Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover

Center Street Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover

Fleeing pursuit, with only moments to live, a young man named Rom stumbles into possession of a vial of blood and a piece of cryptic writing. When consumed, the blood will bring him back to life. When decoded, the message will lead him on a perilous journey that will require him to abandon everything he has ever known and awaken humanity to the transforming power of true life and love.

But the blood will also resurrect hatred, ambition, and greed.

Set in a terrifying, medieval future, where grim pageantry masks death, this tale of dark desires and staggering stakes peels back the layers of the heart for all who dare to take the ride.

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Review 1 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
This review is fromForbidden - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book. it was a great sequil and verry well writen. the auther does a good job of keeping you on the edge of youre seat with lots of action all while keeping a good moral story line. the only thing that struck me as odd is after only anoter 1200 years humanity seems to have forgot the only hope for the world. JESUS CHRIST. his name has not come up once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
DeidreeA
Location:Boissevain, Manitoba
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was an awesome book, just like all of Ted Dekker's other work :)! It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life-giving Thriller

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda B
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a world as dark and foreboding as the fear that rules it, one man is entrusted with a centuries-old secret and awakened to a life forbidden for half a millennium. Having impulsively ingested a bit of ancient blood with only a cryptic message as his guide, Rom Sebastian discovers an unknown power that lies dormant in every soul. A throng of emotions – passion, sorrow, hope, love – beautiful and terrible at once, but so vastly far above the simple life of fear known to every inhabitant of the decomposing earth.
Now on the run from a fearful government who views him as “out of Order,” Rom must choose either to live in the familiar clutches of fear or bravely seek out the truth behind these new emotions. To learn their purpose … and his.
Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee serve up a heart-racing thriller that’ll engage your every emotion and leave you craving more while digesting a hard-hitting truth. The truth that true life is not one that sits back in pillow-fluffed ease while fearing the future. True life is one of seeking purpose beyond ourselves, no matter what the cost, and no matter what the pain along the way. “Because in life we risk death. … The heart can bleed. And it will.” (Forbidden, page 373)
Once again, Dekker transports us to an alternate reality to help us better understand our own. Once again, he weaves a climactic tale of romance and redemption to remind us of a certain life-giving blood. Much like the power of that life-giving blood, this is a story that cannot possibly be understood through mere description … it must be experienced.
Warning:
While similar in many ways to Dekker’s Circle series (and personally, I believe that Thomas Hunter plays an unseen role in this story, *wink, wink*) The Books of Mortals trilogy takes it up a notch on the violence scale. Okay, maybe several notches. (Think head-chopping violence and mega-creepy villains from Green and rack up their frequency a bit.) Also, the spiritual analogies are slightly more vague, at least in this first book of the series. But dig deep and think hard … the content is rich.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just when I thought Ted Dekker could never go beyond his last amazing novel, he does it again! Forbidden is an allegorical page turner that is so crystal clear, you see the parallel images of heaven and earth, played out in this futuristic drama. I was completely enthralled with the story from beginning to end. I have the sequel standing by, so you know where I'm going to be! Get it, read it, you won't be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arkatox
Location:Illinois
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
[Book Description]
Many years have passed since civilization's brush with apocalypse. The world's greatest threats have all been silenced. There is no anger, no hatred, no war. There is only perfect peace... and fear. But a terrible secret has been closely guarded for centuries: Every single soul walking the earth, though in appearance totally normal, is actually dead, long ago genetically stripped of true humanity.
Fleeing pursuit, with only moments to live, a young man named Rom stumbles into possession of a vial of blood and a piece of cryptic writing. When consumed, the blood will bring him back to life. When decoded, the message will lead him on a perilous journey that will require him to abandon everything he has ever known and awaken humanity to the transforming power of true life and love.
But the blood will also resurrect hatred, ambition, and greed.
Set in a terrifying, medieval future, where grim pageantry masks death, this tale of dark desires and staggering stakes peels back the layers of the heart for all who dare to take the ride.
[Book Description End]
With one month from the release of the series' second installment, I finally finished Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee's highly-acclaimed Forbidden, which I first started reading in October 2011.
The first in the Books of Mortals trilogy takes place in an alternate future in which fear is the only emotion genetically allowed. Although the setting and story are certainly good, the book failed to meet its hype. The book was slow, and even got to be quite boring in many places. It's a struggle to get through, making an unpleasant experience.
The antagonist is a man named Saric. He was given a serum by alchemists that brings back some of his emotions, but only the horrible ones. Basically, he was turned into a beast in a world that knew only fear. He sickened me to the point that I truthfully say I have never hated anyone, real or fiction, more than I hated Saric. That is not how to write a good bad guy! A well-written bad guy is one who you can see reason behind; one you can sympathize with. Ted Dekker has a trend of writing antagonists who are mentally unstable and/or retarded, and no offense to him, but that is the most annoying kind of bad guy in any story. By the end of Forbidden I literally wanted to butcher Saric.
There was a flaw in the story's concept. It's an awesome concept for a setting, but it's not possible to get rid of all emotions except fear. Among the characters who could only experience fear, I saw other emotions as well, such as confusion and desperation. Those could be considered attributes to fear, but that's irrelevant, because they're also emotions separate from fear. If someone in that universe suppresses their fear, they can still be confused, causing a major flaw in the idea of no emotions but fear. Other emotions are necessary in order to have only fear, and that in itself is contradictory.
Forbidden was good, but there were a lot of things I had a problems with; all those listed above, in addition to all of the blood, gore, and sexuality. There's nothing necessarily wrong with having blood, gore, or sexuality in a novel, as long as they don't go overboard. I, for one, am someone very easily grossed out, and there was a lot of gore that I wasn't comfortable reading. The authors could have been just as realistic in their writing while just being less explicit. I know that, because they've done so in the past. As for the sexuality factor, the main evil character, due to his dark emotions, was quite a pervert, wanting to bed every woman he laid eyes upon. He very nearly raped one of the main characters at one point. Another reason to be irritated at Saric and his idiocy.
Yes, yes, as everybody told me, the book improved massively by the end. The pace quickened, the story developed, and everything turned out really cool. But does a book getting good by the end classify it as a good novel? Unfortunately, not this one. If the entire first half of the book had been retold in half the length, it would have been twice as good. Considering the story got good by the end, I'll be eagerly awaiting the release of Mortal, the second in the series. Poor, poor Forbidden, however, is left with only three stars out of five. If not for the second half of the book, it would have been left with two.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
This review is fromForbidden - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Augie
Location:Canastota, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff, can't wait to see where it goes from here!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense Book

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ted Dekker is an incredible author. Great book for teenagers to adult!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
swelljanelle
Location:Council Bluffs, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forbidden was an excellent read. Lots of twists and turns that I didn't see coming. I am anxiously awaiting the release of the sequel this year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything I bought this time

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Bakersfield CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you for asking! Now, I just wanted to say that, not only was I thrilled with all of the items, but everyone I gave them to for Christmas! The throws went over really big! Both of my daughters loved the series from Spurgeon (I have them too :0) )
Of course I bought a few things for myself! After all Christmas was for me too :>
So thank you, thank you from the bottom of my heart for everything I bought to make my children and grandchildrens Christmas a real blessing.
Terry Hogan
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book of Mortals #1

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Warning: Graphic scenes
Forbidden by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee will take you on a fantasy ride like no other! I’ve read many of Ted Dekker’s books, but none by Tosca Lee, so I’m not familiar with whose style is presented the most, or if the two mesh together so well one cannot tell.
It’s the story of a civilization where the living are walking dead– while undisclosed secrets held for years leave the people unaware of their loss. It started with The War of the Chaos, when Legion spread and stripped the genetic code of the limbic region of the brain of every thing but fear. It seems like a Utopia without the threat of war, hatred, lofty ambitions, greed, etc., but they must proclaim their loyalty to and live under fear of The Order.
This alleged Utopian life will be challenged for a few individuals, starting with Rom Sebastian. A box is tossed to him one evil night for safe-keeping, containing a vial of blood wrapped with vellum that includes a cryptic poem and an indiscernible message. Fleeing the Citadel Guard, he shares his finding with current and former friends, putting their lives in danger. Once they consume the contents, they will have to abandon everything they once knew as they encounter real humanity and its sensations.
However, once the message is decoded, a journey of delight, death, and danger throws multiple groups into conflict. Set in what appears to be a medieval era, the action is swift and sometimes brutal. The graphic scenes show the difference of The Order’s view on murder and the reality of what takes place–the proverbial ‘Do what I say, not what I do.’ Your own senses are put on high alert as they encounter the pages of this book, and your own emotions are stretched during the difficult and delightful circumstances.
Would a life with love that includes pain and loss be better than a dead life with fear? This question must be answered individually by each of the alive characters. The authors create circumstances that will tear them apart. What will they decide? Their decisions will be crucial as the authors reveal their stories. It’s a question the authors tweak your own emotions with as well. Are you alive or just stagnating? Living in Love or fear?
I do have a problem with the drinking of blood, as Scripture is adamant about not drinking blood. Knowing Ted and Tosca, it will most likely be brought around full circle.
I found a double meaning to the story that I believe the authors are acutely aware of, and wondering if we catch on.
You will find that this is not a light-reading book and that it doesn’t end with Forbidden. But I can say I’m already hooked for the next book in the trilogy.
Special thanks to Sarah Reck, Web Publicist | FaithWords & Center Street | Hachette Book Group, for sending me a review copy. No monetary compensation was exchanged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Liked it!

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rom, an obedient member of society, becomes an instant outlaw when he comes to possess a vial of blood and ancient letter, given to him by an old man his father knew. In a society devoid of all emotion by fear, Rom is scared of being killed. He flees to his friend, Avra, but she is afraid as well. Rom replays the words of the old man over and over in his mind, and seeing no other way, drinks a portion of blood from the vial. And becomes human again, fully feeling all things. Avra takes some blood as well, as do three others, until the blood is gone. This is enough to spread a kernel of truth, that life in Byzantium is not the way it was meant to be, which is enough to start a rebellion.
Liked it! The storyworld and history were well-thought out and unique. The plot was engaging with plenty of mystery revealed in bits to keep me guessing. There were some shocking surprises and I look forward to discovering how those are worked out. I enjoyed Rom’s character and Feyn too. The bad guy has a lot of sensual, violence in his point of view scenes, so that is a caution for younger readers. Dekker and Lee have crafted a wonderful start to this series. I can’t wait to read more of this tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looks like this is the beginning of a great series

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well... this was one interesting story. I've read Dekker by himself, then Dekker and Healy, and now Dekker and Tosca Lee (whose writing I adore!) I can see bits an pieces of the feminine perspective in this story. The imagery surrounding love was pretty profound. Better to have loved and truly live, then to merely exist. That was a big part of the story. It made me also think of the scripture where it says Jesus came to give us life, and not just life, but abundant life. That symbolism is clearly in the story. I loved that.
While a bit violent in several parts (I'm a wuss when it comes to gore as I have a very visual mind,) the passion in this novel shines through and overtakes the darkness. Passion is part of life, and with it comes not only joy, but pain. Rom's extreme grief was very well done, as was his anger at "The Maker" for allowing him experience love so profoundly only to feel like his heart had been cut out from the intense loss of that object of his affection, Avra.
I found the symbolism with Feyn quite profound, too. The slow dying of a person's heart back into death is symbolic of those who forget who saved them and thus allowed their hearts to grow cold. But the sacrificial lamb in this book was a powerful message, because she remembered that love... enough to give everything for it. So deep and heartfelt! I loved that about the story. I loved the characters' discovery of love for the first time. It was precious to them, as it should be to us.
There was some similarity regarding betrayal and the reasons behind it (like with Judas in the Bible) that I also found quite thought-provoking. Great imagery there as well. All in all this was a great book. Some parts seemed futuristic, and some seemed like a shadow of the past. It also had a bit of a dystopian feel to it. I am looking forward to the next book when it releases in 2012.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good book, interesting concept

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoyed the book and am looking forward to the next one!
Have liked both authors as individual writers and think together they make a good team.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Colorado Dreamer
Location:Great Bend, Kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ted Dekker is strange. That is what makes his writing so good. He pulls you in and keeps your interest. I am going back and reading some of his old writings to catch up. I would recommend his books, as a matter of fact I have loaned his books to friends. Looking forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
JCroxall
Location:Ottawa,Ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is amazing. Ted Dekker has once again kept me on the edge of my seat. This is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great start...

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Books by Sandra D
Age:45-54
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great start to an awesome series. It was very thought provoking. I look forward to reading the other books in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Canyon Lake, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book... Love Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee! I always find myself having to settle myself down after reading it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great start to a new series!

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hundreds of years after a war that nearly destroyed the world, there is finally peace. What no one realizes is that every person on Earth is dead, void of any real emotions. One man, Rom, is thrust into the world of the living after being given a vial and ancient writings that hold the secret to true life. Just having possession of the vial puts him against Order and makes him a fugitive. He must uncover its secrets and find a way to stay alive.
I’ve been a fan of Ted Dekker for several years now, but this is the first novel I’ve read by Tosca Lee. There were moments when I felt like I could pick out Dekker’s style, but for the most part this was a wonderful blending of two writers and I look forward to reading more of Lee’s work. The Books of Mortals series promises to be intriguing and suspenseful as well as emotional, which is more than understandable given what the story is about. Characters are always very important for me and this novel has great ones. Real and relatable. As in Dekker’s previous works, there is symbolism to be seen here. I found that some things could be taken a couple of different ways (symbolically) and I can’t wait for the next two novels to help me straighten that out in my mind. Symbolism aside, the story is straight-forward; suspenseful and unpredictable, but not confusing. Dekker and Lee have created a wonderful new world and I can’t wait to go there again.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Center Street.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book you DON'T want to miss out on!

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jarro
Location:Chester, VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Forbidden is a heart wrenching, adrenaline pumping, mind opening story of life, death, and true emotion. If you want to know the setting watch the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yXgkNP889E
Being an avid Ted Dekker reader I am prone to have a more fanatical view of the book than other readers, but thankfully that is possible. Thankfully we live in a world of love, pain and emotion. Those in the book Forbidden do not have that luxury. I give this book 5 stars in every area because I love it, and because even if you don't like reading it I'm sure you will still be exposed to the truth and value of full emotion and being fully human. Fully MORTAL!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forbidden, Books of Mortals Series #1, Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dekker and Lee- the Dynamic Duo

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are just certain things that apart, truly are great all by themselves, but if you were to combine these two things, you get an end result that is quite remarkable. For example- love peanut butter, love chocolate, together they are amazing. Then there’s Batman and Robin- both very cool crime-fighters in their own right, but put them together and you have the Dynamic Duo. This is of course what you get when you combine fast paced, adrenaline producing, NY times bestselling author Ted Dekker ( Batman- hah!) and the breathtakingly passionate and fearless writing of Tosca Lee and put them together. The term “Dynamic duo”, doesn’t really do them justice with their combined offering of “Forbidden”.
Forbidden gives us a futuristic dystopian society where geneticists or “alchemists” in the book have figured out a way to eliminate all emotions in the human race, with the exception of fear, deemed a necessary emotion for survival of the race. Imagine a society where your only emotion permitted you, is fear, sounds a little dreary, huh? This is how we find our main character “Rom” as the novel opens. But very quickly he finds himself in a situation that puts him in trouble with the authorities. He is chosen to carry something of extreme value by an underground group called “the keepers” which are being hunted down and eliminated to get the very thing that is now in Rom’s possession- and what is it? Why it’s the key to “life” of course, or at least life as it used to be and was created to be. Rom now finds himself discovering what it means to be truly alive and realizing that he has a responsibility to wake up the world around him to real life. That is rather a daunting challenge and you will meet the different characters along the way that help him in that challenge.
I honestly didn’t want to go into too much detail in this review as I really don’t want to rob the reader of the pleasure of discovering this amazing story as it unfolds before you. Yes, I would agree that Forbidden has the feel of the “Circle series” of Dekker fame, and the lovely prose of Tosca Lee is certainly apparent on the pages. I found it to be truly a fascinating read and loved the storyline and characters because it was passionate, fast- paced, and a story that completely draws you in. I will say that it’s not for the faint of heart, some of the scenes are quite graphic with regards to the violence. At one point I was thinking, “EW, why did they choose to do that?” But even with that said, I feel that with these authors, I really trust them, and think it was necessary to show the depth of the struggle. There is some definite heartbreak in this novel as well, but the allegories are rich for sure and a novel well worth reading. All I can say is bring on “Mortals”, the next offering in this series, I will be waiting with baited breath. (5 stars)
I graciously received a free digital copy of this book from the publisher Center Street through the Netgalley program in exchange for an honest review. I was not obligated to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>