Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lion Hudson God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?

Lion Hudson God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?

Oxford mathematician John Lennox examines the flaws in scientist Stephen Hawking's claims that the law of physics brought the Universe into being, rather than God.

In lively, layman's terms, Lennox guides us through the key points in Hawking's arguments, with clear explanations of the latest scientific and philosophical methods and theories, and shows that instead of proving there is no Creator God, they make his existence seem all the more probable.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Review 1 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
truthbeauty
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I thought it was to be in layman's terms. It wasn't. Didn't understand most the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wish it were longer

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is an aura of brilliance surrounding Stephen Hawking. Little that comes out of his mouth is comprehensible to the average human mind. What a magnificent creation of God! How much more magnificent it would be if he were to credit God with his genius.
Alas, he has instead steered his intellectual powers toward attempting to prove that his genius is but a freak of nature – that we all are a cosmic accident. This venture into metaphysics is called “M-Theory” as described in his recent book, The Grand Design. In it he concludes that the laws of nature are responsible for nature’s very existence in our little corner of the “multiverse.”
Thankfully, there are other human geniuses who have not discounted the supernatural, have rationally examined the evidence for God and found Him compelling. One of these is Oxford professor John C. Lennox.
In this short read, Lennox picks apart the most glaring philosophical errors in Hawking’s arguments without delving into formulae or equations. The five short chapters must be read methodically, but they are readily accessible to the scientific neophyte. My only wish – that the book was longer.
“For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.” (Romans 1:20, ESV)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
The new atheists, like Richard Dawkins and Stephen Hawking, are ever in the public spotlight these days, or so it seems. The idea that brilliant physicists and scientists can make sense of this world without a God appeals to many. Certainly the conclusions reached in books such as Hawking’s latest book, The Grand Design — that there is no God and no ultimate point to the universe — are conclusions many atheists and secularists are all too eager to affirm. Since everything does fit so nicely together, however, should we wonder if the case made is really as air tight as claimed? If the conclusions are made to order, we might have warrant to carefully scrutinize the claims of these New Atheist authors.
John Lennox, author of God’s Undertaker, and a Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford in his own right, takes on Stephen Hawking’s arguments in a forthcoming book published by Lion Books and distributed in the US by Kregel Publications (available July 15). In God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?, Lennox exposes the circular reasoing and non sequitors that abound in Hawking’s The Grand Design. Lennox begins by framing the scope of what science can really address as it attempts to examine metaphysical questions. He then points out both Hawking’s dismissal of philosophy and his misunderstanding of Christian theism. God is not merely a “god of the gaps”, an explanation for the world as we know it. The Christian understanding of God has Him outside the boundaries of creation as Lord over all of it, not some explanation for unknown phenomena. As for philosophy, after rejecting it as “dead”, Hawking jumps in and tries his own hand at several metaphysical questions that philosophy has long addressed. Hawking’s attempt at doing philosophy is all the poorer for his outright rejection of it.
Lennox then takes Hawking to task for claiming that the theory of gravity, or scientific laws in general, can operate as a “creator” in a sense, and be the ultimate cause for our universe. He clarifies what a law or rule of nature really “is”, and illustrates how Hawking makes more of such laws than can really be claimed. He then goes on to show how Hawking’s “M” theory of the “Multiverse” conveniently sidesteps objections by positing the existence of infinite universes. Still the question remains, why are there any universes instead of no universe? Lennox reveals that other major physicists have their own doubts as to the ability that M theory really has for being an explanation of everything.
Lennox also addresses head on the claim that miracles cannot happen because the laws of science would be invalidated. He pries open the layers from this question and shows the irrationality of claiming that science strictly forbids the existence of exceptions or miracles.
By the end of this short book (it’s only 100 pages long), Lennox has made a convincing case for theism and demonstrated that reasonable scientists continue to affirm the divine. Lennox’s book is accessible and clear, even as it interacts with quite complicated elements from Hawking’s writing. The book doesn’t own the six-day, young earth Creationist view, but it doesn’t rule it out either. Lennox argues that often the new atheists assume that to believe in God is to believe in a young earth view, and he shows this is not true. Lennox marshals arguments from science (the very idea of the big bang supports the Bible’s claim that the world has a beginning – something science has only admitted in the last hundred years), philosophy, history and the realm of human experience. The resulting case is convincing and should serve to bolster the faith of any troubled by the new atheism. At the least, it offers avenues of further exploration available in grappling with these issues.
Before closing my review, I should excerpt a small section from this book which captures some of Lennox’s craft in action. This excerpt will illustrate his style and the way he can cut to the heart of an issue with incisive logic.
"Suppose, to make matters clearer, we replace the universe by a jet engine and then are asked to explain it. Shall we account for it by mentioning the personal agency of its inventor, Sir Frank Whittle? Or shall we follow Hawking: dismiss personal agency, and explain the jet engine by saying that it arose naturally from physical law…. It is not a question of either/or. It is self-evident that we need both levels of explanation in order to give a complete description. It is also obvious that the scientific explanation neither conflicts nor competes with the agent explanation: they complement one another. It is the same with explanations of the universe: god does not conflict or compete with the laws of physics as an explanation. God is actually the ground of all explanation, in the sense that he is the cause in the first place of there being a world for the laws of physics to describe."
To this I add my “amen”. I encourage you to pick up this little book as it offers an excellent primer on how to deal with the claims of the new atheism. Even if you differ with Lennox on a point or two, his clear style and succinct arguments will equip you in thinking through these issues on your own.
Disclaimer: This book was provided by Kregel Publications via Litfuse Publicity Group. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Either we believe the words of Almighty God or we believe the words of a fallible man; those words which we take into our minds determines our thoughts, our beliefs, our actions and, indeed, even our destiny. Mathematician John Lennox has perhaps made the choice easier for some by writing God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design is it Anyway?, a small but very thorough refutation of Stephen Hawking’s book The Grand Design. Mr. Lennox writes in layman’s terms and his arguments are both compelling and easy to understand. He breaks down the varied fallacies so prevalent in Mr. Hawking’s book and provides us with a foundation for seeking out, and understanding, truth. The result is a book that is logical, readable and thought-provoking.
I highly recommend God and Stephen Hawking to churches, ministers, homeschooling families, public school families and to anyone preparing to attend or presently attending college.
DISCLOSURE: I received a free copy of God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design is it Anyway? from Litfuse for purposes of review. I was not required to give a positive review, only a fair and honest one. My opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God and Stephen Hawking

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
amomwithablog
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God and Stephen Hawking; Whose Design Is It Anyway? by John C. Lennox is a small book with a big message. It is written by John C. Lennox as a response to Stephen Hawking's The Grand Design, in which the claim is made that the universe created itself from nothing... that the laws of physics brought the universe into existence rather than being created by God.
John C. Lennox shares his views as a fellow scientist and points out that "not all statements by scientists are statements of science, and so do not carry the authority of authentic science even though such authority is often erroneously ascribed to them." And he adds that this applies to himself as well.
This is a very informative book and I enjoyed reading it. Although, I found myself having to re-read many parts of it as I it was a bit over my head. That being said... I will read it again as I am very interested in this subject. It is clearly laid out and I did find that I learned a great deal if I took it a bit slower to comprehend what I was reading. I may not retain all that I read, but I will certainly keep this handy for future conversations. I found it to be a valuable resource and I am happy to have had the chance to review it. I hope I did it justice.
I recommend this book for anyone interested in this popular debate, regardless of which side you are on.
*Litfuse Publicity Group has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. ~Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Response to New Atheism Movement

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I realize this title is not in my typical review category. I was a liberal arts major in college and only studied the basic science required for my degree plan. Yet as the mother of a high school daughter, I knew I wanted to read and review this concise new book about faith and science and later have my daughter read it.
Written in layman's terminology, God and Stephen Hawking examines Stephen Hawking's recent book The Grand Design, which is a treatment of physics which attempts to assert atheism's rationality. Since I had not read the Hawking title which this book formulated its response to, I found myself surprised by such relatively new terminology as "M-theory." Yet I was able to follow Lennox's explanation so as to understand something of this theory, and why Hawking is captivated by it.Yet if Hawking's assertions are correct, then why do other eminent scientists still hold to Christian faith?
This book is highly readable for high school age and up and has helped me to be more aware of what the contemporary scientific "New Atheism" movement is about. It logically argues against this new movement's tenets and shows quite a few inconsistencies in the atheistic arguments supposedly based on new scientific theories. Some basic knowledge of logic, as well as the "New Atheism" movement and some high school level science would probably be beneficial for readers, who otherwise might have some difficulty following Lennox's arguments in full. This slender title could be read alone as an introduction to this movement, read in conjunction with Hawking's title to more fully understand it, or could comprise one facet of a high school course designed to cover either worldviews or "origins of life" issues.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary review copy of this book from Kregel Publishers and LitFuse Publicity Group. I was under no obligation to give it a favorable review, only a fair one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great little book, it is only 96 pages, but packed with information. Steven Hawking is the best selling author of Grand Design and an advocated Atheist. He more or less states that there is no God who created the Earth, even though he really doesn't have an answer as to how it was created.
I loved Mr Lennox's statement "that the widespread belief that atheism is the default intellectual position is untenable." Wow!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reasoned response to Hawking's attack on God

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
God and Stephen Hawking by John C. Lennox is a reasoned attack on Stephen Hawking's book The Grand Design, as well as his recent statement that "Heaven is a fairy tale..." Lennox, a respected Oxford mathematician defends the idea of a Creator in this slim but powerful volume. Hawking has insisted that any attempt to use God to explain the mysteries of science is flawed from the start, but Lennox gives hope to Christians by using intelligence and reason to counter this claim. Hawking comes across as a well intentioned hypocrite; he insists that philosophy is dead, but uses philosophy to make his point. Hawking also wants the world to believe in theories that can never be proven, while discarding a logic that would allow less twisted and extreme belief. The book is not an easy read. Unfortunately, Lennox's position as a professor often has him pontificating rather than communicating, and it makes the reading sometimes slow going. That said, Lennox gives Christians some powerful ammo against Hawking's attacks on faith, and the book is a must read for anyone wanting to understand just how wrong the brilliant scientist is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Excellent Rebuttal

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lennox’s book, God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design is it Anyway?, is a direct response to the latest book by scientist Stephen Hawking, called The Grand Design. Lennox uses his own knowledge of science and mathematics, as well as the knowledge of other highly regarded scientists, to refute the ideas presented in The Grand Design, of which the main purpose is to “disprove” the existence of God by proving the universe through science. Lennox quotes many scientists (some Christian, some atheist) who believe that Hawking’s theories are faulty, at best. Some of these are men who have even worked alongside Hawking.
Lennox first points out that “not all statements by scientists are statements of science, and so do not carry the authority of authentic science….” He even admits that this statement would then apply to him as well, and he asks us to scrutinize his arguments very carefully. Lennox goes on to cite the gross number of inconsistencies and contradictions in Hawking’s book. The first being that Hawking makes the statement that philosophy is dead very early on his book, but then uses philosophy many times during his explanations (or lack thereof, as the case may be). Lennox also points out that, for all his trying to disprove the existence of God, Hawking actually makes a few points that lead toward the idea of a supernatural creator of the universe.
Many atheist scientists would have us believe that it’s science versus God… one or the other. That each time they prove something with science, the idea of God disappears from our world that much more. This could not be more false, and Lennox shows this by quoting several highly regarded and award-winning scientists who are in fact Christians. Their knowledge of science does not reduce their faith in God, but enhances it as they study his handiwork.
Lennox has done an excellent job pointing out the fallacies of Hawking’s theories, more specifically the idea that Hawking has “disproved” God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rebuttal of Hawking's "The Grand Design"

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"God and Stephen Hawking: Whose Design Is It Anyway?" by John Lennox is a rebuttal of Stephen Hawking’s book, "The Grand Design." I haven’t read "The Grand Design," but in that book, according to Lennox, Hawking attempts to prove there is no God. Lennox’s book, in my opinion, conclusively proves Hawking wrong.
The book is short—only 96 pages. But it is packed full of brilliant points revealing the flaws in Hawking’s logic. It takes some time to read, in spite of its size, because of the amount of scientific lingo. But it’s worth your time, just the same. To help the reader, Lennox summarizes many of the more complex statements in easier to understand terms.
I especially appreciated Lennox’s assertion that the New Athiest Debate is not between scientists and people of faith, but between scientists who believe there is a God and scientists who don’t. Athiest scientists attempt to use science to prove there is no God. Believing scientists see God’s creative work in science itself. On page 73, Lennox says, “For me, as a Christian believer, the beauty of the scientific laws reinforces my faith in an intelligent, divine Creator. The more I understand science the more I believe in God, because of my wonder at the breadth, sophistication, and integrity of his creation.” This book clearly shows how that is.
To support his arguments, Lennox quotes both modern day and historical scientists. He also considers what holes Hawking might claim to see in his theories and takes the time to defend his position. He closes with a chapter dedicated to scientific and other rational arguments for the existence of God—morality, logic, our ability to create, and the personal testimonies of those who’ve experienced the presence of God in their lives. These can’t be explained by the Big Bang Theory.
On the cover of this book, Alister McGrath is quoted to say, “A brilliant response to Stephen Hawking’s 'The Grand Design.' Make sure you hear both sides of the argument!” I recommend this, too. I thank the LitFuse Publicity Group for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.