Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ideals Publications Inc Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Ideals Publications Inc Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family

From polliwogs to humpback whales to prickly porcupines, here are short stories that are perfect to read to even the youngest of children. Each two-page story tells about a different animal and its outstanding trait - from industrious ants and innovative sea otters to compassionate dolphins. Autho Pamela Kennedy has provided questions to discuss and a relevant Bible verse. Parents can use this book as an introduction to topics like truthfulness and kindness. Recommended for ages 4 to 8.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Review 1 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun!

Date:September 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jewels
Location:Minneapolis,MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this book with my four year old daughter last night. She loved it and it held her attention the whole time. I really liked how she could understand the concepts and bible verses with fun facts about animals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get This Book!

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:NH
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 4 yo boy loves this book! We are learning so much as a family and he can't wait to see what animal is next. This is the first book he wants to read during our evening devotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new favorite in our house

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
PrairieMomma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our almost 5 year-old son cannot get enough of this book. It has been a wonderful book to include in our bedtime routine and has him begging us to read just one more story before lights out. The stories are easy to understand, the Biblical message clear and accessible, and the pictures are a entertaining and informative as well. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Terry Millspaugh
use this in Jr. Church the kids love,also use it for Sunday openning the Adult and kids enjoy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Mundt
I just started reading this to my grandson at night at bedtime. He loves it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
JR
We have 3 boys 6, 3, and 1. We homeschool, and we all love this devotional. It is well worth every penny. It fits short attention spans and imparts memorable Biblical truths using God's animal creations (Romans 1). As a bonus it's a great science education tool too! There is a factual lesson about an animal, then it ties the lesson from the animal kingdom into a character truth from God's word in a one page short lesson with great illustrations. On the adjacent page are some straight factual recall questions plus a few application questions along with more captivating artwork. At the end is a related Bible verse they can learn. The lessons are very practical for young children and easily remembered when you need to bring them up in those the teachable real-life moments. My boys BEG us to do these...and to do more than one at time! I was so happy to find there is a second book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mavis
I love this book. My son is 4 yrs old and he loves it. He is a "science" nut and loves animals. The length of the stories about animals are just right. And I love the questions that recap the story and then ask them to think further. I am an educator by trade, so the end of the story questions are not only good for comprehension but also for retelling and for thinking deeper. There is a Bible verse to tie it all together. I would recommend this book to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Five-Minute Devotions for Children: Celebrating God's World As a Family
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
S. Fisher
My son received this as a gift for Christmas just a couple months before he turned 5 yrs old. We love this book so much we found the first book of 'Five Minute Devotions'. They are both great and we both learned things about different animals along the way. It takes a simple item about an animal and puts into real life issues. Then it finishes with about 3-5 questions you can ask them and a scripture. We do one a night and it only takes about 5 minutes-such the name. I would recommend for ages 3 -6 yrs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.