Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lion Hudson J.R.R. Tolkien

Lion Hudson J.R.R. Tolkien

* Tolkien's fantasy world has captured the hearts of generations of readers. But who was the man who created Middle-Earth and its inhabitants? In this engaging portrait, Duriez introduces you to an orphan who was forbidden to communicate with the woman he loved, worked as a brilliant scholar, and became one of the world's best-loved authors. 192 pages, softcover from Lion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for J.R.R. Tolkien
Review 1 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Biography

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Compiling information from several sources, Colin Duriez has put together a wonderful biography for the fans of J.R.R. Tolkien. The material spans Tolkien’s entire life, but concentrates more on the habits and studies that led to the creation of his most famous works: The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, along with other tales from Middle-earth. Most importantly, his love of language and philology.
If I had one complaint, it would be that Duriez has a tendency to jump forward at times to address an event related to the one he’s discussing, then return to his chronological flow. It would be the only complaint, and a minor one. The information in this book is a great introduction into the life and work of one of the greatest and most beloved writers in history. I knew little of Tolkien’s life outside of The Inklings, and even there I didn’t know much beyond his friendship with C. S. Lewis.
The book also offers several pages of color photos of places Tolkien lived and frequented. His childhood homes, his place of worship, Oxford, meeting places of The Inklings, as well as places that may have been some inspiration for locations in Tolkien’s Middle-earth are all featured.
I would definitely recommend this biography to any Tolkien fan.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes from Kregel Publications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Glimpse Into J. R. R. Tolkien's Life

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
CarliAlice
Location:Union, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Colin Duriez has written a fascinating little book about the life and times of J.R.R. Tolkien: The Making of a Legend. The author does a convincing job of transporting the reader into the world of Academia Royalty of Britian that included Tolkein, Lewis, Williams and others. Also, we gain keen insight as to what it was like to live with the great intellectual that was Tolkein. Including details about his life and marriage to Edith Mary Bratt as well as the role his children John, Michael, Christopher and Pricilla played in creating the lexicon that is middle-earth and why Hobbits RULE!.
This book was not inspirational, make me think, get out of the chair and put something into action book but rather a detailed biography and historical perspective. It provides insight into the adult fantasy genre of reading that I would not have known had I not read the book. One of the best things about this book was the extensive referencing that the author does of similar works. There are quite a few on my reading list now!
I received this book free from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very timely, very helpful

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In timely fashion, Kregel is releasing Colin Duriez’ book on J.R.R. Tolkien just time. With a resurgence from Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings movies and now the release (of the first installment, anyway) of The Hobbit, Tolkien and all things Middle Earth have perhaps never been more popular. So what a great time to learn more about their creator/author.
Duriez does a masterful job of not trying to write a biography as much as help the reader understand how this master of languages and myth came to create an entire world called Middle Earth. Having read Humphrey Carpenter’s authorized biography years ago, I can appreciate a ‘fresh’ look at an ‘old figure’ in Tolkien. Duriez draws upon Carpenter for quite a bit of the biographical insights. However, from that he goes on to show the mind that drew from a love of words and languages, a fascination with myth (especially ancient English, Anglo-Saxon mythology) and even from his own life’s experiences to eventually write The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.
I was completely fascinated to learn how so much of Tolkien’s life shaped his writings. From his own experiences during WWI, to losing his parents at a young age; from meeting his future wife, Edith, to the various places he visited––all shaped his thinking and creativity. I was previously unaware of his involvement in the T.C.B.S (the Tea Club Barrovian Society), a group of fellow students and like-minded lovers of literature, words and languages. The friendships from this group had a powerfully profound influence upon Tolkien. The later formation of the Inklings, including the likes of C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams and others were a great encouragement for Tolkien to continue writing and completing his master works.
While the author does not go into great detail of the biographical nature of Tolkien’s relationship with Edith Bratt, who eventually became his wife, he shows how her presence and influence was made upon the characters Beren and Lúthien from The Silmarillion. It was all very touching, especially his love for her in their latter years.
If you’ve read Tolkien’s books and/or seen the movies, I would highly commend this book to you. It will deepen your appreciation for all things written by J.R.R. Tolkien, as well as of the author himself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Insights Into Tolkien

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, know as J. R. R. was born on 3 January 1892, in Southern Africa. He was the first son of Arthur and Mabel, and was joined by a brother Hilary on 17 February 1894.
Both boys had a had sad beginning, loosing their Dad in 1896, and their Mom to Diabetes, there was no treatment. They became the wards of a priest, and soon lived with a woman who gave them room and board...that is it. How sad, and yet each point of his life shows the rich mind he possessed, and later shows up in bits and pieces in his writings.
Love the reference to Hobbit, that came from his travels to Interlaken in Switzerland. What a mind he had, and was able to share with the World. He had in his lifetime become friends with C. S. Lewis, a former Atheist who came to know the Lord many think because of Tolkien.
He fell in love with Edith as a child, and later pursues her as a young man. I personally enjoyed this story, and bringing this man to life in my mind. He started out with such a harsh life, but the talent of this man is legendary.
Enjoy!
I received this book from Kregel, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Easy 4.5 Stars

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They say, write what you know.
But what if you happen to write about things like Orcs, Hobbits, and Elves? Do you really know this enough to write about it? In a way, yes, JRR Tolkien did write what he knew. Or, more like it, the way he saw the world. Overcoming tremendous odds, he gave us some of the best loved stories that still thrive today.
When you read this book, you're getting an intimate peek inside a complex individual that was molded by his fair share of life, death, loss, and love. Be prepared for emotional turmoil that followed him thru his life. Cheer for him when he finds his one true love, and pity him when he ultimately sets aside that love because of the wishes of another.
Not only will you meet the man behind the Hobbit, but the story of JRR Tolkien's perseverance through hardships will inspire you when you thought your hope was gone.
JRR Tolkien had a gift. He was a romantic. I know. Many a man would shudder to be labeled a romantic, but he saw life differently than most. When the regular person would see only an ordinary tower, JRR saw not a normal tower, but a different time and place with evil and good, fighting against one another and that tower, a pinnacle that holds it all in the balance.
Conjuring stories and poems on a whim, he was an immensely gifted man. A creator not only of worlds and words, but of entire languages.
But why would he desire to write such stories as The Hobbit? To reignite a love for fairy tales to a new readership.
He has succeeded in this and his stories live on and will continue to do so for generations of romantics to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful biography about a brilliant author.

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of J.R.R. Tolkien since I was a child. I met Bilbo Baggins at a young age and to this day I own a copy of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.
When I saw the opportunity to review a biography of J.R.R. Tolkien, I couldn't pass it up. How did he come up with his ideas, languages and story line, characters, Middle-earth and all that makes up The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit.
Mr. Duriez has written a wonderful biography that was enlightening, entertaining and well researched. He brought back to life J.R.R. Tolkien, from his childhood through adulthood. Now when I read about the Two Towers, I have a good idea of what inspired that idea.
I wasn't aware or rather I didn't think about it, but reading about Tolkien's war experiences during the First World War made such a huge impact on his writing and descriptions of orcs and balrogs and more. Now when I read about Frodo and Sam trekking through the bogs, I know in Tolkien's mind he was remembering all those young men laying in the mud and mire on the front line.
Though I was a teenager when Tolkien died, reading this biography has really made him more real to me, not a myth of a man, but someone who struggled with insecurities, brilliance and a life-long love with his precious Edith - Luthien.
Reading this book has also encouraged me to obtain another copy (the last one I had belonged to a library) of The Silmarillion. I think I am ready to tackle it again!
Kregel Publications provided me with a free review copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Biography On Tolkien

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Colin Duriez in his new book “J. R. R. Tolkien: The Making Of A Legend” published by Lion Books gives us a biography of the amazing author that gave us “The Hobbit” and “The Lord Of The Rings” trilogy.
From the back cover: Long before the successful The Lord of the Rings films, J.R.R. Tolkien’s creations, imagination, and characters had already captured the hearts and minds of millions of readers. But who was the man who dreamt up the intricate languages and perfectly crafted world of Middle-earth?
Tolkien had a difficult life for many years—orphaned and poor, his guardian forbade him from communicating with the woman he had fallen in love with, and he also suffered through the horrors of World War I. An intensely private and brilliant scholar, he spent more than 50 years working on the languages, history, peoples, and geography of Middle-earth, with a consistent mythology and body of legends inspired by a formidable knowledge of early northern European history and culture. J.R.R. Tolkien became a legend by creating an imaginary world that has enthralled and delighted generations. This engaging and accessible biography brings him to life.
Not many authors are known by their last name but Tolkien is one of those elite. There are biographies that are thick and heavy and, I have to say, I like those books. They are like a hearty meal. Colin Duriez’s book is not thick and heavy but it is very informative and covers a lot of ground in a short amount of pages. J. R. R. Tolkien was born in South Africa on January 3, 1892. His mother and brother took a trip back to England for a visit and never returned to S. Africa where his father died during their absence. Tolkien died on September 2, 1973.
Tolkien had a full life and enlisted to fight for his country during World War I. He was involved in the terrible, prolonged agony of the Battle of the Somme and fell victim to disease because of conditions on the front. It was this terrible time that left a lasting impression on him and which he used to tell his stories. There is more to Tolkien than just the Hobbit and The Lord Of The Rings trilogy and Colin Duriez does the author’s life justice. It is interesting to read what fires forged the life of this author and how he used these experiences to write the epic stories that are still dearly loved today. I recommend this book highly!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.R. Tolkien
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lifetime of experience helps write a bestseller

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
tiinaj1
Location:Omaha, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've always been interested in how a book or a series of books like Lord of the Rings & The Hobbit come to be written. How does one take an idea (an inkling really) and turn it into a story that will catch the imaginations of millions over the years & around the world?
What you'll find in this biography is a book spanning the long life of J.R.R. Tolkien and the experiences that he lived through that helped him form the events within the book. From growing up & being raised by the Catholic Church, tinkering with the child's play of forming languages to actually learning how languages are formed, traveling to Finland and other countries which gave him the ability to describe the sweeping vistas he wrote of in his books to participating in World War II and the horrors he saw and lived through on a daily basis for years thus giving him the ability to write about the many varied wars & battles in his books - you will find out what made Tolkein "tick".
Tolkein was a man gifted with the ability to take what he saw, felt and lived through and describe it to the average man whether learned or not. He was a loving husband, father and a strong friend to have backing you up - and it also sounds like he was a "brilliant" thinker (Eistein type brilliant) and had the ability to make the English, Welsh and the Ancient forms of writing and language understandable to his students (at least those that wanted to understand).
If you are a FAN of LOTR's, The Hobbit and any of the several Appendices that he wrote, or perhaps are a fan of poetry (of which he was very gifted) be sure to grab a copy of JRR Tolkien: The Making of a Legend.
Disclaimer: I was offered a copy of JRR Tolkien: The Making of a Legend to read and review on GivingNSharing by Kregel Publications. I was not required to write a positive review & no money exchanged hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.