Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1

Harvest House Publishers Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1

Debbie Watson is a young Englisha girl who has grown up admiring her Amish friends, the Beiler sisters. As she prepares to graduate from college, Debbie considers making the life-changing decision to convert to the Amish faith and lifestyle.

Soon Debbie's presence in the community attracts the attention of two suitors: Alvin Knepp, the youngest son of a poor Amish farmer, to whom Debbie is very much attracted; and Paul Wagler, the more successful and sought-after man, whose constant attention to Debbie reminds her of her old Englisha boyfriend-whom she'd rather forget.

Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Review 1 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holding a Tender Heart by Jerry S. Eicher

Date:June 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emma
Holding a Tender Heart (The Beiler Sisters) Jerry S. Eicher, March 1, 2014
By Mrs. Emma Stuck
This review is from: Holding a Tender Heart (The Beiler Sisters)
Holding a Tender Heart (The Beiler Sisters)
Jerry S. Eicher
Debbie Watson is a young English girl who has grown up admiring her Amish friends, the Beiler sisters. As she prepares to graduate from college, Debbie considers making the life-changing decision to convert to the Amish faith and lifestyle.
When she gets up enough nerve, she asks Bishop Beiler if she can room at their house, as a paying boarder. so she can learn more about the Amish faith and maybe become Amish.The Bishop agrees, not only does he like Debbie but he is hoping she can help with his middle daughter Lois who thinks she wants to jump the fence.
Soon Debbie's presence in the community attracts the attention of two suitors: Alvin Knepp, the youngest son of a poor Amish farmer, to whom Debbie is very much attracted; and Paul Wagler, the more successful and sought-after man, whose constant attention to Debbie reminds her of her old Englisha boyfriend--whom she'd rather forget.
Debbie Watson is English but grew up living next door to Bishop Beiler and spending time at his house playing with his daughters. She has now graduated from college and landed her first job, so now her mother is in a hurry for her to move out. Debbie knows she was born English but she feels she is Amish in her heart, she loves the peaceful life they lead.
When Verna, the oldest Beiler daughter, finally takes a stand and agrees to let a boy take her home from a singing, her father isn't any too pleased. You see, she is 24 and never once been 'allowed' to accept a ride home, but she really likes Joe Weaver. When Joe gets arrested and is looking at possibly 20 years of jail time she continues to support him against her fathers wishes and nearly finds herself excommunicated. Can her dad really do that to her, yes, if she doesn't change her mind. Verna also talks Debbie into helping somewhat with Joe's case but will it do any good?
I highly recommend reading this book.Holding a Tender Heart is a wonderful well written 5 stars book.
I am looking forward to reading the next books in this series, "Seeing YOur Face Again" june 1, 2014 and finding love at home august 2014.
I was given a copy of this book by the author and Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Filled with unpredictable twists and turns.

Date:March 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being an avid fan of Amish fiction, I thought I had read about every possible plot line Amish fiction had to offer. I was delighted to find that Jerry Eicher had written a unique twist to the usual Amish story. This was a new author for me, and I thoroughly enjoyed his writing. The book kept me eager to turn the pages. I look forward to reading the rest of the series as well as other books he has written.
The family of Bishop Beiler has a family member that is eager to break out into the English world. However, the local English girl is just as eager to learn more about the Amish lifestyle by moving in with the Beiler family. Will the influence of an Englisher in their home result in a negative outcome? What will the rest of the Amish community have to say about an outsider living with the bishop? And, how will romance play into the story? You will find many interesting twists and turns as the chapters unfold.
A special thanks to author, Jerry Eicher, for the opportunity to read and review his work. A copy of the book was provided to me in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great book

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
sue w
Location:Hammond,NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got done with it and it is another great book from Jerry Eicher,I can't wait to read the next one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:March 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:West Monroe, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jerry S. Eicher is a great Amish author and I love his books. In the beginning of my reading, I'm feeling uncertain. An English girl, Debbie, that's a neighbor to the Bishop's family and friends with his daughters, graduates from college, lands a job and she's still looking for that particular something to fill her life. She believes it's in the plain world with the Amish.
As I keep reading, word by word, paragraph by paragraph, page by page, I became absorbed into this awesome novel by Jerry S. Eicher. The characters became so real and I'm captivated by a story of love and forgiveness. Holding A Tender Heart to me was a novel I was uncertain at the first chapter, but at the final page I could say, "WOW, What an awesome book"! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and highly recommend it. Thank you, Jerry S. Eicher, for sharing a brilliant book I was not expecting. Holding A Tender Heart is Book One in The Beiler Sisters series. I'm looking forward to reading Book Two.
I received a complimentary copy from the publisher and author in exchange for my honest review. This review is one hundred percent my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Captivating Story!

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Holding a Tender Heart was an amazing book! I loved the story and the Beiler sisters! I felt like I really knew them and were friends with them! This is a beautiful story of love and depending on God for His guidance. I could barely put the book down! I am so looking forward to the next book in this series! Thank you, Jerry, for another wonderful book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The heart leads in all walks of life

Date:March 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
fiery
Location:Little Rock, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent first book in the series on the Beiler Sisters. Can't wait to get the next two. Written so well that you can feel what the characters are feeling. Very emotional.
Also, lets you know all families have the same problems no matter if they are raised Amish or English. Debbie Watson is a very sensitive young person who really wants to find her way in life. She loves the simple life the Amish live and with her English ways has been a great help to the Beiler family. Her devotion and determination to live their lifestyle is very refreshing.
The sensitivity of a Bishop's family or minister's family is very well shown in the choices Bishop Beiler had to make. He showed his love for his family as well as his calling as a bishop. Had to make decisions he did not like.
Joe showed a great character in what he had to go through. Loved the way Verna stood by him and believed in him.
Lois showed her frustrations in looking over the fence but Debbie was a good influence on her. Ida was a great character also. Can't wait to see God working in Ida and Paul's life.
I hope the next book continues on with Debbie and Alvin and shows Debbie reaching her fullest in the Amish life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME READ

Date:March 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
patti
Location:north webster, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again Jerry Eicher has written a book that I couldn't put down. The characters where so real to me as I read this book. I truly Fletcher as if I was right there in the Beiler home when they were dealing with all the issues they needed to. I love that Debbie was able to help so many people even though she isn't Amish yet. I cant wait for book 2 to come out so I can see how all the characters are doing!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I felt like I was part of the family! Great read!

Date:March 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Souperlady
Location:Glasgow, Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading Holding a Tender Heart, book 1 of The Beiler Sisters, I feel as though I was in the midst of the Beiler family all the time I was reading. I appreciate the depth and accuracy of the writing by Jerry Eicher, he brings out some details others might overlook which makes a better understanding and feels more real. It's not a fluffy romance book but shows what faith and love can do. I can't wait for book 2 to read!
I've read a lot of Amish books and this one is right up there at the top!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Will Hold You Captive!

Date:March 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Are you ready for a reading adventure? This is what you will get in this great read by author Jerry S. Eicher. This author’s books just keep getting better and better. I am already looking forward to book two in this series.
Inside the covers of this book you will find an English girl who wishes to become Amish. An Amish girl who desires to live and experience the English life. An Amish boy who took his rumspringa a little too far because now trouble is knocking at his door.
I enjoyed all the characters in this book. Some more than others but not one did I dislike. I found myself dreaming of what it would be like to become Amish. I quickly dismissed those thoughts because I know that I would not last more than a couple of days.
There are quite a few twists and turns in this book. I am certain that I have not read another Amish fiction book like this one. This is the reason why I absolutely loved this book.
This book captures your interest from page one and keeps building until the very last page.
Author Jerry S. Eicher, as in his other books, makes sure that God is there for each character no matter what trials and tribulations they may face. Without God there is no foundation to build upon.
Be sure to pick up a copy of Holding a Tender Heart. I highly recommend it. I wholeheartedly give it a 5 star rating!
I wish to thank Harvest House Publishers and author Jerry S. Eicher for allowing me to read and review Holding a Tender Heart. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Excellent reading.

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen Gervais
Location:Troy, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I really enjoyed reading "Holding a Tender Heart" (book 1) from the author Jerry S. Eicher. This is the first book I have read where an Englisha girl wants to join the Amish world. Mostly it is the Amish young people who want to join or see the Englisha world!
The book is very well written and I found it impossible to put down. I was drawn into the story from the beginning and felt the characters were real and that I was actually there. It helped me realized that the simple life of the Amish is not so simple, they have the same problems, difficulties and troubles as the Englisha have. They try and deal with these problems without involving the Englisha and depending on God to help them through it all.
I really recommend this book to all especially those who read Amish fiction. Jerry S. Eicher will not disappoint you.
I am definitely looking forward to reading the rest of The Beiler Sisters series - "Seeing Your Face Again" (book 2) and "Finding Love at Home" (book 3).
I was provided a copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do not miss this book or the rest of the series.

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
DonnasBookshelf
Location:Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not the typical Amish romance you will find on the shelf in your local Christian book store. Jerry Eicher grew up in the Amish faith and it gives him a unique perspective for his novels.
You can see that influence in every word of this book. Unlike some other books you read today, the situations and trials these characters go through are believable and realistic in a way that you simply do not see in many other books. And the characters portrayed in this book are just as realistic as the situations.
There is just something about Jerry Eicher’s novels. He has that special touch in his writing. There is no part of the book where you stop to think that it sounds wrong or unrealistic – the good and the bad.
I like that Jerry lets you see these people as real people. Even the ones who are too strict, by our standards, are clearly only doing what they feel is right in the eyes of God.
Whether it is the superb writing or the wonderful plot, you will find the book nearly impossible to put down. From the first word, the story will draw you in and you may even find yourself praying at 4am that everything will, somehow, turn out right for the characters.
Do not miss this book or the rest of the books in this series.
I was provided a copy of this book free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Foster3
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What happens when an Englisha girl decides she's really Amish at heart?" This is subject addressed in Jerry's first book of his brand new series. I have always enjoyed books by this author and this book was no exception!
His accuracy in describing the Amish community and people of this faith is to be commended. As Jerry was raised Amish, he uses this knowledge to its best advantage enhancing the ability to identify with his main characters . They are realistically developed throughout the story, having real problems and challenges, just as you and I would! The difference appears when they deal with these worries and fears. The Amish faith approaches them much differently than you and I would. The true picture of an Amish community is clearly formed in your mind as you read.
Debbie Watson has just graduated from college and attained her first job. Her parents are delighted and they are eager to see her become independent and discover all that life has to offer. BUT, and this is a big BUT, what will they ever say and do when Debbie announces that she is moving in with the Beiler family because she prefers the plain life to the glitter and sparkle of the world that her peers have chosen! Just as an aside here, Debbie is attracted to Alvin Knepp, a quiet, reserved Amish farmer who doesn't seem to realize she is alive! Another, NOT so quiet Amish man, Paul Wagler, DOES know she is alive and attempts to win her heart.
While waiting for Alvin to discover her, Debbie has other things to work out. Verna, one of the Beiler sisters, and her dearest friend, is devastated when the man she loves , Joe Weaver, is wrongly charged with a crime and may go to jail. He is innocent, but in the Amish tradition, has difficulty standing up for himself in a court of law. Debbie is asked to intervene to solve this romantic/legal dilemma, while she herself is struggling to get a beau and assure her parents that she has not gone of the deep end!
I truly enjoyed the different twist of this book of the Amish genre. So often the books are full of Amish young people who want to join the Englisch world! This is a whole new approach! And it presents totally different problems!
The plot is developed quickly, easy to follow. There are interesting subplots along the way to keep your mind alert throughout the book. The author uses wit as well as compassion to keep the reader engrossed in the story.
Another great book!!! Looking forward to Book 2 in this series!!!
This book was supplied by the author and Harvest House in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Read

Date:February 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked Holding A Tender Heart. I found it to be a delightful read. I really liked Englisher Debbie's determination to become Amish. And liked the Beiler sisters. I look forward to the rest of the series to see what happens with Debbie and the sisters. Highly recommended. Five stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable Book

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
CathyC
Location:Md
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a charming and well written book.
The characters are real and became very endearing to me.
I look forward to reading the rest of this series. I eagerly await finding out what is next for the Beiler sisters and Englisha Debbie Watson and the other characters that Jerry Eicher brought to life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

makes me want to convert to Amish too

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How many of us have wished to live with an Amish family and perhaps even convert to the Amish faith? I will admit to having some of those thoughts myself. I think personally that there is a desire for simplicity, quiet, and peace. Debbie Watson is a young Englisha girl who does exactly that with Bishop Beiler and his family. His own daughter, Lois, has hopes of leaving the Amish faith and becoming English and he hopes that bringing Debbie into their home and family might change Lois' mind.
The oldest Beiler sister, Verna, falls in low with a young Amish man whoe gets into trouble with the law that could end with him in jail. So obviously this story has much excitement and adventure. So instead of Calgon taking you away, why not let Jerry Eicher do it with Holding a Tender Heart.
I was given a copy of this book by the author and Harvest House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another WINNER by Jerry!

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Debbie Watson is English but grew up living next door to Bishop Beiler and spending time at his house playing with his daughters. She has now graduated from college and landed her first job, so now her mother is in a hurry for her to move out. Debbie knows she was born English but she feels she is Amish in her heart, she loves the peaceful life they lead.
When she gets up enough nerve, she asks Bishop Beiler if she can room at their house, as a paying boarder, so she can learn more about the Amish faith and maybe become Amish. The Bishop agrees, not only does he like Debbie but he is hoping she can help with his middle daughter Lois who thinks she wants to jump the fence.
When Verna, the oldest Beiler daughter, finally takes a stand and agrees to let a boy take her home from a singing, her father isn't any too pleased. You see, she is 24 and never once been 'allowed' to accept a ride home, but she really likes Joe Weaver. When Joe gets arrested and is looking at possibly 20 years of jail time she continues to support him against her fathers wishes and nearly finds herself excommunicated. Can her dad really do that to her, yes, if she doesn't change her mind. Verna also talks Debbie into helping somewhat with Joe's case but will it do any good?
Another wonderful story by Jerry. It's like looking from the outside in with Debbie wanting to become Amish and how she views things. I don't know that I could give up all of our conveniences. He also shows how a strong faith in Da Hah can get you through the worst of trials. This book is on the shelves March 1, 2014 and I am already anxiously waiting for the next book in the series, "Seeing YOur Face Again" due out June 1, 2014.
Thank you to Harvest House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Holding a Tender Heart, Beiler Sisters Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Simple Life - A tender Heart

Date:February 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Michigan Thumb
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Note: This was written by my wife, who read the book.
Being that my paternal grandfather was the youngest son of an Amish/Mennonite family of 9 sons and 3 daughters from Canada—I’ve always wondered what it would really be like to be Amish! Jerry Eicher discretely portrays the heart’s yearning of a young Englisha girl who grew up as a close neighbor to young Amish girls in his new series, “The Beiler Sisters.” Will Debbie Watson really become a full-fledged member of the Amish Church and Community? Debbie has a college degree and a new job, yet the pull is strong to live the simpler life—or is the pull really Alvin Knepp—an eligible Amish farmer bachelor? How will her parents bear this notion of hers—to leave home and move in with her Amish neighbor’s family? Idealism can only bolster one’s fancy so far. Everyone has heartaches and loss—no matter what their birthright is—even the Amish! Heart aches, heart throbs, and heart mending present themselves in a sombre yet hopeful genre in Jerry Eicher’s new release, “Holding a Tender Heart.” Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart. Will Debbie Watson’s heart keep this commandment? Does she need to be Amish to do so? Will the Amish Beiler sisters really accept Debbie as one of their own? They live by an even higher standard, as their father is the Bishop. “Others may, you cannot.” They must set the example and marry just right! But Verna’s heart throb, Joe Weaver, has a secret past from his rumspringa ready to reveal itself and set the community in a tizzy. Can Debbie’s Englisha connections and knowledge of the justice court system save the day? Why has this simpler life style gotten so complicated? Once again an excellent and enjoyable read, leaving me still wondering how my life might have been had my family stayed Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.