I didn't want to put down or even finish because I wanted to keep learning more about these characters and their lives.
I would definitely recommend this book. I look forward to the next installment in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
This review is fromBride for Noah, A - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith, beloved authors of the Amish of Apple Grove series, team up again in an exciting new series for devoted fans and new readers.
It's 1851, and Evie Lawrence is penniless and heartbroken after a failed romance. When a kind elderly man announces his plan to move west and make his fortune, Evie jumps at the chance to go with him and start a new life. She says goodbye to the only home she's ever known and sets out for the Northwest.
There she meets Noah Hughes, a handsome young man who has gambled everything he owns on the chance to make a fresh start. Living the rugged life of a lumberjack, he too is determined to one day make his fortune. The last thing he's looking for is a bride...so why can't he get Evie out of his mind?
In this first book of the Seattle Brides series, two people learn what it means to move beyond their expectations and embrace the very best God has for them.
My Review:
While the concept of an old fashioned romance is nothing new, Copeland and Smith bring a fresh new look to an old sort of story. We all know the boy meets girl scenario, boy doesn't want to get married, but can't get girl out of his mind. It's a common place theme and this type of story is a dime a dozen in the Christian genre. This novel however, presents a whole new take on this proven formula: they threw an old man in. With these unusual circumstances in mind, it really sets the backdrop for an exciting romance. I would venture to guess that a single girl traveling with an old man even back in the day was somewhat... different. Similar to women joining the military. All that to say, give this book a chance. Whether you've given up on the genre, don't read it at all, or love it with all your heart; the characters will steal your heart and plenty of your time too. A lovely new addition to the market - can't wait for more from this writing team!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Lori Copeland & Virginia Smith
Harvest House Publishers
Lori Copeland and Virginia Smith, beloved authors of the Amish of Apple Grove series, team up again in an exciting new series for devoted fans and new readers.
It's 1851, and Evie Lawrence is penniless and heartbroken after a failed romance. When a kind elderly man announces his plan to move west and make his fortune, Evie jumps at the chance to go with him and start a new life. She says goodbye to the only home she's ever known and sets out for the Northwest.
There she meets Noah Hughes, a handsome young man who has gambled everything he owns on the chance to make a fresh start. Living the rugged life of a lumberjack, he too is determined to one day make his fortune. The last thing he's looking for is a bride...so why can't he get Evie out of his mind?
In this first book of the Seattle Brides series, two people learn what it means to move beyond their expectations and embrace the very best God has for them.
My Review:
While the concept of an old fashioned romance is nothing new, Copeland and Smith bring a fresh new look to an old sort of story. We all know the boy meets girl scenario, boy doesn't want to get married, but can't get girl out of his mind. It's a common place theme and this type of story is a dime a dozen in the Christian genre. This novel however, presents a whole new take on this proven formula: they threw an old man in. With these unusual circumstances in mind, it really sets the backdrop for an exciting romance. I would venture to guess that a single girl traveling with an old man even back in the day was somewhat... different. Similar to women joining the military. All that to say, give this book a chance. Whether you've given up on the genre, don't read it at all, or love it with all your heart; the characters will steal your heart and plenty of your time too. A lovely new addition to the market - can't wait for more from this writing team!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun look into the settling of WA state

Date:September 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bride for Noah was a wonderful trip back to Washington state, or in the 1850's Oregon Territory. With the wonderful description, I felt like I was looking out on Washington state again and viewing Mount Rainer. It is a beautiful area of our country and a fantastic setting for this story.
The story focuses on Evie Lawrence, a house maid to an older couple in Chattanooga, Tennessee. She is doing what ever she can to keep a roof over her head, since she was kicked out of her family home after she had lost her parents and then her grandparents, who the house belonged to, by her uncle. She is engaged to be married to a dock worker named James, whose affection is lacking. One day while cleaning, Evie overhears her employers talking about a letter they just received from their nephew, Noah. Noah had recently arrived to the Oregon Territory with a logging company, hoping that the area would be more to him then just logging, but a place to start up a new town.
Evie's employer, Miles Coffinger, views himself as an investor, however, his investments have all failed to date, much to the displeasure of his wife With the news from his nephew, Miles believes his new venture idea would thrive. He offers up the idea to Evie about getting her a few other girls to go with her to start up a business out there. Evie isn't sure, but decides that it would be a wonderful idea to start up a restaurant. So with Miles help, Evie hires on three more women to travel with them.
Upon arriving to the Oregon Territory, nothing is as Evie envisions. There is nothing but a mining camp and mud, lots and lots of mud. However, there arrival isn't as sour as Evie sees it, but a welcome distraction to the men of the logging camp.
From here we follow Evie trying to achieve her dream of building a restaurant, why battling the time constraints of the logging camp, and a business partnership with Miles that isn't all that it was thought to be.
Evie was an interesting character to follow. She started out quiet and willing to go with the pace of things until she realized what she wanted to do. She didn't want to be put down or degraded by anyone. Her determination grew and she was bound to fight against the social constraints against her at the time.
Noah was a good hero for this story. He was quiet hero. He focused on his job and respected those around him and he valued people around him who were willing to work as hard he did.He also had a past to over come, and he had to learn to trust and listen again.
There were also several characters that were fun to read. The orneriness of Cookee and Ethel to Miles' ideas that just didn't seem to pan out as he hoped. It was great also to learn about the history of this area. I didn't know much about how the logging industry of the Oregon territory was started and this book offered a glimpse into it.
I really enjoyed this story.
Thank you to Harvest House Publishers, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Bride for Noah, Seattle Brides Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A nice, light read

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A nice, light read from Lori Copeland. Evie partners up with a "kindly, older gentleman" and heads out west to make her way in the world. There she meets Noah who has gambled everything on a fresh start in life. Noah as been badly hurt by a woman before, so he is less than happy to see Evie show up--but he can't stop thinking about her.
I love that the book is based on real people. I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline of building a new settlement in virgin territory. Evie was really irritating for the first half of the book. Yes, she had gone/was going through some rough time, but her actions ranged at times from slightly annoying to totally obnoxious. Thankfully, she matured some and became a much more likeable character later in the book. Miles, Evie's partner, starts out a kindly man and ends up being a royal pain throughout most of the book. I enjoyed most of the other characters in the book--let's face it, you're not supposed to like some of them! The storyline was great, but things just seemed to wrap up so perfectly in just a chapter or so which detracted from the book somewhat in my opinion.
I received a digital copy of this book from Harvest House through NetGalley.com for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.