Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible

Moody Publishers Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible

How would you describe your personal Bible study? Mundane or motivational? Lackluster or lively? Redundant or reviving? In their bestselling workbook, Howard and Bill Hendricks offer a practical 3-step process that will help you master simple yet effective inductive methods of observation, interpretation, and application that will make all the difference in your time with God's Word!

Please note that this workbook is intended to be used with the book Living by the Book, not the DVD Study.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Review 1 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a guie to bible study

Date:February 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancy E
Location:Chula Vista
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always wanted to find a book (in this case a workbook) to help me study the bible in a way that isn't full of big words that you can't procounce or understand. this book and it's companion book were recommended to me by my senior Pastor and his Youth pastor son to help me. it's helped me so far and will definitely help others that they have recommended it to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
norag
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Sunday School students love the book
I would recommend it to any adult Sunday School Class
expecially between the ages of 18-45, this is group
that has lost faith in the word because they do not understand how to read the word
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Augie
Location:Neoga, Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workbook good for the individual, problem that I would have is I am teacher and wanted something that I could use with a group of about 10 to 20 people. Will take ideas from it to do what I want. Material is excellent for the individual. I was trying to find something simple for a different type of application. Not the authors fault. They did well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Squito
Location:Pearland, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Along with the book, the workbook is very good and is extremely helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good framework for teaching

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
TBC HP
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This workbook is a fine basis for teaching proper care of God's message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Bridge Church
Excellent book. Our church used these as a resource to coincide with a class we were teaching on Bible Study. Living By The Book, is a very practical approach to learning how to study the Bible and not just read it. It will become an invaluable treasure that one can resource, time and time again, for years to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diane Owen
This is an excellent workbook that goes with the text book by the same name. Howard Hendricks steps you through the process of learning to study the Bible for yourself. Observation, Interpretation, and Application. This study method has changed my life and deepened my relationship with my Savior like nothing else. Getting into the Word for yourself is like eating your own hamburger - not someone else's prechewed burger. You taste the Words of Life for yourself. It is life transforming if you practice the steps and they begin to be second nature as you study your Bible regularly. I highly recommend this study - with his humourous teaching style he keeps you engrossed and helps you learn step by step with exercises they make it easy to understand. I have also used this material to teach others in individual and group studies. It will begin a life long process of personally discovering the deep treasures of God's Word!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Living By the Book Workbook: The Art & Science of Reading the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra Hippler
This is great to have along with the book. It is not absolutely necessary but greatly advised. Gives you not only guidance in how to apply what you are learning through the book but also the space to write. A study and workbook my husband and I would suggest to every Christian serious about Bible study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.