Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1

Harvest House Publishers Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1

Bethel begins physical therapy, determined to make a fresh start. But that won't be easy in the town of New Hope, where the locals seem anything but eager to welcome their new Amish neighbors. Amid growing intimidation from the community, Bethel must find the strength to face her many challenges and the faith to believe that God still has a plan-and a love-for her life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Review 1 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How do you handle hardship?

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
ConnieR
Location:ME
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Irvin's first book of the New Hope Amish series takes us on a journey of new beginnings. A group of families is about to embark on the exciting task of creating a settlement in a new state. From the moment they arrive they are beset with difficulty and unforeseen challenges. The group hasn't had to deal with many of these challenges before and it will stretch their faith in places they never expected.
I admire Irvin's ability to capture the reality of Amish life vs. Englisch, comparing the different belief sets in a way that is compassionate to both sides...
I read the first two books of this series out of order, and I didn't find it mattered. The books deal with different families. I definitely recommend this series, and plan to continue reading more of Kelly Irvin's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bravo for Kelly Irvin! A Great book! A Great read!

Date:February 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
JCMorrows
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kelly Irvin tackled several very difficult issues in "Love Still Stands" and she handled them all beautifully. I won't go into so many details that I give the plot away but this book shows us just how human the Amish are and, for me, that makes the book so much more interesting.
Our world seems to have a view of the Amish community that is somewhat skewed - by a lack of knowledge and a feeling of intimidation.
I feel that, far too often, people do not see the Amish as normal or human and I feel that is due in a large part to seeing all that they give up for their faith.
The thing that people do not seem to understand is that, to them, it is not too much. To the Amish, it is not a struggle to give up electricity or vehicles. They are used to that kind of life. And I feel that Kelly shows us a lot of that in this book.
The English people of New Hope do not understand the Amish...at all - but I really feel that a large part of their dislike is rooted in intimidation.
To an outsider it would seem impossible that someone could happily live without electricity or a car but to the Amish, it's what they have always known. So, they don't see it as giving up anything. They see it as normal.
There are several other issues that Kelly tackles in the book and she handles them with grace and skill, showing us that these issues are just as much a part of the Amish life as our own.
I really enjoy watching Bethel as she struggles to get better. Not that I get a kick out of watching how hard it all is for her - I enjoy watching her determination and strength. She does not just sit around, content to wallow in self-pity. She goes after healing and there is a lot of hard work involved.
I also greatly enjoy seeing her faith in God and how strong it is. As much as she accepts God's will for her life, she is still determined to do everything she can to get better. And I am also relieved to see how Kelly shows the struggle this is for the new community. It's not a normal type of thing for them and Kelly shows us this in the way their bishop struggles with decisions about her treatment and how the other members of the community react to it. There are several things about Kelly's rehabilitation that affect their entire community and Kelly has handled that amazingly well. And everything she has written rings absolutely true to me. She has clearly done her research and done it well.
This is a wonderful story of life and the struggles that come with it. It is also a reminder to us that Faith is often the only thing we have to cling to in this tumultuous world.
I thank God that this genre exists. It is so refreshing to pick up a book and know that there is nothing nasty or inappropriate between the pages and it is a tremendous boon to my own faith to see how such a strong people handle their own sometimes-difficult life.
Now I just have to go back and read Kelly's Bliss Creek series.
Oh and... fair warning, some might find it difficult to get into the story. I did at first. But it didn't take long at all for the story and the characters to hook me good. It's a GREAT story!
Disclaimer: I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.
God Bless You!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish faith is tested again

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The storyline begun in The Bliss Creek Amish series continues in Love Still Stands. Bethel Graber, an injured former teacher, struggles to maneuver with crutches and help her sister Leah’s family in their new settlement at New Hope, Missouri. Unfortunately the town isn’t as welcoming as its name. This outer turmoil seems to reflect the inner family conflict as Leah attempts to deal with homesickness and depression along with her five active children. Leah has been like a second mother to Bethel, albeit a demanding one. How can Bethel help her sister cope?
Will Bethel find understanding and acceptance of her limitations? Can she ever teach again and handle all the responsibilities that entails? Will she ever be loved by a husband? Will she be able to bear children and care for them? I hope the series continues and answers more of these questions as God’s plan for Bethel and New Hope unfolds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Amish Love Story

Date:November 10, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bethel Graber has lost her greatest passion—teaching—and perhaps her chance for romance with Elijah Christner in a terrible accident. Several families move to New Hope to start a new community where Bethel lives with her brother and his family. Because she’s unable to walk without using crutches, Bethel is unable to help the family. She wants no one’s pity or help, especially from Elijah. He wants to help her but doesn’t understand why she won’t let him. Kelly Irvin gives us a sweet love story that meets obstacles around every bend because of Bethel’s desire for independence and Elijah’s stubbornness. Will they lean on God’s love to help their situation before they argue and make up for the last time? A story and characters you’ll remember long after you turn the last page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
This review is fromLove Still Stands - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Readers of Kelly Irvin's Bliss Creek Amish novels will be overjoyed to discover her new series for lovers of Amish fiction: The New Hope Amish. In the first installment, Love Still Stands, a group of dedicated families leaves Bliss Creek to establish a new community in Missouri. Among them is Bethel Graber, a beautiful young woman with a passion for teaching. But after being disabled in a terrible accident, overseeing a classroom is out of the question...and romance seems a long-lost dream.
Bethel begins physical therapy, determined to make a fresh start. But that won't be easy in the town of New Hope, where the locals seem anything but eager to welcome their new Amish neighbors. Amid growing intimidation from the community, Bethel must find the strength to face her many challenges and the faith to believe that God still has a plan--and a love--for her life.
My Review:
While this book was not a feel-good, fuzzy/happily ever after type of Amish read, the characters and story are real to life. Not everything has a happy ending, and not everyone finds a pot of gold at the bottom of the rainbow. (Realistically, none of us do.) I have not read Irvin's first series, but based on my research, this is a continuation of the stories told in that set.
Bethel and Elijah are quite likable, and I felt so bad for Bethel as she tries to adjust to her new life. Luke and Leah had some serious issues going on in their lives as well, and it was with Luke I sympathized the most. He tried so hard to understand Leah and be there for her. Leah deals with depression and other problems, and throughout the book, life never stops for any of them. Overall, the best part of the book for me was that it was a new Amish settlement in the Midwest, and I thoroughly enjoyed the story. Looking forward to more!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Readers of Kelly Irvin's Bliss Creek Amish novels will be overjoyed to discover her new series for lovers of Amish fiction: The New Hope Amish. In the first installment, Love Still Stands, a group of dedicated families leaves Bliss Creek to establish a new community in Missouri. Among them is Bethel Graber, a beautiful young woman with a passion for teaching. But after being disabled in a terrible accident, overseeing a classroom is out of the question...and romance seems a long-lost dream.
Bethel begins physical therapy, determined to make a fresh start. But that won't be easy in the town of New Hope, where the locals seem anything but eager to welcome their new Amish neighbors. Amid growing intimidation from the community, Bethel must find the strength to face her many challenges and the faith to believe that God still has a plan--and a love--for her life.
My Review:
While this book was not a feel-good, fuzzy/happily ever after type of Amish read, the characters and story are real to life. Not everything has a happy ending, and not everyone finds a pot of gold at the bottom of the rainbow. (Realistically, none of us do.) I have not read Irvin's first series, but based on my research, this is a continuation of the stories told in that set.
Bethel and Elijah are quite likable, and I felt so bad for Bethel as she tries to adjust to her new life. Luke and Leah had some serious issues going on in their lives as well, and it was with Luke I sympathized the most. He tried so hard to understand Leah and be there for her. Leah deals with depression and other problems, and throughout the book, life never stops for any of them. Overall, the best part of the book for me was that it was a new Amish settlement in the Midwest, and I thoroughly enjoyed the story. Looking forward to more!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love Still Stands is the first book of the spin-off series following The Bliss Creek Amish. We follow Luke and his wife Leah as they move along with Bethel who is Leah’s sister to New Hope Missouri. A few other families have moved as well as they plan to start a new settlement. Bethel is still recovering from the tornado that left her badly injured. She now has to figure out what God wants for her as she is not married and can no longer be a school teacher due to her injuries.
Elijah has also moved to New Hope and after years of taking care of his parents he is now helping his brother farm and hoping to start a family of his own if he can find a wife. Bethel fears she can’t be a whole wife and does not want Elijah to feel sorry for her. Can they over come the past to face a brighter tomorrow?
In the Bliss Creek series we see and hear a lot from Luke and Leah but we don’t really get to know them. In this book as we follow Bethel and Elijah we also get to know Luke as he gets a voice in this book for the first time. Leah did not have a voice but through Luke we start to understand her and shed some light on her behavior. The first series was kind of dark and sad and this book starts out that way but by the end it feels happier over all.
What I liked: I really liked that we finally get to hear from Luke and learn more about Leah and why she is such an unhappy person. Both Bethel and Elijah are quite likable and I was cheering for Bethel to understand that even though her legs are not working right she still has a lot to offer and would make a good wife.
What I did not like: This was a good book but it’s still on the dark side. Not as bad as the first series so far but not a touchy-feely kind of read. Not a bad thing at all but not everyone likes books that feel so real to life.
Overall this was a good book. It deals with a lot of hard issues such as prejudice and depression and the road of recovery after an accident. Even though there were some tough subjects the book did a good job of being upbeat and the ending left me happy with how it turned out. I would strongly suggest you read the Bliss Creek series first as they follow each other and it will make it easier to understand the characters and how they are related etc..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of characters

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We join some of the folks from Bliss Creek as they start their new life in The New Hope Amish community. If you read the first series (Bliss Creek) you will recognize and remember many of the characters. I enjoyed the book very much. While I am not a huge fan of continuing novels, I do enjoy meeting up with familiar characters. This is not a continuing novel, it will stand alone, but it does help to understand what is going on if you have read the Bliss Creek books.
I did find myself having to go back and read sections over again, because there are so many characters it can get a bit confusing. That being said, I enjoyed the book, and cried my way through it. There should be a tissue warning at the beginning. My heart broke as Leah dealt with the unknown issues and depression she was dealing with due to postpartum depression. My heart broke for Luke, who tried to understand his wife and balance the responsibilities of being the new bishop for The New Hope community. I wanted to shake Bethel at times, and at times I cried as she tried to figure out what she wanted from life, and what she felt like God wanted from her. This book will make you eager for the next installment of The New Hope Amish. A great story, with a beautiful ending. 4 stars! This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

renewed my love of Amish romance

Date:October 16, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I connected with Bethel immediately--a long car trip stuck between two car-seats equals discomfort for even the most able-bodied. From there on, it was easy to see and feel everything through her eyes.
Kelly Irvin made reading Love Still Stands so enjoyable, I just didn't want to put it down. I went so far as to get up more than an hour before my normal wake-up time because I couldn't get the story out of my head. :)
Bethel's struggle in a new place came to life on the pages, as did the other characters'.
To be honest, before reading this story, I was reluctant to read "another" Amish novel, but this one was so different and refreshing, it has encouraged me to continue reading in this genre.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Still Stands, New Hope Amish Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2013
Love Still Stands by Kelly Irvin is the first in The New Hope Amish series. I really enjoyed this book especially since the main character has a disability. It's refreshing to read about people suffering from a health problem, seeing how they handle it, and actually falling in love!
Bethel Graber moves with her sister's family to a new town that has plenty of land to farm. She is expected to help her around the house and with her five kids. There's one problem, though. Bethel was injured when a storm tore up the schoolhouse in their hometown and the stove and some desks landed on top of her. She uses crutches and her legs drag behind her. Having such a problem is particularly difficult when you are Amish because everything you do is so labor intensive! But Bethel is determined to get better so she can help her sister and get back to teaching. She starts physical therapy and meets some other people there in the support group that she can relate to.
Elijah Christner drives Bethel to and from therapy every week. He likes Bethel and wants to help her, but she doesn't want any help. Elijah is confused and hurt by that, but still tries to find a way that they can get together. Will Bethel realize he loves her for who she is and not out of pity for her?
The Amish are faced with prejudice as they struggle to carve a new community in New Hope. Will the townspeople learn they have nothing to fear from them? Or will they have to move again?
I really liked this book! It was my first book by this author, but definitely not my last! It won't be out for another few months so definitely put a reminder up or preorder it! It's worth the wait!
I was given this book free as long as I review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.