Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Center Street Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover

Center Street Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover

Years after the apocalypse, Earth is inhabited by dead souls living in a manufactured utopia. But Rom Sebastian has gathered a secret faction of followers who have all taken the blood to become the first living beings in centuries. When the Order creates an elite army to kill them, will they survive?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Review 1 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
kathy
Location:HUTTO, TEXAS
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IF YOU ENJOYED THE CIRCLE BOOKS- THE MORTAL BOOKS WILL NOT DISAPPOINT YOU. I LOVE ALL TED DECCKER MATERIAL AND AM A TRUE FAN OF HIS AND TOSCA LEES.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
DeidreeA
Location:Boissevain, Manitoba
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this series :). It kept me glued to the book until it was finished! I can't wait for the third one to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is rather fanciful and exotic.

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
alwysreadin
Location:Herndon, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I find the imagination of the author exceedingly great.
This series weaves a spell of 'what if' over the reader.
I can't wait to get the third book in the series to find out just what does happen....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyed this even more than the first book!

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first book in this series, but I enjoyed this one even more. There is just something about fiction that parallels the redemptive work of Christ that always inspires me. The world Dekker and Lee created when they wrote this series is compelling and symbolic in a number of ways. I found myself pondering the redemptive meaning of Christ's sacrifice and the use of His blood for our atonement in a deeper way because of this book. I also saw in the story how deception hardens the heart and at the same time how intense and overwhelming our Savior's love is for mankind despite our many flaws.
I found the theology to be pretty deep in this parallel world. This is often true in any of Dekker and Lee's books. They are a perfect match when it comes to creating fiction that speaks to the heart. I found the speech given by Jonathan to be inspiring and insightful. He had a lot to say about life and the difference between being alive - as in body and soul - versus accepting his life's blood and all of the implications that would result from that choice. Several scenes were very emotional and intense. I am eagerly anticipating the third book in the series. The last few pages had some twists that made me glad I wouldn't have to wait long to read Sovereign, which releases in a few months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great followup

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nine years have passed since Feyn sacrificed her life for Jonathan to become Sovereign of the world. The Mortals have kept Jonathan safe in hiding while Rowan ruled in his place, waiting for Jonathan’s eighteenth birthday when he will take his rightful place as ruler. What they don’t count on is the result of more alchemy, secretly occurring in the Byzantium underground. Evil returns and vows to make sure that Jonathan never sees eighteen. The Mortals must do what they can to save the boy. Unfortunately, they don’t agree on what that is and people begin choosing sides. Especially when some begin to believe that Jonathan is losing his power, and his mind.
This second installment of The Books of Mortals series continues the great storytelling of the first, Forbidden. The characters continue to be relatable and interesting. Dekker and Lee maintain the suspense. Nothing in this novel is predictable, except maybe in a few places where the Christian symbolism is strong, but it’s this symbolism that makes the story truly great. It’s one of the main reasons I love Ted Dekker’s work.
This hardback edition does have some typos and errors, but it does not reflect on the story itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Up To Par

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
chops
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Huge let down. It appears that the authors are trying to re-write the Circle Trilogy without success. There are numerous errors and typos. It is not the caliber of a Ted Dekker book. The book ends in a hugely disappointing fashion leaving the entire story unresolved, yet not inspiring the reader to look forward to the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mortal is a fantastic follow-up to Forbidden

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mortal
The Books of Mortals #2
by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee
Nine years have passed since Feyn gave her life so that Jonathan might rule, bringing hope of life to the walking dead. But mere weeks before he is to take the title of Sovereign, rumors that threaten Jonathan's power are becoming fact. Dark Bloods are a new power that has arisen, still Corpse but with the emotions, strength, and speed of Mortals. When the Mortals capture a Dark Blood he reveals that he is alive because his Maker, Saric has made him so.
Saric believed to be dead these last nine years has come into the Senate Hall and proclaimed that he alone is alive. Then to the horror of all present he brings forth Feyn the Sovereign who was to be. He has removed Feyn from the stasis she was placed in after Book cut her down. Then before all present he fills her with his blood restoring her to life though in an altered condition. Saric proclaims Feyn Sovereign and then kills Rowan regent for Jonathan before the Senate Hall.
But how can Jonathan fulfill his purpose and his destiny if Feyn is Sovereign? Even more disturbing is Jonathan's erratic behavior. Is their savior truly who they think him to be or has their faith and hope been misplaced?
Rom and Book are convinced that Jonathan is who they have thought him to be. But the Nomads that they have joined with now think that they are the superior race, a benefit of Jonathan's blood.
Mortal is a compelling book. When what we believe should happen does not, does that mean our faith was misplaced? Or were we merely misinterpreting what we knew and the answer is just different than what we believed it was to be?
As with most of Dekker's books blood plays an important part. Blood is the force of change, but who controls that force? And who is to say what change is right and what is wrong? Who will you place your faith in? Your answer may determine your future!
Book 3 Sovereign is scheduled for Spring 2013!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so hard to put this book down at night! A page turner from beginning to end! If only the sequel came out sooner...qu'elle bummer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Ted Dekker's books, this one delivers.

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
wahcheesy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Ted Dekker's books, and this one delivers all that we have come to expect from this masterful author. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding sequal to Forbidden!

Date:July 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
JGPL
Location:Prattville,AL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This volume picked up where "Forbidden" left off and wove a masterful plot. The allegory to the Chrisitan message of salvation grew much stronger as it went along. It drew such a parallel to the expectations of the Messiah's coming in the first century that it was plain to see and serves as a warning that Believers should be sure that what they believe is based on the Word of God and not just popular expectations. I wondered if Ted Dekker could come up with another story like the "Circle" series, but I think he and Ms. Lee have done so. Now we just have to wait for volume 3!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
This review is fromMortal - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sophee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loaded this on my iPad. Works great, great value, easy download. Would order from them again probably as my first choice when ordering books.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mortal, Books of Mortals Series #2, Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A strong addition to the series

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mortal is a tale that is wonderfully grand in scope, an epic novel that pits the forces of good against evil in a satisfying and gripping read. The scenes are painted in vivid and crisp detail, marching like a movie across the screen of your mind, and the plot is filled with twists and turns where you wonder who is good and who is evil. Indeed, by the end of the book I realized that nothing is as it seems, making the wait for the final book in the series rather unbearable as I wait to see what is actually going on! My only criticism of the book is that there seemed to be quite a lot of similarities between Ted Dekker's Circle series and Mortal in some of the plot elements and scenes. While the books are indeed supposed to be connected, I experienced perhaps too much of a sense of familiarity in some of what I was reading, rather than my usual awe at watching these authors unveil unexpected story lines. Again, though, the power in this book is watching the different characters come to life, and realizing that those characters who I assumed were good were not necessarily all that good after all. The novel is rich with symbolism, leaving me pondering what it means to be spiritually alive and spiritually dead, and the crazy power of love and the upside-down-nature of God's kingdom. As with Forbidden, readers should be warned that this book contains scenes of violence and blood being spilled, and so readers who usually shy away from such material may not find this book to be to their liking.
Fans of previous works by Ted Dekker and Tosca Lee will ultimately enjoy this well-crafted, superbly paced novel. I strongly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Center Street, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.